Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 74 reviews
Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Feel Empowered

5 stars
May 5, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
This course was a gamechanger for me. I began my studies some time in mid-December with the Kaplan Premier book. After 3 or 4 days I realised it wasn't going to cut it for me. Upon my friend's advice, I bought the Manhattan books as well as the Foundation for GMAT Math book that they make (highly recommend to begin your studies with this book if you have any doubts about your math skills). After finishing the math books (I initially did not intend to study Verbal) I posted in the GMATclub forum asking for direction (where to from here?). Rich, Empower co-founder/math instructor, was the only person to respond to my message. I took a practice CAT, as he suggested, and scored a 680 but genuinely felt very flustered. The Math section in particular did not fill me with confidence. Long story short, I ended up trying the Empower course. It's cheaper than most of the other courses so I thought "what the heck, why not?". This was a great, great decision.

This course is priceless. So priceless that I kept my subscription going for a third month despite the fact that I had completed the course. The Quant part of this course is immense. The Verbal may help some people (prior to the course I only had an issue with SC. After one month of this course I hit 730 in a practice CAT. After about 14 weeks of studying I scored a 760 on my official GMAT (First try). I don't really know what else I can say about this course because words don't do it justice. Thank you Empower

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWER Gave Me the Confidence Boost that I Needed To Beat The GMAT

5 stars
April 30, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
I am an African American female working in advertising who was having a ton of trouble making progress on the GMAT while trying to self study. I used the Manhattan GMAT books and the Official Guide for self study and no matter how much I studied I could barely crack a 500, after a month of studying. Then while at a BBQ a woman raved about EmpowerGMAT and how she did the 3 month study plan and got a 660.

I figure what could I lose if I tried. EmpowerGMAT was very affordable. $99 a month and instead of overwhelming me with information it more so taught me the strategy on how to take the test and how to "PUT EVERYTHING ON THE PAD." I found tactics that considerably helped me improve my QUANT and VERBAL scores and let me know when to dump questions but more so than anything it provided me with some serious confidence. EmpowerGMAT got me to the low 600s. Once I finished the course I got a tutor to help me with my problem areas to take me over my hump.

I convinced a friend of mine to use EmpowerGMAT and he was able to get over 650. We both struggled initially and EmpowerGMAT just helped us gain the tactics that we needed to be GMAT ninjas. I am very satisfied with my experience.

I am now on my way to a Top 12 MBA program and I couldn't be happier.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Provides psychological tips and GMAT hacks to help boost your score to the next level

5 stars
April 26, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 730
The Empower GMAT course provides excellent test taking tips from timing to understanding which questions to dump to which questions will occur most frequently on the test. Even with knowledge on how to work each problem, Empower GMAT provides excellent test day tactics and strategies that will get your score to the next level. I was able to boost my score from 700 to 730 largely from their TEST IT methodology that I found to be highly effective. Empower GMAT is able to differentiate itself from its competitors through these tactics and makes it a great tool to have in your arsenal with tackling the GMAT. I strongly recommend to all test takers.

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: ICEF
Major: Economics
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

No verbiage, pure facts and knowledge

5 stars
April 4, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Support team and lessons
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 710
Overall courses are really helpful, and there are some great lessons on psychology of GMAT and facts, that are important to BEAT THE GMAT. A lot of useful strategies and ideas to use on the day of the exam. Tricks and techniques that can boost your score in several days!

Moreover, the support team is a great example of how the team should work! Every member will be able to ask a piece of advice from anyone, who works in EmpowerGMAT. In my opinion, EmpowerGMAT team values clients and is happy to help you with any difficulties you may face.

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Simply effective, I highly recommend it!

5 stars
March 25, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Richard and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 700
I studied extensively for the GMAT using The Economist GMAT Tutor. I found the course quite thick with detail and theory, which I thought was extremely useful. The course has alot of practice questions and long answer explanations. However, my GMAT exam was very disappointing (590) despite having scored always above 650 in the CAT of the course. I was quite frustrated and decided to let go.

Several months later, I decided to give it another try. I was about to start studying again with the same prep course, but then thought that it was probably not suitable for me. There are so many prep course out there, so I thought changing might be a good idea.

I came to know about the EMPOWERgmat course on this blog, and registered for a free trial of the course. I found it so simple and straightforward in the beginning that I thought it was useless. The way Rich and Max (the two professors of the course) show you how to solve problems seemed too easy and poor in theoretical background (the same impression I got when I downloaded all the EMPOWER study material). But THAT was exactly the key! Thanks to the EMPOWER course I came to understand that the GMAT is actually quite easy and straightforward once you master a couple of tricks, and that too much theory is actually counterproductive. The course teaches you the few theoretical fundamentals, and really focuses on answering strategy. This helped me overcome my main mistake which was to answer questions using a theory-based approach (which comes from my background in Engineering), and significantly improved my pacing throught the exam.

In sum, I was really amazed by how my perception of the GMAT changed after taking the course. I highly recommend it to anybody willing to beat the GMAT.

Joined: Feb 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Major: International Business
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Great value for money!

5 stars
March 22, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Hey folks!

about two months ago I wrote the GMAT after learning with the Empowergmat 3 month prep course. Retrospectively, I can say that the prep course offered a great foundation for successfully taking the Gmat exam. This is attributable to two main aspects of the Empowergmat curriculum that really helped me out.

Firstly, the two tutors - Rich and Max - know what they're talking about. They have a thorough understanding of the essentials that are key in order to be successful in the quantitative and verbal part. Surely, you'll have to invest a lot of time and energy into the learning process but Rich and Max do a good job in setting the right direction during this process.

Secondly, Rich and Max help you to think outside the box when it comes to acing the Gmat on test day. This is done by providing various drills and podcasts about how to prepare both physically and mentally for test day (eating the right stuff, battling fatigue, etc.). In addition, it's very refreshing to listen to them after a long reading comprehension or quant drill.

All in all, I can say that the Empowergmat course was the right choice for me as it offered a lot of helpful insights for an awesome price!

Good look to all future test takers!

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Investment Management
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

720 to 760 using EmpowerGMAT for 1 month

5 stars
March 21, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 720   After: 760
By way of introduction, I had scored a 720 (Q50, V36, IR7, AWA6) on my first, completely self-prep attempt. I obtained an improved score of 760 (Q50, V42, IR8) in my retake after using EmpowerGMAT’s Online Course.

If I had to summarize EmpowerGMAT’s incredible value proposition in an elevator pitch, it would comprise:
1) From (but not solely limited to) a GMAT strategy standpoint, it is an indispensable asset to have in your repertoire of tools, either as a first-time test taker or a retaker. The tactics taught, and the pedagogy used, proved to be extremely valuable during game day.

2) Incredible support system. The pressure is real, and having a receptive point of contact at the other end with rational responses went a long way in not only solving my queries, but also calming my nerves. EmpowerGMAT always kept its channels of communication open and responded promptly.

3) Tremendous value for money vis-à-vis other alternatives available at the time, and in all likelihood, even at the time of your reading this review! Plus, their score guarantee was also the most robust and comprehensive that I could find then. Jump in now, before it decides to hike its rates.

As an engineering graduate with a fairly decent handle on the English language, my first attempt was purely self-prep. I had used the OG 13, taken any and all of the free mock tests made available by different test providers that I could find, and the Official GMAT Practice Tests. Only when I gave the exam and received my score of 720 – I was admittedly disappointed – did I begin realizing that knowledge and good pacing alone aren’t enough to break the upper 700’s. I knew I had left marks on the table, and that I was capable of scoring higher. Where do I turn to? My study material was exhausted, and there was little I could gain by going over the concepts again. Purchasing new mock tests was an option, but I had realized that my approach had been largely the same, and repeating the same approach with new mock tests would yield little incremental benefit. Clearly, I needed to change my approach and strategy towards answering the various types of questions.

Herein, EmpowerGMAT emerged as the clear-cut front-runner after a lot of research and comparison. The more I delved deeper into its program, the more I began loving what I saw. From a free trial of its course offerings which gave me some inkling of its tactical approach towards the GMAT (if you are still on the fence about going for it, I would recommend their 5-day trial), to their Score Booster plans which methodically outlined the core areas needed for a score boost, backed by their money-back guarantee – for me, this was a clear win-win situation. Boost my score, or get my money back. Why not?
What made it even more perfect, was that the online material is self-paced and split in great detail among the sections and topics – perfectly matching my learning style, wherein I could ramp up the pace and attack what sections needed most attention. Surprisingly, while I had initially planned to just focus on the Verbal Score Booster plan, I ended up devouring the entire collection of videos in about a month, so addictive were the lessons and the pedagogy used! With each video, each set of questions on their platform; I found my confidence levels increasing, realizing how silly I was to have given the exam without the right tactical strategies in place. And boy, did these work on game-day!

The laser focus on the ‘right’ difficulty (and topics) of questions to go for, the right approach and tactics to use to efficiently solve for each question type, the logic behind the GMAT, what it tests and why, its scoring algorithm, and the motivational podcasts and anecdotes – all of these gave me valuable skills, and put me in the right mindset to deploy them. EmpowerGMAT helped me transition from a stubborn quant nerd (how I realize I was, in retrospect) to a calm, composed GMAT reasoner, who could reason his way through each type of question and have a set of tools to apply to each.

I would go so far as to say that given EmpowerGMAT’s focus on each and every aspect of the GMAT experience, from broader brush strokes such as topic coverage, to minutiae such as test-day tactics, all you need to score well on the GMAT are EmpowerGMAT and the OG.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Upenn
Major: Economics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent online review course

5 stars
March 18, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
After scoring well below my target score on my first and second attempts (I had taken a review course and self-studied the second time), i decided to give Empower a try after reading many positive testimonials. I decided to dedicate 1 month to re-studying for the exam. I followed Empower's refresher curriculum. I very much enjoyed the flexibility and breadth that the review program offered. Empower taught me invaluable techniques and strategies with which to attack the gmat. Going into test day i had a high level of confidence in my ability to hit my target score. After taking the exam i was very pleased to see i got a 710, with 99th percentile in verbal. I owe it to Empower Gmat for the well-thought out and efficient review course.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Dominate the GMAT with EMPOWER

5 stars
March 14, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Rich and Max are great tutors to have on your journey to beating the GMAT. All of the tutorials are well explained and detailed.

This course is completely self study and you have the option to shorten or lengthen your study plan based on how much time you have until you take your official GMAT. This course will give you video lectures on key quantitative and verbal techniques and will immediately quiz you on the lessons learned in your next tutorial. At the end of every week or two you will complete a practice exam (These are not included but for $50 you can get 6 from MGMAT) to get a baseline of where you're at and then Rich and Max go over more learning modules to help you dominate this exam.

You should keep this review in context since I've only been using the program for about a month and I have yet to take an official GMAT. However, if you follow the instructions and stay diligent with your studying then there is no excuse for you not to crush the GMAT.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: University of Arizona
Major: Marketing
Industry: Sports
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat got me the score I needed!

5 stars
February 5, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 650
Hello fellow GMAT takers,

Like most of you, I struggled when I first started studying for the GMAT. I wanted a good score so I paid for an expensive online course, bought a ton of books and was discouraged when I wasn't seeing the results I wanted. I scored a 590 on my first official exam and that just simply was not good enough for me. Then I came across EMPOWERgmat.

With the help of EMPOWERgmat, my score jumped to a 650 and I improved my quant from a 42 to a 47 (a score I never thought was possible).

I am a visual person, so for me the way EMPOWERgmat explains each problem and shows you how to work it out (in the most time efficient way) was super helpful. I also learned a lot of shortcuts. There were entire quant concepts that I felt comfortable solving before I started EMPOWERgmat, but come to find out EMPOWERgmat solves them quicker and easier.

One element that I was surprised to learn from EMPOWERgmat was test strategy. Going into the test I thought I had to solve every problem and that each problem was "worth" about the same. Wrong. EMPOWERgmat explains which problems are put in the test to trick you up, waste your clock and frustrate you. Those problems you are supposed to skip. Yes, skip. Make an educated guess and skip. The concept of this floored me but they were right. Controlling your test "tilt" is super key and EMPOWERgmat helps you manage it.

Bottom line, there are many many GMAT products out there, trust me I tried a ton, but EMPOWERgmat was my ticket into my top grad program and it can be yours too.

Good luck!!!