Course
GMAT PREP COURSE

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 240 reviews
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: York University
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Most useless prep for me

1 star
June 12, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Okay here's the thing. I didn't want to write this review. I really wanted Economist's GMAT prep to work for me. It didn't so I decided to buy Kaplan, Manhattan Prep, GmatPrepNow, and Magoosh. All of which are so much better. Here are my reasons:

1) Customizable: Economist doesn't let you customize your lessons. You can select quant or Verbal but within those two, they won't let you choose what you need to work on like the other preps. So if you understand 7 things already and need to work on 3, they make you go through all 10 before you can move on. And God forbid what you need is way down in their lessons, you have to go through everything before it. After emailing them a few times, they said I can check a box that says pick your own lessons, but I tried this twice and it didn't work.

2) Tutoring: The Tutors only work on what you've covered in THEIR course. I've emailed them about questions I had in the original guide but they said I need to go over what they've taught first about that topic. And if that topic is 40-50 lessons down, I have to go through all the topics before I can get a tutor to help me with what I need help in.

3) Strange format: They have this weird prompt screen asking you questions like "Is the math on the GMAT harder than high school math" on the way to the questions you need. You have to keep answering these to move on. I found this a waste of time and I just moved on to the other prep courses out of frustration

4) Refund: Forget about it. If you tell them the course isn't working for you and you would like to use the money on something that is more conducive to your learning, they won't do it. Instead they'll write you long paragraphs about how their course is the best and there's no need to look elsewhere.

5) 5000 practice questions: These aren't in the form of a question bank. I emailed them about this. They said you'll get a total of 5000 questions if you keep answering their questions on their weird path they have designed for you. I wish I had known this before because this was one of the main reasons I purchased it.

I've had the most frustrating experience with them and wish I never paid. It is partially my fault because I should have tried the week trial fully before buying it. However, I thought the lessons were just locked because I hadn't paid yet. But no... you have to go through everything.

So basically I lost $1000 and can't get it back. I am now studying using a bunch of other prep courses because Economist didn't have what I needed and their teaching style did nothing for me. Others might have had a positive experience, but this was mine.

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: MNNIT
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended

5 stars
June 7, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 740
I used the Economist GMAT Tutor to prepare and I have to say that it gives a one of a kind & exceptional experience to the process of preparation. The portal to very well designed and organized, making everything simple to consume.

I am a non-native English speaker and started using the Economist portal especially to improve my verbal score. When I started I was around 27-30 range in verbal. That jumped to 40 by the time I took the test (in 4 months).

Eventually, the portal also gave me many hacks for quants which I could use in the practice tests. When used in combination with OGs, The Economist GMAT Tutor can work wonders.

Highly recommended for non-native English speakers!

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Verified Real Student Review

Could not have beat the gmat without this course! 580 to 710 in five months!

5 stars
May 30, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
My GMAT journey started around September 2016 when I took my first GMATprep practice test and scored a 580 (Q37, V33, IR7). For the next three months I studied on an off using OG books, but quickly realized the book approach would not work for me. After reading some reviews on courses, I decided to try the 1-week free trial for the Economist. I knew straight away that this would be a great course for me. Things that drew me to the course:
-I work a full-time job so I loved that you can complete a session whenever and for however long you want.
-The topics and answer explanations were clear and easy to follow.
-Really liked the time tracker for each question as well as the breakdown in how much time you had spent on Quant and Verbal topics.
-During the 1-week trial I took the free practice test and scored a 610 (Q43, V32, IR2) which I also felt reasonably correlated with my original GMATprep test score.

I knew December would be a difficult month for me to study, so I waited until the beginning of January to sign up for the Ultimate Prep, and the same week I signed up to take the real GMAT on April 1. This was a good time to sign up for the course because the rates were discounted for the New Year. I went for the 6-month Ultimate Prep for the 70-point guarantee and because I anticipated I was going to need to take the test more than once (just based on my experience with the SATs).

Over the next 3-months I studied for about 1.5 hours/day on the weekdays (about 1 hour on Quant and 30 mins on Verbal) and 2 hours/day ay on the weekend. I loved that the course was self-paced, and that it kept track of my progress. I felt like the Quant topics were great and the answer explanations were thorough and easy to understand. The Quant review helped me immensely, and I learned valuable strategies as to how to approach certain questions. I also loved that as you completed more and more topics, the course adapted to your strengths and weaknesses. If you are weak in a particular area, the course really hammers in the material/questions on that topic until you start answering the questions correctly. In terms of the Verbal, I knew that my main weaknesses were CR and SC and the course really focused on these topics. I thought the Stop Signs for SC were useful and helped teach me what common mistakes to look out for in the sentences. During the 3-months leading up to my test I took 5 of the Economist practice test and the second free GMATprep test. My scores were as follows:

1) Feb 18, 590 (Q37, V32, IR4) Economist
2) March 11, 620 (Q47, V29, IR4) Economist
3) March 15, 690 (Q50, V36, IR5) Economist
4) March 18, 680 (Q45, V40, IR5) Economist
5) March 22, 680 (Q43, V42, IR3) Economist
6) March 25, 650 (Q47, V43, IR8) GMATprep test 2

During this 3-month preparation time I also utilized four of the personal tutoring sessions. I can't stress enough how important these sessions were for my progress. I had all of my tutoring sessions with Jake Wengroff and he was AMAZING! We mainly focused on debriefing my practice tests and going through questions I answered incorrectly. One of my biggest hurdles with the GMAT was the timing, and Jake helped me learn timing strategies as well as when it was ok to guess on certain questions. Jake mostly helped me with Quant, but in later sessions we focused more on SC/CR and his help in the verbal section was also great! On top of all of this, Jake is also incredibly nice and supportive. He really helped me deal with my some of my test-taking anxiety.

After months of studying I ended up taking the GMAT on April 1 and scoring a 660 (Q48, V33, IR6, AWA 5.5). I was happy with my improvement on the Quant section, but due to lack of sleep the night before and accidently starting the Verbal section late, I didn’t feel that this score reflected my true ability.

From my first test, it was clear I still needed to do some work on the Verbal section. I think the Economist course is great for teaching strategies on how to approach questions on the Verbal section, but I believe the biggest weakness of the course is that some of the Verbal questions do not closely align with official GMAT questions. I always did very well with the official RC questions, but I found the Economist RC questions to be incredibly difficult. I found the Economist SC questions were good practice, but they were often too easy and seemed to follow a formula. I found the official SC questions to be much more difficult. I felt the Economist CR closely aligned with the real thing. For the Quant, I felt the practice questions were on par with the official questions.

I decided to retake the test on May 20, but for the remaining 1.5 months of study time, I continued to do the Economist Quant practice questions and heavily focus on OG Verbal questions. I also had a three additional tutoring sessions with Jake in which we went over the last two practice tests I had taken before the big day. Come test day, I was able to achieve an overall score of 710 (Q47, V40, IR4, AWA6)!!!! The score forecaster on the Economist software estimated my score would be between 680-740, so this was right on target! In the end, I completed 89% of the Quant material (70 hours), and 86% of the Verbal (42 hours).

I also just want to quickly comment on the IR and AWA portions of the course. The Economist IR questions were reasonable, however, the course review for this section is fairly limited. If you need more work with IR, you may need to seek additional resources. For AWA, I thought the template was great and I used the exact template on the real exam. I submitted three essays for review, and while the feedback was useful, it does take around a week to get a response, so plan accordingly.

I know this a long-winded review, but I 100% believe I could not have achieved this score without this course and Jake’s help! The course may be somewhat pricey, but I think it was worth every penny!

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Maastricht University
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Too expensive and less convenient than other courses

2 stars
May 23, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 510
I studied approximately one month with the Economist GMAT Tutor and was not completely satisfied with the course. First of all, I did not like the fact that there was no clear overview where, in terms of theory, you are. You are able to see how much percent of the course have completed but you do not know what chapter will follow and how many chapters are left. Additionally, I personally thought that the practice questions were not very representative for the actual GMAT questions. I thought the actual questions are tougher than those in the practice mode.

On the other hand, I very much appreciated the Skype tutoring sessions which are included in the course. All lessons were very well organised and were very effective. Also, the five practice exams that the course provides to all students were very good for practicing and provided great explanations in case one does not understand a question.

Overall, I still consider the price for this course way to high and I would therefore not recommend this course. After my first trial, I waited approximately 2 months and studied with the Magoosh Course. Within three weeks, I jumped from 510 (Q37; V23) to 660 (Q46; V35).

Good luck!

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Brown University
Major: Finance
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for flexible study--if you have too much OR too little time

5 stars
May 3, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 760
I went from not having opened a GMAT book to a 760 on my first try taking the GMAT with the help of the Economist GMAT Tutor. The whole process took me two months.

I started with the trial run and took my first test and scored a 650 on my first practice test. I enjoyed the flexibility of the program, as I am a college student with a lot of time on my hands and wanted to be able to study on my own time. I studied for around 2 hours every day five days a week.

I am an Applied Math major at school so I thought I would be prepared for the quantitative section. However, on my first test I scored very poorly. I believe that the Economist Quant prep is extremely helpful in giving you the right ways to approach problems. Certain problems that originally took me 5-7 minutes to solve, however, after using the approaches given to me by the Economist tutor, I could solve them in 1-2 minutes.

The adaptive nature of the program is extremely useful. This way certain types of problems that I just couldn't get right originally I easily mastered and problems that I knew how to solve easily originally I didn't waste time on.

I believe the verbal prep also must be among the best. I originally scored about where I thought I should on my practice test, as I do not have strong verbal and grammatical skills. The "Stop Signs" the program used were a great way to identify possible errors in sentence correction. The critical reasoning practice problems were also great and nearly identical to the real test. I believe that the reading comprehension in the GMAT tutor was slightly more difficult than the real exam but definitely helped me prepare.

I completed a little over 80% of the course and in the last two weeks started working more on the GMAT Offical problems in the app they give. I think that using the tutor to have a solid background and familiarity with the types of problems they give and then working on official problems and tests was the best approach for me.

I didn't take as much advantage of the in-app questions and tutoring sessions as I could have. However, the sessions I did have were informative and helpful. They really look at the data and your progress in order to give you helpful and critical feedback.

I scored much lower on all the practice tests I took on the Economist program than I did on the real test--my highest score was a 720. However, I believe that that has more to do with my test taking mentality rather than the difficulty of the real tests as my highest practice score on the Official program was also a 720.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT Tutor, especially if you want to study on your own time.

Joined: Apr 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Finance
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect Prep Course for Busy People

5 stars
April 1, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I decided to apply to Business school 3 months before the application was due. I knew that I wouldn't have time to take the GMAT multiple times and had to ensure the my studying was as efficient as possible. The Economist GMAT course exceeded my expectations. The lessons were concise and easy to understand, and the one-on-one tutoring sessions were extremely valuable.

The best part about the course are all of the practice problems. When you get a question wrong, it not only tells you what the correct answer is, but also why the answer you selected is wrong. You have the opportunity to send an "ask a tutor" inquiry if there are questions that you still don't understand after reading the explanation. I ended up only needing to use about 20 out of 50 available "ask a tutor" inquiries because the explanations provided are so thorough.

After completing the Economist GMAT Prep Course in 2.5 months, I improved my score by 130 points and achieved my target score of 720. I highly recommend the Economist GMAT course!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Flexible and time efficient GMAT prep

5 stars
April 1, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Teacher: Emily
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
First of all I have to say that my initial goal was to score 700 points in the GMAT which I did not achieve. In my first, and so far only, official try I scored 650 after scoring not more than 580 in the test exams during preparation. After 2 months of classic studying with books I decided to go for the basic Economist GMAT Tutor option. I thought it might be more time efficient in order to support me for an intensive preparation in the last month before my official GMAT (and it was indeed).

I felt really comfortable working with the desktop version as well as the mobile app e.g. on my way to work. You can choose between 5 minute and 60 minute sessions on either quant or verbal or both combined. Tasks that were not answered correctly can be reviewed instantly and are noted by the software. Then, over time it gives you less of your strong tasks and more new topics with your weak spots frequently in between.

I started with a text exam right away and so the adaptive nature of the software got hold of my strengths and weaknesses pretty quickly. Obviously this is generally a huge advantage of software over classic book learning. Unfortunately I realized that far too late, otherwise I would have spend all 3 months of prep just with the Economist app. On the other hand I does make a lot of sense to work at least with GMAT material from two different companies in order to have a comparison.

Due to the insights from the test exam I focused solely on improving the quantative section, where the Economist app provides a massive amount of excercises. Although I spent three weeks only in the quant section I hardly managed to finish 50% of the quant section.

I am sure that the app it helped me to especially work on my weaknesses and that it deserves a huge part of the credits for my 650. Since I just got accepted to my first BS choice I can say that the 350$ were a good investment. They have different payment plans from which my option was the cheapest. It is valid for three months (one week free trial in advance) and comes with the study material + 3 test GMATs, 1 essay review, 20 ask a tutor questions via a chat interface.

Since then I have always recommended this app to anybody who asked me for GMAT prep recommendations.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Ultimate Economist GMAT Review

5 stars
March 21, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Teacher: Isaac
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The Economist GMAT Tutor has a rigorous verbal preparation. The Reading Comprehension is more difficult than the real GMAT and it prepares you for very tough questions which is great! The Sentence Correction uses Stop Signs in order to train you which turned out to be very useful as it points you to the type of mistakes you need to look for. It was especially helpful as I'm non-native speaker! The Critical Reasoning was very useful too, showing you the main distractors and traps. The Quant section was great - they teach you shortcut techniques which for example are not shown at the Official Guide. The way I have prepared was to use the Economist as a foundation and practice questions from the Official Guide at the end - once you do that and see the explanations at the OG you will really appreciate how good the Economist is and the way they have taught you to think.
One point for improvement is the time it takes for AWA essays to be graded. It usually takes 1 week and if your GMAT is quickly approaching, it might be a limitation to the number of essays you will be able to submit.
However, the core curriculum which is the most important component was great. The opportunity to take tutor sessions aids your preparation and you can work on your weaknesses. The system offers predicted score which in my case was accurate and it gives you more ambition to work harder in order to get to your goal.
To sum up, I highly recommend the Economist GMAT Tutor and it's a great tool for preparation!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: May 2016
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

I recommend the Economist GMAT tutor for the GMAT math prep

4 stars
March 9, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 650
The Economist GMAT is the best material to beat the quant section of the GMAT. I am an engineer with a strong mathematics background. However my mathematics knowledge is completely different from the one that is needed for the GMAT quant. In fact I've learned how to do calculus steps by steps and prove difficult mathematics theories, but not how to guess , nor to do basic computations in the most effective way and solve problems in 2 mins. Therefore my results on the quant on the very first simulation tests were frustrating. I then decided to take a course to improve my score. I tried the Economist GMAT tutor for 7 days (there is a week free trial ) and noticed at the very first day that it is the application that I needed. The availability of the apps on Android and Windows devices is very useful. I was able to practice in the train while going to work every day...
The course is computer adapative. You will have the questions on the same topic until you ace it. You cannot move to another chapter if you don't do reasonnably well on the previous. The one to one tutor session via skype is really valuable. I was abe to talk to my tutors who gave me precious advice to strenghen my weaknesses , to manage efficiently the time. They even go through my simulation tests and tell me how to do improve my score.
It proposes a really time saving template to write essays.
I found the verbal courses good too but less effective as I am not a native.
I highly recommend the Economist GMAT to learn the technics to solve the quant problems and the essay.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Economics
Industry: Community/Economic Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Would highly recommend - it takes away the burden of managing the process of studying

5 stars
March 1, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 240 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Whenever anyone mentions they're currently or thinking about studying for the GMAT, I always tell them to check out the Economist GMAT Tutor and at least do the free week trial.

Why I recommend GMAT Tutor to everyone:

1. The adaptive learning component.
This is the main reason I would highly recommend it. When working full time, you’re just so busy you barely have time to study, and don't have time to “manage” the process of studying. I felt like the GMAT Tutor took the load of managing the process of studying off me and enables me to just focus on understanding the content and practicing.

How it does this: GMAT Tutor feeds you learning and practice materials at a pace that is custom to what you do well at. If you rock the geometry stuff, it'll fly you through that section. If you struggle, it'll give you more practice problems there and keep coming back to it over time until you've mastered it. The GMAT itself is an adaptive test, and I really appreciated this component of the GMAT Tutor program. It takes the stress and burden of coming up with your own study plan. All you have to do is log in and press start, and it feeds you what you need.

2. The flexibility of the online sessions.
I could study whenever and wherever I wanted, and select how many minutes I wanted to study. I found a lot of value in doing quant drills without pen/paper on the mobile app when I was in a taxi or wanted a 5 minute break from work. Also, the progress and score projection tracking made it feel like a game--I enjoyed watching my progress % and score projection range go up after every session and it made me excited to study.

3. The Skype tutoring sessions and in-app question feature.
If I came across a piece of content or a practice problem that I struggled with, I could click a button on that box and jot down an email to a real person, who would respond via email within a day or two. The tutors I met with over Skype were also very helpful--having someone explain difficult concepts and work on tough problems with me was valuable. I also appreciated the opportunity to have a handful of practice essays graded and returned with comments.


Compared to other options: While I didn't take an in-person class, I know the cost of a class is typically higher, it's definitely less convenient, and you go at the class pace instead of your own.

I did buy the Manhattan textbooks and did a focused 3-months of GMAT prep with them before switching to GMAT Tutor. I found it very difficult to know what topics on which to focus my study with the books, and felt I wasted a lot of time going through content I didn't need to spend so much time on. Additionally, I felt like my motivation to study had to come from sheer discipline, while it was so much easier to just jump on and press Go on a GMAT Tutor session.