Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 70 reviews
Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Simply effective, I highly recommend it!

5 stars
March 25, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Richard and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 700
I studied extensively for the GMAT using The Economist GMAT Tutor. I found the course quite thick with detail and theory, which I thought was extremely useful. The course has alot of practice questions and long answer explanations. However, my GMAT exam was very disappointing (590) despite having scored always above 650 in the CAT of the course. I was quite frustrated and decided to let go.

Several months later, I decided to give it another try. I was about to start studying again with the same prep course, but then thought that it was probably not suitable for me. There are so many prep course out there, so I thought changing might be a good idea.

I came to know about the EMPOWERgmat course on this blog, and registered for a free trial of the course. I found it so simple and straightforward in the beginning that I thought it was useless. The way Rich and Max (the two professors of the course) show you how to solve problems seemed too easy and poor in theoretical background (the same impression I got when I downloaded all the EMPOWER study material). But THAT was exactly the key! Thanks to the EMPOWER course I came to understand that the GMAT is actually quite easy and straightforward once you master a couple of tricks, and that too much theory is actually counterproductive. The course teaches you the few theoretical fundamentals, and really focuses on answering strategy. This helped me overcome my main mistake which was to answer questions using a theory-based approach (which comes from my background in Engineering), and significantly improved my pacing throught the exam.

In sum, I was really amazed by how my perception of the GMAT changed after taking the course. I highly recommend it to anybody willing to beat the GMAT.

Joined: Feb 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Major: International Business
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Great value for money!

5 stars
March 22, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Hey folks!

about two months ago I wrote the GMAT after learning with the Empowergmat 3 month prep course. Retrospectively, I can say that the prep course offered a great foundation for successfully taking the Gmat exam. This is attributable to two main aspects of the Empowergmat curriculum that really helped me out.

Firstly, the two tutors - Rich and Max - know what they're talking about. They have a thorough understanding of the essentials that are key in order to be successful in the quantitative and verbal part. Surely, you'll have to invest a lot of time and energy into the learning process but Rich and Max do a good job in setting the right direction during this process.

Secondly, Rich and Max help you to think outside the box when it comes to acing the Gmat on test day. This is done by providing various drills and podcasts about how to prepare both physically and mentally for test day (eating the right stuff, battling fatigue, etc.). In addition, it's very refreshing to listen to them after a long reading comprehension or quant drill.

All in all, I can say that the Empowergmat course was the right choice for me as it offered a lot of helpful insights for an awesome price!

Good look to all future test takers!

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Investment Management
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

720 to 760 using EmpowerGMAT for 1 month

5 stars
March 21, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 720   After: 760
By way of introduction, I had scored a 720 (Q50, V36, IR7, AWA6) on my first, completely self-prep attempt. I obtained an improved score of 760 (Q50, V42, IR8) in my retake after using EmpowerGMAT’s Online Course.

If I had to summarize EmpowerGMAT’s incredible value proposition in an elevator pitch, it would comprise:
1) From (but not solely limited to) a GMAT strategy standpoint, it is an indispensable asset to have in your repertoire of tools, either as a first-time test taker or a retaker. The tactics taught, and the pedagogy used, proved to be extremely valuable during game day.

2) Incredible support system. The pressure is real, and having a receptive point of contact at the other end with rational responses went a long way in not only solving my queries, but also calming my nerves. EmpowerGMAT always kept its channels of communication open and responded promptly.

3) Tremendous value for money vis-à-vis other alternatives available at the time, and in all likelihood, even at the time of your reading this review! Plus, their score guarantee was also the most robust and comprehensive that I could find then. Jump in now, before it decides to hike its rates.

As an engineering graduate with a fairly decent handle on the English language, my first attempt was purely self-prep. I had used the OG 13, taken any and all of the free mock tests made available by different test providers that I could find, and the Official GMAT Practice Tests. Only when I gave the exam and received my score of 720 – I was admittedly disappointed – did I begin realizing that knowledge and good pacing alone aren’t enough to break the upper 700’s. I knew I had left marks on the table, and that I was capable of scoring higher. Where do I turn to? My study material was exhausted, and there was little I could gain by going over the concepts again. Purchasing new mock tests was an option, but I had realized that my approach had been largely the same, and repeating the same approach with new mock tests would yield little incremental benefit. Clearly, I needed to change my approach and strategy towards answering the various types of questions.

Herein, EmpowerGMAT emerged as the clear-cut front-runner after a lot of research and comparison. The more I delved deeper into its program, the more I began loving what I saw. From a free trial of its course offerings which gave me some inkling of its tactical approach towards the GMAT (if you are still on the fence about going for it, I would recommend their 5-day trial), to their Score Booster plans which methodically outlined the core areas needed for a score boost, backed by their money-back guarantee – for me, this was a clear win-win situation. Boost my score, or get my money back. Why not?
What made it even more perfect, was that the online material is self-paced and split in great detail among the sections and topics – perfectly matching my learning style, wherein I could ramp up the pace and attack what sections needed most attention. Surprisingly, while I had initially planned to just focus on the Verbal Score Booster plan, I ended up devouring the entire collection of videos in about a month, so addictive were the lessons and the pedagogy used! With each video, each set of questions on their platform; I found my confidence levels increasing, realizing how silly I was to have given the exam without the right tactical strategies in place. And boy, did these work on game-day!

The laser focus on the ‘right’ difficulty (and topics) of questions to go for, the right approach and tactics to use to efficiently solve for each question type, the logic behind the GMAT, what it tests and why, its scoring algorithm, and the motivational podcasts and anecdotes – all of these gave me valuable skills, and put me in the right mindset to deploy them. EmpowerGMAT helped me transition from a stubborn quant nerd (how I realize I was, in retrospect) to a calm, composed GMAT reasoner, who could reason his way through each type of question and have a set of tools to apply to each.

I would go so far as to say that given EmpowerGMAT’s focus on each and every aspect of the GMAT experience, from broader brush strokes such as topic coverage, to minutiae such as test-day tactics, all you need to score well on the GMAT are EmpowerGMAT and the OG.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Upenn
Major: Economics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent online review course

5 stars
March 18, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
After scoring well below my target score on my first and second attempts (I had taken a review course and self-studied the second time), i decided to give Empower a try after reading many positive testimonials. I decided to dedicate 1 month to re-studying for the exam. I followed Empower's refresher curriculum. I very much enjoyed the flexibility and breadth that the review program offered. Empower taught me invaluable techniques and strategies with which to attack the gmat. Going into test day i had a high level of confidence in my ability to hit my target score. After taking the exam i was very pleased to see i got a 710, with 99th percentile in verbal. I owe it to Empower Gmat for the well-thought out and efficient review course.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Dominate the GMAT with EMPOWER

5 stars
March 14, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Rich and Max are great tutors to have on your journey to beating the GMAT. All of the tutorials are well explained and detailed.

This course is completely self study and you have the option to shorten or lengthen your study plan based on how much time you have until you take your official GMAT. This course will give you video lectures on key quantitative and verbal techniques and will immediately quiz you on the lessons learned in your next tutorial. At the end of every week or two you will complete a practice exam (These are not included but for $50 you can get 6 from MGMAT) to get a baseline of where you're at and then Rich and Max go over more learning modules to help you dominate this exam.

You should keep this review in context since I've only been using the program for about a month and I have yet to take an official GMAT. However, if you follow the instructions and stay diligent with your studying then there is no excuse for you not to crush the GMAT.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: University of Arizona
Major: Marketing
Industry: Sports
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat got me the score I needed!

5 stars
February 5, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 650
Hello fellow GMAT takers,

Like most of you, I struggled when I first started studying for the GMAT. I wanted a good score so I paid for an expensive online course, bought a ton of books and was discouraged when I wasn't seeing the results I wanted. I scored a 590 on my first official exam and that just simply was not good enough for me. Then I came across EMPOWERgmat.

With the help of EMPOWERgmat, my score jumped to a 650 and I improved my quant from a 42 to a 47 (a score I never thought was possible).

I am a visual person, so for me the way EMPOWERgmat explains each problem and shows you how to work it out (in the most time efficient way) was super helpful. I also learned a lot of shortcuts. There were entire quant concepts that I felt comfortable solving before I started EMPOWERgmat, but come to find out EMPOWERgmat solves them quicker and easier.

One element that I was surprised to learn from EMPOWERgmat was test strategy. Going into the test I thought I had to solve every problem and that each problem was "worth" about the same. Wrong. EMPOWERgmat explains which problems are put in the test to trick you up, waste your clock and frustrate you. Those problems you are supposed to skip. Yes, skip. Make an educated guess and skip. The concept of this floored me but they were right. Controlling your test "tilt" is super key and EMPOWERgmat helps you manage it.

Bottom line, there are many many GMAT products out there, trust me I tried a ton, but EMPOWERgmat was my ticket into my top grad program and it can be yours too.

Good luck!!!

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Education
Verified Real Student Review

From 600 to 700 - Improved 100 Points!!!!

5 stars
January 26, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 700
I had used Manhattan Prep, but EMPOWERgmat is what pushed me over the top. The 2 month study guide was perfect for me. Rich and Max are really engaging and listening to them really built my confidence. I truly believed I was going to become a GMAT Assassin and crush the test if I just used their easy to follow strategies. Two strategies in particular, TEST IT and TRIAGE made all the difference in the world. To be honest, I should've received a higher score. I felt discouraged because the questions felt so easy to me and I took that to mean I wasn't doing so well on the test.

The thing I like the most was the entire test-taking approach. The content was great, but how to actually approach the GMAT - I don't think there's a better program out there for that. For the first time I stopped trying to spend time on EVERY single question. If it was too hard or I knew I would spend 3 minutes to figure it out, I dropped it. Rich and Max were so ingrained into my head I was laughing at questions on the real thing because I knew exactly what they would say. Their delivery really made the course fun, and I am sad I found out about their platform late in the game.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Cameroon
Major: Engineering
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: Cameroon
Verified Real Student Review

From 590 to 680 in 1 month...!!! We did it @Rich and @Max.

5 stars
January 26, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 680
Oww what an amazing path we did together.
i was a retaker with 590 v26Q44 score previously and i had only 06 weeks to have a least 650
due to application constraint.
For my first attempt i only used Manhantan books. 02 days after official test, i started again
with well know books (Veritas, Princeton, ...). 02 weeks after i score 590 on the mock, i was so disappointed.
i started looking for a real SOLUTION, which means for me affordable and efficient as i had only 04 weeks left at that time.
in 20 min i decided to take EMPOWERGMAT. why? $85 / per month was excatly what i needed in term of time and was affordable.
And it had 5/5 reviews on gmatclub. so why not? i mean at that point i didn't have anything else as solution.
The EMPOWERGMAT tatics helped so much on quant and the 5s scan on SC really help me on the verbal section.
I will always remember Rich final podcast before the exam: i won't tell you good luck because there is nothing about luck on this exam
put everything down on the pad, work of each point, dump any nasty or crazy question.
During the exam, i was calm,confident. I dumped 3 - 4 crazy questions on the quant session and had 49.
On the verbal, the 5s scan helped so much when i was out of time on the SC. I had a small passage on last 10 questions, i was running out of time
in the past i would have skimmed but i didn't this time, thanks to Max advice. And it gaves me confidence to dump 2 CR questions which was my weakness any way.

Taking EMPOWERGMAT was a very smart decision and i don't regret any of dollars paid for that course;it was worth it.

May be in the next coming months or years i will retake the GMAT just to be in the 700 club, but 680 was what i needed for my applications
PS: Engineer, non-native.

Joined: Aug 2012
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT provided the right strategy and content needed to succeed

5 stars
January 23, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 710
In 2015, I gave my GMAT 4 times. ANd I took two different courses before enrolling for EmpowerGMAT

- 1st attempt I used GMATPill and scored 600
- 2nd attempt I used eGMAT and scored 590
- 3rd attempt I just focused on OG guide and scored 640
- 4th attempt I used EMPOWERGmat and scored 710

I would like to specially thank Rich from EMPOWERGMAT for reaching out to me after my failed third attempt. His insight into the ESR report was very helpful as it helped me decide my next steps. He recommended that I change my approach for Quant and SC which I did with the help of EMPOWER total booster course. The concepts tested on the GMAT are all basic ones.

It all depends on how you use your resources (time, mental energy and your skills) wisely. Throughout the course both Rich and Max do a good job on emphasizing what is really required to do well on the GMAT. And the best part was I got a response from Rich within 24 hours for any questions whether it was related to strategy or content etc.

After spending two months with the course I was able to change my approach for Quant - using simple neat tactics such as using numbers to solve problems, working with answers to solve questions, dumping question that was either difficult or questions Rich asked us to dump questions. The last one is very very effective because it saves a ton of time for other questions that really matter. During my actual GMAT, I followed this advice during the Math and Verbal sections. This definitely helping during my Verbal section as I was mentally drained out.

For Verbal, Max's approach for solving SC problems was very helpful - start by glancing the answer choice to get an idea on the concept tested, read the question carefully and cross out answers. Before the course I used to take more than 1.45mins to answer SC question, but with the new approach I was able to solve SC questions within 1.15 mins. I would definitely recommend working with Rich and Max through their EMPOWERGMAT course. It is worth it.

Joined: Nov 2012
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: United States Air Force Academy
Major: Engineering Management
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

590 to 700 - EMPOWERgmat gave me the extra boost!

5 stars
January 16, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 70 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 70 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 700
I believe EMPOWERgmat was the key piece to me earning my 700. They have a score booster curriculum for those who feel their GMAT abilities have hit a ceiling. This is exactly what I needed. I really liked that they took all the GMAT study plan strategizing out of my hands; their syllabus is easy-to-follow, and as long as you just do what they tell you, your score WILL improve. Rich and Max bring a lot of enthusiasm to their instructional videos, making long study sessions easier to endure. They evoke the "athletic coach persona" and communicate the GMAT concepts and strategies in a way that really motivates you to crush the test. I noticed occasional misspellings in the practice problems in their videos and minor bugs in their online platform (as of 01/16/2016, it looks like they completely revamped and upgraded their platform!), but these small issues never got in the way of my studying. Their website may not have the shiny production value of the large, established test prep companies (i.e. Manhattan GMAT), but it's the value of the content that counts, and EMPOWERgmat delivers.

The most important thing I learned from EMPOWERgmat was to alter my approach and mindset - it's not about how much content you know, it's almost ALL about strategy. Once you nail the concepts down, you have to realize that the GMAT will reward those who treat the test like a business situation. To specify, you have limited resources (time), and the GMAT will reward (with a high score) those who maximize the utility of their limited resources (spending time on problems you know how to solve and/or strategically guessing versus spending all your time on difficult problems that don't count much towards your score anyway). This fundamental shift in mentality completely freed me to not get bogged down in the concepts I didn't know or with which I was not comfortable. EMPOWERgmat hammers this perspective into all of their instruction so that it becomes second nature. This is what paved the way for me to earn that 700. For anyone looking to boost their score or take a high-quality course from the comfort of their home, I highly recommend this course!