Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 226 reviews
Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: Vassar College
Major: Music
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best Product Out There

5 stars
November 17, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I used the GMAT tutor for about 2 months leading up to my test date. Initially, I had picked up a few review books and tried other computerized programs that aimed to simulate the test's feel and layout. They were not helping as much as I wanted. The Economist product held several differentiating features that helped me learn not only the 'tricks' to specific question types, but review some math and verbal concepts that I was rusty on. Specifically, the GMAT Tutor's ability to dynamically walk through various points of explanation, depending on what I was getting wrong most helped to streamline my study. Material that I demonstrated mastery of immediately wasn't shown to me many times - I was able to concentrate on improving more than just going through the motions. The other feature that stood out was the ability to ask specific questions to the Economist staff about material that I wasn't understanding. Focused, personal responses got me father, faster in my my study.

I didn't take advantage of the essay samples, but I can imagine that they would be useful for others. The only improvement that I could possibly suggest is a more modular approach to the content. I had to study math concepts more than verbal, and it would have been nice to jump around between modules at my discretion, especially close to my test date.

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
College: University of Cape Town
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Verified Real Student Review

Very thorough GMAT preparation with Economist GMAT Tutor

5 stars
November 12, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
The Economist GMAT Tutor provided me with an extremely thorough preparation for the GMAT. The course helped me to improve my score by 90 points.

Things I liked:
- you can work at your own pace
- featured a graphical indication of your progress through the course
- uses an enjoyable, interactive and adaptive curriculum
- the online tutors always respond to your question within two days
- very much practice based...practice practice practice
- the answer to each practice question is explained thoroughly
- the simulation tests are very comparable to the real GMAT
- I found the explanation of mathematical and verbal concepts very easy to follow
- the estimated score prediction is accurate
- the mobile app is great for studying when you are away from your computer

Things I disliked
- the course is very expensive, but you get what you pay for
- I could not finish 100% of the course in time. If you are working full time you will need 3 full months, putting in about 2- 3 hours each evening and at least 8 hours during each weekend. I had a few weeks where I wasn't able to work. Overall I completed about 67% of the course in 3.5 months (86% of the quant (62 hours of work) and around 51% verbal (14 hours), plus 6 simulation exams). I also did some practice exams with the official software.

Overall the prep was very thorough and I fully recommend spending the money.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist offers a targeted GMAT study course

5 stars
November 4, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 740
Let me describe my experience with this GMAT study program. After unsuccessfully trying to break the 700 level on my first exam in June 2016, I went on a studying hiatus. Two months later in August 2016, I signed up for this GMAT course due to its score guarantee.

The advantages of this course are:

1) The verbal, quant, AWA course materials resemble those on the actual exam.
2) In my case, the simulation test scores closely reflected the scores that I was getting on the official GMAC software (I purchased an exam pack).
3) There are more than enough practice questions for the student to work on.
4) Most of all, it walks you through the studying process so you know which skills to target. This was a real advantage for me because I was able to focus on the essentials and avoided taking in extra information.

In my opinion, this course can improve in several areas:
1) The practice questions are great, but sometimes the same types of questions show up more often than optimal, even if I was able to answer them with high accuracy.
2) It seems that the the system recommends practice questions based at least partly on the results of the simulation tests that the user took. On one of the practice exams my internet disconnected, leaving me with a significantly lower score than what I normally received. This then impacted the types of questions I got.

Overall, I made the right decision choosing this GMAT course. I had tried both the Kaplan and Manhattan materials before stumbling across the GMAT tutor and can say that this course put me into the 700's. However, do expect to put in over 100 hours overall because there is a lot of material.

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Major: Psychology
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Do not recommend - Quant is good, verbal is terrible

2 stars
November 3, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I decided to go with the Economist after reviewing several courses. Their quant section is good - lots of practice questions, good coverage of content and solid strategies around problem solving. However, I was very disappointed with their verbal section. The sentence correction content and practice questions are not even close to what is tested in the GMAT. The Economist ignores general readability errors and logical errors which are extensively tested in the exam, dangling and missing modifier type questions are not given as much importance and are introduced much later in the course, again concepts that are extensively tested in the exam. Moreover, lot of attention is placed on concepts that aren't really tested in the exam. The verbal comprehension practice questions are vague and don't make sense a lot of times. The critical reasoning practice questions aren't nearly as challenging as the ones you get on the exam, especially once you are past the 80th percentile. My baseline score for verbal was 70th percentile, however after 3 months of intense study and finishing about 90% of the course, my verbal score only went upto 76th percentile in the actual exam. Since I was stronger in verbal, my plan was to get a really high verbal score to balance my overall score. I ended up with a 650 in the exam which is a lot lower than I wanted. I highly recommend that regardless of which company you decide to go with, practice the questions in the official GMAT guide to get a real flavor for types of questions tested in the exam.

Some other cons - you are unable to pick topics that you might want to practice - the software decides what kind of problems and the topics you get. I also personally found it impossible to finish the course in 3 months as once you complete 80% of the course, the program goes into maintenance mode where a high a number of problems are repeated and the progress is slow. They charge you 200$ to extend the program for a month.

Overall I don't recommend going with the Economist as although their quant section is pretty good, you can't buy quant and verbal separately (which some companies offer) and the whole package just isn't worth it.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Grand Canyon University
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely Love This Course

5 stars
October 24, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Teacher: System
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Economist's GMAT prep is a fantastic course. I took the 7 day trial and I was hooked. The interactive platform is actually pretty fun to work with, and my favorite part was it moves at your own pace. The system gauges where you need extra work, and gives it to you. I also have had an exceptional experience with their customer service team. I had a medical situation in my family that required my full attention for several weeks. The Economist team was very responsive in helping me out. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to do a self paced study.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: columbia college
Major: Business
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course! Don't buy it for the guarantee though.

4 stars
September 26, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I loved the Economist GMAT course. I had taken the GMAT Nov of last year, but didn't get into the school I wanted so I decided to take it again.

This time around I wanted to have a tutor/program to work through. I chose the Economist because it had a money back guarantee if I didn't hit above a certain amount of improvement if I did the full course. I spent over 130 hours studying between this course, tutoring sessions, practice tests, videos, and my own study material (official GMAT review book and some math books). The course took me through everything and kept me from solely focusing on quant where I struggled last time. I was able to improve both my quant and verbal sub-sections. I also improved my IR score (not as important to me since my school doesn't look at it). However, I didn't find the AWA portion helpful. It was very structured in how to build your essay, but I thought it was very one dimensional.

My main tutor was Jake Wengroff. He was an excellent tutor. He knew how to walk through practice problems at my speed and how to explain concepts. He also did a great review of the problems from my practice test when I asked for assistance reviewing it.

So while the course was very helpful, I do want to warn: do not buy it for the guarantee!!! Getting the guarantee is next to impossible. You have to complete 90% of the course and doing so would take 100 hours after finishing the first 75-80% of the course (this is based on what I was told by a tutor other than Jake). Basically it is a huge undertaking and will most likely lead to getting burnt out on studying which means it isn't worth it. With that being said, I got 50 points of improvement and moved 10 percentile up. Not quite the guaranteed 70 points for the course I bought, but in my opinion it was worth the money!

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: The University of Western Ontario
Major: Civil Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Study Efficiently

5 stars
August 2, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 710
Over my lifetime of purchases the Economist GMAT Tutor ranks in my highest bracket for product satisfaction.

Initially I was a bit discouraged about the high cost, but I gave the free week trial a test run and loved the software from minute one. I found the program forced you to sit down and study at an intensity level that was equivalent to that of test day. Personally this would not have been possible for me if I was studying independently. With the program I studied about 85 hours total, but they were hardcore focused hours.

I only completed one live tutoring session which was very professional and easily accessible. I did not feel I needed further one on one sessions because the program explained everything very logically.

I did use three of the essay reviews and it was evident that the marker put some thought into the essay and provided insightful comments.

Lastly the program gives you an "estimated score" as you progress through the course. This was very rewarding to see your estimated score rise at the end of a long study session - further motivation.

I initially wrote a 540 without studying. At test day about two months later I wrote a 710! If I had put in the same amount of time without the Economist prep tool I would estimate my score would have been around a 670.

These extra points landed me a huge scholarship at my first choice school - easily paying off my initial sticker shock.
Give the free trial a run, you have nothing to lose.

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Economist got me a better score than Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
July 8, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 730
I have a long history with the GMAT. During senior year of my college year I took a self-study Manhattan GMAT course and was only able to score a 650. This was disappointing as anyone whose looking at an top program knows they need a 700+.

I decided to give it another go a couple years later. I had heard good things about the Economist so I went with them. I found their adaptive learning program to be much more effective than watching a lecture and then doing problems. In the end I obtained a 730 score thanks to the excellent structure of the program and the helpful tutors. Thanks, Economist!

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Broadcasting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist Works

5 stars
May 27, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
The Economist GMAT Tutor was exactly what I needed. It starts with the basics, which is exactly what I needed because when I stated, I didn't know what I was in for. But it starts you out with small steps and works with you at the pace you can go. And if you are struggling with a concept, it goes back and keeps hammering at those subjects until you get it down. The tutors you get paired with are very helpful. I ended up working with two different tutors over Skype, but I had one tutor who took a real interest in my studies and help me with some strategies where I was weak. I don't know where I was at the beginning of the program (I think it put me around a 450 score as I started) but by the end I was scoring in the high 600. I took two practice tests through the Economist and another one through the GMAC. The Economist scores were really accurate. I got a 670 then a 680. On my real test I got a 690. It got me into my number one choice school with a great scholarship.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Universidad de San Andres
Major: Business
Country: Argentina
Verified Real Student Review

Fun, interactive and worth your time and money

5 stars
May 24, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 226 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I decided to apply to business school mid-September, so my timing was less than ideal. I had always assumed that a little practice would help me shape up and I would obtain a good GMAT score easily. Economist’s free mock exam (which you get on your weekly trial) proved to be a defining moment in my journey. I scored 630 and I did very poorly in quant. It was a rude awakening, but a necessary one. I can confidently say the money I invested in the Economist GMAT course yielded excellent value and was the best decision I made in the process of applying to business school. These are the features I liked the most about the course:

1) Interactive, engaging platform improved my discipline and my enjoyment of the process. The same wit you find in the magazine is present in the course material.
2) You can let the adaptive engine take you through the course working more intensely on your weakest areas or you can chart your own course by selecting which topics you want to cover as you go. This was very important to me given my time constraints.
3) No need to take notes, you can always revisit key highlights of a lesson in your control panel.
4) The ask a tutor feature is responsive and useful. You’ll get a response within 6-12 hours.
5) The live one-on-one sessions with tutors were great to build my confidence tackling data sufficiency questions. The tutors will pull up questions on topics you select in advance and work on the questions with you.
6) AWA grading. My first essay sucked. The person who graded it basically dissected the thing with five or six comments and completely changed my approach. Went from a 3 to a 6 in three attempts.
7) Had a head start comparing with other internationals when it came to Verbal due to my English skills. But the sentence correction material… it was brilliant. After a month with the Economist prep I just could not get a sentence correction question wrong. Very simple rules make you improve dramatically.
8) I found the mock exam to be a lot more realistic compared to what I tried on other companies, particularly MPrep. Still, the best mocks are those you get from GMAT prep.

Things not so great about it:
1) The score predictor does not work very well, I wouldn’t pay attention to it.
2) Pretty weak on IR preparation. Seems to me that the Economist subscribes to the “IR doesn’t matter” view. I had to complement my preparation with GMAT prep.
3) I found the Reading Comp. questions a little more ambiguous than the actual GMAT
4) While the engine works well, it does repeat a few questions you’ve answered before every once in a while.

Trust me, you will not be disappointed. Went from a 630 to 730 in the last Economist mock and scored a 760 in the real thing.

Economist GMAT Tutor Courses

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Forum Posts

The Latest Economist GMAT Tutor Articles