Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 70 reviews
Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
Major: Psychology
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

This course was a game changer!

5 stars
November 11, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 720
Before I started the EMPOWERgmat course, I thought I'd hit my ceiling with my 660 score. I'd studied for my first attempt for six months using another self-paced program that was math-intensive and explained every little math concept that could possible show up on the exam. While I believe that program was a great math refresher, it didn't necessarily help me attain all of the skills I needed to solve GMAT quant questions quickly and efficiently. That's where EMPOWERgmat came in! After my first attempt, I took a couple of months off from studying then signed up for EMPOWERgmat and scheduled my second attempt at the exam for exactly one month later. I knew immediately that Rich's videos were exactly what I needed to improve my quant score. I learned so many math shortcuts throughout the course and learned to recognize GMAT quant and verbal patterns because the course uses OFFICIAL GMAT MATERIAL every step of the way. This is absolutely crucial and is missing from most other prep courses.

While I was already strong in verbal, using Max's methods I was able to increase my verbal score by a few points, which had a huge impact on my overall score. Again, using official content is critical to pattern recognition throughout the exam.

After one month with EMPOWERgmat, I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw 720 (47Q, 42V) come up on the screen of my official exam. I highly recommend this course for anyone who tried studying either on her/his own or through another course and didn't achieve the results she/he wanted. Rich and Max are surprisingly motivating and definitely know what they're talking about.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat provides the best value and the most effective study program

5 stars
October 31, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
EMPOWERgmat was a phenomenal study tool that I credit with being able to achieve my target score of 720. I had originally scored 580 on my first practice exam and then spent the next month studying with the Manhattan books. However, a month later when I took another practice exam my score wasn't even above 650. Recognizing I needed a new study strategy, I searched for a different alternative and was advised to try out EMPOWERgmat. I found that the video style (which is similar to Khan Academy) allowed me to move quickly through my areas of strength and focus more on my areas of weakness. Rich's solutions also showed you how to solve the question in the quickest way - not the standard "algebraic" solution, etc. As I already had most of the basic quant/verbal content down, EMPOWERgmat's focus on the STRATEGY of how to attack exam questions was exactly what I needed to boost my score. The challenge for me was timing and how to get through questions quickly. EMPOWERgmat gave me the tools I needed to be successful. With only 3 weeks of using EMPOWERgmat, I boosted my practice score up to a 740. On test day, I came out with a 720, which was still in my target range. EMPOWERgmat gave me the tricks and confidence I needed to be successful, while also providing the material in an engaging format. The team was very responsive if I ever had questions or requests and the course was very reasonably priced. I can't recommend it enough!

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Country: Italy
Verified Real Student Review

Learning the right method.

5 stars
October 26, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich &
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
First of all, let me introduce myself: I am a 21 year old, Italian student of Economics and Finance at Bocconi University, located in Milan. I have scored 8/9 on the IELTS, but in no way did I feel confident about the verbal section of the GMAT before starting the course taught by EMPOWERgmat, as I am not a native English speaker. This alone should be a testament to the effectiveness of EMPOWERgmat.

Before signing up for the course, I had taken a CAT and scored 550. Six weeks later, on my official test day, I scored 760 (49,45). What I believe sets EMPOWERgmat apart is the fact that it's a course focusing on the method and mindset to beat the GMAT, rather than just giving you math or grammar knowledge. Anybody could do that, but few can teach a way to treat the test like a true challenge and give practical tips to overcome any kind of obstacle that may come in your way. The GMAT is a standardised test, and EMPOWERgmat will help you interiorise all its features so that when it's finally game day there will be no surprises.

Clearly, the course doesn't "only" give such practical tips. In fact, from the get-go, you can shape your studying program and decide its duration based on your necessities. There will be lessons refreshing some basic math and geometry concepts that you probably haven't seen since high school as well as crucial lectures for non-native speakers on how to crush the verbal. Throughout all these learning experiences the teachers will always try to make you deeply understand the forma-mentis you need to have in approaching this test, and I believe that this mindset will be useful also for future challenges!

I am truly glad I gave this course a shot, and I strongly recommend you do too.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Wellesley College
Country: England
Verified Real Student Review

Wish I had found EMPOWERgmat sooner!

5 stars
October 9, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 710
After taking a three year hiatus from my Manhattan GMAT course, i did not want to spend a lot of money on another course and signed up with Magoosh, while Magoosh was good, when I finally took the GMAT, I got a 640. Determined to do better, I signed up with EMPOWERgmat, and I made the right decision. They do a fantastic job teaching GMAT test-taking STRATEGY in addition to the concepts. I only used the score booster program as I had a limited time to study and had already done some previous test prep. I saw my score quickly improve practice test, after practice test, and ultimately finished with a 710! Stacy was particularly helpful and responded quickly to any concerns or questions I had. I could not recommend this program more!

Joined: Jun 2008
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT is the only thing that worked for me

5 stars
September 30, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 710
My GMAT journey has been crazy long - 8 years. After spending a few weeks on Khan Academy covering all the math I'd scoffed at in K-12, I stumbled upon EmpowerGMAT. Wow.

Quant + General advice: Rich’s enthusiasm is infectious. All of the seemingly crazy stuff Rich says simply works. I live in the middle of nowhere, far, far from the US, and I found a way to get myself a Costco pack of Trident Cinnamon gum. I even winked at some creepy rando at the testing center (who then followed me halfway home but that’s not for here). Purposely guessed on 3 questions because they were too hard. Also, the fact that Rich and Max’s voices didn’t put me to sleep is huge. They really make you want to annihilate the GMAT. For some reason, MGMAT and Magoosh made the GMAT look like the Lannister clan on Captagon. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

Verbal: People often have a hard time improving Reading Comprehension. I used to skim the passages because I jus t don’t care enough about algae (or my $250 fee, time, “effort”). DON’T SKIM. “Empower reading” is totally a thing. Max's strategies for killing CR and SC are also on point.

Both sections are a work of art - watch the videos, do the drills, take the quizzes. It just works. Rinse and repeat (you always pick up something new from the videos). EmpowerGMAT uses real GMAT questions from the OGs – this is rare – and absolutely destroys them. Confidence is such a huge part of the GMAT experience and these guys will instill “rational confidence” in you. You will feel confident because you know how GMAT questions are written, why they’re written a certain way, and what you can do to eviscerate each question. They even teach you how to make educated guesses.

Beautiful lifesaver. Worth so much more than $99.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: School of Business, Economics and Law at Uni of Gothenburg
Major: Finance
Country: Sweden
Verified Real Student Review

From 680 to 740 in 30 days with EmpowerGMAT

5 stars
September 15, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Max, Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Summary of my background:
20-year old Swedish third-year BSc student with a major in finance.
No relevant work experience except for the occasional part-time bank job.
Final GMAT-score: 740(Q49V42) IR8, AWA 4.5
Approx 120-130 total hours of studying during a 2-month period.

During mid-June this summer I decided to take the GMAT in late August. I started to work through questions in the OG and thought I did quite well, so I set my target score at 730. After studying 3-4 weeks I started doing prep tests. My first three prep tests were 2 MGMAT and 1 Veritas, my scores were 670, 650 and 650 (with Q44-47 and V32-36). After studying for 1½ more weeks I did my first official prep test and ended up with a 680 (Q48V35).

At this point I started getting frustrated with my inability to break the 700-barrier and getting closer to my 730-target. I had approx. 5 weeks until my actual exam and I had no strategy on how to tackle the harder questions, which often ended up with me trying to get to the answer for 4 minutes and then just pick an answer in pure frustration.

So, with exactly 31 days left until the exam, I started looking for a quick way to boost my score beyond the 700-barrier. The offers from the big companies like MGMAT and Kaplan didn’t excite me at all, just seemed to be a lot of literature for a lot of money and so I kept on looking. Finally, I found EmpowerGMAT and bought a one-month subscription for 99$. This is probably one of the best decisions I have ever made.

At first I was skeptical, Max and Rich (the tutors at Empower) claimed they had shortcuts and methods for all type of questions and that I would be able to improve my score just by applying their methods. This couldn’t be true, could it?

The EmpowerGMAT course offers what they call Empower tactics for all categories, and when these tactics are applied in the right way they are crazy effective. I worked through the majority of verbal videos and some of the quant videos during 2 weeks of intense studying (20h/week) and on the first prep test immediately afterwards I scored 730 (Q50V39). I couldn’t believe it, a 50 score improvement in 2 weeks just by applying the Empower tactics in the right way.
I worked through the rest of the course in about one week and scored 730 (Q49V40) and 720 (Q48V40) on my two remaining official tests (bought 2 additional).

I cannot emphasize enough how much EmpowerGMAT’s structured way of solving the questions helped me to improve from the 650-680 range into 730 level and beyond. I used the Empower tactics on all kinds of questions, but I really would like to make a special case for the SC and CR tactics. If you’re struggling with SC and/or CR, I would 110 % recommend you take the Empower course. I went from guessing in mid-level SC questions to actually have a structured method of beating awkward 700+ SC with a reasonable amount of effort. And after applying the Empower CR tactics, the CR questions was no longer a match.

The course includes a lot of different material. Besides from videos that show how to address and attack all kinds of problems, there’s also videos and podcasts dedicated to explaining how the test works, what mistakes other test-takers do, how to prepare for test day as well as critical dos and don’ts.

Three days before the exam I decided to not study at all, and instead I went listened to the Empower podcasts, where they talk about everything from what mindset you should have to what to eat during test day.

The day before and the morning of test day, I did exactly everything Empower taught me to (except for the gum-chewing part, didn’t really want to take the risk of being caught). I arrived at the test center, did all the security procedures, and went in for the exam. AWA and IR felt good. I got a little stressed out mid-quant and messed up some questions, but I took a short break (20 seconds), followed all the steps that Rich taught me during the last 20 questions and went out with the feeling that I did okay. During the verbal I could actually hear Max’s voice telling me how to address each single question and most of the questions felt like child’s play.

I actually couldn’t breathe when I saw the 740 on my screen. Even though my target was 730, I don’t think I ever really believed that it was possible to go beyond 710-720. I went out, got my score report and when I got home I wrote to the empower administration and thanked them.

740 would not have been possible without the help of EmpowerGMAT.

Joined: Sep 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Vivekananda College
Major: Finance
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufac and Service
Country: Oman
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT Truly Rocks as a test preparatory course

5 stars
September 7, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The criteria which any test preparatory course should ideally meet should basically address following needs
(1)Provide students with plethora of questions to ensure student is adequately prepared to solve all the tough questions which he will encounter on the exam
(2)Have analytics to show areas of strengths and weakness
(3)Provide explanations to questions in a lucid manner to ensure easy comprehension
(4)Address the aspect of affordability

In all the aspects I quite frankly believe EMPOWERGMAT truly stands out as a fantastic course for preparing for the gmat exam
Not only does the course address all the aspects mentioned above - It truly stands out as a top quality course since you never feel overwhelmed/bogged down by the content
The video explanations which accompany the questions help you stay sharp and focused
Moreover the course provides an explanation for every problem in the Official guide and it is compatible with whichever version of the OG you are using (OG 13 onwards)
The Test preparatory software also teaches the students how to make educated guesses which is an important aspect since it may not be possible to solve all the problems in available time limit in the GMAT Exam
I am truly impressed with all the features include the billing (You basically pay for the time you require the course) - Empowergmat offers a free 24 trial period and you can reach out to the staff any time you want to address all your concerns
Do sign up for the course if you are serious on boosting the score

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you!! 720 (Q51, V35)

5 stars
August 30, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I like that the online course is structured around official problems. While other courses offer only general content for GMAT, this course offers not only great content but also useful tactics and strategies. The CR method and tips for reading comprehension really help me focus on the important parts in the questions. Getting the gist of any passage is really the key. Rich will show you how to do that. For quant, the foundation of this course is solid. I would recommend anyone starting the GMAT journey to take this course. Don't wait until you have wasted official problems. You will not regret joining this course. By the way, unlike customer support at OP, the customer support (Stacey Wilson) at Empower is very caring and helpful.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat took me from 680 to 730 :)

5 stars
August 30, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Brian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
After self-prep with the Manhattan book series, I was pretty excited to get a 680 on my first try. But ultimately I knew I needed to break 700 to be considered competitive for a top 20 b-school. I loved EMPOWERgmat because it did just that. I spent one month with the course, self paced and online. The videos and test tricks for success were all geared towards thinking like a test maker and being a strategic test taker. With the mindset and approach they offered, the test actually became less scary and more like a fun puzzle to solve (call me a nerd but it's true!).

I think it's a great value for the content they provide. Lot's of supplemental guides, resources, and support. And their team really cares about your success. Doesn't feel like a big prep company trying to just make money. I appreciated how personal and passionate they are the success of their students.

So if you are self-motivated and ready to take your score to the next level, DEFINITELY give it a shot!

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: Auburn University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Real Deal! 700-740

5 stars
August 5, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 740
I wanted to say a few words about EMPOWERgmat as it played a huge role in my 740!

First of all, I had originally used a competitor's large volume set to get a lot of basics down in quant and verbal. These certainly helped but required a lot of focus and commitment. Not everyone wants to lock themselves in a room and read to themselves for 100 hours!

Enter EMPOWERgmat. When I was done with my books, I felt like I needed a little more help-- a guiding voice. I took advantage of a promotion that included the free official GMAT Prep CAT packs and knew that, if the course wasn't for me, I had those in my pocket. But, by going through EG's videos and tutorials, especially subjects like "Triage" and the "CR Box", my "inner test voice" was transformed. No longer was I just reading questions and talking to myself for 2 minutes. I had an internal plan for each question. EMPOWER taught me what questions to ask myself when reading and evaluating a problem.

To summarize, I highly recommend EMPOWERgmat!

P.S. They autobill your CC for convenience, and I actually forgot to cancel my subscription after already taking the test. Emailed their customer service about it, and they responded within hours that I would be refunded. Very helpful.