Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

e-GMAT

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 15 reviews
Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2012
College: North Eastern Regional Institute of Science & Technology
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

E-GMAT Verbal Course is a true game changer!!! V23 to V40

5 stars
November 16, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Teacher: Rajat Sadan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 710
A truly Game Changer course in verbal for non-natives. After exhausting all available resources, I finally subscribed to this course. I saw a few reviews in GC forums and attended two free live class with Rajat on GMAT strategy & Pre-thinking. I was totally satisfied with the content & I knew I will definitely learn some new strategy to tackle my poor verbal score V23. After taking the course I pulled up my verbal score to a respectable V40 (90%ile). I just turned my weakness into my strength now. My total score is 710 (Q49,V40)

As I progressed with the course I realized my shortfalls in concept as well as in attacking strategy. The Verbal live course is quite different from the verbal online course. I have clarified almost all queries on the spot during the class (that kind of luxury was there). The important thing that helped me most to improve on verbal is to understand the underlying thought process of the instructors while they approach/attach a particular question. For SC course Payal did a wonderful job there. In fact I asked her in one classroom to describe her thought process elaborately - how she approach a particular SC. And that key thing has changed my SC accuracy a lot. Similarly Rajat's Strategy of pre-thinking is the key for CR. And not but the least- my weakest link RC in verbal has improved a lot after the course. My accuracy just went above 85% from 60-65% level. I always struggled with non-familiar topics in RC. At last Ron (one of e-gmat instructor) has rescued me from this big shortfall. After i completed the course I realized my improvements through Mocks & i was able to improve my timing on SC/CR/RC without sacrificing accuracy.

I am very happy with my decision to invest in e-gmat verbal live and doing so really rewarded me a 90%ile V score.

The concept files cover every single grammatical rules within the scope of GMAT. The practice questions, quizzes, assessment tests are very carefully crafted keeping the standards of Official GMAT questions.

A ton of thanks to e-gmat & group.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2012
College: University of North Carolina
Major: Computer Science
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent for non natives

5 stars
November 8, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Teacher: payal tandon
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: N/A
e-gmat has played a huge role in improving my verbal scores. Iam a non native speaker and verbal on the gmat has been quite challenging. The process is streamlined , intuitive and does indeed cater to the needs of a non native speaker. I have tried numerous other gmat courses and apart from e-gmat nothing has helped me so far. Payal has done a good job in explaining some of the challenging topics in verbal such as modifiers and meaning based questions. The reading strategies in RC have also helped me tremendously. I only wish they had more sessions on RC :)

Joined: Dec 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2012
College: BITS Pilani
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Logic comes to the rescue (610 to 700)!!

5 stars
October 22, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 700
I gave my first attempt back in Sep 2009. I scored 610(Q43, V31). I did not expect such a low score then. I had prepared for over 6 months with utmost sincerity. Such was the disaster that I did not even bother to analyze what went wrong. One of my friends, though, advised me to retake the test after due preparation and to take the test only when I see an improvement in my preparations. That proved to be very true.

Now by the start of this year, I decided to give my second attempt and do things differently. Though there was a gap of nearly two years, my force to ace GMAT was no less. As a BITSian I knew it wouldn’t be too hard to score 46-50 in Quant. But as a non-native I needed better preparation in Verbal. Like Quant, Verbal can be aced with proper fundamentals, understanding and strategic attack. Below I have shared a few things that probably helped me in achieving 700(Q48, V37).

Fundamentals:

You might have heard this over and over again. Be strong in your fundamentals. This applies to both Quant and Verbal. For Quant, we have tons of reliable resources in the web: MGMAT Quant Strategy Guides, Kaplan GMAT Math Workbook and BTG forum topics to name a few. I too relied on these resources to understand the nuances of certain GMAT format questions such as Work-Rate problems, Probability and Statistics problems and Inequalities problems. These are not complicated when you know what to look out for. For instance, you have to be so clear about the reasoning behind the work-rate question ‘A works for 12 hours to finish a job, B works for 14 hours to finish the same job and what would be the time taken to complete the same job when A & B works together’ that you can understand a complex question with jargons.

Similarly for Data Sufficiency questions, you should improve your reasoning to a stage where you can connect the dots between the questions that you practiced (during practice tests, BTG forum questions, etc.) and the questions that come up on the test day. Of course none of the questions that you faced during your preparations is going to pop-up on your test day. But the logic will.

Is Verbal an up-hill task?

Yes and No. Yes because we either think that there is no one procedure to get the exact correct answer or that process of elimination is the ONLY way to get the ‘best’ answer. I strongly disagree here. There is a way to get to the exact answer (note not the best answer). That’s because GMAT has a pattern in framing the logic behind its questions. Note I said logic not the structure. Most of the resources out there teach you the structure of the GMAT questions: how to use advanced negation technique in an assumption-type CR questions or how to memorize the usual idioms or how to quickly read a four paragraph RC question. Believe me. This doesn’t work.

I said no because I used the e-GMAT Verbal Live product which showed me these logical procedures to answer the Verbal questions. I have to say here that I’m not part of the marketing team from e-GMAT. I am genuinely ‘just’ a customer of e-GMAT. I got to know them only through BTG.

Coming back to the logics, here are my thoughts for Verbal Question types:

Sentence Correction:
The GMAT SC questions from the Official Guide teach us certain important patterns. These patterns include but not limited to misplaced modifiers, logical parallel lists and many more. These cannot be answered in a mechanized manner. Because the answers might be grammatically correct but logically wrong. Only when the intended meaning of the sentence is clear, you can get to the correct answer. Again the OG teaches to eliminate the wrong choices because of very specific reasons. When this line of reasoning becomes intuitive the process of elimination becomes more logical and you get the ‘correct’ answer.

Critical Reasoning:
I learnt to better eliminate the incorrect answer choices through e-GMAT’s CR Course. I religiously followed the pre-thinking process as taught and improved in my timing to answer CR questions. Again here efficient elimination techniques come handy because GMAT throws in errors in a certain way which can be identified after thorough practice.

Reading Comprehension:
Though there is no one way to master this question type, the only proven way is to logically attack each RC question type. For that you need razor-sharp focus while reading the passage. When you focus on the structure and tone of the passage, the main crux will become evident. Per e-GMAT process, the passage summaries at various stages of reading the passage prove enough to answer the questions correctly. This helped me a lot as I was always struggling with RC.

On the Test Day:
Have fun! I mean, relax and look forward to enjoy the process. I tried to smile at various points to ease myself and to not think about what happened in the previous question. Of course this is not easy unless you practice it during the practice tests. I recommend taking MGMAT practice tests and review the questions to understand the source of errors. GMAT test will be lot easier after taking MGMAT tests. This might have a side-effect on you on the test day. That is, you might end up feeling that you screwed up the test. But actually you dint. That’s how I felt after each section. But I thought I ended up with a decent score. Thanks BTG, e-GMAT and MGMAT for helping me out in the process.

Joined: Oct 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 2012
Verified Real Student Review

amazing GMAT prep course for Non Native speakers

5 stars
October 15, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Teacher: payal Tandon, Rajat Sadana
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: N/A
E-gmat is an amazing course for non natives. Since i have joined this course, I can already see a verbal score improvement of 30 points . Before joining E-gmat my verbal score was arround 28 points. Since i have gone through the SC course and CR course, my ability to quickly arrive at the correct answer shot up. In my last most recent GMAT prep tests, I got a verbal live score varying from 40 to 45 points.
And in 2 MGMAT tests , I got V40 and V42 scores.
I am touched with the concept of pre-thinking explained in the CR section. Verbal live classes are very good and they reinforce the concept in your mind. Core thing is to follow their application process and then try out those types of questions from official guides . Then you are bound to increase your scores :)
SC Course is quite amazing as well. SC can be completed in under a minute's time. Their unique approach of dividing the long sentences into shorter ones, verb-ing usage, meaning based aproach are all that make a true difference in your accuracy.

I am half way through their RC course, and really enjoyed the tips and techniques of reading an RC passage. The live approach of how to read and comprehend a paragraph is truly amazing.

Finally they offer a GMAT strategy live class session , and that is too good let me confess. There all general questions, such as - how to analyze your mock test scores and how to make a future game plan to overcome your weak areas - are discussed. I liked it very much .

Their customer service is great as well . I always got a reply for whatever technical problems i found in the course ( like i was not able to connect to their live classes using adobe acrobat software ) . I was contacted back within 24 hours of mailing them, and my problems were resolved to my satisfaction.

I can say this prep company is not after only making money, as is visible form their course prices and responses. They are here to seriously help out non natives and improve upon the approach to solve gmat questions.

All in all , i will rate this course 5 / 5 .

My gmat exam is in 3 weeks time now and i hope i will repeat my verbal success soon.
Thank you Payal and Rajat for creating this wonderful curriculum.

Joined: Jan 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 2012
College: NIT durgapur
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Verbal demystified with e-GMAT Verbal live prep course

5 stars
September 23, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Teacher: Rajat Sadana and Payal Tondon
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I started my GMAT in January 2012. Frankly this was my first attempt at any competitive exam after leaving college, and as I am a non-native speaker for me verbal seemed like the biggest hurdle. Like all Engineers, I scored well in Quant in GMAT prep.
For 2 months I kept preparing from GMAT pill, Knewton, MGMAT material, and OG but I was not very clear with concepts and felt lost at times. Around March 2012, I came across e-GMAT verbal live prep course. This course helped me shape up preparation and especially understand the key concepts required for non-natives to excel in GMAT verbal section.
Just after completing e-GMAT key concepts, I improved my accuracy in all sections of verbal.

Section Before e-GMAT post e-GMAT post verbal live prep Accuracy Time Accuracy Time Accuracy Time
SC: 60 1:40 84 1:25 90 1:20
CR: 60 2:00 83 1:40 90 1:35
RC: 50 2:20 70 2:15 80 2:10

In my GMAT prep mocks I improved from 620(30V)->660(36V)->720(40 V)->740 (41V)

I also covered e-GMAT OG verbal 12 Sentence correction solutions sections, in which an e-GMAT expert provides an audio recorded solution of each question using the e-GMAT approach and helped me understand practice the concepts further. This section was the key to my improvement in SC section. Also, UGE section and application files of e-GMAT provide a great way to practice a key concept once I covered the core concepts. The whole package really strengthened my understanding and helped apply the strategy and practice the concepts again and again with so many questions until I mastered my weak areas.

Along with this I also enrolled for “e-GMAT VERBAL LIVE PREP COURSE”. I swear by the live sessions conducted by Rajat, Payal, and Shraddha as they really helped me jump from 36 to 41 in verbal section. These live sessions are one of the most detailed and interactive sessions I came across. I have attended Knewton, GMATpill, and Manhattan live sessions, but as a non-native speaker none of the courses helped me understand the sentence structure and right approach to tackle SC and CR questions. I felt they already assumed few core concepts, which most of the non-natives do not have such as Sentence structure and focus on meaning. I am no expert but I believe e-GMAT revolutionary 3-step SC process is the most concise and effective way to solve any SC question and it covers all the key areas: sentence structure, grammatical errors, and meaning analysis- all three components that are essential to solve OG13 questions SC questions.

In the live sessions I learned how to approach and apply the e-GMAT strategy to solve questions. I not only improved my accuracy but also timing tremendously. I reduced my average SC time and by using the 3-step process I am effectively able to eliminate wrong answer choices for right reasons.

The most important aspect of these live sessions is that they are so detailed and give huge emphasis on advanced level topics. During these sessions students get a chance to do questions with experts. All sessions are highly the interactive, an area in which other test prep companies such as Knewton and GMAT pill were not so great from my experience.
I sincerely recommend e-GMAT verbal live prep course to all non-natives who are struggling with verbal section and really wish to achieve dream score of 700+.

Joined: Oct 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Not only good for non natives but also good for natives

5 stars
September 13, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Teacher: Rajat and tram
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: N/A
I have completed CR and RC pretty and will be starting SC soon.
So far my experience has been great as I could see the audio-visual tutorials and video liveon help saving the concepts in my mind. This helps the subconscious mind to filter out few choices quickly.
eg. You is right, but she are wrong... when you read this you don't have to think for the reason. I know it is a bad example but the crux is the subconscious mind needs training.
The practise questions also does the same.
If I compare this to powerscore CR, I would rate both A+. Powerscore CR is a great book, but if you go for e-gmat CR you might skip powerscore. If you have time, then don't skip powerscore as it would build strong foundation of your CR concepts when you would be working on E-gmat CR.

Another good thing about E-gmat CR and RC is the emphasis on pre thinking. It really helps as it forces you to arrive at some situation. Even if that situation is not present in the answer choices, the pre thinking does help you to link the things.

For CR : Powerscore and E-gmat is a good combination. But E-gmat alone is sufficient too.

For RC: E-gmat looks sufficient. Once you do CR the RC skills are improved too. I have done Mgmat RC and I didnt like it.

Live Addon: This is an interesting thing. The live practice in presence of peers and the teacher is a good way. Not only it helps understanding that particular question, but also it helps understanding some new relevant concepts that could be used in future questions.
So first kudos to teachers who helps students, irrespective online offline any mode.
Second kudos to e-gmat teachers who prepare and execute the session.

Practice questions: Questions in e-gmat were of good quality.

SC: I have not done much of it yet but I liked the approach of emphasis on meaning of the sentence.

Overall I would recommend this course not only for non natives but to natives too. This course is a real value for money..

Thanks Rajat and his team !!

Joined: Nov 2011
Purchased Course: Nov 2011
College: Bhavan's College
Major: Accounting
Industry: Food Service/Lodging
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

E-GMAT delivers the Knock-out to Verbal

5 stars
September 13, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Teacher: Rajat Sadana & Payal Tandon
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The E-GMAT course has revolutionised the way Verbal is taught. It's detailed yet simple slides on SC,CR and RC make learning complex concepts in verbal a breeze. Moreover compared to other standard text books, the course saves a student significant time by ensuring a student is exam ready for optimum performance. The Verbal Live Complete Lectures conducted by Rajat and Payal over the weekends focuses on the finer aspects of verbal that help improve one's score. I am thankful to E-GMAT for playing an important role in my GMAT score and I expect E-GMAT to become the success story of all GMAT test takers in the years ahead

Joined: Dec 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2012
College: India
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Verbal improvement by 12 points - All thanks to E-gmat

5 stars
September 11, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Teacher: Rajat Sadana
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 660
E-gmat course really helped me improved my Verbal score drastically. In my first attempt I got a score of 580( Q 47 , V23 ) and I then started e-gmat score. I gave my GMAT on August 9th and got 660 ( Q47, V35) . I totally give e-gmat credit for this drastic verbal improvement. Their Sentence correction and Critical reasoning stuff is really good and it breaks down all the complex topics into easy stuff. Also their live sessions on weekend were very helpful as they try to understand the concepts of a topic and help participants understand how to handle a question. I personally feel if u have a weak verbal and want to improve your score, then go for e-gmat.

Joined: May 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2012
College: JNTU
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

No more Achilles’ heel..

5 stars
September 10, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: N/A
I have used the e-GMAT Reading Comprehension course and found it awesome.(No, seriously). My RC skills are as bad as one can imagine. My accuracy has scaled from 30% to 80%(as of today). Here are a few Pros and Cons(just one) of the course.

Pros:
a) User Friendly
b) Crisp presentation
c) Narrative method
d) Reasonable price
e) Perfect understanding of the subject
f) Periodic milestones
g) last and the best - Sure shot improvement

Cons:
Except for the Indianised feel to the course, I haven't found any.

If you are a non-native speaker and if you are struggling with RC, then e-GMAT RC Course is the One.

Joined: Oct 2009
Purchased Course: Dec 2011
Verified Real Student Review

One-stop shop for your verbal prep.

5 stars
August 22, 2012
Company: e-GMAT 15 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Teacher: Payal Tandon and Rajat Sadana
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 750
I recently gave my GMAT for the second time and scored 750 (Q50, V41) – 98th percentile!! I scored 610 (Q46, V27) in my first attempt. I have improved in quant and BIG TIME in verbal. I attribute the improvement in my verbal performance to my hard work, keeping the cool during the test and most importantly to the CORE SKILLS that I have learned through the e-GMAT verbal prep course.

Remember guys, in calculating the 200-800 score, GMAT assigns a higher weight to your verbal score than to your quant score – just open OG 12 and look at the percentile score difference between quant and verbal for the same numerical score. So, if you really want to boost your GMAT score to beyond 700, you need to make sure you do well on the verbal section. If you are a non-native English speaker like me, the chances are that you are missing some of the core skills needed to perform well in GMAT verbal, especially those related to sentence structure, identifying parts of the sentence and understanding the meaning of a complicated sentence. Developing these core skills makes the difference between scoring 30 versus scoring 40+ in verbal.

The first time around, I was getting a good score in verbal during my practice tests but the scores were not consistent. I would get 35 in verbal in one test and 30 in another – I could not really understand why. After the disappointing verbal score in my first GMAT, I decided to take a more fundamental approach to my verbal preparation and started looking for some course that catered to my needs. I read some reviews on e-GMAT and I wanted to give it a try because it was said to be designed specifically for non-native English speakers. After I listened to the free videos on their website, I was immediately very impressed. I signed-up for the verbal package right away and I think this one of the good decisions I made in my GMAT preparation. Their focus on building the core skills in non-native English speakers makes e-GMAT different from other test prep companies. After going through the basic, intermediate and advanced sentence correction sessions of the e-GMAT course, I was very convinced that they got it right! I religiously followed the e-GMAT three-step process in solving each of the sentence correction questions and I immediately started seeing results. I was able to breakdown complex sentences into smaller, more manageable parts and understand the intended meaning much better. This process not only helped me in sentence correction, but I started to notice that I was now able to do much better at CR and RC as well because I started to understand the meaning of complex and tortuous sentences.

Overall, I think e-GMAT course was a great return on investment. If you are non-native English speaker and are struggling with your verbal score, I recommend you to e-GMAT course – you will not regret it!

e-GMAT Courses