Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.6 stars
(4.6/5) - 196 reviews
Joined: Jul 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: Dartmouth College
Major: Sociology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Loved the app!

4 stars
June 1, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 680
I'm a fan of the app portion of this in particular -- especially b/c it let me study on the train and in 10-15 minute sections at a time on days when I didn't have a full hour or so to study. Having taken other GMAT courses/read through other GMAT books, this one really does take a different approach and gets you to approach problems differently.

Sadly, ultimately, it didn't help me correct my timing problems, so I didn't get as much out of the techniques in terms of a score increase!

Joined: May 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2015
College: Germany
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

imperfect

3 stars
May 14, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I bought the three months Economist GMAT Tutor as I wanted to learn as much as possible in the short time I had to prepare for the test: 3 weeks. I completed around 60% of the program, working only with the course and not with the official guids. After around 70-75 hours of studying (including tests), I finished with a score of 690.

What is good about the Economist course:

+ it's very flexible as you can time the sessions individually and take 5 to 60 minutes at once

+ the simulation tests gave a pretty good impression of my progress. The latest one, two days before the actual test, predicted a 680 score, which is just 10 away from my real score
+ despite all the annoying things about the course (see below), I learned alot. I like the way the content is presented and overall, the tips are pretty useful. The GMAT is all about knowing what the GMAC wants to see, this program will tell you

What I did not like about the program:

- the shortest plan for the program is 3 months. I liked the trial version, so I went for the GMAT Tutor even though I just had 3 weeks to learn and couldn't finish the course. Personally, I think it is a little cheeky to make people pay for such a long time in any case
- you cannot choose a particular lesson yourself. I found this pretty annoying in the end when I ran out of time and wanted to pick specific topics that weren't included in the course yet and where I knew I needed improvement. Consequently, I was forced to look up (google) topics elsewhere online. If you don't have the time to take the entire course, that is a real contra.
- the mobile phone app of the program is a nice idea but needs improvement. When my internet wasn't very stable (in the train etc.), the app kept switching from offline to online mode and then mixed up verbal and quant parts all the time. I preferred to learn the verbal part with the app because you don't need to take notes here, but with the mixing up that was pretty useless.

- There are only 3 simulation tests. Paying 500€ for a course, I think it is just ridiculous to limit the number of tests to three. Why would you do this?
- The email communication, including the ask-a-tutor feature, did not work well. I did not get an answer to all of my questions within 24 hours, sometimes it was near 48 hours for them to respond. To give another example: The evening before my GMAT test, after I had already completed the 3 sim tests and 60% of the course, I received the email that I had now finished more than 30% and that I could have a go for the sim tests. The program claims it is so personalized, in this case it failed.

Overall: I think it is a good choice if you have the time to finish the entire course. Still, I think it needs improvement and lastly, looking at the price, I am not really satisfied. For me, that was a real investment and if I spend so much money, I expect a perfect product. The course did not always meet my expectations.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
Country: Argentina
Verified Real Student Review

Economist GMAT

4 stars
April 29, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 680
Hi,

I studied around a total of 100hs for verbal and 105 for math during 3.5 months with the Economist and reached 90% of the course.

I got an impresive improvement in the Verbal Section. The Economist teaches you how to do a systematic approach to this section that reduces your mistakes and increases your awareness to eliminate wrong answer choices. However, I found that SC and RC were much better than CR in the course.

For the Math section I didn't improve as much as I was expecting on my score. But it has an interesting approach that teaches you how to think problems faster with a strategy to "ball-park" or guess if necessary.

For AWA the course gives you usefull templates to use and the tutors helps you with their corrections. And last, for IR you don't have so much material to do. But I don't think IR is as important for the GMAT score right now as the other sections.

The practice tests are realistic and helps you improve very much, but they don't have AWA and IR section. I recommend to use other sources of AWA and IR before taking this tests so you can more precisely resemble the test conditions.

Good luck.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great content, but unacceptable customer service

1 star
April 14, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The content was good, but I had problems as soon as my credit card expired. I never received an email stating that another payment was due; my account was simply made inactive. As soon as I saw this, I updated the account with another credit card, per the FAQ section recommendation. Nothing happened. I emailed customer service, who said they'd restore the account once they processed the payment. I confirmed that this was fine. Nothing happened. I've tried contacting them for days now...via the phone, email, and even Twitter. No one has ever picked up the phone at their 1-866 number, or returned my call.

Today, it said my account was deactivated. I have not received any responses from customer service. I guess that's it?

The big issue here is that I cannot really open another account; I would have to repeat the program, and I was about 67% of the way through.

It's really a shame, because the platform ran smoothly and the content was helpful.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: Universidad ORT
Major: International Business
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Uruguay
Verified Real Student Review

What i needed to improve my score

5 stars
March 22, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: N/A
Took gmat a year and a half ago, got a 650 after 3 months of self study guides prep and knew i needed help if i ever wanted to improve my quants score. After extensive research, went for the economist gmat tutor, specially interested in their +70 score guarantee. So far its been incredible. 20 days in the program and i already know my quants score is improving. Tips and strategy techniques with emphasis in practice right from the start.

One recommendation is to take notes from the very beginning, i didnt and had to go back for those, wasting valuable time.

Joined: Jun 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
Verified Real Student Review

My GMAT Tutor experience so far

4 stars
February 28, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: N/A
I have used GMAT prep products from several companies including MGMAT(purchased all the verbal and quant books), Knewton(online GMAT course), Magoosh(quant and verbal). My current GMAT score is 680; however, I thought that I could do better and decided to use Economist's score guarantee and give the exam another try. So far, I have completed about half of the course and I see some pros and cons. I will start with the cons. I use their app a lot because I like to study on my iPad but I don't seem to be able to ask a tutor about the specific question that I am currently working ( this feature is available if you are studying on regular PC) and after I move on I can't go back to the same specific question so if I accidentally press the continue button I won't be able to go back and revisit the question. A big con for me is that I can not go back if I wanted to revisit a specific question or topic. Also, for someone who already scored 680, most of the course so far is a waste of time because I had to go through all the basics. Another big thing for me is the lack of video instructions which I find very useful when studying. The verbal section seems somewhat light and the quant has heavy emphasis on plugging numbers. Overall, If you scored 620 or less you will find this course very helpful and will most likely see an improvement in your score if you complete the required curriculum. If you get a question wrong, the software will keep giving you similar questions until you master the topic and start getting the questions right. Customer service so far has been top notch and I have always received responses to my questions very promptly. I have also received several email reminders from tutors regarding the progress of my study plan. Overall, if you have the money to spend I believe that you can get a lot out of their platform. It is also nice that they have money back guarantee promise. However, I can not speak for the ease of getting a refund because I haven not taken the exam yet and I have not been through the process of asking for a refund yet. Also, I am still not completely convinced that it worth that premium compared to some of the cheaper prep platforms such as Magoosh.

Joined: Feb 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2013
College: Georgia Tech
Major: Industrial Technology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good review software but very long

5 stars
February 20, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Pros:
- Repetition of materials
- Tracking and forecasts your score
- Tons of study material
- Phone app so you're able study on the go. Super helpful

Cons:
- Tutoring wasn't that helpful
- Unable to choose the areas you want to focus on. The only choice you have is to choose between verbal or quant
- Very long and repetitive

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Major: Business
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

Good to follow your progress.

4 stars
February 20, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
This was the first course that I had and it really impressed me for the easy way in tracking the progress. The explanations are really good. In about 80-100 hours it is possible to finish it with good retention of the content (don't hurry expecting to just finish it). The only thing that I missed is that some verbal questions were too obvious differing for the official questions. Also, they should consider to have a full practice test, including the essay and IR sections. Overall, I recommend the course for those who struggle in tracking and organizing their study topics.

Joined: Feb 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Economist GMAT Tutor

5 stars
February 16, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I haven't completed the course or taken the test, but the Economist Tutor has helped me stay focused. I have tried self directed study before and it hasn't worked very well. This test prep keeps things fresh and seems to provide a clear direction that I am confident in. I also thinks it saves time since the content is provided in a linear way so you don't have to spend the time deciding on what to study. I am happy with the product so far. Lastly, the customer service I have received has been pretty good.

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2014
College: University of Ottawa
Major: Psychology
Industry: Government
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Good way to prepare

4 stars
February 6, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 196 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
A very good way to prepare for the GMAT.
Lots of way for you to learn, and it adapts to you, just like the actual test.

My only issue is you can't go back and practice certain sections. For example, if you want to practice powers/exponents, you can't just decide to do 200 questions to improve, you can only follow what it gives you.

Economist GMAT Tutor Courses

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Forum Posts

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Articles