Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.6 stars
(4.6/5) - 190 reviews
Joined: Feb 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2013
College: Georgia Tech
Major: Industrial Technology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good review software but very long

5 stars
February 20, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Pros:
- Repetition of materials
- Tracking and forecasts your score
- Tons of study material
- Phone app so you're able study on the go. Super helpful

Cons:
- Tutoring wasn't that helpful
- Unable to choose the areas you want to focus on. The only choice you have is to choose between verbal or quant
- Very long and repetitive

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Major: Business
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

Good to follow your progress.

4 stars
February 20, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
This was the first course that I had and it really impressed me for the easy way in tracking the progress. The explanations are really good. In about 80-100 hours it is possible to finish it with good retention of the content (don't hurry expecting to just finish it). The only thing that I missed is that some verbal questions were too obvious differing for the official questions. Also, they should consider to have a full practice test, including the essay and IR sections. Overall, I recommend the course for those who struggle in tracking and organizing their study topics.

Joined: Feb 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Economist GMAT Tutor

5 stars
February 16, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I haven't completed the course or taken the test, but the Economist Tutor has helped me stay focused. I have tried self directed study before and it hasn't worked very well. This test prep keeps things fresh and seems to provide a clear direction that I am confident in. I also thinks it saves time since the content is provided in a linear way so you don't have to spend the time deciding on what to study. I am happy with the product so far. Lastly, the customer service I have received has been pretty good.

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2014
College: University of Ottawa
Major: Psychology
Industry: Government
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Good way to prepare

4 stars
February 6, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
A very good way to prepare for the GMAT.
Lots of way for you to learn, and it adapts to you, just like the actual test.

My only issue is you can't go back and practice certain sections. For example, if you want to practice powers/exponents, you can't just decide to do 200 questions to improve, you can only follow what it gives you.

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Syracuse University
Major: Aerospace Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Program

5 stars
January 9, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 500   After: N/A
The GMAT Economist Tutor is the best application for that I've used for preparation for my second GMAT exam. I am an engineering student that is preparing trying to get into an 3+2 MBA Program. Although I love business, I haven't had the need to take many business courses so it is helpful to get the transition from the engineering mindset to the more business or GMAT mindset.

I really like how the application works to anticipate what you need and suggests lessons for you. The questions and content does get more difficult the better you do, just like the actual exam. It does more then just quiz but actually teach strategy to the questions and how to go about the test. But it also teaches you content so you know what is actually going on. So you understand the verbal questions or the math pieces.

The GMAT Economist Tutor also provides an online version but also an iPad version so I can pretty much take it wherever. The application also allows for practice exams, tutor advice, and even an essay that can be scored. So it really covers a lot of the bases. But it still takes a lot of time and effort that you have to put in. It is an expensive test prep program, but worth it.

Joined: Dec 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2014
College: ITESM
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent GMAT-prep - you notice the progress

5 stars
December 22, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Teacher: Isaac
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I recommend it 100%. Before I subscribed to the GMAT Tutor I was studying from the GMAT Review books and the Manhattan - I was studying without a clear direction and not optimizing my time. Now I feel more secure about my preparation and my performance during the exam.

Joined: Dec 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: lehigh university
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to go at your own pace

5 stars
December 18, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: N/A
the program has been extremely helpful for me to learn at my own pace and over an extended period of time. i had done intensive in person classes and private tutoring before but found that my work schedule did not allow for intensive studying. i had done the test in the past but wanted to work at my own pace in order to try to improve my score. economist gmat has proven to be the most effective way for me to put time towards the gmat. i can study at any time for any amount of time and feel and see progress.

Pros:
ideal for long term study
make your own schedule
not dependent on tutors or schedules
predictive algorithms are great at selecting material and ensuring efficient study

cons:
not as good for intensive study
less personal touch

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Adapative online course provided both a review of verbal and math fundamentals and a preparation course that is trailored to my specific needs.

5 stars
November 30, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a web-based course that extensively covers the verbal and math portions of the exam. In addition to providing review of verbal and math fundamentals, the course also allows for the submission of five essays based on previous GMAT AWA prompts. The grade received from the course also provides detailed feedback regarding your essay, allowing you to adjust your technique to meet the requirements of the exam. You also have the opportunity to schedule Skype tutor sessions for feedback on your essays and simulation tests, or any other topic.

In addition to the content of the course, which adapts to your skill level as your progress, it also provides estimates of your exam grade based on course performance and simulation tests.

Overall, the Economist GMAT Tutor is an easy to use online course that covers almost the entire spectrum of topics and techniques necessary for success on the GMAT while providing feedback regarding course progress and grade projections.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
College: ITESM
Major: Engineering
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

Great study tool

5 stars
November 19, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I have yet to use all the 'perks' included in the course, however I have been using GMAT Tutor for over a month and I think it is very useful.
I've not only learnt a lot of techniques to answer questions faster, also, the GMAT Tutor really teaches you to put them in practice and sort of helps embed in your head when to use such techniques. I've already improved my score (from mock tests) over 50+ points.
The only drawback is that I only payed for 3 months, and am not sure if I will be able to finish the course on time without having to pay an additional 700 dollars.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
College: Rotterdam school of management
Major: International Business
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Luxembourg
Verified Real Student Review

You should take it but have a look also to other prep

4 stars
November 14, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 190 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Hi everybody,
First a little introduction about my self: I did a bachelor at the rotterdam school of management IBA. I always have been ok with math, however I'm not an native speaker (I come from france).
I studied the gmat with the economist for one month, about two hours during week day and 6 hours during weekends (I was also working).

I took the gmat and I got 640. I was a bit surprised and disappointed because I had for my three online test with the economist 620 then 670 and finally 690. I was electing more than 710.
The problem is that I scored low one verbal. Prehaps because I was over confident about that part as with the economist my scored improved a lot (from 28 to 38). I think I was used to the way the economist asked the questions, or maybe I was to not enough concentrated on the real gmat (stress ect)
However I would strongly recommend the economist: It is intuitive, it give a lot of tips. You should take more than one month to prepare the gmat, if you want to score above 700. I think in three months if you only do that, 6h a day it should be more than enough!
I did not study more than 4 hours one the IR and got 7: I think it the same as what you learn in quant!
I do not have my awa yet.

Economist GMAT Tutor Courses

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Forum Posts

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Articles