Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 242 reviews
Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Grand Canyon University
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely Love This Course

5 stars
October 24, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Teacher: System
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Economist's GMAT prep is a fantastic course. I took the 7 day trial and I was hooked. The interactive platform is actually pretty fun to work with, and my favorite part was it moves at your own pace. The system gauges where you need extra work, and gives it to you. I also have had an exceptional experience with their customer service team. I had a medical situation in my family that required my full attention for several weeks. The Economist team was very responsive in helping me out. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to do a self paced study.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: columbia college
Major: Business
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course! Don't buy it for the guarantee though.

4 stars
September 26, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I loved the Economist GMAT course. I had taken the GMAT Nov of last year, but didn't get into the school I wanted so I decided to take it again.

This time around I wanted to have a tutor/program to work through. I chose the Economist because it had a money back guarantee if I didn't hit above a certain amount of improvement if I did the full course. I spent over 130 hours studying between this course, tutoring sessions, practice tests, videos, and my own study material (official GMAT review book and some math books). The course took me through everything and kept me from solely focusing on quant where I struggled last time. I was able to improve both my quant and verbal sub-sections. I also improved my IR score (not as important to me since my school doesn't look at it). However, I didn't find the AWA portion helpful. It was very structured in how to build your essay, but I thought it was very one dimensional.

My main tutor was Jake Wengroff. He was an excellent tutor. He knew how to walk through practice problems at my speed and how to explain concepts. He also did a great review of the problems from my practice test when I asked for assistance reviewing it.

So while the course was very helpful, I do want to warn: do not buy it for the guarantee!!! Getting the guarantee is next to impossible. You have to complete 90% of the course and doing so would take 100 hours after finishing the first 75-80% of the course (this is based on what I was told by a tutor other than Jake). Basically it is a huge undertaking and will most likely lead to getting burnt out on studying which means it isn't worth it. With that being said, I got 50 points of improvement and moved 10 percentile up. Not quite the guaranteed 70 points for the course I bought, but in my opinion it was worth the money!

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: The University of Western Ontario
Major: Civil Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Study Efficiently

5 stars
August 2, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 710
Over my lifetime of purchases the Economist GMAT Tutor ranks in my highest bracket for product satisfaction.

Initially I was a bit discouraged about the high cost, but I gave the free week trial a test run and loved the software from minute one. I found the program forced you to sit down and study at an intensity level that was equivalent to that of test day. Personally this would not have been possible for me if I was studying independently. With the program I studied about 85 hours total, but they were hardcore focused hours.

I only completed one live tutoring session which was very professional and easily accessible. I did not feel I needed further one on one sessions because the program explained everything very logically.

I did use three of the essay reviews and it was evident that the marker put some thought into the essay and provided insightful comments.

Lastly the program gives you an "estimated score" as you progress through the course. This was very rewarding to see your estimated score rise at the end of a long study session - further motivation.

I initially wrote a 540 without studying. At test day about two months later I wrote a 710! If I had put in the same amount of time without the Economist prep tool I would estimate my score would have been around a 670.

These extra points landed me a huge scholarship at my first choice school - easily paying off my initial sticker shock.
Give the free trial a run, you have nothing to lose.

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Economist got me a better score than Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
July 8, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 730
I have a long history with the GMAT. During senior year of my college year I took a self-study Manhattan GMAT course and was only able to score a 650. This was disappointing as anyone whose looking at an top program knows they need a 700+.

I decided to give it another go a couple years later. I had heard good things about the Economist so I went with them. I found their adaptive learning program to be much more effective than watching a lecture and then doing problems. In the end I obtained a 730 score thanks to the excellent structure of the program and the helpful tutors. Thanks, Economist!

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Broadcasting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist Works

5 stars
May 27, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
The Economist GMAT Tutor was exactly what I needed. It starts with the basics, which is exactly what I needed because when I stated, I didn't know what I was in for. But it starts you out with small steps and works with you at the pace you can go. And if you are struggling with a concept, it goes back and keeps hammering at those subjects until you get it down. The tutors you get paired with are very helpful. I ended up working with two different tutors over Skype, but I had one tutor who took a real interest in my studies and help me with some strategies where I was weak. I don't know where I was at the beginning of the program (I think it put me around a 450 score as I started) but by the end I was scoring in the high 600. I took two practice tests through the Economist and another one through the GMAC. The Economist scores were really accurate. I got a 670 then a 680. On my real test I got a 690. It got me into my number one choice school with a great scholarship.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Universidad de San Andres
Major: Business
Country: Argentina
Verified Real Student Review

Fun, interactive and worth your time and money

5 stars
May 24, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I decided to apply to business school mid-September, so my timing was less than ideal. I had always assumed that a little practice would help me shape up and I would obtain a good GMAT score easily. Economist’s free mock exam (which you get on your weekly trial) proved to be a defining moment in my journey. I scored 630 and I did very poorly in quant. It was a rude awakening, but a necessary one. I can confidently say the money I invested in the Economist GMAT course yielded excellent value and was the best decision I made in the process of applying to business school. These are the features I liked the most about the course:

1) Interactive, engaging platform improved my discipline and my enjoyment of the process. The same wit you find in the magazine is present in the course material.
2) You can let the adaptive engine take you through the course working more intensely on your weakest areas or you can chart your own course by selecting which topics you want to cover as you go. This was very important to me given my time constraints.
3) No need to take notes, you can always revisit key highlights of a lesson in your control panel.
4) The ask a tutor feature is responsive and useful. You’ll get a response within 6-12 hours.
5) The live one-on-one sessions with tutors were great to build my confidence tackling data sufficiency questions. The tutors will pull up questions on topics you select in advance and work on the questions with you.
6) AWA grading. My first essay sucked. The person who graded it basically dissected the thing with five or six comments and completely changed my approach. Went from a 3 to a 6 in three attempts.
7) Had a head start comparing with other internationals when it came to Verbal due to my English skills. But the sentence correction material… it was brilliant. After a month with the Economist prep I just could not get a sentence correction question wrong. Very simple rules make you improve dramatically.
8) I found the mock exam to be a lot more realistic compared to what I tried on other companies, particularly MPrep. Still, the best mocks are those you get from GMAT prep.

Things not so great about it:
1) The score predictor does not work very well, I wouldn’t pay attention to it.
2) Pretty weak on IR preparation. Seems to me that the Economist subscribes to the “IR doesn’t matter” view. I had to complement my preparation with GMAT prep.
3) I found the Reading Comp. questions a little more ambiguous than the actual GMAT
4) While the engine works well, it does repeat a few questions you’ve answered before every once in a while.

Trust me, you will not be disappointed. Went from a 630 to 730 in the last Economist mock and scored a 760 in the real thing.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Copenhagen Business School
Major: International Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Denmark
Verified Real Student Review

From 540 to 730 with the Economist Ultimate Prep

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Teacher: Kasia and Jake
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 730
I purchased the ultimate prep by the Economist upon recommendation from a colleague. My opinion is that the overall course (algorithm based software + simulation tests + tutoring sessions) is great for anyone looking for an overall improvement, and who learns best from a mix of self-studying and tutoring sessions. It helped me go from 540 to 730 over a period of 6 months. The strength of the course is the quantitative part of the algorithm based software and the live tutoring sessions. However, the course has two major drawbacks that are worth considering. Firstly it is too expensive for what it is. Sure, the tutoring sessions are extremely helpful and the tutors are competent, but the algorithm based course itself does not cover anything that e.g. Magoosh does not cover. Secondly, the Sentence Correction section of the algorithm based software is not as strong as the other parts (RC, CR, PS & DS), and it is definitely not sufficient if you are aiming for a high verbal s core. I had to purchase the MGMAT SC book to cover the advanced Sentence Correction questions - which is not optimal taking the price of the course into consideration.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Very efficient way to get ready for the GMAT

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I was very satisfied with the GMAT prep course from the Economist. It was a very efficient way to get up to speed, as the software clearly noticed what I am good at and in which areas I still need more preparation for. Also, whenever I had a question, the team behind this app got back to me quickly and always with relevant information. Overall, I am very happy with this tool and would definitely recommend it to anybody who would like to get ready for the GMAT.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: university of dayton
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very solid product

4 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
I had a chance to work from home for 4 months and knew I wouldn't have another chance the grind out the hours necessary to do as well as I wanted to. I picked The Economist GMAT prep based on its content delivery style. The conversational tone and adaptive software keep the information fresh and flowing throughout the months of studying. It does a great job of dropping you back into timed questions to help with patience and information retrieval. Really helped me reach my goals.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
Major: Computer Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good for those with a tight schedule

4 stars
May 1, 2016
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 242 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Even though this course is a bit expensive compared to other ones out there, if you have trouble finding time or tend to get distracted once you start studying, this is a good course. You can do timed sessions. I did most of my studying on 30 minutes sessions. It helped me keep track of my study hours and was able to study during lunch hours or whenever I could spare a few focused minutes.