Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

Best Promo Code 2017 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 96 reviews
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Villanova University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Scored a 690 in 1 month with EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
October 2, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I graduated college in May of this year and my first day of work was not until September 18th, so I chose to spend a month of my free time being productive and working toward my future by taking the GMAT. I chose EMPOWERgmat based on a friend's recommendation, and I am very pleased with the outcome.

The program is extremely cheap compared to Kaplan, Princeton Review, etc. and also seemed to be the most flexible option. I really valued how the subscription came with a ton of content and allowed me to move at my own pace. I was still able to enjoy the summer on days where I had plans, and when I was less occupied, I could put in a solid amount of work all at once. I valued that aspect of not being tied down to a set schedule during a carefree period of time in my life. For the same reasons, I believe this course to be an optimal choice for any working professional looking to study for the GMAT outside of work, or any undergrad student looking to study during the semester.

The material offered by the course was fantastic in my opinion. The instructional videos did a really good job of reinforcing tricks and tips associated with every type of question in both the quant and verbal sections. The videos and associated practice questions are then supplemented with more material from a GMAT prep book that can be purchased online for about $20.

They recommend that you use the program for a full three months to completely master the material, and I think I would have done better had I followed that suggestion. However, their strategies are very easy to pick up and I was able to take their unique strategies and apply them on my exam to get the score I am happy with. I have since recommended this program to anyone I know thinking about taking the GMAT.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped me view the GMAT in a way that led me to success

5 stars
September 17, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I joined EMPOWERgmat after self-studying with the Manhattan prep books and seeing no improvement in my CAT score week after week. What I found in EMPOWERgmat was everything that I was missing from books and from a self-studying approach. Not only was the video format one I found really useful, but having Rich and Max offering insightful tips and Brian answering my questions via email really provided a personalized approach.

I studied for the GMAT over the course of 2-3 months, and continued to score around 640/650 week after week, scoring 670 on my last two CATs. Somehow, by employing all the EMPOWERgmat tactics, I was able to reach my goal and score 700 on my real exam! This is definitely not something I could have done without using the EMPOWER approach to the test.

I would say that the most value in the EMPOWER course is how my view of the GMAT changed. I was able to realize that I was not studying for a test, but rather training for one, and that this exam was very different to the ones I had completed in the past. Getting used to triaging answers and dropping super hard questions was a tactic that took me a while to get used to, but ultimately led to my success. From just reading books it was unclear to me that the hard questions were worth few to no points and I needed to focus on the easy and medium topics, but this insight proved critical to joining the 700 club.

My experience with EMPOWERgmat was extremely positive and I will be recommending it to all who ask. The price is amazing for the content, insight, and support offered. I would never even consider taking a huge $1000+ course after seeing how powerful EMPOWERgmat is. Thank you to all the team - I couldn't have done it without you!

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Michigan
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helpful, easy-to-understand learning tactics

5 stars
September 17, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 660
I've tried various study methods (MGMAT, private tutor, etc) and EmpowerGMAT was a great method to help me refine my learning skills in the final stages of my GMAT journey. The course content is focused on best practices and approaches to answering the question in the most straightforward way possible. For example, no crazy math techniques are necessary - the videos will show you the simplest ("oh, duh!") approach to beat the question, explained in a step-by-step sequence. This approach was refreshingly different from other methods and classes I have taken prior to discovering Empower. I highly recommend this program for students at any point of their GMAT journey.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Georgetown
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Top Notch Prep and Advice from Empower

5 stars
August 28, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 750
Empower GMAT is a fantastic course to help you learn strategies and break 700 on the GMAT. It helped me go from a 640 to a 750 on my official GMAT! The videos by Rich and Max are helpful and teach you not only how to answer the specific questions at hand, but also how to apply the strategies they use to other questions. The price is very fair for the material you gain access to and the monthly charge will help keep you motivated to not let your access go to waste. Plus, the discounts you receive on official GMAT practice exams are not offered anywhere else!

The customer service at Empower is also top notch! They answer questions quickly and even forward them to Rich/Max when needed. Rich reached out to me personally to help me strategize and fix my weak areas after my first GMAT attempt and it helped me tremendously - I don't think you'd get that level of service in many other places.

You definitely need to be motivated to use Empower. You have to devote time to taking the lessons and doing the practice problems. If you do, Empower will help you get the score you deserve. Hundreds of videos of practice questions and lessons with material straight from the OG are available with expert advice. If you devote the time and energy into Empower, you can break 700!

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: St. Olaf College
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT Will Secure Your 700+ Score

5 stars
August 14, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
As most students soon learn, taking the GMAT isn't like prepping for any other standardized test for graduate school. In fact, since the GMAT is one of the main MBA application components within an applicant's control, students, like myself, realize the importance of maximizing their GMAT score. To do so, I would recommend no other course than EmpowerGMAT.

I enrolled in the EmpowerGMAT course after failing to improve my practice test scores for months, and while pleased with the low cost of the course, was skeptical of spending so much on 'just a test'. Every cent was worth it, in my mind. Empower has a detailed checklist of how to go through a 1-month, 2-month or 3-month course of study. I used the 3-month checklist and it ensured my 700+ score.

The resources provided by Empower are key. Their problem explanations were very helpful and focused a lot on OG content. Their laser-like focus on official materials helped a lot, too! The instructors are obviously very talented and are excellent communicators.

However, what secured by 700+ score was the unique strategy employed by Empower. Their in-house strategies are unparalleled in the GMAT world, and after trying out several other resources, I saw my practice test scores improve only have trained with Rich at Empower.

Before starting my GMAT process, I was hoping for a 650+. Training with Empower gave me the skills and practice schedule necessary to score 700+. If I can do it, you can use Empower to get the score you need.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

The most amazing course for GMAT!

5 stars
August 13, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Max & Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
Hi guys,

I know a lot of you are struggling to get a good GMAT score, and trust me, I know the pain. I have lost hair, gave up on my routine and missed out on life so much because of GMAT, but now I won't give the exam again!

I gave the first GMAT in Dec 2016 and got a 660 because I was super anxious. I even gave up on GMAT for a long time, and then in March I took a date randomly for August. I had studied so much in the past that I didn't know what I knew and I didn't. I had tried EmpowerGMAT before and what I truly love about them is the simplicity of their course. These guys don't tell you that GMAT is the end of the world or that you need to be a nerd to get what you are looking for, but rather they tell you the right things and you know they are right because their approach not only works on their own content, but also works on every question of the Official stuff, which is the basis for their entire course.

I have written cheesy emails to these guys just because of the sort of cool culture they have, and the value they have added in my life. To be honest, this time I did just one mock and didn't even complete my official stuff, but I completed their course(apart from the mocks- I don't recommend doing this though!) and went to take the exam. What changed this time was my mindset, I believed in myself, I knew what the GMAT would test me, and how I need to be calm while taking the exam.

Lastly, I don't think my score is that great, but I still feel that what they have collated is actually good for anyone who intends to get the right advice.

P. S. I have gone through 3 other courses (E-GMAT, Economist, Edushastra), but the reality is that all of them have no standing in front of EmpowerGMAT.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Vivekananda College
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: Oman
Verified Real Student Review

A course which truly lives up to its reputation

5 stars
August 11, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
EMPOWERgmat was a phenomenal study tool and is a must have for anyone who really wants to dominate the GMAT with a very high score. My Expectations for a course were as follows
(1)A course which had detailed strategies on how to tackle the quant and verbal sections of the gmat
(2)A course which provided a wide database of questions for extra practice
(3)A course which could also teach all the test takers on how to make educated guesses to achieve a maximum score
Empower GMAT personally scored on all the fronts as I could see my score on the diagnostic tests improve progressively as I had studied through the modules
The support staff too is extremely helpful and you can hope to expect a quick revert on any of the doubts you may have regarding the problems
The pricing too is extremely attractive - do give this course a shot

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: UNI
Major: Engineering
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Peru
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGmat's approach

5 stars
July 28, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 690
I wanted to share my experience with the Gmat preparaton, I hope this can serve to the community.
In my first attempt in the gmat I got 650 (Q50V27), my mother tongue is Spanish and I started learning English a little late. In my first attempt I studied the books of Manhattan, the Official Guide, and private classes; All this built my theoretical knowledge very well. My first simulations were in the 650 range, so a 650 on my first try was logical. After the test I felt a little worried because I knew I could do better, but I did not know how. I did well in SC, but I was slow to solve CR and RC.
On my second attempt I got 690 (Q50V32). After my first attempt I went to get help on the forums, and I found Rich's comments. Which at first seemed acidic to me, but now I have to accept that he was right. My preparation for the second attempt was with some more private lessons. I read a lot of "The Economist", I solved more official exercises. And I enrolled in his Empowergmat Verbal course. I have to admit that Empowergmat's approach gave me a better perspective to solve the exercises. I did some more simulations, which continued in the 650 range, but I felt more confident this time. Then I stopped performing simulations; and focused on speed and understanding the logic of the question, rather than understanding word for word exercises. I finally got 690 on my second attempt. This time, after the exam, I did not feel worried given I knew I could have had a better result and that it was basically with more practice. However in my schedule I had already decided to give the Gmat on that date.
I just have to thank the EmpowerGmat team, they certainly gave me confidence and a good approach to take the exam. This time the Gmat episode was finished and I have to continue with the following parts of the application.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Law and Social Sciences
Industry: Legal Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

680 to 740 in one month while working full time (with a new baby!)

5 stars
July 24, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 740
I decided to take the GMAT for fun/sport after growing restless at my job as an attorney at a large US-based litigation firm. Without much direction or focus, my initial approach to GMAT prep was to review the official guide and tinker with some practice problems in my spare time. In hindsight, it's almost comical to think of how naive my initial approach was in so many respects. Here are a few notable challenges that I faced but wholly underestimated:

1) young attorneys at big law firms have almost zero spare time to study for the GMAT

2) first-time fathers that come home from work to crying infants have even less

3) lawyers don't do math

I don't specifically recall my score on the first GMAT practice test I attempted, only that is was abysmal. After taking that first practice test, Problem #3 became readily apparent. I hadn't taken a math class since high school, and it would be generous to say my skills were "rusty." Still, in light of problems #1 and #2, I continued to struggle through the Official Guide for a few weeks and showed up almost completely unprepared for an official GMAT in November 2016. Not surprisingly, I bombed the quant section, scoring an overall 680 (Q42 V41).

After my first disappointing attempt, I gave up on the GMAT for several months following the birth of my first child. After some reflection, I assessed my weaknesses and decided to attempt the GMAT again in May 2017. At this point, I had even less spare time for study, but I had a sense of what the GMAT expected. Even though I only reviewed the official guide in preparation for my first GMAT, the questions hit me directly between the eyes. There were very few surprises. I struggled with timing and content on the quant section so much so that I was unable to complete the last several questions. It became painfully obvious that I needed to modify my approach if I wanted to score over 700 on the GMAT. I needed to have an analytical framework for the questions that kept hitting me right between the eyes on the GMAT. As any self-respecting millennial would do, I turned to google for the counsel and searched for of a complete test prep program that could provide me with a defined study plan, strategy tips, and an overview of basic quant skills.

If you're reading this, you likely already know that many test prep programs claim sole possession of the "700+ Secret Formula." Full disclosure: I was first drawn to the EMPOWERgmat primarily because it offered a free 1-hour trial. Price and fear of commitment were my primary motivators. I didn't have time for a classroom prep setting, and I didn't want to pay for any online program without trying it first. So I enrolled in the free 1-hour trial offered by EMPOWER and immediately I was hooked. The quant instructor, Rich, who refers to himself as a GMAT assassin, narrates each of the lessons with on-screen instruction. Rich loves the GMAT and I love him for it! Or maybe Rich hates the GMAT so much that he has dedicated his life to training others to assassinate it. Either way, his enthusiasm is infectious. For the first time since beginning my GMAT prep, I was actually having fun and approaching my study as a sport (#goals).

Rich's fundamental outlook toward the GMAT quant section is that you don't have to be a math major to beat the GMAT. "OK, Rich, I'm listening." (See Problem #3.) Instead, Rich proposes a pragmatic approach to each type of GMAT problem that is more based on logic than on being a human calculator. (Very encouraging for the non-human-calculators among us.) Rich's instructional videos are full of tips, strategies, and nuggets of wisdom for each topic in the GMAT quant section. My favorite nuggets are those related to convoluted story problems. Rich dissects the story problems and diagrams the moving parts, making them easily digestible. At the risk of sounding like a total nerd/fanboy, some of Rich's diagrams are so elegant that they're worthy of framing!

I followed the EMPOWERgmat program as prescribed. Within a month, I was confident in my approach to every conceivable GMAT quant problem. I took the GMAT again in July 2017 and scored 740. My quant score jumped from 42 to 47. Q47 is certainly not in the human calculator range, but it represented a substantial improvement for me, especially given my limited spare-time budget.

**The EMPOWER program also offers a complete menu of verbal, IR, and AWA instruction, but, to be fair, I didn't necessarily utilize all of that content. The verbal content I did utilize was presented in a user friendly format just like the quant. I'm sure the verbal content on EMPOWER is great, but I dedicated the majority of my study to the quant section.

In sum, I would recommend EMPOWERgmat to any would-be GMAT assassins. I did all of my study in one month after work and on weekends while juggling a new baby. It cost me less than 100 bucks. Can't beat that! Here are my improvement numbers as a testimony to the strengths of the program:

NOVEMBER 2016: total 680 (Q42 V41) (IR 7.0; AWA 6.0)

JULY 2017: total 740 (Q47 V45) (IR 8.0; AWA 6.0)

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Foreign Trade University
Major: International Business
Industry: Highly Diversified Service
Country: Vietnam
Verified Real Student Review

I got it. A 70-point improvement!

5 stars
July 24, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 96 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 96 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 710
As a non-native speaker, honestly I didn't think of Empower GMAT as the best choice when I considered which course to take. Then the 70-point guarantee of the course draw my attention. Although at the end of the course, I am not qualified for the score policy, I was still happy to “absorb” so many valuable lessons that the course delivered. I chose to gradually study each lesson, adopt suggested strategies if necessary and practice as much as possible in 1-month duration. You know what, I used to think that I don’t need to study Quant, because my Q score was pretty cool already. However, applying 2 methods of Rich, I could finish the Quant session with 15 minutes remained and my accuracy level stayed the same. Regarding Verbal, I love the way Max explained in details every OG questions and built the habit of identifying what type of errors in each wrong options. I cannot describe how I am proud of myself when I applied that habit to every single question, I was able to find out which option is tempting and to explain why that tempting one is just a runner-up.
Last but not least, thank you, Brian and Tom, for your assistance emails whenever I had concerns, from technical problems to academic and strategic questions.
Thank you! :-)