Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 219 reviews
Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Economist got me a better score than Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
July 8, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 730
I have a long history with the GMAT. During senior year of my college year I took a self-study Manhattan GMAT course and was only able to score a 650. This was disappointing as anyone whose looking at an top program knows they need a 700+.

I decided to give it another go a couple years later. I had heard good things about the Economist so I went with them. I found their adaptive learning program to be much more effective than watching a lecture and then doing problems. In the end I obtained a 730 score thanks to the excellent structure of the program and the helpful tutors. Thanks, Economist!

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Broadcasting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist Works

5 stars
May 27, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
The Economist GMAT Tutor was exactly what I needed. It starts with the basics, which is exactly what I needed because when I stated, I didn't know what I was in for. But it starts you out with small steps and works with you at the pace you can go. And if you are struggling with a concept, it goes back and keeps hammering at those subjects until you get it down. The tutors you get paired with are very helpful. I ended up working with two different tutors over Skype, but I had one tutor who took a real interest in my studies and help me with some strategies where I was weak. I don't know where I was at the beginning of the program (I think it put me around a 450 score as I started) but by the end I was scoring in the high 600. I took two practice tests through the Economist and another one through the GMAC. The Economist scores were really accurate. I got a 670 then a 680. On my real test I got a 690. It got me into my number one choice school with a great scholarship.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Universidad de San Andres
Major: Business
Country: Argentina
Verified Real Student Review

Fun, interactive and worth your time and money

5 stars
May 24, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I decided to apply to business school mid-September, so my timing was less than ideal. I had always assumed that a little practice would help me shape up and I would obtain a good GMAT score easily. Economist’s free mock exam (which you get on your weekly trial) proved to be a defining moment in my journey. I scored 630 and I did very poorly in quant. It was a rude awakening, but a necessary one. I can confidently say the money I invested in the Economist GMAT course yielded excellent value and was the best decision I made in the process of applying to business school. These are the features I liked the most about the course:

1) Interactive, engaging platform improved my discipline and my enjoyment of the process. The same wit you find in the magazine is present in the course material.
2) You can let the adaptive engine take you through the course working more intensely on your weakest areas or you can chart your own course by selecting which topics you want to cover as you go. This was very important to me given my time constraints.
3) No need to take notes, you can always revisit key highlights of a lesson in your control panel.
4) The ask a tutor feature is responsive and useful. You’ll get a response within 6-12 hours.
5) The live one-on-one sessions with tutors were great to build my confidence tackling data sufficiency questions. The tutors will pull up questions on topics you select in advance and work on the questions with you.
6) AWA grading. My first essay sucked. The person who graded it basically dissected the thing with five or six comments and completely changed my approach. Went from a 3 to a 6 in three attempts.
7) Had a head start comparing with other internationals when it came to Verbal due to my English skills. But the sentence correction material… it was brilliant. After a month with the Economist prep I just could not get a sentence correction question wrong. Very simple rules make you improve dramatically.
8) I found the mock exam to be a lot more realistic compared to what I tried on other companies, particularly MPrep. Still, the best mocks are those you get from GMAT prep.

Things not so great about it:
1) The score predictor does not work very well, I wouldn’t pay attention to it.
2) Pretty weak on IR preparation. Seems to me that the Economist subscribes to the “IR doesn’t matter” view. I had to complement my preparation with GMAT prep.
3) I found the Reading Comp. questions a little more ambiguous than the actual GMAT
4) While the engine works well, it does repeat a few questions you’ve answered before every once in a while.

Trust me, you will not be disappointed. Went from a 630 to 730 in the last Economist mock and scored a 760 in the real thing.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Copenhagen Business School
Major: International Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Denmark
Verified Real Student Review

From 540 to 730 with the Economist Ultimate Prep

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Teacher: Kasia and Jake
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 730
I purchased the ultimate prep by the Economist upon recommendation from a colleague. My opinion is that the overall course (algorithm based software + simulation tests + tutoring sessions) is great for anyone looking for an overall improvement, and who learns best from a mix of self-studying and tutoring sessions. It helped me go from 540 to 730 over a period of 6 months. The strength of the course is the quantitative part of the algorithm based software and the live tutoring sessions. However, the course has two major drawbacks that are worth considering. Firstly it is too expensive for what it is. Sure, the tutoring sessions are extremely helpful and the tutors are competent, but the algorithm based course itself does not cover anything that e.g. Magoosh does not cover. Secondly, the Sentence Correction section of the algorithm based software is not as strong as the other parts (RC, CR, PS & DS), and it is definitely not sufficient if you are aiming for a high verbal s core. I had to purchase the MGMAT SC book to cover the advanced Sentence Correction questions - which is not optimal taking the price of the course into consideration.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Very efficient way to get ready for the GMAT

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I was very satisfied with the GMAT prep course from the Economist. It was a very efficient way to get up to speed, as the software clearly noticed what I am good at and in which areas I still need more preparation for. Also, whenever I had a question, the team behind this app got back to me quickly and always with relevant information. Overall, I am very happy with this tool and would definitely recommend it to anybody who would like to get ready for the GMAT.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: university of dayton
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very solid product

4 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
I had a chance to work from home for 4 months and knew I wouldn't have another chance the grind out the hours necessary to do as well as I wanted to. I picked The Economist GMAT prep based on its content delivery style. The conversational tone and adaptive software keep the information fresh and flowing throughout the months of studying. It does a great job of dropping you back into timed questions to help with patience and information retrieval. Really helped me reach my goals.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
Major: Computer Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good for those with a tight schedule

4 stars
May 1, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Even though this course is a bit expensive compared to other ones out there, if you have trouble finding time or tend to get distracted once you start studying, this is a good course. You can do timed sessions. I did most of my studying on 30 minutes sessions. It helped me keep track of my study hours and was able to study during lunch hours or whenever I could spare a few focused minutes.

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Brigham young Unversity
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The absolute best value for your money

5 stars
April 26, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
When I started studying for the GMAT, I felt like I was moving through lead to get it done. I was reading through Manhattan GMAT books and not really making any progress in my practice tests (I went from a 550 to a 580 on practice tests after poring through the Manhattan books for a couple weeks).

A friend who graduated from Harvard Business School strongly recommended I try the Economist GMAT Tutor, and I started the 7 day free trial. I LOVED it—I honestly enjoyed studying! Not only did studying become much easier, I scored a 740 on the real GMAT after a little less than 4 months of studying with the Economist.

Here’s why I highly recommend the Economist to anyone and everyone thinking about taking the GMAT:
(1) I can't tell you how fun studying for the GMAT became! It's like a gamified study tool that's customized to you. There are graphs that show your progress in the course, time spent by Quant/Verbal, and a score forecast graph that is so fun to watch go up and up as you progress through the course.

(2) Speaking of customized: the Economist is a smart, adaptive tutor that adjusts to what you need to spend more or less time on. The GMAT itself is adaptive, and I love that the Economist is, too. The Economist either quickly moves through the content if you keep answering things right or slows you down and gives you more practice if you're struggling. Rather than having to skim through stuff in a book that you think you Might have mastered, or waste time and sit through stuff in a class that you don't need to spend time on—or worse, have to rush through harder concepts for you because you have to follow the class' pace—the Economist helps you focus on what you need to focus on.

(3) You can study on your own time, whenever and wherever. It isn't a scheduled class you have to attend always at a certain time, or take time to travel to. You also don’t need to lug a heavy book around with you. I downloaded the mobile app and studied for 5-minute increments on my phone when I needed a break at work, and for 25-minute increments on my lunch break. You can also use the app offline (on an airplane, for example).

(4) The “Ask-a-Tutor” feature was seriously awesome. Any time I had a question on a specific practice problem or concept in the course, I would just hit a button and submit my question, and within a day or so a tutor would reply via email with a detailed explanation to answer my question. It was fantastic. Also, the Tutoring Sessions were very helpful and I really enjoyed getting customized help and walk throughs with the Tutors over Skype! (P.S. Jake Wengroff is the bomb.com).

(5) This is maybe a small point, but the AWA Essay tutoring in the Economist is the best. They give you a very easy format to follow/memorize, and allow you to submit practice essays that they return, graded and with comments. I followed their format exactly and got a 6.0 on the AWA portion.

For the cost (around $650), I think the Economist is a great value. Way better than either books or a class. Even if you don’t end up going with the Economist, I highly recommend taking advantage of the 7-day trial!

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: The University of Texas
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Economist GMAT Prep Review

4 stars
April 25, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I used the Economist GMAT prep in the Summer/Fall of 2015. I managed to go from a 560 on my first practice test in July to a 750 on my actual GMAT in November. I had tried self study prior to taking the course to little-to-no improvement. The courses adaptive format takes the guess work out of what your weaknesses are and what you need to devote time to. In the early going of test prep this is great as it gives you exposure to a wide variety of materials and gives you a litmus test of what will require extra attention. Additionally the adaptive model helps with fatigue as it moves between subject matters frequently and prevents you from getting exhausted on a single subject. This worked for the majority of my prep. Being able to send in emails/questions to tutors was also a huge help when I just "wasn't getting it." Additionally setting up the live calls was a huge help especially in terms of planning and scheduling my test prep. When it came time to focus on the tes t itself the economists prep was a little lacking in that it only had 5 tests. I ended up resorting to using other resources to get additional test practice. They also don't have a generic question bank to run through practice questions. My only other complaint is that the included app isn't very well designed. It's a regurgitation of the desktop experience in an app, which works on some subjects but those requiring a pen and paper or working out a problem don't work.

Pros:
Adaptive model
Timed Sessions
Live instructor calls
Ask an instructor option

Cons:
Not enough practice tests - can't retake previous tests
Can't take/retake specific lessons
Not enough practice questions
App isn't optimized and required network

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: UNC
Major: Journalism
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Efficient 670 to 780

5 stars
April 20, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 219 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 780
Highest reviews for Economist GMAT Tutor.

Loved how the model adapted to pinpoint weaknesses and throw you more questions in those areas. I didn't have a lot of extra time to study for the GMAT so I appreciated the fact that every minute was used well and no time was wasted. The program also forces you to stay active in reading and solving problems whereas other online programs include watching videos which allows you to become passive in your studying. I would much rather spend my time trying out problems and going through the wrong ways to solve a it than watch a video of a tutor showing me how to solve.

Also felt the questions in the practice tests were very similar to those of the real GMAT so when test day came I was confident going through the exam.

But ultimately the results speak for themselves, I went from 670 to 780 using the Economist GMAT Tutor program. For what it's worth, my strategy was to study for about an hour a day for about 3 months. 5 weeks out I started taking a practice test each Friday, reviewed it Saturday and tried to schedule a tutor session on the Sunday/Monday afterwards. I also had the same tutor for every online session (Jake Wengroff) which was very helpful as we were able to build a good rapport.

Economist GMAT Tutor Courses

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Forum Posts