Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 245 reviews
Joined: Dec 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: UNITED BUSINESS INSTITUTES
Major: Finance
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

Very satisfied

5 stars
December 28, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: Jake/Kesia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
The Economist GMAT Tutor is very complete.
I had less than 2 months to study for the GMAT, which is quite challenging when you are working full time. But the option of choosing the length of a session, makes it very useful to manage time. Furthermore, there is a window that shows the progress and an approximate gmat score, which in my case was very accurate.
I got 690 and the estimator had estimated my score between 680 and 710.

The tutors (Kesia and Jake) that gave me the private sessions were phenomenal, knowledgeable and very helpful. I recommend doing a strategy session. The advice in time management they gave was crucial.

All aspects of the quantitative and verbal section got me well prepared for the GMAT. I just thought the sentence correction part was a little weak though. I complemented it by purchasing a pack from the official gmat prep.

I got 5.5 on my essay, I have to give 100% credit to the Economist for that. They were great and very helpful.

The integrated reason part is ridiculous though.

Overall I'm very satisfied, and I wholeheartedly recommend The Economist GMAT Tutor.

Joined: Dec 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course

5 stars
December 28, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Economist GMAT prep was the key in boosting my performance on the GMAT. The tips were very helpful and the analysis of every answer choice is very insightful. I found the course much better than any book available on the market; I could study on the go and wherever I waned and even from my phone. It allowed me to easily monitor my studying pace on different sections and set goals relative to the time of my exam. More importantly, giving small sessions in an interactive, dialogue-like manner was very appealing to someone who gets easily bored of thick books. The course is outstanding on every level. However, the strongest aspect I realized was the adaptive artificial intelligence that made the course look like it was specifically tailored to give me what I exactly needed and give me opportunities of extra practice in my weak areas. It helped me better realize my strengths and weaknesses. I would definitely recommend it to anyone planing to take the GMAT.

Joined: Dec 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: University of the Free State
Major: Statistics and Actuarial Science
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: South Africa
Verified Real Student Review

Great preparation assistance with The Economist

5 stars
December 28, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Due to various factors, I only had 4 weeks available to prepare for my GMAT so I needed the programme that would enable be to achieve as much as possible in the little time available.

The Economist GMAT Prep allowed me to do a simulation test before I registered in order to gauge my level before starting the course. The course is clearly outlined and definitely helps to develop your higher order thinking skills and your approach to GMAT type problems. The fact that the course also adapts automatically to focus on your weaker areas is great.

After only 4 weeks of preparation and not even having completed the whole course my score went from 640 to the official score of 740.

Thank you!

Joined: May 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Unique adaptative system!

5 stars
December 17, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 500   After: 600
I started my Gmat Tutor course 3 weeks ago. I already tried other courses for Gmat but none have help me focus on my weakness as Gmat Tutor do.

Its a unique system were you are forced to improve your weakness while you don't waste valuable time on your strongest sections. Its amazing how good this works.

The course also show you updated statistics of your improvement (200-800 score scale) and your productivity (hours spend learning and course progress). This statistics are very interesting, although i think they could complement them with more, such as the accuracy rate by time of problem.

I also suggest Gmat Tutor to complement its offer with a The Economist free subscription - Its make all the sense as everyone knows the Economist as the best source to improve the reading skills of non-native speakers. Usually the first 3 months of subscription is cheap (12£ in UK and 30 € on Europe) - this values are a little portion of the costs of the course, so doesn't make sense why Gmat Tutor doesnt include this on the course.

I really advise everyone to try the Gmat Tutor for the first free 7 days - you will enjoy it! In 3 weeks i already improve 100 points avoiding careless mistakes.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: United Kingdom
Major: Business
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Really bad content and poor customer service

1 star
November 29, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: NA
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I subscribed to Gmat Tutor 2 months before taking the test and I found it to be useless. I hired a private teacher in the end so Gmat Tutor was a waste of money. I asked for a refund 10 days after I subscribed and they said this is against their policy.

Not what I'd expect of a product with The Economist's name on it!

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, India
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A good course

4 stars
November 19, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: Multiple
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Hi,

I took the Economist GMAT Tutor course and scored a 720 on my GMAT. Though this was a bit lower than what I was expecting based on GMAT Prep tests but I think the score is good enough to select the check-mark for almost all the schools. [There are lot of discussions that Indian students need to get a really high score but numerous people have told me that's not true - GMAT is really just one, and often not the most important, component in the application].

GMAT Score - 720 - IR8, Q50, V37 (screwed up a little on the verbal :( )

Prepping for the GMAT was kind of an impromptu decision to which I didn't give much thought but now that I have I think it was a good decision.

I read some posts on the forums and came to know about various GMAT courses and I decided to take a trial for GMAT tutor. I really liked the format, it was interactive and more importantly structured -- I thought the important thing would be structured in the study to maintain discipline.

The course started off with easy Math fundamentals, which are essential by the way, before moving to Verbal topics which were not very natural for me. The concepts presented were very structured and really focussed on getting the basics clear before moving on to harder topics or questions.

The thing I really liked about the course was the ease of studying -- I didn't have to worry about whether I was doing enough questions on a topic before moving to another topic. The course gave ample number of questions after teaching each topic with answer explanations. The answer explanations are the best - they really tell you how to approach the problem and always stuck to the "method". Developing and following the method, in my opinion, is very important when you begin so that you avoid careless mistakes. Trust me, avoid careless mistakes on the GMAT and getting a good score is not hard.

For Math - Covers all the essentials, questions are good, some data sufficiency are really good. I made sure I always read answer explanations for EVERY question I did.

For Verbal - Reading Comprehension is the best - the closest thing to the real GMAT. Some very tricky questions. I used to get a lot of RC wrong and then I really started to read options and each options' answer explanations very very carefully. The main thing in RC is really reading the options very closely - overtime this becomes fast. I practised a lot of RC from GMAT tutor which eventually enabled me to do ALL RC questions correctly in four GMAT Prep Tests. At first, I thought the format of RC on GMAT tutor sucked because they give one question a passage at one time which is unlike the real test, but the point I realised later is that mastering one type of question at a time really helped me.

Critical Reasoning was okay. There are certainly differences between the real thing and GMAT tutor's CR - GMAT Tutor's CR, I thought, had more straightforward answer options than the real thing. It's not bad per-se, there are definitely good questions, but the style was somewhat different from the real thing. You should augment this part with the official guide and verbal review.

Sentence Correction - The rules GMAT tutor teaches are helpful. These helped me solve SC questions quickly - you need to be quick in SC to save time for CR and RC. Ample of questions. But I think this is the weakest section in GMAT Tutor - the official questions and the ones you will see on the test will be noticeably different. SC questions on GMAT Tutor really focussed on 1-2 errors at most and the answer options revolved around those two errors but this will not be the case on the GMAT - the answer options will be very different from each other. I do think this section needs to be improved a lot as the style of the questions is not representative.

For AWA, GMAT Tutor gives a template which works. It discusses some useful techniques but the main thing here is practice. I submitted the 6 AWA essays to get rated - they score bit harshly but the feedback is awesome. I even took a tutor session on AWA and went through all of my essays with the tutor.

IR section is present but nothing much - plus I was good at IR so it didn't matter. Also I think getting an 8 in IR doesn't need much practice - just patiently work through questions in the test, know which 2 questions to skip (I generally skipped table questions which dealt with percentages).

SIM tests are really good and they give a accurate projection. I scored from 710 - 730 on the 5 tests, quite close to the real thing. The tests don't have essays and IR section. I spent a lot of time re-doing tests and reading answer explanations.

Pros -
- Very structured course, good for people who are not sure whether they have the discipline for self-study but don't want to attend a classroom for preparation.
- Math is very structured and explains things very clearly. I was already good with Math so no complains. Questions are good and very similar to the real thing.
- Verbal is overall good. Lots of questions.
- SIM tests score are similar to the real thing.
- The usefulness of the tutor sessions depends on you -- take specific questions and the tutors are helpful.
- Lots of realistic questions - specially after you finish the theory part. I finished 96% of the course and the last 70 - 80 hours were just practice questions which really helped.
- Ask-a-Tutor feature is good - be sure to be very clear on what you are asking and you will get good answers.

Things to improve -
- Sentence Correction. I cannot stress this enough. Though the concepts are helpful, the questions are not. GMAT questions are noticeably very different.
- Needs to include AWA and IR on the SIM tests. It's very important to build that stamina . Though the scores are not that important but building that stamina is very very important.
- More tests. For the cost, I think 5 tests are a bit less.

I am happy to have taken this course and I would recommend it (yes, also to indian students though the course is bit on the expensive side).

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Useful GMAT Course

5 stars
October 25, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I find the Economist GMAT course to be very useful. It is thorough and adaptive. It also gives great tips regarding time-saving during the GMAT. I strongly recommend the course.

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
College: Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Quant prep helped me jump from 710 to 770

5 stars
October 15, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: Not Applicable
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
When I first took a Manhattan Prep practice test, I got a 59% on the quant and a 710 overall score. Economist app helped me jump to 87% on Quant (50) and a 770 overall. After my practice test, I soon started using the Economist GMAT app, and I loved it!! I only used it for Quant, but I saw that it made a huge difference even early on in terms of how I approached problems and how easy they were for me. Deciding to pay to be able to use 100% of the app was the best decision I have made in my MBA prep. The online ap is super easy to use and it guides you at your own pace through all the material you will need to know. I highly recommend this website for anyone who wants to up their Quant game on the exam. My score jumped to 770, and I did not use any other resources at all. Only negative to the Economist app is that it seems like in order to schedule your private tutoring lessons, you have to reserve the time well in advance, even specifying what topic area you will want to cover. Since I only had a month to study, this did not make sense for me and I was not able to utilize that part of the package.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Rostov State Unversity
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

Time-effecient GMAT preparation tool

5 stars
September 22, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I first encountered Economist GMAT Tutor as free iPad app which I installed and tried to use. It appeared to be interesting, yet inconvenient, mostly because of small answer choice button size - I have "made" really stupid mistakes many times. However, after I tried the course on Mac, it became clear that it is really good for me.

First, it did not contain long videos taking huge amounts of time to watch - all explanations are pure text and it was all I need. Since I can read rather fast, this form of explanation was preferable to me.

Then, it was course structure - it offers different topics and mixes Quant and Verbal ones you are currently working on with occasional flashback reviews of those already completed.

Another advantage is that I didn't need anything else to study - just my laptop, a notepad and a pen. No extra books, no other web pages - just me and Gmat Tutor. I understood that it is an advantage when was looking at other preparation tools and courses.

Finally, I really liked the material given and the quality of explanations. As a mathematician, I do not always agree with the methods offered, yet they are doubtlessly effective.

On my free Sample Test included I got Q50 and V31 meaning that I should concentrate on Verbal. Yet, reviewing sample test results in Quant showed me lots of stupid or careless mistakes I made, as well as lack of experience of solving certain specific types of problems. So while I plan to improve my Verbal score, I can certainly do much better in Quant - and this course is helping me with it.

So, summarizing my review, I see the following pros:

- efficient use of learning time
- really easy to use
- good quality of explanations

And the following cons:

- Math is sometimes simplified
- iPad app is not convenient due to small button size

Finally, the price. What I paid is really too much, and since I live in a rather poor country with high USD to local currency exchange rate, the course has cost me quite a lot. Yet if if will help me get the score I want and ultimately get into BS I want, I\'ll be fine with the price paid.

Joined: Jul 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: Dartmouth College
Major: Sociology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Loved the app!

4 stars
June 1, 2015
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 245 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 680
I'm a fan of the app portion of this in particular -- especially b/c it let me study on the train and in 10-15 minute sections at a time on days when I didn't have a full hour or so to study. Having taken other GMAT courses/read through other GMAT books, this one really does take a different approach and gets you to approach problems differently.

Sadly, ultimately, it didn't help me correct my timing problems, so I didn't get as much out of the techniques in terms of a score increase!