Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

e-GMAT

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 756 reviews
Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
College: Coimbatore Institute of Technology
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

e-GMAT is here for you!! V22 in GMATPrep to V32 in GMAT within 30 days

5 stars
July 12, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 420 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I had taken GMAT in October 2016 and got an overall score of 680(Q50, V32). I must say that the improvement on my score should be attributed to the way e-GMAT kept me confident and comfortable throughout my preparation.
When I took my first mock from GMATPrep, I ended up with a score of 600(Q-50, V-22), which highlighted my weakness at key concepts in SC and CR. While I was able to ace Quant without external preparation, the same can’t be said about Verbal. As a non-native English speaker, I was desperate to push my verbal score by at least 32 in order to reach 700(Q51 V32 can fetch you 700), which was my target score. After going through a myriad of reviews on Beat The GMAT, I was convinced that I should enroll for e-GMAT Verbal Online course, and I must say it was a great decision in my short journey of preparation.
To begin with, I enjoyed the way e-GMAT covered the fundamentals of Grammar (for SC). Each and every concept in grammar is taught logically aided by relatable illustrations. During my course of preparation, I felt that e-GMAT not only debunked the myths surrounding a lot of concepts but also helped me to unlearn and relearn things that were taught incorrectly at school. Moreover, at the end of each lesson, the concepts are summarized in a nutshell that helped me big time as I am naturally bad at taking notes. Concepts, such as Modifiers and Parallelism, are cleared with ease through the documents that they provide along with the audio/video material.
In addition to SC, I lacked skills in solving hard CR questions especially the ones that are based on Strengtheners and Assumptions. Fortunately, e-GMAT teaches it to you beautifully through a test called Negation that leads you to the assumption. Similarly, e-GMAT brings out different concepts such as pre-thinking and variance analysis in order to get to the understanding in detail. Along with these materials, you have Scholaranium that provides you the flexibility to create custom quizzes (I needed them for SC and CR), which can be used efficiently to track your ability (not just accuracy) throughout your preparation. Moreover, I found that these questions had a high correlation with the questions in GMATprep, and hence I resorted only to GMATPrep for my Mocks (unlike MGMAT). I scored 660 and 670 in the mocks written days before the exam. I was not moving ahead as my Quant score was stuck at 5o.
During the actual GMAT, I breezed through the Quant section, and in fact, I completed the section with over 15 minutes on my clock. I had even hopes of touching 51 this time. In the verbal, I felt that I was sailing in smooth waters till question number 25. A super-hard RC struck me badly, and I had less than 5 minutes for my last five questions. I rushed through those questions, and I still believe they reduced my score by at least 3 points. When I submitted my exam, I saw 680 flashing on my screen (Q50 V32). Even though I didn’t reach 700, I made a great improvement within a short span of time.
Finally, I would like to thank e-GMAT for pushing my score close to my target. I hope this review would be helpful for non-natives who seek betterment in Verbal. e-GMAT is here for you!
All the very best for your preparations!

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

my learning from egmat

5 stars
July 11, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 420 reviews
Teacher: rajat sadana
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: N/A
I started with Manhattan books for sentence correction while solving OGs simultaneously. May be I was not that good but the Manhattan books didn’t helped me. I got almost all exercise questions correct in the book, yet in official guide my accuracy was bad around 50-60% (particularly for SC). With one and half months to go I desperately needed to improve more, and therefore I took e-gmat verbal online. It was really good. I improved my basics a lot. But since it took a month for the course I was unable to practice much. With strong basics and no practice I went to give my GMAT and I flopped big time.
Verbal :

SC
i) The rave reviews of eGmat SC course were not unfounded. I started from there and practiced the concepts in Scholarium. I was ok with my grammar but had no clue of the principles and reasons on which these question were framed. In 2 months I improved my accuracy from 45 % to 83 %. Later I also referred to notes from good Samaritans in gmat club.

CR

ii) I studied CR from the Manhattan guide and it was good enough. I practiced the concepts in Scholarium. The understanding of the basic framework helped me and with time I did get stumped in few question which taught me few nuances of CR.
RC

iii) I did not make any strategy for strategy, did not even take notes. I enjoy reading new information so it was rather the most fun part of the whole gmat learning. I would often go back and google the topics and phenomena I encountered during RC. I loved RC and in the end it loved me back 

Looking back I did realise something about CR and RC. As non-native speakers most of the time the topics are far away from our comfort zone. Evolution of Jazz and America, The view points of the tea party or the business practices of 17th century traders are not really something we encounter every day. The single most important factor to excel in RC and CR was to have genuine interest in the topics being discussed. I recommended a very unusual method of doing this to some of my friends that seems to work.
This is fun and interesting and there are similar once on economics, world history and philosophy. This not only helps in getting one acquainted with the terms but also makes one familiar with how to understand complex ideas in a fun way.

I am sucker for short term rewards and cannot keep myself motivated without seeing some sort of measurable change in the output.If you have similar issues use things that show instant results. eGmat is good option for that.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: Texas A&M
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Master the fundamentals

5 stars
July 10, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 420 reviews
Teacher: Shraddha, Krishna
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: N/A
It's all about being systematic and meticulous when it comes to any aptitude test, and e-gmat focuses exactly on that. The first time I took GMAT, though I thought i was well prepared, I realized that my verbal skill set was lacking a lot of basic understanding of the concepts. And I could never pin point why I was never able to crack the mock tests. This time around I feel much more confident and can see that my verbal score is slowly improving with more systematic practice. I scored a mere 27 in verbal the first time, now it is continuously improving and I scored as high as 36 and I am, confident I can take it further.

Most importantly the interactive discussion with experts makes it the best GMAT service provider ever! Thanks everyone at E-gmat.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course

5 stars
July 7, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep 244 reviews
Teacher: Rajat
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: N/A
My first attempt at the mock exam of GMAT gave me a 600. I was depressed with the course. My verbal course was pathetic. I prepared using Manhattan SC book, but was not satisfied as my confidence was not great.
I was recommended e-gmat by a friend. I started preparing from verbal online prep and verbal live prep. Within no time, i started gaining confidence and better scores. The Scholarium in the verbal section is the best. I am yet to take my GMAT, but i have recently got 690 in mock prep and i feel its mainly coz of e-gmat. Everything is great with e-gmat. However, kindly be informed that they will charge you if you want to extend your course. I have read in this forum that it will be extended for free. However, i was charged. It seems there is an option to disable the course for some duration if you want to take a break from preparation. Do use it. All the best :)

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: G.H.Raisoni College Of Engineering
Major: Engineering
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufac and Service
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Hoping to score big using e-gmat verbal live prep course

5 stars
July 6, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep 244 reviews
Teacher: Payal Tandon
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: N/A
I gave my GMAT 2 years back and scored a 580. At that point of time, I used to absolutely dread verbal. I found it really mundane and could never get myself to concentrate and solve the questions. While my quant was always strong, I was required to work on my verbal.

Then, a colleague of mine introduced me to e-GMAT. After a gap of 2 years , I started again with my prep. I cant thank enough to this portal for I have improved my verbal score incredibly! The videos are so descriptive. They are easy to understand and makes you think about the structure of the sentence you read in the test. This helps me to brush up my concepts very well. I had read someone's review about making handwritten notes while watching videos and then transferring those onto Ever note at the end of each day as that would not only help you revise, but also create a handy notebook for you to skim through while you're on the move.

The approach of instructors to teach the concepts and methods to solve the questions are without a doubt the reason for my verbal improvement. I feel like I am in a classroom during live sessions.

Scholaranium (Honestly, I have just started to use it more) can challenge with some tricky problems, which helps us to prepare for any kind of questions.

Iam yet to give my GMAT.... I hope for the best!!!

Joined: Jul 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: India
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

e-GMAT verbal course clarifies your basics

5 stars
July 6, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 420 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: N/A
I have been preparing for GMAT for sometime and have always had some roadblocks on the way. But the biggest roadblock was getting my basics right in Verbal section of GMAT. Every time I think of practicing Verbal I dread that time. Some days I will be getting most questions right and some days I would get all wrong and I obviously realized it was more of a guess work than a method.
While reading a number of blogs I decided to try e-GMAT's Verbal course. This course is very elaborate on each and every topic and it helps clarify your fundamentals very well. It draws a mind map for each type of problem. Going through the course, I was able to identify what kind of problem I need to solve in SC and my thought process was in line with the solution. The RC videos were really helpful as well. e-GMAT provides you a number of key strategies that you must keep in mind while reading through RCs. My mock test scores have shot up already and I am hoping the trend will continue. Will keep you all posted about my GMAT score.

Thank you e-GMAT for helping me clear my fundamentals and I definitely recommend it to everyone. Good luck to all!

JLG
Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: Universidad de Granada (SPAIN)
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Construction
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Grateful

5 stars
July 6, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep 244 reviews
Teacher: Payal, Rajat, Krishna
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: N/A
I decided to apply for a Top10 B-School long time ago. I was totally aware that to have at least some chance to be admitted I needed to reach a really great score in the GMAT, a quite difficult exam, as long as I had heard by then. So I decided to buy some study material, from some of the most prestigious publishers in the world. I will not name them here, but they are some of the people who have produced really enriching material in the past.

By that time I was working in the US, a dream I had pursued for the previous two years and hence I wanted to demonstrate my supervisors my commitment with my job and with my company. Therefore, I had no much time left and it was clear that this GMAT thing would take me a while and I would not get my super score overnight. However, I was not aware of how difficult this thing would really be…

I am an engineer, so I supposed that Quantitative wouldn´t be a big deal. So although I studied for it I focused on Verbal. I am a non-native, but I think I have been average good at English all my life, so I felt confident that I would improve quite a lot and would get a high score. So after studying for some months I scheduled my exam within several weeks and, went for it. For whatever reason, I did not do any practice exam in advance (don´t ask me why, probably in my arrogant way of thinking I felt I didn´t need it). I did the exam, feeling fine about it, but I was amazed when the screen said I had just got 580. I was really expecting way higher score than that one, something close to the 700s. That day I realized that GMAT was something to take into account, not just a mere exam like those of college. This is hard stuff.

So I revisited the study material I had, the one from the recognized publisher (I am not using “recognized” ironically, they have really good stuff out there), and did tons of exercises, with not more guide that the one in the books I was using. I studied hard for a year, using each loose hour I had to study (I was travelling a lot for work by that time, I did many of those exercises in planes and hotel rooms), confident that if I put hours and hours on it I would improve my score considerably. That strategy had worked out pretty well all my life, why wouldn´t work with this regards? I was absolutely wrong… I took the exam two more times, I get 650 and 550… Yeah, I went down the third time, which was inexplicable to me.

I was really upset: I had studied a good amount of hours, gone through my books and repeated the strategies learnt on them. What was going on? No matter how hard I was working on this and how much of my time I was diverting to this, I wasn´t able to surpass a line. I wasn´t being inefficient in my study, I was having hours of study of good quality, but that wasn´t counting. It was like having and upper barrier above me that I was not capable to break. So one Sunday, searching in internet I was recommended to attend a free webinar by a company I didn´t know about. It was scheduled an hour later and I had nothing better to do that Sunday, so I joined. There was a gent giving a brief explanation about how is GMAT exam organized first, and then describing a feeling that he assured many people experienced when preparing the exam. He was saying that for many people, no matter how hard they study, they were stopped up to a certain level and a certain score. Beyond that level, they weren’t able to pass. By that time, my concentration on the webinar was 1000%, that gent was describing basically what was happening to me! He was saying that there were several reasons for not being able to surpass such barrier, but the most important were not having developed your core skills properly, and probably the way you were absorbing knowledge (in my case, my books from the traditional publishers). He defined that situation of being stuck at one level as “Score Plateau”, which is a very appropriate term, in my opinion. That gent was Rajat Sadana, co-founder of e-GMAT, and he was presenting his e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course.

I decided to take that course right away and soon I started to realize how misled my study strategy had been. The Verbal Live Prep course changes from top to bottom the way you approach the Verbal section of the GMAT Exam. Rajat, Payal, Krishna and the rest of experts of e-GMAT (whom I am very grateful to) change the way you envision this in both form and content.

Content: because they re-define many of the core concepts that you need to understand previously to master the GMAT: the difference between accuracy and ability, the real definition of an Assumption or how you can truly read a passage with effective Reading Comprehension, for instance; because they provide you with powerful tools to face a question: the Pre-Thinking approach, the Negation Test, the iSWAT choices, the difference between polar opposite and logical opposite, the Variance Analysis, and so many other concepts that help you understand deeply what you are asked; because they have such a good question bank, way better that any other I might have tried, to help you understand the lessons first and master the sections afterwards; because they give you access to very reliable practice exams, the stepping stones on your way to master the exam, in my opinion.

Form: because they use an online course that is a format significantly more effective than traditional books. Organized intelligently, this course gives you access to related problems, right after a concept is learnt. It is pretty easy to navigate and easier to carry (I do not need to bring my heavy books with me when flying in my work trips). The course does not allow you to keep going if detects that you have not internalized the concepts taught. This gives you the security of not being leaving important stuff behind unwittingly. Besides, each lesson is reinforced with Live Sessions on the weekends, where you not only go over what you have studied, but you also learn some strategic tips to increase your performance when practicing, and can ask all the questions that you have come up with during the week.

I have scheduled my GMAT exams within three weeks from now. My score in my last practice exam, four days ago, was 750. I do not know how well I will perform, but these guys have indeed given me something I lacked before: an enormous confidence on myself and on my knowledge. I will tell you in twenty days…

Good luck to you all.

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Symbiosis Centre of Media & Communication
Major: Journalism
Industry: Other Communications
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

An excellent guide for GMAT Verbal

4 stars
July 4, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 420 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Totally unfamiliar about how GMAT verbal looked like, I decided to take up e-GMAT's Verbal online course which was recommended by a friend of mine.

Anybody who is weak in grammar or doesn't know the correct usage of the tenses or idioms should definitely buy the Verbal Online course by e-GMAT. It's a boon. In the beginning, like others, I had also purchased few books which were definitely good and quite in depth too but it was difficult for me to summarize so much text into few key points. This is where e-GMAT's audio-visual sessions helped me. The videos are so light and easy to assimilate. They might be little long, but trust me you need each and every detail such as the grammar, modifiers, parallelism concept, sentence structure, idioms, etc., provided in those videos.

Tip 1- Make notes. Yes, it might be time-consuming but if you make notes while you're listening to those videos, you will never forget what you learned in the first video while going through the 100th one. Make a separate notebook, make notes as you go through each topic. Remember that don't summarize while making notes, write in detail while going through each sub-topic.

People who are weak in SC, must buy this course. Being a native English speaker, I could speak the language really well, but when I had to write I had no sense of whether I'm using correct tenses. Little-little details provided in the Verbal online course helped me so much to fine tune my language. Initially, in my practice tests on e-GMAT, my score used to be really less, but with more and more practice I'm able to score more than 80% in each of my SC tests.

Tip 2- Solve each and every question given in the Verbal Online course and solve them as it is directed by e-GMAt's plan. If you skip the OG solutions practice after each topic, you will not be able to make a correct use of the theory which you learned in the topic. It's just like Quant- the theory of each topic may be of one or two pages, but there are hundreds of questions to solve in a different way based on that small theory. So the more you practice, the better you get a hold onto a topic.

There is an in-depth explanation for CR and RC as well. It's helpful for people who are new to CR and RC and who don't know the approach to solve these questions. The Verbal Online course gives you each detail about CR and RC such as what it is, how you should start reading it when it appears on your screen, how to think about it and how to eliminate incorrect choices and finally choose the correct one. They also teach how to pre-think the answer choices in CR and RC, which is very helpful if you can master it. Unfortunately, for me, it didn't help.

Tip 3- You need the patience to solve CR and RC. Maybe for first 10 times you get the incorrect answer choice, but definitely, with more practice, you'll be able to get the correct answer choice. You should learn how to eliminate the incorrect answer choice from e-GMAT's Verbal Online course. This technique helps a lot.

The most amazing part of the e-GMAT's Verbal Online course is- Scholaranium. They have around 800 practice questions on SC, CR and RC and detailed explanation about each question. This is more than enough to practice for your GMAT Verbal. You don't need any external sources to practice from. Once you take all the ability tests by e-GMAT, you wouldn't have to worry about the time as well. From 1st question on their software to the last question, they give you a time limit to solve the questions. This is enough to prepare you for actual GMAT exam.

Tip 4- Don't get lazy and solve each and every question. The most important part of the practice is read why the incorrect choice is incorrect. You should know the difference the correct and incorrect answer choices. This is where the explanations by e-GMAT team help you.

In short, Verbal Online is a complete package. I'm happy that I invested in this course. Every penny spent is worth each detail which the course has provided.

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: university of delhi
Major: Economics
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Incredible Course!!

5 stars
July 3, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 420 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: N/A
I had given my GMAT last year in October (610) and at that point of time I used to absolutely dreaded verbal. I found it really mundane and could never get myself to concentrate and solve the questions. While my quant was always strong,

Then, a colleague at work introduced me to e-GMAT. After a six month break, I started again with my prep. I cant thank enough to this portal for I have improved my verbal score incredibly! The videos are so descriptive. They are easy to understand and makes you think about the structure of the sentence you read in the test. this help me me brush up my concepts very well. I had read someone's review about making handwritten notes while watching videos and then transferring those onto Evernote at the end of each day as that would not only help you revise, but also create a handy notebook for you to skim through while you're on the move. I am yet to give my GMAT hoping for the best!

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Verbal - The key to a good GMAT Score

5 stars
July 3, 2017
Company: e-GMAT 756 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 420 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I started using e-GMAT last September after browsing through all types of courses available online and trying out their free resources. The key feature that attracted me to the course was the ease and simplicity with which they conduct each lesson. The online courses gave me a chance to study while continuing my hectic work life. The videos themselves were very helpful and engaging which ensured maximum retention.

My BIGGEST fear on the GMAT was verbal as I knew that I am one of those people who write the same way they speak. e-GMAT broke dow the 6 core topics covered in GMAT is the most systematic manner without compromising on any topic. Slowly within 3 weeks I started getting confident of the types of questions I was attempting and also started to enjoy verbal.

In the span of 3 weeks I grew from V25 in my diagnostic to V37. I owe e-GMAT a huge thank you for boosting my confidence and I am looking forward to seeing my test results come the end of the month.