Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 75 reviews
Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: School of Business, Economics and Law at Uni of Gothenburg
Major: Finance
Country: Sweden
Verified Real Student Review

From 680 to 740 in 30 days with EmpowerGMAT

5 stars
September 15, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Teacher: Max, Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Summary of my background:
20-year old Swedish third-year BSc student with a major in finance.
No relevant work experience except for the occasional part-time bank job.
Final GMAT-score: 740(Q49V42) IR8, AWA 4.5
Approx 120-130 total hours of studying during a 2-month period.

During mid-June this summer I decided to take the GMAT in late August. I started to work through questions in the OG and thought I did quite well, so I set my target score at 730. After studying 3-4 weeks I started doing prep tests. My first three prep tests were 2 MGMAT and 1 Veritas, my scores were 670, 650 and 650 (with Q44-47 and V32-36). After studying for 1½ more weeks I did my first official prep test and ended up with a 680 (Q48V35).

At this point I started getting frustrated with my inability to break the 700-barrier and getting closer to my 730-target. I had approx. 5 weeks until my actual exam and I had no strategy on how to tackle the harder questions, which often ended up with me trying to get to the answer for 4 minutes and then just pick an answer in pure frustration.

So, with exactly 31 days left until the exam, I started looking for a quick way to boost my score beyond the 700-barrier. The offers from the big companies like MGMAT and Kaplan didn’t excite me at all, just seemed to be a lot of literature for a lot of money and so I kept on looking. Finally, I found EmpowerGMAT and bought a one-month subscription for 99$. This is probably one of the best decisions I have ever made.

At first I was skeptical, Max and Rich (the tutors at Empower) claimed they had shortcuts and methods for all type of questions and that I would be able to improve my score just by applying their methods. This couldn’t be true, could it?

The EmpowerGMAT course offers what they call Empower tactics for all categories, and when these tactics are applied in the right way they are crazy effective. I worked through the majority of verbal videos and some of the quant videos during 2 weeks of intense studying (20h/week) and on the first prep test immediately afterwards I scored 730 (Q50V39). I couldn’t believe it, a 50 score improvement in 2 weeks just by applying the Empower tactics in the right way.
I worked through the rest of the course in about one week and scored 730 (Q49V40) and 720 (Q48V40) on my two remaining official tests (bought 2 additional).

I cannot emphasize enough how much EmpowerGMAT’s structured way of solving the questions helped me to improve from the 650-680 range into 730 level and beyond. I used the Empower tactics on all kinds of questions, but I really would like to make a special case for the SC and CR tactics. If you’re struggling with SC and/or CR, I would 110 % recommend you take the Empower course. I went from guessing in mid-level SC questions to actually have a structured method of beating awkward 700+ SC with a reasonable amount of effort. And after applying the Empower CR tactics, the CR questions was no longer a match.

The course includes a lot of different material. Besides from videos that show how to address and attack all kinds of problems, there’s also videos and podcasts dedicated to explaining how the test works, what mistakes other test-takers do, how to prepare for test day as well as critical dos and don’ts.

Three days before the exam I decided to not study at all, and instead I went listened to the Empower podcasts, where they talk about everything from what mindset you should have to what to eat during test day.

The day before and the morning of test day, I did exactly everything Empower taught me to (except for the gum-chewing part, didn’t really want to take the risk of being caught). I arrived at the test center, did all the security procedures, and went in for the exam. AWA and IR felt good. I got a little stressed out mid-quant and messed up some questions, but I took a short break (20 seconds), followed all the steps that Rich taught me during the last 20 questions and went out with the feeling that I did okay. During the verbal I could actually hear Max’s voice telling me how to address each single question and most of the questions felt like child’s play.

I actually couldn’t breathe when I saw the 740 on my screen. Even though my target was 730, I don’t think I ever really believed that it was possible to go beyond 710-720. I went out, got my score report and when I got home I wrote to the empower administration and thanked them.

740 would not have been possible without the help of EmpowerGMAT.

Joined: Sep 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Vivekananda College
Major: Finance
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufac and Service
Country: Oman
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT Truly Rocks as a test preparatory course

5 stars
September 7, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Teacher: Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The criteria which any test preparatory course should ideally meet should basically address following needs
(1)Provide students with plethora of questions to ensure student is adequately prepared to solve all the tough questions which he will encounter on the exam
(2)Have analytics to show areas of strengths and weakness
(3)Provide explanations to questions in a lucid manner to ensure easy comprehension
(4)Address the aspect of affordability

In all the aspects I quite frankly believe EMPOWERGMAT truly stands out as a fantastic course for preparing for the gmat exam
Not only does the course address all the aspects mentioned above - It truly stands out as a top quality course since you never feel overwhelmed/bogged down by the content
The video explanations which accompany the questions help you stay sharp and focused
Moreover the course provides an explanation for every problem in the Official guide and it is compatible with whichever version of the OG you are using (OG 13 onwards)
The Test preparatory software also teaches the students how to make educated guesses which is an important aspect since it may not be possible to solve all the problems in available time limit in the GMAT Exam
I am truly impressed with all the features include the billing (You basically pay for the time you require the course) - Empowergmat offers a free 24 trial period and you can reach out to the staff any time you want to address all your concerns
Do sign up for the course if you are serious on boosting the score

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you!! 720 (Q51, V35)

5 stars
August 30, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I like that the online course is structured around official problems. While other courses offer only general content for GMAT, this course offers not only great content but also useful tactics and strategies. The CR method and tips for reading comprehension really help me focus on the important parts in the questions. Getting the gist of any passage is really the key. Rich will show you how to do that. For quant, the foundation of this course is solid. I would recommend anyone starting the GMAT journey to take this course. Don't wait until you have wasted official problems. You will not regret joining this course. By the way, unlike customer support at OP, the customer support (Stacey Wilson) at Empower is very caring and helpful.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat took me from 680 to 730 :)

5 stars
August 30, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Brian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
After self-prep with the Manhattan book series, I was pretty excited to get a 680 on my first try. But ultimately I knew I needed to break 700 to be considered competitive for a top 20 b-school. I loved EMPOWERgmat because it did just that. I spent one month with the course, self paced and online. The videos and test tricks for success were all geared towards thinking like a test maker and being a strategic test taker. With the mindset and approach they offered, the test actually became less scary and more like a fun puzzle to solve (call me a nerd but it's true!).

I think it's a great value for the content they provide. Lot's of supplemental guides, resources, and support. And their team really cares about your success. Doesn't feel like a big prep company trying to just make money. I appreciated how personal and passionate they are the success of their students.

So if you are self-motivated and ready to take your score to the next level, DEFINITELY give it a shot!

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: Auburn University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Real Deal! 700-740

5 stars
August 5, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 740
I wanted to say a few words about EMPOWERgmat as it played a huge role in my 740!

First of all, I had originally used a competitor's large volume set to get a lot of basics down in quant and verbal. These certainly helped but required a lot of focus and commitment. Not everyone wants to lock themselves in a room and read to themselves for 100 hours!

Enter EMPOWERgmat. When I was done with my books, I felt like I needed a little more help-- a guiding voice. I took advantage of a promotion that included the free official GMAT Prep CAT packs and knew that, if the course wasn't for me, I had those in my pocket. But, by going through EG's videos and tutorials, especially subjects like "Triage" and the "CR Box", my "inner test voice" was transformed. No longer was I just reading questions and talking to myself for 2 minutes. I had an internal plan for each question. EMPOWER taught me what questions to ask myself when reading and evaluating a problem.

To summarize, I highly recommend EMPOWERgmat!

P.S. They autobill your CC for convenience, and I actually forgot to cancel my subscription after already taking the test. Emailed their customer service about it, and they responded within hours that I would be refunded. Very helpful.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Punjab University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

A Humble score but great support

5 stars
August 3, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
I highly recommend Empower for their generosity and support.

My story is a bit harsh and no iam not a 700er. But i exactly knew what i want and how iam going to go about it.

Disgracefully iam a 3 time GMAT appearee, if it is a word.

But yes all the 2 times i scored very dismal and had to take it 3 times.

All i can say about empower is that, odds were stacked against me, i had already missed so many deadlines and scholarship deadlines and my third chance was the last.

But never in the course of ups and downs Empower let me down. They always were there to help me out and give encouragement.

I improved to a degree of 80 points and scored 640. I never wanted a 700, cz i believed in my profile and strong story telling. I just had to get myself into a list of probables and then my experience will take it from there.

The same happened, i applied in 2 schools Imperial and CASS. Got through both of them and scored a scholarship in one of them.

I thanks entire Empower team for the support and love they have given me.

I definitely recommend for Empower and their methods are accurate and can be practiced and honed.

Thanks

Umang

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: UoD
Major: Economics
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT - The course you should prep with!

5 stars
August 1, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Teacher: Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 650
Before I start with my review, I should provide some background. I dived into GMAT prep without really understanding what kind of animal GMAT is and I mainly just prepared with set of Manhattan GMAT books, thinking that studying up from books would be enough. My target score was what everyone wants, a 700. I first attempted GMAT in March 2015, with nearly disastrous consequences: Q 37, V38, IR:2, AWA: 5.5. Total 620.

As you can see, my primary weakness was quant. TBH, I suck at quant. Dejected after the result, I decided to go for an online course. Another popular course had a special going on and was relatively cheaper after going through various reviews, I signed up for the said test prep. I was primarily focused on quant and barely even touched verbal during my prep second time around. I attempted the GMAT again in October 2015 and got the following result: Total 640, V42, Q35, IR4, AWA 6. While my score went up by 20 points, my quant actually WENT DOWN by 2 points while my verbal shot up 4 points – and I hadn’t even touched verbal!

After preparing for nearly 6 months, I was toroughly dejected and ready to give up on the GMAT but I decided to give it one final shot and started looking for courses again. Because I wanted to send in my applications before the deadlines, that meant I only had a month to prepare and attempt my GMAT again. I signed up with EmpowerGMAT and I’m glad I did. The strategies and tips that Rich teaches helped me be more confident during the test. Rich’s tips on triaging questions are spot on and by triaging questions, I was able to finish the test in time and without panicking through it. Having EmpowerGMAT by your side is like having your personal coach beside you; they teach, coach, motivate, strategize and root for you. Unlike other courses which focus primarily on theoretical and conceptual understanding of GMAT content, EmpowerGMAT teaches you the things you need to know to beat the exam. Like another reviewer has mentioned, after preparing with Empower you almost feel like Neo in The Matrix – you’re ready for the things you know and ready to swiftly put away things you don’t.

While theoretical and deep conceptual understanding is great if you are writing a thesis, for the GMAT you need to be prepared with strategies to tackle the exam and this is exactly what EmpowerGMAT teaches you. Nothing more, nothing less, no BS – just what you need to know to beat this exam, grab a great score and move on to applications and move on with your life.
In the end, my score after EmpowerGMAT isn’t particularly spectacular, but it is my highest yet:

Total 650
Quant: 40
Verbal: 40
IR: 5
AWA 6.0

– an improvement of only 10 points. BUT, my quantitative jumped by 5 POINTS from my previous attempt! In a month, my quant jumped 5 points and I got the highest IR and total score I have ever gotten. I must mention that I primarily prepared quant with Empower and barely touched verbal – and the 2-point drop in my verbal score from my previous attempt was caused not by Empower but rather by fatigue and sciatica from a disc bulge that distracted me during the verbal part of the exam. If not for the verbal drop – I’m pretty sure I’d have scored 670-680.

My only regret is that I could prepare with Empower only for a month. I wish I had spent more time preparing with Empower instead of wasting numerous months with other test prep methods. Had I prepared with Empower for 3 months for so, I probably could've gotten the 700 I desired. Nevertheless, my score after EmpowerGMAT combined with my applications got me into IE, ESADE and SDA Bocconi.

In the end, if you wish to be a scholar of the GMAT, you can choose whichever course you like. But if you want to beat the GMAT, grab a great score and move on to admission applications – EmpowerGMAT is the course to go for.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
College: Vanderbilt University - Owen Graduate School of Management
Country: Vietnam
Verified Real Student Review

Verbal Booster course actuall rocked! 4 points improved on Verbal!

5 stars
July 23, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 710
I decided to give EmpowerGmat ago after failing to reach 700 target after 3 tests, with the goal of getting V35-36 at least ( I got V31 the in the 3th test). I used the Verbal Booster course because I have no problem in Quant; however, the course does include some lessons and tips about how to maximize your Quant score.

This course is actually for those who want to take the test in a short time. I completed it within 1 month, and then took the test and got 710, with Verbal score of V35. Here are some of my reviews:

- Tips and podcasts from Rich and Brian: There are many tips in the course. I just did some of them, and found all useful. I chewed gums during the test (if you do so, remember to follow his tip about how to avoid being caught) and saw that I could concentrate even in the end of Verbal section. In previous tests, I used Red Bull with the hope to stay alert at the end of the test, but it turned out that the drink harmed me. Brian (the supporter via email) recommended that I get rid of it. I followed all advice and they worked like a charm. Also, Rich told learners to wink at someone at the test center to gain the confidence and get refreshed. At first, I thought this tip is somewhat ridiculous, but after I tried to imagine the situation in my mind, I realized it actually worked. During the test days, although I did not actually do so, imagining how I am cool when winking at the female proctor really boosted my confidence. This course also includes many podcasts, and listening to them also helped me understand how the GMAT test works and have an appropriate strategy.

- SC: I used to follow the meaning-based approach of E-Gmat when working with SC questions. It is really good, but it took me a lot of time for each question (1m30s-40s on average). EMPOWERGmat’s approach is to split and eliminate 2-3 choices using grammar, and then use the meaning or grammar to get to the final choice. Some grammar errors are so easy to be spotted, but I had not known before (for example: there must be a comma “,” before “which”). I combined the approach of both E=Gmat and EMPOWERGmat and thus was able to decrease significantly the time for each SC question (1m15s or even less). The accuracy rate did not decrease, and I had much more time for CR and RC.

- CR and RC: I did not really focus on CR and RC lessons in EMPOWERGmat’s course. The reason was that I did not have many problems in finding the correct answers, but because of time constraint, I had not performed well on both parts. After I decreased time in SC questions, I had more to allocate to CR and RC, and all went fine.

- Course’s price: if you want to take the test in 1 month and do not want to spend a lot of money on prep courses, this Booster course is what you need. Just finish it within 1 month, and the price for 1-month-subscription cannot be beaten.

- Some Cons: It is not economical for those who study for a long time because they have to pay for subscription each month. Also, grammar lessons about SC mostly provide tips for spotting the error. If you are still weak in basic grammar such as sentence structure, tenses, etc. you should go to Manhattan or E-Gmat.

P/s: After getting V35 and 710 overall in the 4th test in Jan 2016, I continued to take the test in March and got 760 (V42). Although I did not extend EMPOWERGmat subscription, I think what I had learned in 1 month did help a lot in the 5th test.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT a must for strategy

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
EmpowerGMAT helps you so much with the strategic/tactical aspect of the GMAT.
When I started studying for the GMAT I used the Manhattan Prep books to brush up my basics. It helped me quite a bit, however, my score improvements remained small. In my first cold attempt at the GMAT prep test I scored a 590. After studying with the Manhattan books, I scored a 620. I knew I had to change something in my practice methodology.

I needed someone to tell me how to approach problems. I needed strategy for certain problem types. Especially, however, I needed help in Quant. I decided to go with Empower since their tutor Rich is highly active here in the forums and already helped me out with some problems. Also, their monthly payment option is great to talor exactly to your needs without having to pay "dead months".

I could not have made a better decision. Rich is extremely motivational and modules do not just tell you the basics and concepts (they do that as well), but most importantly, they show you how to tackle the problems. Before starting Empower I was actually quite scared and frustrated because of reaching a plateau. After starting Empower, after one day, I knew, something had changed. I had my drive back, even with problems I couldn't solve, I didn't feel completely lost anymore. I always had an approach ready. I had tactics for easy problems as well as difficult problems. For any kind of problem I had a tactic, even if it was to take and educated guess. That way, I never felt lost anymore.

Another great aspect of Empower is that they teach you how the GMAT works. This is extremely underrated. It shows you which questions count and which ones do not. I have yet to come to another company that teaches you that. It is EXTREMELY helpful, especially, since it lets you skip too difficult questions with ease because you know they do not count.

In regards to the modules, both Quant and Verbal are great, however, I feel, that the Quant module is definitely a tad better. This is not because Verbal is poor but more because the Quant module is just absolutely amazing. Also, since I pretty much started with a Verbal score of 39 it was actually harder for them to improve my Verbal score. So here my opinion could definitely be subjective. I feel like their Verbal module is more tailorded towards beginners while their Quant definitely helps you out a lot when you already have a high level.

To conclude, I would definitely recommend Empower when you have the basics but still struggle with the questions (most likely because of strategy). If you want the full Gmat preparation package, I would recommend buying the complete Manhattan series for basics and the Empower course for the tactics and strategies to KILL the Gmat.

Joined: Jul 2013
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
College: Johns Hopkins University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

From 660 to 730 -- Learn to beat the test not just learn the material

5 stars
July 19, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 730
EmpowerGMAT was very different from the other GMAT prep companies and materials. They were the only company that I research that used videos as the basis of their lessons and taught directly from official questions. I had originally taken the GMAT with the help of the OG13 guide and the Manhattan books. These materials are perfectly sufficient if you have an obvious weakness in a particular subject area or deficiency in knowledge.

My weakness was in test taking strategy and stamina. EmpowerGMAT has several modules in which they address strategies to deal with limited time, how to guess on difficult questions, and how to approach a particular question based on the type. After learning and implementing these strategies I was able to score a 730 and place myself in a great position to apply for top business schools. Thank you Empower!