Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course

5 stars
(5/5) - 96 reviews
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Major: International Business
Industry: Chemicals
Country: Switzerland
Verified Real Student Review

100% recommend - 500 to 700 in Practice CATs and I genuinely enjoyed the process

5 stars
December 13, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I am so lucky I came across EMPOWERgmat. I actually signed up to the course mostly because I thought the price point was more reasonable than some of the alternatives, but in the end it was so good that I would have paid anything! Here I will provide some highlights from the course and the main reasons why I would 100% recommend it to anyone preparing to take the GMAT. (I will include more details of my personal experience in the Share Your Experience thread; in short, I went from 500 to 700 in my practice CATs, but score was 650 on the day due to some very stupid timing mistakes).

STRUCTURE
First of all, the structure of the course is excellent; I was able to break the 12 week study plan into clear, achievable goals for each week; a typical week would involved completion of a Quant module (ie. Algebra), completion of a Verbal module (ie. Reading Comprehension), a couple of mini courses on strategy or tactics, and then some practice quizzes. Even as the weeks closed in I didn't feel overwhelmed, because I was following the curriculum and I felt confident that I would have covered everything I needed to know by Test Day. (They have also designed study plans for 8 weeks and 4 weeks, where I assume curriculum is cut back or condensed).

TEACHING
The other amazing thing, was that when I sat down to do a module, for example, 'Algebra', it wasn't at all overwhelming; the module was broken up into clear classes, where Rich would take you quickly through the concepts and then work with you through lots of example questions. Same with Max on the Verbal side. I was very weak in Quant when I started, and the answer explanations in the OG would often just leave me confused and frustrated, but Rich's explanations are so simple and clear. He also has a positive yet pragmatic attitude, which I really enjoyed.

APPROACH
I also really love that this course is specifically designed around beating the GMAT. It's not about improving your maths skills or your English grammar - all of those things are only focused on in as far as they can help boost your GMAT score. There is a lot of focus on clever strategy and tactics. The Test It tactic and Data Sufficiency process completely changed Quant for me, and even in Verbal, where I was already strong, I saw my score go up several points once Max explained the wrong answer types to look out for and little tactics like the 'The Opposite Test' in Critical Reasoning. I think this element of the course is worth its weight in gold and really sets this course apart from others.

ENJOYMENT
Perhaps this is the most important element. I had thought that studying for the GMAT would just be this necessary yet unpleasant task that I would have to endure for a couple of months. I imagined that I would dread every evening and weekend that I had set aside for studying. However, I was pleasantly surprised when this was not the case at all! I know it might sound crazy, but I actually even looked forward to working on an EMPOWER Quant module after dinner. I think it's because there are so many quizzes built into the curriculum, so the study is very interactive and you're constantly getting feedback.

I am usually not one for the gushing review, but I honestly cannot recommend this course highly enough. If you are preparing to take the GMAT, take this course!

(As an additional note/brag, I completed this three months of study while working full-time and parenting a 1 year old child, so I was only getting in an average of 10-12 hours of study a week).

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Major: Business
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Become a GMAT assassin

5 stars
December 9, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 640
In September I sat the first time for the GMAT exam with an effort of about two months training. I received a 560 and was very disappointed. Therefore, I wrote a post in a forum and received an answer by Rich Cohen. Rich told me exactly what my issue was without even telling me about EMPOWERgmat.
Nevertheless, for my second prep time I started informing myself about GMAT courses and chose EMPOWERgmat because of the positive feedback by people who took the test a second and third time.

I soon realized that Rich Cohen is the founder of EMPOWERgmat and started asking him further questions via e-mail. Rich replied always in about 1-3 hours. Amazing to have the GMAT assassin himself answering your questions within hours. Rich is very direct and tells you if you are doing totally wrong. He is really pushing you to stand up and do what it needs to become a GMAT assassin. Maybe some people find that offensive, nevertheless I think it helps a lot!

The course itself is very well structured. You start learning using techniques instead of math (or in combination with math). This totally changed my view on the GMAT math section and helped me to get faster and more accurate. The verbal part of EMPOWERgmat is made by Max. His approaches to solve CR questions and RC questions are just amazing. I also really liked that the transcripts of his videos are available. This allowed me to learn in the library without the need to wear my headphones for hours. Unfortunately, I did not improve my verbal that much (from V32 to V33) but I think with more practice in the EMPOWERgmat techniques, I would have improved my verbal part significantly as well. My math score was improved my 10 points (from Q36 to Q46), what I think is amazing for that time and the fact that I was not able to finish the course.

Beside the approaches for math and verbal, EMPOWERgmat includes very useful tactics and information about the test and the preparation for the test itself. I bought myself headphones and pencils that are like the original GMAT headphones and pencils. I really enjoyed the GMAT podcasts, especially the ones for the last days before the official exam.

Learning for another 2,5 months was tough. I had to start writing my bachelors thesis in that time, preparing for internship applications, taking classes in university and working nearly full-time. Nevertheless, EMPOWERgmat made it possible to improve myself by 80 points and receive a 640! I did not even have the time to finish the course (progress: about 45%). I am pretty sure by completing the course and having more time for preparation than I had during the 2.5 months, a near to 700 or 700+ score would definitely be possible coming from 460.
I would highly recommend EMPOWERgmat to everyone!

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Most Effective GMAT preparation course

5 stars
December 6, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich, Brian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 680
When I started my GMAT preparation, I was studying by myself. I used to solve questions posted in forums, downloaded free material, going through discussions for explanations, etc. Doing this by myself did not give me a structured approach to the GMAT. Learning for the exam seemed a daunting task. I wasted few months doing this, and I didn't see any improvement in my score. An expert suggested taking the Empower course and after reading some reviews I decided to do so. Looking back, I would say this was a step in the right direction.

This course helps beginners get the right foundation as well as for retakers. I was strong in Quant but not in Verbal, so at first I planned to use the course for Verbal. Listening to Max's explanations for Verbal OG questions seemed so simple. This was a huge confidence boost. I imitated his approach towards SC and RC questions. The SC 5 second rule, and RC Ladder and reading pace improved my accuracy to 90%. I listened to his explanations for all the OG questions and read the solutions in OG as well. I got accustomed to official questions and was able to quickly identify any question that didn't seem official. During the exam, I was so confident in SC, which was a horrible nightmare a few months back, that I completed the questions in a minute and was able to easily eliminate the wrong answers. In RC, the approaches seemed very simple but they were the most effective. But due to some unfortunate circumstances, I did not score well in verbal on the final exam, but that does not discourage me to give these guys a shout out.

At first, I wasn't focusing on the Quant as I was pretty comfortable, but then I thought let me check it out. Rich's explanation and the tips he gives at the end of every explanation are terrific. As he mentions, Test it and Test the answers can be applied to most of the questions. I was stuck at Q48 for a long time, but after combining Empower tactics and my math skills I was able to reach Q50.

By listening to their explanations carefully and practicing those tactics, the GMAT will be a breeze. If anyone is looking for a structured, an effective and simple approach to tackle questions, these guys are the best.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: washington university in st. louis
Major: Engineering
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Empower is the best resource I have used

5 stars
November 21, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Brian Michaels
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
Empower was far-and-away the best tool I used for my GMAT prep. They provide hundreds of instructional videos and use only real, retired gmat problems. They know the test better than anyone I have come in contact with and what really sets them apart is their strategy to "beat the gmat."

The Empower team has analyzed the gmat and has found ways to crack the test, so that you can achieve your highest score. I know this is probably cliche and many companies claim to have a "leg up" on all the competition, but I think Empower truly is the best. I took a course with another test-prep company and studied for about 4 months and got a 660. This was a disappointment because I got a 620 on the diagnostic test.

With empower I studied for about a month and a half and got over the "plateau" that everyone seems to face at some point in their studies. I ended up getting a 710 after using Empower. Additionally, the staff was very prompt in their replies to questions. The company is smaller than the goliath companies such as Kaplan and Manhattan, which works to your (the student) advantage.

10/10 recommend Empower.

ece
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Turkey
Verified Real Student Review

30 points increase in a month!

5 stars
November 18, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 730
I took GMAT two times, one in 14 September the second in 3 November. I prepared only using Official Guide for the first one, I got 700, but I aimed higher than that, since I will apply for scholarships too, so I registered for another test. I took 2 weeks break after the first one and decided to prepare more systematically for the second test. I searched for the courses, check the prices, took some trial courses and decided to register for EMPOWERgmat since it seems most logical to me taking into account price and quality. I had only one month to prepare and being able to register for only a month was very convenient for me. I was good at quant, I got 49 in the first trial, so I did not use EMPOWERgmat for quant. I increased my verbal score from 36 to 40 thanks to EMPOWERgmat's tricks. I watched the videos for RC, CR and SC in verbal section and solved the practice questions. The course helped me to be familiar about all verbal question types in GMAT and also taught me how to approach them. Practice questions after each video of a certain type of question helped me to comprehend the concept. I really enjoyed EMPOWERgmat, it is very effective. After you got prepared with this course, you will not be surprised by any question on the actual test. I recommend it to anyone who aims to increase his/her verbal score. I scored 730 on the second try thanks to it.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: UCSB
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Increased my score 100 points in 4 weeks

5 stars
November 10, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 730
I decided to take the GMAT in the end of September. After doing some research on the best study tools, I heard about EmpowerGMAT and I'm so glad I checked it out. Not only are they a whole lot cheaper than most of the study services (only $99 a month with unlimited access to all of the study materials), but they teach you a ton of great tricks.

I signed up to take the test on November 7th, and started my subscription in the beginning of October, giving me about 5 weeks to study. I ended up not really studying for 2 of those weeks due to a natural disaster happening in my town, but that's another story. I ended up only studying hard for about 3 weeks. My score went from a 630 to a 730 on test day, just with the help Empower gave me. I didn't use any other study materials or programs.

Some of the things I liked about Empower:
-You can go at your own pace. Some of the modules/lessons I already knew really well, so I just skipped them. It's that easy. Or, you can redo modules as many times as you need to.
-Great little tricks. They taught me a few tricks in both quant and verbal that could apply to many different problems, and were super easy to learn. These were a big reason for my score increase.
-It's cost effective. You pay by the month (I think there is actually a two week extension option as well) so you don't pay more than you need to. For me, I didn't want to study for 3 months, and a lot of other services only have like $500-$1000 intensive long programs. So it can work for anyone with any type of study needs.
-There are a TON of lessons and resources on the site. I barely even scratched the surface. Basically any part of the test or topic on the test, there were a ton of lessons and practice problems and tips. And you can do them in any order you want.

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: Business
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Value, Succinct and Effective, 720 in 2 months, +12 points on Quant

5 stars
October 30, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I was looking for a low-cost option as I was not set on taking the GMAT or applying to business school. I stumbled upon EMPOWER after a bit of Google searching and pulled the trigger because it was a great price point compared to other more established prep services. I was immediately impressed with EMPOWER's candid approach to GMAT prep. This service is geared towards one thing: getting you a 700+ on the test. Below are some thoughts I had as I went through the curriculum.

Style: I loved EMPOWER's straightforward approach. In the quant videos, Rich is very direct about what's important and what's not. He gives little tidbits about the architecture of the test that are very helpful in juicing points that other test-takers may miss. Alongside giving a great understanding of how the test works, the video lessons are very effective in teaching the concepts. Most of the quant section relies on math you've learned at some point in the past, so a succinct refresher is all that's needed, and Rich's videos are great at that. They mix in quiz questions along the way to ensure you're getting it. On the verbal side, the sentence correction modules really help in identifying what to look for and how to eliminate wrong answers. I found that I could often get the right answer (even when it sounded weird) by using the EMPOWER rules to eliminate wrong answers. Very helpful.

Accessibility: I had a few "freak out" moments during my studying where I needed some feedback to get me refocused and reoriented. Most of those moments were on weekends and I was very impressed with Rich's accessibility. He personally responded to me quickly even on Saturdays and Sundays.

Overall: I can't imagine there's a better value out there. EMPOWER gives you the tools to succeed and the confidence to understand the test for what it is. Highly recommended as a comprehensive yet succinct and efficient prep course.

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Good value for money, would definitely recommend it.

5 stars
October 30, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich/Max
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
- The prep overall: really liked the fact that both teachers seem to know everything about the GMAT. You can tell they have been doing this for quite a while and will give you priceless advises on which strategy to go with and how the GMAT functions.
I think that is a real game changer, more than just working on math/verbal skills, understanding what the makers want from you and how they design each question.

- The quant section is extremely helpful, you will get all the essential things you need to know for test day. You will realise that the amount of quant formulas/data/rules to know by heart on test day is actually not that bad at all, Rich is very good at focusing on the essential and will give you tips you might not be able to get anywhere else. This prep made me realise you don't have to be a math genius to succeed in this test it's all about strategy and practice.

- The verbal section: From a non native english speaker's point of view I would have appreciated maybe a more complete verbal section. I found the content pretty light overall on basic grammar/tenses rules, but these are pretty easy to find online anyway so I wouldn't say that was a big issue.
On the other hand as with the quant section the verbal one is more focused on strategy on how to approach the questions and how to understand the GMAT standards.

What I really liked about EMPOWERgmat is that they keep everything to the essentials. Learn what they tell you to and beat the GMAT it's that simple. unlike many prep who will make you drown under useless information/data/books...

If you don't want to waste you time and money I would definitely recommend this prep, I only had one month available, never took the GMAT before and ended up with a more than decent score of 650.

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: Columbia
Major: Political Science
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

By far the best value for your money

5 stars
October 9, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
As someone who just graduated from college, I did not want to pay thousands of dollars for a GMAT course if there was a similar alternative for a better price. This is exactly why I ended up choosing the Empower course to prepare for the GMAT. To give some background, I graduated from an Ivy League University as a student-athlete with a liberal arts degree. I ended up taking a job at a top-tier private equity firm out of college, but wanted to take the GMAT in my first few months out of college just so I could have the score in my back pocket for five years.

Because I was just starting a new job full-time, I wanted to be able to prepare for the test on my own time. I really liked the Empower course because they teach you how to attack each question and exploit its weaknesses. This aggressive test-taking style appealed to me as it kept everything exciting and engaging. The video lessons are very clear and thorough, making sure you understand each little step on the way to choosing your final answer.

On my initial diagnostic test that I took without any preparation I scored a 540. My goal, like many GMAT test-takers, was a 700+. After 3 months of preparation with the Empower course I was able to score a 710 on the first try. I firmly believe that anyone who works diligently to truly understand every lesson in the Empower course should be able to attain a 700 or higher. The Empower course gives you the blue-print, all you have to do is follow all their advice!

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: May 2017
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the money and effort

5 stars
October 3, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich, Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 650
I started out preparing for the GMAT being self-guided, but when I got my first results from taking the exam I was quite dissatisfied. I looked around and liked what I saw from the review of EMPOWERgmat. My quant was already strong, but the additional techniques I picked up from Rich helped quite a bit. My verbal score was really what struggled during the first exam and the techniques that Max will teach you worked very well for me! I didn't have a ton of time to prepare (less than 3 months) for my next exam, so I expect that my score would have been even higher had I taken more time to hone my skills and improve the speed at which I process the verbal problems. Overall, I would recommend EMPOWERgmat with flying colors, since you get a discount on the OG test materials and they are willing to refund you if you do not jump up more than 70 points, a pretty awesome deal! The EMPOWER team was also very friendly and reached out to me a number of times to make sure I felt comfortable before the exam and with my score after the exam.