Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 245 reviews
Joined: Apr 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Great online course

4 stars
April 13, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I had three weeks to prepare for the GMAT from scratch and the Master GMAT course gave me excellent tutorials on the key parts of the exam as well as exam-taking techniques. Thanks for the help!

Ross

Joined: Mar 2012
Purchased Course: Dec 2011
College: BITS, Pilani
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Very happy with the sense of orderly preparation that this course has helped me achieve.

5 stars
March 31, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I liked the course's AI software. It adapts to one's strengths and weaknesses. The queries that I posed to the team were answered promptly and in detail. The course has a very large question bank. Thanks to this, I got a lot of practice in quant which helped me reduce the silly errors that I kept committing. Complete solutions (without any ambiguity) are given for every question, and in some cases, there are alternate explanations provided as well. I was skeptical when I started the course, felt that it was a bit expensive. But it's been totally worth it. I am confident about the GMAT (20th April).

Joined: Dec 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
College: Technion
Major: Computer Graphics
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience - would highly recommend!

5 stars
December 31, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I found this course to be very effective for number of reasons.
First, I only had a brief time to prepare for the exam and being able to study online and on my time schedule was very convenient. In addition, the hardship of the exercises was adapted to my level automatically, so I didn't have to waste time on easy exercises or topics that I already mastered. Moreover, in any given moment I could easily go back and look at the material in case I forgot the required technique. Adjacent to every question in the course there is a small flag that lets you easily navigate to the technique required to solve it. Additionally, all the material is conveniently located on the front page of the software and you can go over all the topics at any time, which I did a day before the exam. Finally, the response time of the support team was very fast and professional. I would highly recommend the course. In my opinion, it is a much better option to studying from a set of books.

Joined: Oct 2009
Purchased Course: Nov 2011
College: Utah Valley University
Major: Business
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course to keep your attention and add structure

4 stars
December 30, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: n/a
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 720
This is program is great. It keeps your attention and really helps you get better. The sentence correction question are pretty easy, so you may want to get an additional source for these questions. Other than that, the course is AWESOME.

Joined: Dec 2011
Purchased Course: Oct 2011
College: Hogeschool voor Wetenschap en Kunst
Major: Music
Industry: Arts/Culture
Country: Belgium
Verified Real Student Review

When prepping becomes (sort of) fun too!

5 stars
December 27, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
This simply what you need to have in order to get into the B-school you want.
Highly recommended!

Joined: Nov 2011
Purchased Course: Sep 2011
College: Technion
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Highly flexible. Highly effective

5 stars
December 27, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 750
Hi,
* I liked the flexibility of doing short or long sessions whenever I get a chance.
* The percentage progress bar is very effective and motivating.
* The course is relatively cheap and gives great value.
* Quant part is good, and I gives good prep even for the tougher questions.
* Verbal part on the other hand gives good prep for the med level questions but not for the difficult ones you will face if you aim to the higher half of the 700-800 range. For those ones who will have to complement the course with difficult questions you can find in GMAT forums online. But if you aim at 700, this course is great !

Oren

Joined: Apr 2011
Purchased Course: Apr 2011
College: University of Mary Washington
Major: Economics
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best Bang for the Buck

5 stars
December 15, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
I found this course on http://www.beatthegmat.com and the reviews were the best amongst all of the online courses (5 stars). Since, I only had 2 weeks to prepare for my GMAT, I signed up for the weekly membership. I scored a 620 on my first GMATPrep exam, before I began the course, and a 640 a few days before my test. The day before my test, I retook the first GMATPrep exam and scored a 710. There were several questions that I had seen before so I assumed that this score was skewed. Finally, I took my official GMAT test and I was surprised and pleased with my score. My scores are listed below.

Quantitative - Scaled Score = 47; Percentile = 77
Verbal - Scaled Score = 41; Percentile = 92
Total - Scaled Score = 710; Percentile = 92

Although, I didn't utilize all of the course features, I found the course to be very helpful. However, after about 30 hours of GMAT studying, on the website, I got burned out and had a hard time concentrating and reading the text based lessons. Thus, I only made it through about 70% of the verbal material and 50% of the quantitative material. I think that the use of more stimulating learning methods, like videos or learning games might really be helpful. I know that a competition of some sort would also have been helpful for me. Overall, I was extremely pleased with this course and would recommend it highly. I definitely wasn't planning to do this well on the GMAT. With this score I was able to get into the top schools that I had applied for and I even received several academic scholarship offers.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: Saudi Arabia
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Course.

5 stars
November 8, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: Ilana Goldberg, Geva Stern
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 680
MasterGMAT helped me increase my confidence in Verbal. I increased my GMAT score from 520 to 680. MasterGMAT portal's intelligent way of bombarding the same type of questions which I got wrong in the first attempt helped me immensely to master the topics which were yet to be mastered.

Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: Oct 2011
College: Kenyon College
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best I've seen!

5 stars
November 3, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I highly recommend this course to anyone who is taking the GMAT!! The course starts out at a basic level and eventually explains fast ways to solve very advanced questions, so it is perfect for anyone of any skill level. This was far more comprehensive than any book that I've seen, and I've seen a good number of GMAT books. If the free trial seems too easy at first, be patient, it gets much more difficult! (Make sure you get to the section on probability and combinatorics, it's great!)

Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: May 2011
Major: Biology
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

Fun and efficient

5 stars
August 22, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I enjoyed the program very much. I nearly became addicted to it! For a fraction of the price of many GMAT prep classes, the online training enables to work at one's own rythm, and it adapts to the skills of the candidate. Working whenever I could or wanted, in just two months I was able to get 100 points more in the real GMAT than in the first simulation tests. I warmly recommend it!