Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.6 stars
(4.6/5) - 177 reviews
Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Score Guarantee is not dependable. Quant good, Verbal Easy(Not so close to GMAT).

2 stars
October 6, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 630
So the GMAT TUTOR is very convinient - phone/ ipad/ laptop. You can start anywhere.

However the biggest problem i found with the course was - you cannot revise old topics in a full screen window. They have a 3 inch wide window in the software where you will have to read vertically extended passages of notes.

Secondly they do guarantee a full refund of your fees. But they dismissed me over a technicality. So brace yourselves when you are paying for it. Consider the money spent. I wish I didn't have to apply for the refund in the first place. But now I have less cash and a low score!

I bought the software twice actually because they only give you a 3 month window to complete the GMAT. I had to renew my subscription.

I only found their one-to-one skype sessions helpful as some of the teachers were pretty good! But otherwise I would advise against it because there are much better courses available online who don't do false marketing for people with tight budgets.

I have found one that is alot cheaper than GMAT TUTOR and my recommendation for people Re-appearing for the GMAT - GROCKIT.

Hope this was helpful to a few people. All the best!

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 2014
College: University of Colorad at Boulder
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive Course, Engaging System

5 stars
September 26, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: N/A
I am extremely satisfied with the Economist GMAT Tutor. First of all, the layout of the online system is extremely fluid. I can organize time-tailored practice sessions, schedule a tutor, review my progress, and analyze my strengths and weaknesses. This contributes a lot more to my studying pattern than I could have imagined, mostly by keeping my seemingly endless studying very engaging.

I think the "computer adaptive" aspect of the program is the most impressive. The program quickly identifies my strengths and weakness and tailors a study program that suits my needs. The online tutors also have access to data and progress, so they know exactly what I need to practice to improve my score. Their tutors are also extremely helpful and very timely in their responses to my "Ask a Tutor" emails.

Overall, the Economist Tutor is an excellent program that is great for people who do not have the time to enroll in an online or classroom based course, but still want a comprehensive, tailored studying experience.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent

5 stars
September 15, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not pass the real GMAT yet but I firmly believe this preparation will improve my score.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great review prep

5 stars
September 14, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I have been using The Economist GMAT Tutor for a couple of weeks. The course is great and gives you an extreme amount of flexibility, which is good for anyone with a full time job. The course is also adaptive, so it recognizes the types of questions that you consistently get wrong and works on them until you show improvement.

They also give you a good amount of practice tests so that you can test what you have learned in a test-taking environment.

Overall I have enjoyed it and would recommend using it.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: Rutgers University
Major: Biology
Industry: Medical/Health Care Devices
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Economist

5 stars
September 13, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The course was great and every practice exam was very accurate. The adaptive technology was very realistic and the material was presented in a great manner.

Joined: Aug 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Universidad Peruana de Ciencias Aplicadas
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Peru
Verified Real Student Review

I increased 80 points because of this course

5 stars
August 22, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I took one of the exams from the GMAT Prep Software before I started the program and scored 640 (I don't remember my quant score but I got a 32V and 6/8 in IR). After 9 CAT exams and 2 months training with the The Economist GMAT app I achieved 720 on my actual GMAT (49Q, 38V, 8/8 IR, 5.0/6 AWA). The app helped a lot with my Verbal skills, I even got a 42V on my CAT exams but had fever on the day of the exam and could barely finish it on the test day. I would also recommend the program for your essay (AWA) training. Whenever you submit an essay you'll a really harsh review as feedback but don't feel let down because I got a 3.0-3.5, 4.0-4.5 and even 2.5-3.0 and on my test I got 5.0. The essay reviews may not be realistic on the way they evaluate you but the way they teach how to write the AWA is pretty easy and intuitive. I did not use the app for my IR training, I didn't train for that but the Math training is pretty straight-forward and it's even more difficult than what you'll actually find on your test. Don't over-train yourself with other programs. I definitely recommend you this program. I took because I had not much choices living in Peru (South America for those who don't know it) and helped me a lot!

Joined: Aug 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist GMAT Review

4 stars
August 19, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Teacher: Issac
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The course is adaptive and that is what makes it amazing. The progress chart doesn\'t only depend on the time you spend in the course but also depends on your output. Number of Rights and Wrongs per session. Their is simplistic and fine. The verbal, tricks and techniques are absolutely brilliant. The sentence correction part is the best. I have completes over 50% of the course within 1 month and in 45 Hours. I gave my first free test on 17th July and scored a 560 with 44in Quant and 25 in Verbal. After finishing 48% of the course I gave another simulation test and I scored 700 with 49 in Quant and 38 in Verbal. The course is interactive. I can easily recommend this to anyone who is willing to write the GMAT seriously. The cost is worth it and more importantly its equal to the cost of other coaching institutes around.

Joined: Nov 2011
Purchased Course: May 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Solid program.

5 stars
August 12, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Teacher: Issac, Ilana, Aaron
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 680
The course was very good. I enjoyed working on it. The “Ask a tutor” application was great and I used to ask questions all the time. All my questions were answered within 24 hrs. The content of the program closely reflected the GMAT. The tips and tricks they teach is indispensable.

The schedule a session with a teacher is a great feature. If you are lagging in a particular area, this is a very good feature to use. I had good sessions here. The application really drills down on the areas which you are not good at and repeatedly makes sure you get a concept right.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: Bilkent University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: Turkey
Verified Real Student Review

Great place to learn how to beat the GMAT

5 stars
June 23, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 670
I have entered the GMAT before i studied just for one month and got 580. Because I have an engineering background i can easily handle the quantitative part however, as l am not native english speaker person my verbal score is to low. Thats why I decided to get a professional help from the bests in the market. Then I chose Economist GMAT tutor and I am very lucky and happy to find them and study with their style. for just one and a half month I increase my score to total 670. Economist also help to improve my quantitative skills as well as verbal.

I feel lucky to reach them. and I believe if I have more time for studying, such as 3-4 months, I will easily reach 700+

the teaching system and the topics are extreamly GREAT. I have never seen something like that. I do not need any more tudor sessions, or lessons on-site. I handle all my work with myself online.

THANKs Economist GMAT Tudor.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Good Course

3 stars
June 23, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 177 reviews
Teacher: Isaac
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The quality of the curriculum is pretty good and the best part is that it adapts to your speed and accuracy. The mobile apps are very good too.

Economist GMAT Tutor Courses

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Forum Posts

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Articles