Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 88 reviews
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: Columbia
Major: Political Science
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

By far the best value for your money

5 stars
October 9, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
As someone who just graduated from college, I did not want to pay thousands of dollars for a GMAT course if there was a similar alternative for a better price. This is exactly why I ended up choosing the Empower course to prepare for the GMAT. To give some background, I graduated from an Ivy League University as a student-athlete with a liberal arts degree. I ended up taking a job at a top-tier private equity firm out of college, but wanted to take the GMAT in my first few months out of college just so I could have the score in my back pocket for five years.

Because I was just starting a new job full-time, I wanted to be able to prepare for the test on my own time. I really liked the Empower course because they teach you how to attack each question and exploit its weaknesses. This aggressive test-taking style appealed to me as it kept everything exciting and engaging. The video lessons are very clear and thorough, making sure you understand each little step on the way to choosing your final answer.

On my initial diagnostic test that I took without any preparation I scored a 540. My goal, like many GMAT test-takers, was a 700+. After 3 months of preparation with the Empower course I was able to score a 710 on the first try. I firmly believe that anyone who works diligently to truly understand every lesson in the Empower course should be able to attain a 700 or higher. The Empower course gives you the blue-print, all you have to do is follow all their advice!

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: May 2017
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the money and effort

5 stars
October 3, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Teacher: Rich, Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 650
I started out preparing for the GMAT being self-guided, but when I got my first results from taking the exam I was quite dissatisfied. I looked around and liked what I saw from the review of EMPOWERgmat. My quant was already strong, but the additional techniques I picked up from Rich helped quite a bit. My verbal score was really what struggled during the first exam and the techniques that Max will teach you worked very well for me! I didn't have a ton of time to prepare (less than 3 months) for my next exam, so I expect that my score would have been even higher had I taken more time to hone my skills and improve the speed at which I process the verbal problems. Overall, I would recommend EMPOWERgmat with flying colors, since you get a discount on the OG test materials and they are willing to refund you if you do not jump up more than 70 points, a pretty awesome deal! The EMPOWER team was also very friendly and reached out to me a number of times to make sure I felt comfortable before the exam and with my score after the exam.

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Villanova University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Scored a 690 in 1 month with EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
October 2, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I graduated college in May of this year and my first day of work was not until September 18th, so I chose to spend a month of my free time being productive and working toward my future by taking the GMAT. I chose EMPOWERgmat based on a friend's recommendation, and I am very pleased with the outcome.

The program is extremely cheap compared to Kaplan, Princeton Review, etc. and also seemed to be the most flexible option. I really valued how the subscription came with a ton of content and allowed me to move at my own pace. I was still able to enjoy the summer on days where I had plans, and when I was less occupied, I could put in a solid amount of work all at once. I valued that aspect of not being tied down to a set schedule during a carefree period of time in my life. For the same reasons, I believe this course to be an optimal choice for any working professional looking to study for the GMAT outside of work, or any undergrad student looking to study during the semester.

The material offered by the course was fantastic in my opinion. The instructional videos did a really good job of reinforcing tricks and tips associated with every type of question in both the quant and verbal sections. The videos and associated practice questions are then supplemented with more material from a GMAT prep book that can be purchased online for about $20.

They recommend that you use the program for a full three months to completely master the material, and I think I would have done better had I followed that suggestion. However, their strategies are very easy to pick up and I was able to take their unique strategies and apply them on my exam to get the score I am happy with. I have since recommended this program to anyone I know thinking about taking the GMAT.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped me view the GMAT in a way that led me to success

5 stars
September 17, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I joined EMPOWERgmat after self-studying with the Manhattan prep books and seeing no improvement in my CAT score week after week. What I found in EMPOWERgmat was everything that I was missing from books and from a self-studying approach. Not only was the video format one I found really useful, but having Rich and Max offering insightful tips and Brian answering my questions via email really provided a personalized approach.

I studied for the GMAT over the course of 2-3 months, and continued to score around 640/650 week after week, scoring 670 on my last two CATs. Somehow, by employing all the EMPOWERgmat tactics, I was able to reach my goal and score 700 on my real exam! This is definitely not something I could have done without using the EMPOWER approach to the test.

I would say that the most value in the EMPOWER course is how my view of the GMAT changed. I was able to realize that I was not studying for a test, but rather training for one, and that this exam was very different to the ones I had completed in the past. Getting used to triaging answers and dropping super hard questions was a tactic that took me a while to get used to, but ultimately led to my success. From just reading books it was unclear to me that the hard questions were worth few to no points and I needed to focus on the easy and medium topics, but this insight proved critical to joining the 700 club.

My experience with EMPOWERgmat was extremely positive and I will be recommending it to all who ask. The price is amazing for the content, insight, and support offered. I would never even consider taking a huge $1000+ course after seeing how powerful EMPOWERgmat is. Thank you to all the team - I couldn't have done it without you!

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Michigan
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helpful, easy-to-understand learning tactics

5 stars
September 17, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 660
I've tried various study methods (MGMAT, private tutor, etc) and EmpowerGMAT was a great method to help me refine my learning skills in the final stages of my GMAT journey. The course content is focused on best practices and approaches to answering the question in the most straightforward way possible. For example, no crazy math techniques are necessary - the videos will show you the simplest ("oh, duh!") approach to beat the question, explained in a step-by-step sequence. This approach was refreshingly different from other methods and classes I have taken prior to discovering Empower. I highly recommend this program for students at any point of their GMAT journey.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Georgetown
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Top Notch Prep and Advice from Empower

5 stars
August 28, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 750
Empower GMAT is a fantastic course to help you learn strategies and break 700 on the GMAT. It helped me go from a 640 to a 750 on my official GMAT! The videos by Rich and Max are helpful and teach you not only how to answer the specific questions at hand, but also how to apply the strategies they use to other questions. The price is very fair for the material you gain access to and the monthly charge will help keep you motivated to not let your access go to waste. Plus, the discounts you receive on official GMAT practice exams are not offered anywhere else!

The customer service at Empower is also top notch! They answer questions quickly and even forward them to Rich/Max when needed. Rich reached out to me personally to help me strategize and fix my weak areas after my first GMAT attempt and it helped me tremendously - I don't think you'd get that level of service in many other places.

You definitely need to be motivated to use Empower. You have to devote time to taking the lessons and doing the practice problems. If you do, Empower will help you get the score you deserve. Hundreds of videos of practice questions and lessons with material straight from the OG are available with expert advice. If you devote the time and energy into Empower, you can break 700!

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: St. Olaf College
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT Will Secure Your 700+ Score

5 stars
August 14, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
As most students soon learn, taking the GMAT isn't like prepping for any other standardized test for graduate school. In fact, since the GMAT is one of the main MBA application components within an applicant's control, students, like myself, realize the importance of maximizing their GMAT score. To do so, I would recommend no other course than EmpowerGMAT.

I enrolled in the EmpowerGMAT course after failing to improve my practice test scores for months, and while pleased with the low cost of the course, was skeptical of spending so much on 'just a test'. Every cent was worth it, in my mind. Empower has a detailed checklist of how to go through a 1-month, 2-month or 3-month course of study. I used the 3-month checklist and it ensured my 700+ score.

The resources provided by Empower are key. Their problem explanations were very helpful and focused a lot on OG content. Their laser-like focus on official materials helped a lot, too! The instructors are obviously very talented and are excellent communicators.

However, what secured by 700+ score was the unique strategy employed by Empower. Their in-house strategies are unparalleled in the GMAT world, and after trying out several other resources, I saw my practice test scores improve only have trained with Rich at Empower.

Before starting my GMAT process, I was hoping for a 650+. Training with Empower gave me the skills and practice schedule necessary to score 700+. If I can do it, you can use Empower to get the score you need.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

The most amazing course for GMAT!

5 stars
August 13, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Teacher: Max & Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
Hi guys,

I know a lot of you are struggling to get a good GMAT score, and trust me, I know the pain. I have lost hair, gave up on my routine and missed out on life so much because of GMAT, but now I won't give the exam again!

I gave the first GMAT in Dec 2016 and got a 660 because I was super anxious. I even gave up on GMAT for a long time, and then in March I took a date randomly for August. I had studied so much in the past that I didn't know what I knew and I didn't. I had tried EmpowerGMAT before and what I truly love about them is the simplicity of their course. These guys don't tell you that GMAT is the end of the world or that you need to be a nerd to get what you are looking for, but rather they tell you the right things and you know they are right because their approach not only works on their own content, but also works on every question of the Official stuff, which is the basis for their entire course.

I have written cheesy emails to these guys just because of the sort of cool culture they have, and the value they have added in my life. To be honest, this time I did just one mock and didn't even complete my official stuff, but I completed their course(apart from the mocks- I don't recommend doing this though!) and went to take the exam. What changed this time was my mindset, I believed in myself, I knew what the GMAT would test me, and how I need to be calm while taking the exam.

Lastly, I don't think my score is that great, but I still feel that what they have collated is actually good for anyone who intends to get the right advice.

P. S. I have gone through 3 other courses (E-GMAT, Economist, Edushastra), but the reality is that all of them have no standing in front of EmpowerGMAT.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Vivekananda College
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: Oman
Verified Real Student Review

A course which truly lives up to its reputation

5 stars
August 11, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
EMPOWERgmat was a phenomenal study tool and is a must have for anyone who really wants to dominate the GMAT with a very high score. My Expectations for a course were as follows
(1)A course which had detailed strategies on how to tackle the quant and verbal sections of the gmat
(2)A course which provided a wide database of questions for extra practice
(3)A course which could also teach all the test takers on how to make educated guesses to achieve a maximum score
Empower GMAT personally scored on all the fronts as I could see my score on the diagnostic tests improve progressively as I had studied through the modules
The support staff too is extremely helpful and you can hope to expect a quick revert on any of the doubts you may have regarding the problems
The pricing too is extremely attractive - do give this course a shot

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: UNI
Major: Engineering
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Peru
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGmat's approach

5 stars
July 28, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 88 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 88 reviews
Teacher: Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 690
I wanted to share my experience with the Gmat preparaton, I hope this can serve to the community.
In my first attempt in the gmat I got 650 (Q50V27), my mother tongue is Spanish and I started learning English a little late. In my first attempt I studied the books of Manhattan, the Official Guide, and private classes; All this built my theoretical knowledge very well. My first simulations were in the 650 range, so a 650 on my first try was logical. After the test I felt a little worried because I knew I could do better, but I did not know how. I did well in SC, but I was slow to solve CR and RC.
On my second attempt I got 690 (Q50V32). After my first attempt I went to get help on the forums, and I found Rich's comments. Which at first seemed acidic to me, but now I have to accept that he was right. My preparation for the second attempt was with some more private lessons. I read a lot of "The Economist", I solved more official exercises. And I enrolled in his Empowergmat Verbal course. I have to admit that Empowergmat's approach gave me a better perspective to solve the exercises. I did some more simulations, which continued in the 650 range, but I felt more confident this time. Then I stopped performing simulations; and focused on speed and understanding the logic of the question, rather than understanding word for word exercises. I finally got 690 on my second attempt. This time, after the exam, I did not feel worried given I knew I could have had a better result and that it was basically with more practice. However in my schedule I had already decided to give the Gmat on that date.
I just have to thank the EmpowerGmat team, they certainly gave me confidence and a good approach to take the exam. This time the Gmat episode was finished and I have to continue with the following parts of the application.