Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 70 reviews
Joined: May 2013
Purchased Course: May 2016
Verified Real Student Review

feedback

4 stars
June 22, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Brian
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I work with empower GMAT for one month to bost my GMAT Scoore (EmporwerGmat Score Booster)

I must say that firstly I was somewhat reluctant with this type of as I already have taken others, but afterwards, I felt it was a great help.

The course helps you not only to clarify your concepts avoiding silly mistakes but also to follow the right strategy on the exam day.

Your capabilities will be leverage granting your acceptance to your dream school. In the end, the solution was always with you.

I definitely recommend the Score Booster from EmpowerGMAT. I hope you also enjoy!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A focus on strategy and what you need to know

5 stars
June 17, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 500
I've tried other GMAT prep courses such as Magoosh and several other trial versions from other companies. This course was the best for me because it focused on what I needed to know and didn't spend a lot of time teaching the nitty-gritty details that take lots of time. I had 2 months to prep and I was able to get the score I needed. My practice test scores improved every time. It was a big focus and strategy in the section on triage was really helpful to help Focus my time where I needed on the test. Overall this course was great for me and I would recommend it for anyone wanting to boost their score and improve their strategy.

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Strategy is Key!

5 stars
June 5, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
EmpowerGMAT was pivotal in improving my strategy for GMAT. This exam is not all about what you know. Strategy is extremely important. EmpowerGMAT is exceptional in the strategy game.

I started my GMAT journey using another prep company and was fortunate to also get free access to EmpowerGMAT for a month before my exam. Before EmpowerGMAT I was scoring about 600 on my practice CAT’s. I used their guidance and was able to score 700 (Q49, V35) on the GMAT.

I highly recommend this program not only for GMAT preparation but also for the exceptional customer service. In the days before and after my exam Brian, my EmpowerGMAT advisor was very helpful and prompt in all his communications with me. His advice was very helpful in getting me to shed those test day nerves.

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT turned me into a GMAT Assassin

5 stars
June 1, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
To provide a little background on myself, I have always been pretty good on standardized testing, achieving high scores on SAT, etc. However, when I took my first CAT completely cold as a diagnostic, I was nervous when I saw my score in the lower 600s. I had hoped to score a minimum of 720 to make me a competitive applicant for the top 10 or so MBA programs. It was around this time that I heard about the EmpowerGMAT course from various reviews on BeatTheGMAT and other sites. I checked out the site and did their 24 free trial and loved it. It was exactly what I needed.

EmpowerGMAT provided me the structure and blueprint to become a GMAT Assassin, I just needed to follow along and put in the time. Well thanks to the awesome videos and study sheets I ended up scoring a 740 (Q48/V44) on my first testing day. I enjoyed Rich's teaching style, and could literally hear him in my head on test day, "If it seems too easy, prove it. Put it all on the paper and prove it to yourself." Well this idea alone saved me from getting 2-3 easy questions wrong on test day, which would have destroyed my already borderline quant score!

Finally, I am not sure what it was about reviewing through EmpowerGMAT, but when I sat for the actual exam it actually seemed too easy. I thought for sure I was getting crushed and it was going to be an embarrassing score, but was happily surprised with my 740.

EmpowerGMAT truly prepared me; definitely the best $300 I ever spent!

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Johns Hopkins University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course - Helped out my Quant Tremendously

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 270
I cannot be more thankful for the course. Rich was tremendous in giving quant feedback and this is by far the best ROI GMAT solution out there. I didn't have the money to afford a more expensive program. I did not really utilize the verbal, but I know that this program has helped a couple of my friends with the verbal. Trust me if you want to increase your Quant this is the #1 program. I used others sources. Amazing experience and I got into my dream MBA school!!!

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Georgetown University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course for a Great Value

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Look, taking the GMAT isn't fun and neither is studying for it. Here's why I liked EMPOWER:

VALUE:
I've read a fair amount about the diminishing returns of more expensive, more hands-on tutoring for standardized tests and I'm a firm believer in self-study for these sorts of things. I don't want to fork over thousands of dollars for a class or tutor if I can get roughly the same results on my own time at a fraction of the price. EMPOWER was $99/month, which is extremely fair.

RESULTS:
Before starting EMPOWER I took a practice CAT to see how I would do and scored a 650. I took a real GMAT about 2 months into using the course and scored a 660, and then took the GMAT for a second time after a month of relaxing and another month of studying just the areas that I was weak in and scored a 700.

SELF-PACING:
I studied when I could and where I could: sometimes consistently, sometimes in spurts, sometimes at my office, sometimes in my bed. It was all on my terms.

PERSONALITY:
EMPOWER did a good job of transforming GMAT questions from a chore into a challenge. The people coaching you through the strategy and tricks of the test really make it seem like a game and tap into your competitive side.

Like I said, taking the GMAT isn't fun and studying for it isn't either, however, EMPOWER was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone hoping to prepare as best they can. Paradoxically, I'm thankful that I never have to use EMPOWER again, and that's because of how good it was; it helped me get the score I wanted and now the GMAT is behind me and business school awaits.

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Feel Empowered

5 stars
May 5, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
This course was a gamechanger for me. I began my studies some time in mid-December with the Kaplan Premier book. After 3 or 4 days I realised it wasn't going to cut it for me. Upon my friend's advice, I bought the Manhattan books as well as the Foundation for GMAT Math book that they make (highly recommend to begin your studies with this book if you have any doubts about your math skills). After finishing the math books (I initially did not intend to study Verbal) I posted in the GMATclub forum asking for direction (where to from here?). Rich, Empower co-founder/math instructor, was the only person to respond to my message. I took a practice CAT, as he suggested, and scored a 680 but genuinely felt very flustered. The Math section in particular did not fill me with confidence. Long story short, I ended up trying the Empower course. It's cheaper than most of the other courses so I thought "what the heck, why not?". This was a great, great decision.

This course is priceless. So priceless that I kept my subscription going for a third month despite the fact that I had completed the course. The Quant part of this course is immense. The Verbal may help some people (prior to the course I only had an issue with SC. After one month of this course I hit 730 in a practice CAT. After about 14 weeks of studying I scored a 760 on my official GMAT (First try). I don't really know what else I can say about this course because words don't do it justice. Thank you Empower

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWER Gave Me the Confidence Boost that I Needed To Beat The GMAT

5 stars
April 30, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
I am an African American female working in advertising who was having a ton of trouble making progress on the GMAT while trying to self study. I used the Manhattan GMAT books and the Official Guide for self study and no matter how much I studied I could barely crack a 500, after a month of studying. Then while at a BBQ a woman raved about EmpowerGMAT and how she did the 3 month study plan and got a 660.

I figure what could I lose if I tried. EmpowerGMAT was very affordable. $99 a month and instead of overwhelming me with information it more so taught me the strategy on how to take the test and how to "PUT EVERYTHING ON THE PAD." I found tactics that considerably helped me improve my QUANT and VERBAL scores and let me know when to dump questions but more so than anything it provided me with some serious confidence. EmpowerGMAT got me to the low 600s. Once I finished the course I got a tutor to help me with my problem areas to take me over my hump.

I convinced a friend of mine to use EmpowerGMAT and he was able to get over 650. We both struggled initially and EmpowerGMAT just helped us gain the tactics that we needed to be GMAT ninjas. I am very satisfied with my experience.

I am now on my way to a Top 12 MBA program and I couldn't be happier.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Provides psychological tips and GMAT hacks to help boost your score to the next level

5 stars
April 26, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 730
The Empower GMAT course provides excellent test taking tips from timing to understanding which questions to dump to which questions will occur most frequently on the test. Even with knowledge on how to work each problem, Empower GMAT provides excellent test day tactics and strategies that will get your score to the next level. I was able to boost my score from 700 to 730 largely from their TEST IT methodology that I found to be highly effective. Empower GMAT is able to differentiate itself from its competitors through these tactics and makes it a great tool to have in your arsenal with tackling the GMAT. I strongly recommend to all test takers.

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: ICEF
Major: Economics
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

No verbiage, pure facts and knowledge

5 stars
April 4, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Support team and lessons
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 710
Overall courses are really helpful, and there are some great lessons on psychology of GMAT and facts, that are important to BEAT THE GMAT. A lot of useful strategies and ideas to use on the day of the exam. Tricks and techniques that can boost your score in several days!

Moreover, the support team is a great example of how the team should work! Every member will be able to ask a piece of advice from anyone, who works in EmpowerGMAT. In my opinion, EmpowerGMAT team values clients and is happy to help you with any difficulties you may face.