Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 74 reviews
Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Northwestern University
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, unbeatable value

5 stars
July 10, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich / Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I have an unusual work schedule, so I needed an online course. I have always naturally performed well on standardized tests, but I needed to absolutely kill the GMAT. I spent substantial time researching various options, initially focused on big-name prep companies. I even briefly considered paying $$$ for a private tutor.

I landed on EmpowerGMAT for three reasons:

1.) They advertised producing the most 700+ scores. I read in some forums that the big-name prep companies were geared to bringing an average test taker (550- 600) up to a respectable score (660 - 680). That wasn't going to cut it for me.

2.) Number one rated review program by GMATClub. I try to take ratings with a grain of salt, but in this case it lent a little credibility to the claim stated above.

3.) I liked the idea of pay-as-you-go for $99 /mo., compared to the lump-sum for ~$1200 that other companies charge. I figured, "What's the risk?" I didn't like I could cancel and hire Manhattan Prep or some such name-brand. $99 was a very reasonable wager compared to >$1000.

I completed the full program over ~3.5 months, totaling <$400 in costs for the prep course. I think results speak for them-self (1st time taking the actual GMAT):

770 (99%) / Q50 (88%) / V47 (99%) / IR 8 (82%) / AWA 5.5 (81%)

The course strategies work if you dedicate the time. I really liked some of the podcast lessons, which include some quirky little tid-bits that are not covered in other programs (i.e. strategically planning your breaks, studying with gum, etc.). I used all of it. Some of it seemed a tad bit corny, but I went with it anyway, and all I can say is I am very satisfied with the overall outcome.

Nonetheless, I do have a few minor recommendations to consider in addition, for anyone really aiming for a monster score.

Overall --

I'm not sure if Empower is still recommending purchasing the Manhattan Prep Practice CATs (... at the time I signed up, GMAC had not released CAT Pack 2), but don't waste your time with them. Stick to the Official GMAC Practice CATs. If it's not an official question, it's NOT an official question.


Quant --

If you're particularly strong in math, definitely consult the Official Guide solutions in addition to the Empower Video Solution. Particularly for some DS questions, algebraically combining the two facts can be faster than using Test It (i.e. when Test It values are not obvious). Other times Test It dominates -- it depends. At the end of the day, seeing multiple perspectives provides more options, so diversify.


Verbal --

1.) I can't over-emphasize the value I obtained from Empower Strategies on RC & CR -- most notably, approaching reading passages with genuine interest & slowing my reading pace. Slowing down was completely contradictory to other guides, but it works! Another guide I read even recommended taking a speed-reading course!

2.) While I definitely found a lot of value in the Empower SC tactic, I did find the grammar review in the SC error type break-down to be a little high-level for my particular style of learning. It was a reasonable summary, but I found it to be more based on on heuristics than hard & fast grammar rules. I'm more of a concepts person than a memorization person, so I didn't personally take to this section naturally. I found value in reviewing the GMAT Club Grammar Book that was provided as optional review. The Grammar Book was recommended primarily for non-English speakers, but I found value even as a native English speaker. Doing so, I managed a perfect score on SC, which definitely contributed to my high Verbal score.

3.) The AWA section is near the end of the Empower program. I'd recommend jumping ahead & completing this one module in the course. It doesn't build on previous knowledge, so it can be taken at any point. And the sooner you take it, the more opportunity you'll have to practice the Empower AWA strategy on Practice CATS.

That's about it, otherwise, I just used the Empower Tactics & worked all the practice problems in the course, and took all 6 Official GMAC CATs.

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: National Taiwan University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Taiwan
Verified Real Student Review

If you are looking for maximum gain in minimum time, this is it

5 stars
July 4, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I knew I had very very limited time to prepare for the GMAT, so I looked not for a prep course that covered as much as possible, but one that is as effective as possible. I have not used other courses, so I cannot compare, but I feel EMPOWERgmat is just what I was looking for and enabled me to score 760 (Q51, V41) on my first try in well under 100 hours of preparation.
I must say that it’s always about the fit (same as choosing which MBA program to apply for). I have always been good at basic math and my English is quite good for a non-native speaker, so I didn’t need something that spent too much time covering those. EMPOWER did taught me that basic math is all I needed for the GMAT and that you don’t need to know every word in the passage. The course gave me all the tools I needed to answer all CR and RC questions correctly in my final two practice CATs (I only took 3 in total).
On a side note, their service is great, their people always upbeat. This won’t increase your GMAT score, but to me it’s an indicator of a good business and a good product.

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: United States Military Academy
Major: Engineering
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Unparalleled Prep with Incredible Customer Service

5 stars
June 28, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 690
For context, I am a military veteran who had taken in-person prep courses prior to using EMPOWER GMAT. I had been attempting to raise my score for roughly 4 months before I started using EMPOWER.

I can now report that EMPOWER Prep has helped me move from a 540 to a 690! Any amount of in-person prep or even private tutoring cannot compare to the tactical approach EMPOWER takes. The online curriculum is demanding and you do need to put in additional prep outside of the tutorials, but the instruction is above the best. Rich and Max take a systematic approach to question type and wrong answer analysis that cannot be beat.

Not only is the instruction top notch, but the customer service provided by the EMPOWER Support Team was unmatched by even the largest test prep companies. After they reached out to me, I was able to provide detailed feedback of my weaker areas and they replied within 24 hours with detailed guidance and additional instruction options for me to make the most of my prep.

Overall, this is a phenomenal program!!! Easily customizable with multiple curricula to chose from and a multitude of resources, all at a fair price point.

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: May 2016
College: Ukraine
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufac and Service
Country: Ukraine
Verified Real Student Review

Boost your GMAT with EMPOWERgmat!

5 stars
June 24, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Brian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 700
Well, this is my turn to share some thoughts about what took me to 700 score in GMAT. I just would like to say that this journey was stressful and interesting, sometimes depressing but always exciting! Thanks to EMPOWERgmat and their team, especially Brian, who supported me a lot during my preparation phase.
First of all, I did appreciate the style of the lessons. Video format is MUCH MORE helpful than a classical text lesson. I understood that finding a proper answer is only a half of the deal - another one is HOW exactly you go through the process, and EMPOWERgmat is great in setting you on the right trail. The material is given in a consistent and concise way, without some additional burdensome information which was there when I tried other courses. So, video video and video! I am not kidding – you’ll feel the difference! Possibly there are some similar resources which do the same, I don't even exclude that there are some free resources in YouTube or elsewhere, but consistency is the MUST! Therefore, guys, you just take this course and you have all you need in one place. That is very important! Even if I say that there are no exaggerated loads of materials - this is widely enough to achieve what you really need - boost your GMAT score. And EMPOWERgmat creators put in there so many efforts – you’ll be amazed! After all, it’s worth paying a bit, not really a fortune.
Now I’ll tell you some history. My first attempt in Feb 2016 was 600 (43, 29) and I didn't practice seriously - just re-read some formulas and got the overall idea what GMAT is. It was quite arrogant from my side or better to say ignorant. I just couldn't imagine what specifically one could practice on verbal if he/she already speaks and reads English^)) My score proved how wrong I was! Nevertheless, I decided not to retake and went to Indonesia where ancient scent of local magic whispered to me that I should retake. While being there I registered for the test and started reading some verbal related materials. I must admit that the resources I used were somehow boring, uninformative, unappealing and finally useless. Well, I did practice maybe 3 weeks or so but, again, my next score proved that I did something wrong. I got 560 with quant and verbal even weaker than before! I don't exclude that ancient scent of Indonesian magic had something to do there but all that was about the same thing - lack of consistency. I was so angry, frustrated and disappointed! It hit my self-esteem a lot! I said to myself that I need to improve seriously and that jokes are over and that I should start serious games. I started researching. I remember I noticed a post from a guy who wrote about EMPOWERgmat and how helpful it was especially in boosting his verbal skills since he had applied mathematics background. That guy was also from Ukraine and I thought that possibly our hurdles in English must be the same or it was just the feeling of brotherhood, doesn't matter. I decided to boost my GMAT and I picked EMPOWERgmat for the job.
I had already applied to my schools with 600 and was anxious to retake as soon as possible so my task was a bit more complicated (you may notice how many strategic faults I committed). So this time I started practicing like crazy and right from the gate I was surprised how I enjoyed the process. Actually GMAT is all about processes at which your skills are tested. Somehow you should learn to enjoy what you are doing since this takes quite a considerable part of your life. First I tried an assault and now can say: never take GMAT by assault.
The interesting thing is that I committed there one more serious mistake. And I paid for it! Exactly 250 USD))) My third attempt, after completing almost 100% of the course, was 550!!! I can’t express how shocked I was! And at this point Brian from EMPOWERgmat team helped me a lot! He was able to set my mind to win and persuaded me to go on. Thanks a lot, Brian! The EMPOWERgmat gave me one month of complementary use after I had failed and supported during 17 days which separated my third test from the forth one. To be frank, the mistake was to go and take the test right after so intense practicing. Now I understand that I just couldn’t get higher score with the head packed with all the things I learned – I needed some time to put everything in order. Brian let me understand that and he also gave me the feeling that I was ready BUT had to consider the whole thing under a slightly different angle. So I used the course for some rehearsal and some practicing. No major efforts during this period – just concentrating on the future result (which was also awaited by my preferred school as 600 appeared to be too low, of course!).
You may imagine the stress I had the test day after all the previous bad steps I had already made. When 700(47 38) appeared on my screen it was so fantastic! Here I would add that I took only one practice exam before the last official test and also scored 700(49 35). It means that math in the course was very very helpful while my target improvement was obviously verbal.
Now I hope that my school will be finally happy with my score and as I’ve finished my GMAT story I hope that other test takers won’t repeat the same silly mistakes. Take GMAT seriously and you will be rewarded! And EMPOWERgmat is here to help you! In my case it was only one month during which I passed almost the whole course but it was not a good idea at all. I’d say 3 months would be just great and thus the score might be much better than mine. Yet, I was pleased by friendly feedback I got from Brian when I dropped a note that I finally could beat the GMAT.
It is a bit long post – the point is to prevent people from the mistakes I did. You better go to the right place and start right preparation. You’ll see the difference! I am ready to provide more details in case someone would be interested in (structure of the course, video modules, error log sheets, grammar and math rules etc.).
My guess is that even without summing up you understand my point. The only thing I would like to emphasize is that you won’t be disappointed if you finally choose EMPOWERgmat even after other courses that you eventually have already tried. Good luck to everyone and know that if one can do it being 33 y.o. and unorganized then you’ll do it for sure!

Joined: May 2013
Purchased Course: May 2016
Verified Real Student Review

feedback

4 stars
June 22, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Brian
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I work with empower GMAT for one month to bost my GMAT Scoore (EmporwerGmat Score Booster)

I must say that firstly I was somewhat reluctant with this type of as I already have taken others, but afterwards, I felt it was a great help.

The course helps you not only to clarify your concepts avoiding silly mistakes but also to follow the right strategy on the exam day.

Your capabilities will be leverage granting your acceptance to your dream school. In the end, the solution was always with you.

I definitely recommend the Score Booster from EmpowerGMAT. I hope you also enjoy!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A focus on strategy and what you need to know

5 stars
June 17, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 500
I've tried other GMAT prep courses such as Magoosh and several other trial versions from other companies. This course was the best for me because it focused on what I needed to know and didn't spend a lot of time teaching the nitty-gritty details that take lots of time. I had 2 months to prep and I was able to get the score I needed. My practice test scores improved every time. It was a big focus and strategy in the section on triage was really helpful to help Focus my time where I needed on the test. Overall this course was great for me and I would recommend it for anyone wanting to boost their score and improve their strategy.

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Strategy is Key!

5 stars
June 5, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
EmpowerGMAT was pivotal in improving my strategy for GMAT. This exam is not all about what you know. Strategy is extremely important. EmpowerGMAT is exceptional in the strategy game.

I started my GMAT journey using another prep company and was fortunate to also get free access to EmpowerGMAT for a month before my exam. Before EmpowerGMAT I was scoring about 600 on my practice CAT’s. I used their guidance and was able to score 700 (Q49, V35) on the GMAT.

I highly recommend this program not only for GMAT preparation but also for the exceptional customer service. In the days before and after my exam Brian, my EmpowerGMAT advisor was very helpful and prompt in all his communications with me. His advice was very helpful in getting me to shed those test day nerves.

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT turned me into a GMAT Assassin

5 stars
June 1, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
To provide a little background on myself, I have always been pretty good on standardized testing, achieving high scores on SAT, etc. However, when I took my first CAT completely cold as a diagnostic, I was nervous when I saw my score in the lower 600s. I had hoped to score a minimum of 720 to make me a competitive applicant for the top 10 or so MBA programs. It was around this time that I heard about the EmpowerGMAT course from various reviews on BeatTheGMAT and other sites. I checked out the site and did their 24 free trial and loved it. It was exactly what I needed.

EmpowerGMAT provided me the structure and blueprint to become a GMAT Assassin, I just needed to follow along and put in the time. Well thanks to the awesome videos and study sheets I ended up scoring a 740 (Q48/V44) on my first testing day. I enjoyed Rich's teaching style, and could literally hear him in my head on test day, "If it seems too easy, prove it. Put it all on the paper and prove it to yourself." Well this idea alone saved me from getting 2-3 easy questions wrong on test day, which would have destroyed my already borderline quant score!

Finally, I am not sure what it was about reviewing through EmpowerGMAT, but when I sat for the actual exam it actually seemed too easy. I thought for sure I was getting crushed and it was going to be an embarrassing score, but was happily surprised with my 740.

EmpowerGMAT truly prepared me; definitely the best $300 I ever spent!

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Johns Hopkins University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course - Helped out my Quant Tremendously

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 270
I cannot be more thankful for the course. Rich was tremendous in giving quant feedback and this is by far the best ROI GMAT solution out there. I didn't have the money to afford a more expensive program. I did not really utilize the verbal, but I know that this program has helped a couple of my friends with the verbal. Trust me if you want to increase your Quant this is the #1 program. I used others sources. Amazing experience and I got into my dream MBA school!!!

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Georgetown University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course for a Great Value

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Look, taking the GMAT isn't fun and neither is studying for it. Here's why I liked EMPOWER:

VALUE:
I've read a fair amount about the diminishing returns of more expensive, more hands-on tutoring for standardized tests and I'm a firm believer in self-study for these sorts of things. I don't want to fork over thousands of dollars for a class or tutor if I can get roughly the same results on my own time at a fraction of the price. EMPOWER was $99/month, which is extremely fair.

RESULTS:
Before starting EMPOWER I took a practice CAT to see how I would do and scored a 650. I took a real GMAT about 2 months into using the course and scored a 660, and then took the GMAT for a second time after a month of relaxing and another month of studying just the areas that I was weak in and scored a 700.

SELF-PACING:
I studied when I could and where I could: sometimes consistently, sometimes in spurts, sometimes at my office, sometimes in my bed. It was all on my terms.

PERSONALITY:
EMPOWER did a good job of transforming GMAT questions from a chore into a challenge. The people coaching you through the strategy and tricks of the test really make it seem like a game and tap into your competitive side.

Like I said, taking the GMAT isn't fun and studying for it isn't either, however, EMPOWER was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone hoping to prepare as best they can. Paradoxically, I'm thankful that I never have to use EMPOWER again, and that's because of how good it was; it helped me get the score I wanted and now the GMAT is behind me and business school awaits.