Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.6 stars
163 reviews
Joined: Sep 2008
Forum Posts: 1
Purchased Course: Oct 2013
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

A solid course...

4 stars
April 6, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Teacher: The application!
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: N/A
I'm likely somewhat unique in that I went through most of the Economist Gmat Tutor syllabus twice - once when it was MasterGMAT and once again recently.

The Web Application
I really like the web application. It is intuitive. The UI is clean. However, I would recommend they change the review section. I found it a pain to navigate.

Quant
The quant content is very robust. If you learn best by practicing a lot and by doing a lot of questions then Economist GMAT would be a very good bet. They present you with many (thousands) questions of varying difficulty. The methods they teach are for the most part very solid. My Quant skills improved a great deal because of this course.

Verbal
On my second time around I didn't use as much as the verbal section as the first time. While very thorough I found their SC methods a bit weak. This may be because the practice SC questions are unlike official GMAT questions. When I came to apply the SC methods to OG GMAT questions they just didn't click for me.
The RC and CR content is good and the practice questions I found comparable to the GMAT.

Relative to some other courses the course is quite expensive. I think it is worth the money but the rolling monthly $90 fee when you have finished the three months is excessive. This is especially the case when your customers are all likely busy people who may not be able to complete their prep in the initial three months. it feels a bit like a money grab. This is my only gripe and this comes from a returning customer.

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
College: University of Chicago
Major: International Relations
Industry: Consulting
Verified Real Student Review

Go at your own pace; real-time feedback

4 stars
April 5, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Teacher: Various
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Economist GMAT Tutor is great! Unlike live courses (online or in-person) you can go at your own pace. You don't have to wait for instructors to respond to other students' question or fast forward a video session to get to material you actually want / need to learn.

Feedback is also given in real-time. As soon as you answer a question you see if you were right. If you got it wrong there is an explanation and a chance to learn from your mistake. No more flipping back and forth to the back of a prep book.

The progress tracker is a nice motivational tool. I find myself looking to hit certain completion benchmarks and that has kept me working hard. The score forecaster gives a 90-100 point range which seems too broad to be helpful but it's nice to see that you're score is improving.

The ask-a-tutor function hasn't been very helpful. Often the responses aren't helpful and at times seem condescending.

I would recommend the course overall. Don't bother with the more expensive versions unless you really think a few extra tests is worthwhile. I recommend you take the three tests that come with the complete version and take practice exams that you can get for free from Kaplan or GMAC. You can also buy the practice exams from Manhattan Prep.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2013
College: Tel Aviv
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Great self learning course that allows you to learn at your own speed! (710, AWA 6/6, IR 7/8)

5 stars
March 23, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Teacher: Isaac Bettan & Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The online Economist GMAT Tutor course was great!. The materials are very clear and the number of different exercises is very good. I resolved a total of 93% of the course so believe me when I say they have tons of materials! My scores for those of you who like to keep track - 710, 6/6 AWA and 7/8 IR. And my sim average (including GMAT PREP) 730.

The course is very friendly and easy to grasp, it makes complex concepts and GMAC tricks easy to understand and remember. The one on one Tutor lessons are very useful and they're exam debriefing tool and essay reviews are pretty good.

I'm a full time worker and getting home to study at my time and pace (+during weekends) was what I needed. The Economist course fell right into my needs and helped me get ready for my GMAT. At the end of the day I studied an average of 2 hours on weekdays and 4 hours on weekends, and got to the results I wanted.

I fully recommend this to any and everyone

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent, thorough and adaptive learning experience

5 stars
March 18, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Teacher: Dr. Ilana Goldberg
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
As an Economist reader I was drawn by the credibility of the name and the ability to do a free trial. I had a lot of friends offering books of various sorts, but I really didn't know where to start and having a brand I could trust was how I got started.

I was not disappointed. The course was extremely thorough, giving me complete confidence that every matter would be covered and that recent changes and added sections in the exam would be addressed.

The course is built to allow you to meet an objective - a high GMAT score. Everything in it is thoroughly researched and presented to teach you how the exam might trick you, common mistakes and common fool-proof answer checks. My exam methodology I took during my School days was clearly not the right one to take into this test, and the Economist Tutor was instrumental in changing it into a more effective GMAT-focussed method.

I also submitted essays for the AWA section for marking on three occasions and my score went up each time as I practiced and responded to feedback. Again, had I approached this section without some crucial bits of advice from the Economist GMAT tutor I would have been in a far different situation.

Unfortunately I did not leave myself enough time to complete the whole course, and I think that perhaps my score reflects this. As a means to an ends though, it has got me exactly where I want to be, to my Business School of 1st preference and I really don't think I would be here without it!

Very satisfied.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
College: Dublin City University
Major: Business
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: Poland
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent app made for an enjoyable learning experience

4 stars
March 10, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I chose the Economist GMAT Tutor course initially because of the iPad app. Given that I travel a lot and usually have the iPad close to hand I thought this decision would maximize my study time while limiting my excuses. What I didn't expect was that I would find the course very enjoyable. The content is interesting and there are constant exercises and sample questions to test your knowledge including random revision questions from previously covered areas of the course. Many exercises are performed in a time controlled environment to prepare you for the test. In addition to the app there are online support, revision materials and mock examinations available online. I would recommend this course however I did find the price of the course expensive, that being said it was still comparable to the cost of other online GMAT courses.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2013
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

All you need to get the score you want

5 stars
March 3, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 690
The Economist GMAT prep is the best tool I have come across when preparing for the GMAT. If I had known, I would not have wasted my time buying other text books and spent hours doing useless self study sessions. The Economist course is entirely online, and you can take it from a computer or mobile phone. It helps you study what the software sees is best for you (you can turn off the auto pilot and choose for yourself also). The language is clear, concise and carries a light humor. I highly recommend this course. It gets the job done as painlessly as possible. I only took about 70% of the course, but that was enough for the to get the score I wanted.

Joined: Nov 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 2013
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Tutor review

4 stars
February 21, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 500   After: 610
I have completed 85% of the GMAT tutor course. The quant section was great and helped me to reach 49, 81 percentile and I have completed 90% of quant the section.
However, the verbal section was not greet enough for non-native speaker. I completed about 80 % of that section and scored 24, 34 percentile only.
My total score was 610 and the GMAT Tutor forecast was 600-650. My last exam was 2 years before this. I have not done any thing for GMAT during this 2 years other than 12 weeks using GMAT Tutor before the exam.
I recommend the course for its quant section only not for the verbal section.

Joined: Oct 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 2013
Verified Real Student Review

a solid gmat prep method

5 stars
February 17, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Economist GMAT Tutor is an adaptive course of study, covering the quantitative portions of the GMAT.

The program largely consist of answering example questions using a slider entry that allows you to choose your level of confidence with the answer while choosing the answer that you believe to be correct. This same interface is used for presenting new information as well.

The presentation seems to be in a set order, with skills building on each other. However, the actual practice questions provided are highly adaptive, with too many incorrect answers triggering outright reeducation on the topic. Providing consistently correct answers will result in faster progression through the course as well as more challenging questions.

Set to the defaults, the course will switch every 10-15 minutes between math and verbal practice. But you do not have the option to target particular material for review.
I found the system to be somewhat frustrating, particularly for math, which is my weak point. There are times when a more thorough review would be appreciated, particularly when answering a question wrong. While an explanation is provided, it is not always thorough.

The ability to submit questions involves a near 24 hr delay, and so is not particularly useful.

The practice test are superb, and worth the cost of the program itself. The feedback is detailed, and the essay is scored by a human.

Joined: Oct 2013
Forum Posts: 1
Purchased Course: Nov 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Disappointed but might work for some

2 stars
January 20, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 480   After: 500
Overall, I could not recommend this GMAT course. The adaptive format and accessibility are nice and this is about where the positives stop for me.

After completing more than 75% of the course over 100+ hours of studying, I took the real test and was quite disappointed with my score to say the least. While I felt prepared and was scoring in the 600's on the OG tests, I do not hold this program solely accountable.

Some of my frustrations include the inability to select specific lessons, the "tutor" sessions, the score forecast, and the IR preparation. First, as many people have said before, it is not possible to select a certain problem area you are struggling with for review. There isn't even a search feature to go through the small summary tidbits the program does have. Searching for topics is annoying. I gave up and just came to the forums for supplemental info. Another program feature that I found useless was the score forecaster. After completing 75% of the program and completing all 3 simulation tests, my score forecast had a range of 90 points. 90 points on the GMAT is huge and provides no value. Third, the program never introduced me to the IR content. I feel its ridiculous after 75% of the course this was not discussed.

One of the major disappointments for me was the one-on-on tutoring sessions. 3 of my 4 sessions were USELESS. And I mean completely useless. I spent the 50 minutes watching the tutors solve problems. After asking questions the tutors responded with minutes of "ummmmmm, uhhhhh, hmmmmmm". When an answer was given and I continued to ask questions, sometimes they were answered, other times they weren't. On a specific topic I asked a few follow questions on the tutor said, "I have explained it perfectly. I don't know why you don't understand and I can't do it any other way". Thank you for being helpful and hard working!! The last straw for me was when one of the tutors answered my question by telling me to look in the online forums for the answers. This is unacceptable and a joke. I hope that I just had bad experiences.

These are just some of my negative feelings about the course. Some people have found it helpful and the ability to use the course anywhere is a plus. However, I would recommend using a different course as I am.



Joined: Jan 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2014
College: University of Oregon
Major: Business
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good for those with a full 3 months for concentrated study

4 stars
January 16, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 163 reviews
Teacher: Did not have one specific teacher assigned to me.
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 550
Pros:
- Really focuses on the way that you should approach the test questions rather than what the answers should be.
- Feels like it is tailored to your personnel needs.
-Ability to choose the length of lessons based on the time you have.
-

Cons-
- I found that the IPAD app version was a little bit harder to use than the full computer version.
-You can't choose the exact topic you want to study at the time. You can choose to have options but if what you want to go over is not offered there is not way of getting to it. I understand the reasoning behind this, but it can cause difficulties for the user if their scheduled date to take the test is fast approaching and they have yet to reach certain topics they know will be on the test.


OVERALL, I think this is a great program. However, my main warning would be that it is important to make sure you have enough time to get through the full program before you take the test. I spent about 1 months studying for 2 to 3 hours per day on average and was unable to make it through all the material. Therefore when I took the test I was not satisfied with my score. However, I don't really blame the economist GMAT tutor for that. I plan to re-take after completing the course and will update my review then to reflect my final conclusions.

Economist GMAT Tutor Courses

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Forum Posts

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Articles