Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 245 reviews
Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: Jul 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Effective and Cost Effective

4 stars
August 13, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: Isaac
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Unlike almost everyone else I spoke with, I decided not to shell out $1-2k to take a Kaplan or Manhattan GMAT course. I figured I'm a good student and had the self-discipline to stick to a study schedule. After weeks of doing hundreds of practice problems and going through the Manhattan GMAT and Kaplan books, I definitely knew I needed some help with the "tricks" of the GMAT. This course is really great-- it gets you used to answering questions on the computer, is really tailored to your needs and effectively teaches several short-cuts to correct answers. I only started the course 3 weeks before my test date-- I only wish I had discovered this course sooner!

Joined: Jan 2011
Purchased Course: Jul 2011
College: University of Connecticut
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

common sense approach to the GMAT

5 stars
August 11, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: Gil S
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Great Curriculum. Approached the questions in more of a common sense way, such as approaching math questions in more of a everyday use then relying on straight algebra. My target score was a 640 and thought I might have a chance to get it. After two weeks of master GMAT and with about two weeks until my test I figured out that i had a chance of getting a 700. On test day I took the test and scored a 720. More of a concise course, more effective than going through textbooks.

Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: May 2011
College: Tel-Aviv University
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Legal Services
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Master GMAT is a great way to prepare for the GMAT, especially for busy professionals

5 stars
August 11, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: The course program, Geva and Gil
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 730
I used Master GMAT after trying a different course and was able to raise my GMAT grade by over 10%. The course was a great experience, which allowed for maximal flexibility while being both informative and fun. The Master GMAT team was also extremely attentive and I received answers to all my questions within 24 hours. I definitely recommend this course for anyone looking to excel at the GMAT and especially for professionals with a hectic schedule.

Joined: Jul 2011
Purchased Course: Jul 2011
College: Grinnell College
Major: Psychology
Industry: Social Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for the Time Constraned

5 stars
August 5, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I found Master GMAT to be far more helpful than any book could be, given the time constraints I was under. It moved me through material I understood to that I didn't, in a quick and effective manner--just like the test does. It also made me incredibly familiar with the way questions look on the test, the format, the wording, and the application of concepts. I'd recommend it for anyone taking the GMAT for sure!

Joined: Apr 2011
Purchased Course: Jun 2011
College: VIT
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The best-most affordable customizable prep course out there!!!

5 stars
July 11, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: Isaac Betham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I just want to thank your program so much.It really helped me to form a structured approach for my gmat preparation. I mean it when I say couldn't have done it without Team MasterGmat! Thank you again for being so supportive!


740!!
M-50 V-40

Verbal improvement from score of 33!!!
Really structured approach for sentence correction... Use their strategy with "STOP SIGNS" and Verbal no longer will ever taunt you!

Joined: Jul 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 2011
College: Mumbai University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing course for working professionals

4 stars
July 3, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: Geva S
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
The Master GMAT course is ideal for working professionals who may not have the time for attending extensive classroom sessions. The course structure and its various tools such as the timer and individual lesson summaries etc. are very helpful.
Instructor support is fantastic, at any stage of your preparation somebody is there to guide you.
The course definitely helped me get a high score helped me improve greatly from my first practice test scores.

Joined: May 2011
Purchased Course: Dec 2010
College: Israel
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Legal Services
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Master GMAT is the perfect choice

5 stars
May 26, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
The Master GMAT course is the most intelligent and high value choice for people who have jobs and cannot, on the one hand, commit to a regular regimented class schedule, but cannot, on the other hand, do without the professional guidance and the advantages of taking a course with a high quality instructor.


All the material required for every section of the test is taught in an engaging and fluid manner, all of the practice questions are adaptive to one's personal performance level, and every individual need is attended to by the company's excellent support staff.


Master GMAT is the perfect choice.

Joined: May 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
College: University of Calgary
Major: Marketing
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Great online resource!

5 stars
May 11, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
Master GMAT was a fantastic resource for me and was key in my GMAT prep. I highly recommend this course for anyone.

emb
Joined: May 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
College: Boston College
Major: English
Industry: Printing/Publishing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course for a self-motivated studier looking

4 stars
May 11, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I signed up for this course with six weeks left before my test date, when I feared I just wasn't mastering the concepts well enough on my own. I registered for the pay-per-week plan, which is a great deal. I worked through the math materials in particular, since that was my area of greatest weakness, and I did about a third of the verbal course.

I was really pleased with how comprehensive the course was. I felt I touched on every subject needed for the exam, and I was given access to three full quant/verbal (no AWA) exams, along with a one-on-one session (which I never took). This was a great review for the quant section of the test, and from what I saw of the verbal, it would be extremely helpful for someone trying to master those concepts as well.

The course is tailored to your personal mastery of the concepts -- as you demonstrate mastery, the course moves forward. If you're struggling with a concept, you'll spend more time on it. I liked this format, because in a formal prep class, I'd have been forced to move at whatever pace suited the majority of my classmates.

My only complaint about this course was that once I hit the 85% completion mark on the quantitative section, I started to see the same questions repeated, and I was often tested on the same few higher level concepts that aren't as heavily emphasized n the GMAT itself. I would have liked to continue reviewing the topics widely considered to be the most popular: factoring, number properties, etc., instead of geometry and combinations/permutations.

Overall, though, I would highly recommend this course. The seven-day trial is a great offer as well -- it's what got me hooked.

Joined: Nov 2009
Purchased Course: Feb 2011
College: 2003
Major: Business
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Ukraine
Verified Real Student Review

Unique computer adaptive preparation for a computer adaptive test

5 stars
May 4, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Master GMAT delivered beyond expectations in more than one aspect.

First of all, Master GMAT uses a smart computer adaptive algorithm that makes sure you actually learn the material. It doesn`t let you switch to the next topic unless you actually understand the material inside out. It is only logical to prepare for GMAT, a CAT, with a computer adaptive preparation course.

Secondly, the course is truly exhaustive. Think about any possible question type, including extravagant ones, such as properties of consecutive integers or space diagonals in solid geometry – it is covered.

Thirdly, the course offers quite a few exclusive techniques to tackle GMAT questions. One of the most useful techniques is ballparking (using common sense when algebraic calculations seem overwhelming), one other technique offers an alternative and more intuitive way to solve Venn-diagram questions. I was literally fascinated by their approach to rate, gap and two-speed problems – using very complicated examples they would split the problems into comprehensive patterns that explained the finest tricks used by GMAT authors.

Finally, taking the Master GMAT course turned out to be a surprisingly nice experience. Obviously, the text and the customer narrative were written by very smart people with deep expertise in the subject matter (and a good sense of humor). The whole experience felt surprisingly human. The customer support people at MASTER GMAT (Gil and Isaac) were extremely helpful and responsive to my needs. In fact, they actually CARED about my progress.
The Master GMAT course was a great value for money. They offer you a variety of ways to pay for the service, and one of them is a “pay-as-you-go” weekly $50 fee (the one I used) – it gives you a chance to progress through your preparation at the pace of your choice.

I am very happy with my experience and I could not find a better preparation for the GMAT test.