Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.6 stars
(4.6/5) - 183 reviews
Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Adapative online course provided both a review of verbal and math fundamentals and a preparation course that is trailored to my specific needs.

5 stars
November 30, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a web-based course that extensively covers the verbal and math portions of the exam. In addition to providing review of verbal and math fundamentals, the course also allows for the submission of five essays based on previous GMAT AWA prompts. The grade received from the course also provides detailed feedback regarding your essay, allowing you to adjust your technique to meet the requirements of the exam. You also have the opportunity to schedule Skype tutor sessions for feedback on your essays and simulation tests, or any other topic.

In addition to the content of the course, which adapts to your skill level as your progress, it also provides estimates of your exam grade based on course performance and simulation tests.

Overall, the Economist GMAT Tutor is an easy to use online course that covers almost the entire spectrum of topics and techniques necessary for success on the GMAT while providing feedback regarding course progress and grade projections.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
College: ITESM
Major: Engineering
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

Great study tool

5 stars
November 19, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I have yet to use all the 'perks' included in the course, however I have been using GMAT Tutor for over a month and I think it is very useful.
I've not only learnt a lot of techniques to answer questions faster, also, the GMAT Tutor really teaches you to put them in practice and sort of helps embed in your head when to use such techniques. I've already improved my score (from mock tests) over 50+ points.
The only drawback is that I only payed for 3 months, and am not sure if I will be able to finish the course on time without having to pay an additional 700 dollars.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
College: Rotterdam school of management
Major: International Business
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Luxembourg
Verified Real Student Review

You should take it but have a look also to other prep

4 stars
November 14, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Hi everybody,
First a little introduction about my self: I did a bachelor at the rotterdam school of management IBA. I always have been ok with math, however I'm not an native speaker (I come from france).
I studied the gmat with the economist for one month, about two hours during week day and 6 hours during weekends (I was also working).

I took the gmat and I got 640. I was a bit surprised and disappointed because I had for my three online test with the economist 620 then 670 and finally 690. I was electing more than 710.
The problem is that I scored low one verbal. Prehaps because I was over confident about that part as with the economist my scored improved a lot (from 28 to 38). I think I was used to the way the economist asked the questions, or maybe I was to not enough concentrated on the real gmat (stress ect)
However I would strongly recommend the economist: It is intuitive, it give a lot of tips. You should take more than one month to prepare the gmat, if you want to score above 700. I think in three months if you only do that, 6h a day it should be more than enough!
I did not study more than 4 hours one the IR and got 7: I think it the same as what you learn in quant!
I do not have my awa yet.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent tool for GMAT prep - especially for unpredictable work schedule

4 stars
November 12, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I found the Economist GMAT Tutor to be extremely helpful, especially because I travel abroad extensively for work and simply couldn't commit to regular in-person classes. The tool teaches you what you need to know as well as important strategies to raise your score that are unrelated to pure quant/verbal knowledge. I didn't take advantage of the Skype tutoring sessions until much later in the process and definitely should have capitalized on one of their "strategy" sessions before taking my first GMAT. The tutors are extremely helpful and friendly. The mobile app was useful for cramming in some quick refreshers when I was commuting or had a few minutes to spare.

I also found the entire team, including customer service, to be very easy to work with and flexible, which was a game changer for me and my unruly schedule.

I would absolutely recommend the product and think it's a very strong alternative to the more conventional courses/companies out there. Helped me raise my score by 80 points.

Joined: Aug 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: United States Military Academy
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Industry: Military
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Great Self-paced course, 150 point improvement in 3 months!

5 stars
November 11, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 720
First of all, this program really delivered results. I took my first GMAT in July, and scored a 570 (33 V, 35 Q, 5.5 AWA, 6 IR). After about three months of the Economist GMAT course, I took the GMAT again in November and scored 720! (40 V, 49 Q, 6.0 AWA, 8 IR).

After the results of my first GMAT attempt, I decided that I needed help studying and determined to find a course that matched my needs. I was deployed at the time, so I needed a course that had a flexible schedule, and so I avoided courses that had set webinar times, and in person attendance was out of the question. I did the week-long free trial with Economist GMAT and I liked the way the course presented information. I also took a practice test at the end of the period and scored a 590, or about where I had scored a month previously on my real GMAT, giving me confidence in the practice test's accuracy.

This program is self-paced, meaning that it is entirely up to the student to schedule study times, and how long to take on each question. However, the program will determine what types of question the student most needs to practice, meaning that as long as the student can "show up" mentally prepared to study, he can focus on studying rather than waste time deciding what to study.

The Economist GMAT also provides several practice tests, which were incredibly accurate, but only cover Quant and Verbal (a week before my practice test I scored 40V/49Q on a practice test, the same score that I earned the next week!). There are separate graded essays, which I chose to do immediately prior to the tests to best simulate test day.

The other useful feature of the program is the ability to schedule Skype tutor sessions. The biggest drawback of these sessions is that they really need to be scheduled at least several days out, probably a week or more, and the student must choose the subject for the session when it is scheduled. However, the tutors are definitely experts, and can provide detailed insight into problems as well as strategy.

In a final word to students trying to choose a program - choose one that motivates you to do the work, because in the end it is you and not a program taking the test and earning a score. Some people respond better to certain approaches, but this program worked for me and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a self-paced course.

Joined: Feb 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: College of Engineering Guindy
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Economist-better do what they are good at-publishing magazines

2 stars
October 15, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I had enrolled for the Economist GMAT tutor with the hope of raising my GMAT score by 50 points or more. The course offered a guarantee in these lines and after taking the free 7 day trial period I enlisted for the same. But unfortunately my decision to trust one of the leading economic magazine in America bombed and I wish to share my opinions and experiences so that prospective test-takers can evaluate their requirements and my experiences before taking up the course.
I had bought the ultimate prep plan with the economist GMAT tutor which guaranteed a 70 point improvement on march -2014.Before taking up the course I was hovering around mid 600 range with the official GMAT prep test and I felt I needed a course to help me breach the 700 mark.
I worked with the software for around 160 hours and at the end of the day my official GMAT score was at the same place where I had started. After dedicating almost 4 months on the program I was greatly disgruntled that not one of the various promises made by the company were held true and I had run around circles thanks to the program.
I list out the various cons of the program in my opinion:
1.Simulation tests & Scoring Estimate:-
The simulation tests(6 nos) are a very poor indicator/simulator of your actual test scores/conditions. In some of the tests that I took the quant section literally had more than 20-25 data sufficiency questions. No matter how poor a student may be in that particular question type, it is no reason for a simulation exam to keep throwing the same type of question.
There was no IR or AWA section which means you will not get a actual feel of the exam and the stamina needed if only the verbal and quant section provided in the tests are taken.(I used to gather AWA questions from MBA website and IR question from the GMAT Prep software before taking the tests)
The scoring estimate provided was very illogical where in certain tests I had 8-9 questions wrong intermittently were scored equally to those where I had scored 15-16 questions wrong continuously. And when questioned on the logic of these estimate the people in charge send a standard text copied from their website. There were also cases where the question types were wrongly labeled. I had a data sufficiency/problem solving question label in Verbal section.
2.No timing or difficulty level available.
Although there are a number of practice questions available, a very few of them are timed and there is no indication of difficulty level(the no of people who got it right/wrong or the range to which the question belongs to).Since the program is adaptive, you cannot go back to these questions later on as there is no simple way to archive the questions.
If you want to analyze your performance and timing there are no tools with the software that help you to analyze your strengths and weakness.
3.No new or innovative strategies:
Once the program identifies your weak areas it keeps throwing questions on the same area with the repeat of the basics . It does not provide any new or innovative strategies or tactics to overcome your weakness and the foundation lessons can be found in any high school textbook. Especially for quant which was my weak area prior to taking up the course remained so till the test day.
4.Bogus money back guarantee:
The money back guarantee offered may seem attractive to many at first. What I felt was the money back guarantee is just a gimmick to get people enrolled to test the bugs in the program and streamline it for the future. Also there are many wordings in the fine print which people may miss such as a compulsory session with an instructor on strategy for the exam that has to be taken 7-14 days before the tests. But the Economist tutor people have written it in such a manner that users may understand that all sessions have to be taken at least 7-14 days before the tests.So if you take the strategy session 15 days before the actual test you lose your qualification for money back.
A 45 minute session a week before your exam with an instructor can work wonders and gain you a 70 point increment than the 160 hours you spent with the program is what is being implied by such a guarantee.
5.Proof Reading:
The questions though numerous in quantity were poor qualitatively with a number of typo errors. This coming from a tutor program owned by one of the supposedly best business magazine in the united states made me wonder about the quality of the program itself and the credibility of the question makers.
6.NO IR section:
The program for its cost could have provided a comprehensive IR section with the question types tested so far in the GMAT. But the theory covered is very meager and literally of no use when you take up the original test.

There were a few pros too in the program
1.The verbal section was comprehensive and covered most of the questions asked in the GMAT till date. I found the Sentence correction especially good.
2.Highy flexible with regards to timing as it is a online program where you can schedule a session based on your availability. However, at least two to four half an hour sessions a day with the program will be helpful than a number of 10 minutes sessions.
3.The AWA grading done by experts is especially useful in identifying weakness in your reasoning and style and the pointers provided are genuinely helpful.

All in all I would not recommend the program to re-takers as I believe you already have got the basics right and need to work on either your test taking tactics or on advanced topics. Both of the mentioned items are not covered by the program.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Score Guarantee is not dependable. Quant good, Verbal Easy(Not so close to GMAT).

2 stars
October 6, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 630
So the GMAT TUTOR is very convinient - phone/ ipad/ laptop. You can start anywhere.

However the biggest problem i found with the course was - you cannot revise old topics in a full screen window. They have a 3 inch wide window in the software where you will have to read vertically extended passages of notes.

Secondly they do guarantee a full refund of your fees. But they dismissed me over a technicality. So brace yourselves when you are paying for it. Consider the money spent. I wish I didn't have to apply for the refund in the first place. But now I have less cash and a low score!

I bought the software twice actually because they only give you a 3 month window to complete the GMAT. I had to renew my subscription.

I only found their one-to-one skype sessions helpful as some of the teachers were pretty good! But otherwise I would advise against it because there are much better courses available online who don't do false marketing for people with tight budgets.

I have found one that is alot cheaper than GMAT TUTOR and my recommendation for people Re-appearing for the GMAT - GROCKIT.

Hope this was helpful to a few people. All the best!

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 2014
College: University of Colorad at Boulder
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive Course, Engaging System

5 stars
September 26, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: N/A
I am extremely satisfied with the Economist GMAT Tutor. First of all, the layout of the online system is extremely fluid. I can organize time-tailored practice sessions, schedule a tutor, review my progress, and analyze my strengths and weaknesses. This contributes a lot more to my studying pattern than I could have imagined, mostly by keeping my seemingly endless studying very engaging.

I think the "computer adaptive" aspect of the program is the most impressive. The program quickly identifies my strengths and weakness and tailors a study program that suits my needs. The online tutors also have access to data and progress, so they know exactly what I need to practice to improve my score. Their tutors are also extremely helpful and very timely in their responses to my "Ask a Tutor" emails.

Overall, the Economist Tutor is an excellent program that is great for people who do not have the time to enroll in an online or classroom based course, but still want a comprehensive, tailored studying experience.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent

5 stars
September 15, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not pass the real GMAT yet but I firmly believe this preparation will improve my score.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great review prep

5 stars
September 14, 2014
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 183 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I have been using The Economist GMAT Tutor for a couple of weeks. The course is great and gives you an extreme amount of flexibility, which is good for anyone with a full time job. The course is also adaptive, so it recognizes the types of questions that you consistently get wrong and works on them until you show improvement.

They also give you a good amount of practice tests so that you can test what you have learned in a test-taking environment.

Overall I have enjoyed it and would recommend using it.

Economist GMAT Tutor Courses

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Forum Posts

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Articles