Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 79 reviews
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Vivekananda College
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: Oman
Verified Real Student Review

A course which truly lives up to its reputation

5 stars
August 11, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
EMPOWERgmat was a phenomenal study tool and is a must have for anyone who really wants to dominate the GMAT with a very high score. My Expectations for a course were as follows
(1)A course which had detailed strategies on how to tackle the quant and verbal sections of the gmat
(2)A course which provided a wide database of questions for extra practice
(3)A course which could also teach all the test takers on how to make educated guesses to achieve a maximum score
Empower GMAT personally scored on all the fronts as I could see my score on the diagnostic tests improve progressively as I had studied through the modules
The support staff too is extremely helpful and you can hope to expect a quick revert on any of the doubts you may have regarding the problems
The pricing too is extremely attractive - do give this course a shot

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: UNI
Major: Engineering
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Peru
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGmat's approach

5 stars
July 28, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 690
I wanted to share my experience with the Gmat preparaton, I hope this can serve to the community.
In my first attempt in the gmat I got 650 (Q50V27), my mother tongue is Spanish and I started learning English a little late. In my first attempt I studied the books of Manhattan, the Official Guide, and private classes; All this built my theoretical knowledge very well. My first simulations were in the 650 range, so a 650 on my first try was logical. After the test I felt a little worried because I knew I could do better, but I did not know how. I did well in SC, but I was slow to solve CR and RC.
On my second attempt I got 690 (Q50V32). After my first attempt I went to get help on the forums, and I found Rich's comments. Which at first seemed acidic to me, but now I have to accept that he was right. My preparation for the second attempt was with some more private lessons. I read a lot of "The Economist", I solved more official exercises. And I enrolled in his Empowergmat Verbal course. I have to admit that Empowergmat's approach gave me a better perspective to solve the exercises. I did some more simulations, which continued in the 650 range, but I felt more confident this time. Then I stopped performing simulations; and focused on speed and understanding the logic of the question, rather than understanding word for word exercises. I finally got 690 on my second attempt. This time, after the exam, I did not feel worried given I knew I could have had a better result and that it was basically with more practice. However in my schedule I had already decided to give the Gmat on that date.
I just have to thank the EmpowerGmat team, they certainly gave me confidence and a good approach to take the exam. This time the Gmat episode was finished and I have to continue with the following parts of the application.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Legal Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

680 to 740 in one month while working full time (with a new baby!)

5 stars
July 24, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 740
I decided to take the GMAT for fun/sport after growing restless at my job as an attorney at a large US-based litigation firm. Without much direction or focus, my initial approach to GMAT prep was to review the official guide and tinker with some practice problems in my spare time. In hindsight, it's almost comical to think of how naive my initial approach was in so many respects. Here are a few notable challenges that I faced but wholly underestimated:

1) young attorneys at big law firms have almost zero spare time to study for the GMAT

2) first-time fathers that come home from work to crying infants have even less

3) lawyers don't do math

I don't specifically recall my score on the first GMAT practice test I attempted, only that is was abysmal. After taking that first practice test, Problem #3 became readily apparent. I hadn't taken a math class since high school, and it would be generous to say my skills were "rusty." Still, in light of problems #1 and #2, I continued to struggle through the Official Guide for a few weeks and showed up almost completely unprepared for an official GMAT in November 2016. Not surprisingly, I bombed the quant section, scoring an overall 680 (Q42 V41).

After my first disappointing attempt, I gave up on the GMAT for several months following the birth of my first child. After some reflection, I assessed my weaknesses and decided to attempt the GMAT again in May 2017. At this point, I had even less spare time for study, but I had a sense of what the GMAT expected. Even though I only reviewed the official guide in preparation for my first GMAT, the questions hit me directly between the eyes. There were very few surprises. I struggled with timing and content on the quant section so much so that I was unable to complete the last several questions. It became painfully obvious that I needed to modify my approach if I wanted to score over 700 on the GMAT. I needed to have an analytical framework for the questions that kept hitting me right between the eyes on the GMAT. As any self-respecting millennial would do, I turned to google for the counsel and searched for of a complete test prep program that could provide me with a defined study plan, strategy tips, and an overview of basic quant skills.

If you're reading this, you likely already know that many test prep programs claim sole possession of the "700+ Secret Formula." Full disclosure: I was first drawn to the EMPOWERgmat primarily because it offered a free 1-hour trial. Price and fear of commitment were my primary motivators. I didn't have time for a classroom prep setting, and I didn't want to pay for any online program without trying it first. So I enrolled in the free 1-hour trial offered by EMPOWER and immediately I was hooked. The quant instructor, Rich, who refers to himself as a GMAT assassin, narrates each of the lessons with on-screen instruction. Rich loves the GMAT and I love him for it! Or maybe Rich hates the GMAT so much that he has dedicated his life to training others to assassinate it. Either way, his enthusiasm is infectious. For the first time since beginning my GMAT prep, I was actually having fun and approaching my study as a sport (#goals).

Rich's fundamental outlook toward the GMAT quant section is that you don't have to be a math major to beat the GMAT. "OK, Rich, I'm listening." (See Problem #3.) Instead, Rich proposes a pragmatic approach to each type of GMAT problem that is more based on logic than on being a human calculator. (Very encouraging for the non-human-calculators among us.) Rich's instructional videos are full of tips, strategies, and nuggets of wisdom for each topic in the GMAT quant section. My favorite nuggets are those related to convoluted story problems. Rich dissects the story problems and diagrams the moving parts, making them easily digestible. At the risk of sounding like a total nerd/fanboy, some of Rich's diagrams are so elegant that they're worthy of framing!

I followed the EMPOWERgmat program as prescribed. Within a month, I was confident in my approach to every conceivable GMAT quant problem. I took the GMAT again in July 2017 and scored 740. My quant score jumped from 42 to 47. Q47 is certainly not in the human calculator range, but it represented a substantial improvement for me, especially given my limited spare-time budget.

**The EMPOWER program also offers a complete menu of verbal, IR, and AWA instruction, but, to be fair, I didn't necessarily utilize all of that content. The verbal content I did utilize was presented in a user friendly format just like the quant. I'm sure the verbal content on EMPOWER is great, but I dedicated the majority of my study to the quant section.

In sum, I would recommend EMPOWERgmat to any would-be GMAT assassins. I did all of my study in one month after work and on weekends while juggling a new baby. It cost me less than 100 bucks. Can't beat that! Here are my improvement numbers as a testimony to the strengths of the program:

NOVEMBER 2016: total 680 (Q42 V41) (IR 7.0; AWA 6.0)

JULY 2017: total 740 (Q47 V45) (IR 8.0; AWA 6.0)

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Foreign Trade University
Major: International Business
Industry: Highly Diversified Service
Country: Vietnam
Verified Real Student Review

I got it. A 70-point improvement!

5 stars
July 24, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 710
As a non-native speaker, honestly I didn't think of Empower GMAT as the best choice when I considered which course to take. Then the 70-point guarantee of the course draw my attention. Although at the end of the course, I am not qualified for the score policy, I was still happy to “absorb” so many valuable lessons that the course delivered. I chose to gradually study each lesson, adopt suggested strategies if necessary and practice as much as possible in 1-month duration. You know what, I used to think that I don’t need to study Quant, because my Q score was pretty cool already. However, applying 2 methods of Rich, I could finish the Quant session with 15 minutes remained and my accuracy level stayed the same. Regarding Verbal, I love the way Max explained in details every OG questions and built the habit of identifying what type of errors in each wrong options. I cannot describe how I am proud of myself when I applied that habit to every single question, I was able to find out which option is tempting and to explain why that tempting one is just a runner-up.
Last but not least, thank you, Brian and Tom, for your assistance emails whenever I had concerns, from technical problems to academic and strategic questions.
Thank you! :-)

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Major: Entrepreneurship
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Simplying the Puzzle

5 stars
May 15, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 670
After two big box curriculums (in-person and online) with very little progress, I didn't know what to do. I was working against a very crunched timeframe and was in desperate need of a fresh perspective. As a poor standardized test taker, I found that the EMPOWER modules finally taught me about what the test is trying to test. I found myself getting a grasp on feeling comfortable that I would be familiar with each question type and I would have different approaches to solve problems, even if it just came down to my guessing strategy. Along with great content, Rich (the instructor) does a great job of weaving some short clips outside of content that keeps you engaged and feeling ready for the big day.

I regret having spent so much money with big box providers before EMPOWER only to find myself buried in 20 lbs of books feeling lost and overwhelmed. EMPOWER is by far the most cost-effective GMAT prep program.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Really empowers

5 stars
March 24, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
I'm a non-native English speaker. I have took other prep courses, but what they really teach you is how to answer a problem. Given the time constraint and competitiveness, how to solve a problem is not the only thing you needed, you need some tricks to get ahead of others. It's like any other game that you play. If you just know how to play a game, only that doesn't get you anywhere, but you also need to know how to tackle it wisely. That's exactly what EMPower teaches you. It's really worth it. It doesn't matter what prep course you follow; this is a must for you if you want to learn some tricks and tips. It's worth every penny.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

A fantastic experience with EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
March 24, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Rich Cohen & Max Peterson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
I signed on with EMPOWERgmat after a disappointing 650 on my 1st attempt at the GMAT. Rich did an analysis of my ESR and gave me a recommended study plan that I followed. The course has a high focus on tactics and logic whilst providing me with the foundations necessary to tackle all the concepts that the exam threw at me.

I've never been great at math, but the way it was taught by Rich made it extremely simple. There are multiple ways of solving certain problems, but Rich shows you how to figure out the best (and most efficient) way to approach even the most complicated prompts. After going through the Empower modules, I was confident that even if I was given an unfamiliar question, I'd know the best tactic and method to approach the question. Rich was also always ready to answer emails and provide me with feedback whenever I had questions about my progress. Overall I loved the EMPOWER approach to the Quantitative part of the test.

The Verbal part of the course is pure gold. My Verbal score improvement was from the 50-60th percentile till the 90th percentile in my final score. After going through the Empower modules, I scored a perfect 51 on RC in every mock and on the official exam. My SC improved from the 40th percentile to the 90th. Max doesn't just teach you how to get the right answer, he shows you what to look for in the answer prompt and how to easily identify and eliminate wrong answers. Overall, I found that the Verbal section in the actual GMAT was an absolute breeze and I finished it with almost 10 mins left on the clock.

I would like to add a special mention to the support and advisor team from EMPOWERgmat as well. Brian & Stacy were amazing at getting back to me, answering problems and sorting out whatever issues I had. I don't think there was a single instance where they took more than a few hours to get back to me and solve my queries.

Overall, the entire team at EMPOWERgmat is as invested in your success as you are. If you have any doubts whatsoever about the GMAT, then just sign up with them and don't look back. They'll get you to the score you need.

Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Kazakhstan
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: Vietnam
Verified Real Student Review

The best course to take

5 stars
March 7, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
Empower GMAT is great for people who are just starting to prepare for the test and for those who are preparing for a while and are unable to move forward and improve. The last score I got was 680 and I was unsure what else can I do to improve my score. I read all the books advised and practiced as much as I could, but my score stayed the same.
I found Empower GMAT when I was looking for a good Math course. My Verbal score I thought was good enough, so I mainly was concerned about Math. I decided to try and never regretted it. What I liked about the course:
- It seems very fun and easy; sometimes I didn’t feel like I was studying.
- It seems very personal; the instructors give you advices not only about the academics, but what to do before the exam and how to make sure you will get the best scores. You can always email them and generally they seem like good guys.
- You are given only information you need, nothing else. Pretty much, it’s all the info in one place.
- The course is very strategic, you are given strategies and tactics on how to do the best you can. Using those tactics really helps.

I guess the only thing I regret about is that I hadn’t found this course earlier; maybe I would not spend all this time reading through millions of books and articles and trying to find the best solutions. It would save a lot of time.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Georgia Southern University
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Improved 70 points in 3.5 weeks!

5 stars
February 22, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 610
EmpowerGMAT is the way to go to improve your score quickly or over a longer period of time.
For me, I was in a time crunch and only had a few weeks to study and improve my score. Now it may not seem like the best score to some, but for me I knew I needed to get a 600-score to be considered for some of the better MBA programs.
I had taken the GMAT twice, scored a 530 and a 540, without really studying and was confused about how I should approach studying. My main problem was the Quant section where I was scoring in the low 20's percentile. I studied for 3.5 weeks primarily focusing on the Quant section as I was in the 75th percentile for verbal and it really paid off. The thing that helped the most was how to approach data sufficiency questions and the simplicity Rich used in the videos to explain formulas, tactics, strategies etc. I ended up with a 610 which was awesome considering this was the only studying I had ever done for the GMAT.
Rich and Max will go over any type of question in Quant and Verbal and explain exactly the fastest and easiest ways to overcome easy and tough questions!
I would definitely recommend this course to anyone, even if you want a lower score or a 700+ score.

Joined: Oct 2009
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Empower Review

5 stars
January 30, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: N/A
Hello,

I am using Empower GMAT course while preparing for the GMAT test. While I am using this course in conjunction with MGMAT books and some other materials too, I really like this course the best, as I feel that it suits my learning temparament.

I am easily distracted and very lazy, also studing in the evenings after a long and stressful work day makes it very hard for me to get in the groove to study.

Enough on my ramblings... now on to the course review.
The conversational style of videos and the engaging voice of the instructors jolts me to actually learn something instead of passively going through the motions. Having said that, i feel that the videos have very basic content but high on strategies, be it triage, test it etc.. I feel that we do need additional materials for concept and then fine tune our preparation with strategies explained in the videos.

There are little nuggets of wisdom scattered throughout the course warning us on the mistakes that a test taker does. I find this extremely helpful. I feel as if someone is holding my hand and already pre- warning me on the errors I am about to make.

The other thing which I feel is working for me is witnessing an expert walk through the steps and thought process of the questions.

Overall I am loving the course, I hope this will help me while I actually take the test.