Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 74 reviews
Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended! 580 to 720 in 2 months

5 stars
December 12, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I was able to improve from a 580 to 720 (Q47 V41 AWA6 IR7) after just two months with Empower! I did use another test prep company right before Empower, but I really believe the tactics and tricks Empower teaches are worth preaching and their methods are refreshingly different. On test day, knowing when to trash a question was absolute key during the quant section.

I took a GMATprep practice test 2 weeks before my exam date and I got a 660. I was so disappointed and almost lost hope that I could obtain my dream score. But I tried my hardest anyway and what I think made the biggest difference was focusing on the verbal section. The same amount of points in verbal meant so much more than the same amount of points in quant. That was something I never would've realized without Empower. I should probably mention my quant score only improved 3 points since day 1! Without Empower I wouldn't even know how to study smart and use my time efficiently.

Now I am able to apply to my target schools knowing that my GMAT will not be the reason I do not get in.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: BYU
Major: Business
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Verbal ScoreBooster saved my GMAT score

5 stars
November 11, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 710
I used EMPOWERgmat a little bit before taking the GMAT the first time and I scored 640 - on par with my discipline and practice. I felt embarrassed by this score so I decided to actually follow the ScoreBooster module for Quant and Verbal. I studied for about 3 months consistently by going through each module outlined in the ScoreBooster packet.

My strength was not Quant, so that's where I focused most of my time initially. However, the more I focused my practice time on Quant, the more frustrated I became as my practice test scores were flat in the mid-600s. I decided to take Brian's advice from the EMPOWERgmat team and focus on Verbal.

Max's modules in Verbal were super helpful to exploit my strengths in Verbal. I revisited my past practice tests and realized how weak I was on CR prompts, so that's where I focused my study time. Amazingly, my scores improved. I stopped worrying about all the math formulas and instead focused all my time on CR prompts and SC tactics.

It all came together when I took a practice exam a week before the GMAT. I totally fumbled the Quant section in that practice exam, I was ~10 minutes behind pace and ended up racing through the last 15 questions, just clicking-through on most. I thought that low 600s was inevitable given how poor the Quant section went for me. I put myself back together during the 8 minute break and knew I had to just crush Verbal. So I did - all that practice really paid off. I submitted the last question and thought I would be lucky to get mid 600s. My score: 700. I was shocked! How could that be given how badly the Quant section went? I scored 99th percentile in Verbal. All that focus on Verbal redeemed my score and helped me feel much more confident.

So I took the GMAT the next week with the same approach - do the best I can on Quant, stay on pace to avoid the anxiety of rushing, and then just freaking attack Verbal like a rabid lawyer. I got a 710 and feel happy with that...

EMPOWERgmat's approach to Verbal was crucial for me. If you struggle with Quant or are just average at it like me, then I recommend doing the Verbal ScoreBooster. Exploit your strengths, and you'll achieve a higher score faster. Worked for me.

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Verified Real Student Review

650 to 740

5 stars
October 26, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 740
I decided to go with empower because of its affordable price, the score booster method which allows you to skip most quant fundamentals, and the various advice and strategies used to work around certain questions and save precious time for the questions that do matter.

For the Quant part, I feel that EmpowerGMAT will definitely be more helpful for people that already have a good grasp of the fundamentals but do want that extra boost by adding efficient strategies to their arsenal, such as the art of triaging and test it methods that must become like reflexes. While those strategies may feel at first counter-intuitive, I do feel that they are much more effective than focusing solely on extremely hard quant questions such as the ones you can find on GMATClub

The Verbal part is extremely useful; I would probably recommend EmpowerGMAT just for their advice on RC which will help you achieve easily 100% accuracy on any level questions. The CR methods are broken down to very simple concepts that are easy to apply and clearly show you which topics are worth more of your time. The SC part focuses less on remembering many complex grammatical rules, and is more oriented towards simple things to look out for, as well as clearing out obvious mistakes in wrong answer choices.

Unfortunately, I failed the official exam a couple of days after finishing the course. I scored a 640 while I was aiming for a 690, which I consistently got on CAT’s at home. I was extremely stressed, especially on the quant part and to my surprise the verbal was a complete disaster.

I rescheduled an exam for the next month, and sent an email to EmpowerGMAT in order to explain what happened.

I got in touch with Brian, who was extremely helpful in identifying the factors that led to the scores I kept getting, and just as I suspected myself, I was not correctly applying the strategies given by EmpowerGMAT. Furthermore, my knowledge of the material was not really an issue, and thus more practice questions were not going to help me much.
Brian also wrote me a detailed email that outlined exactly what strategies I absolutely had to implement on the test day. I felt that this email as probably the most helpful advice EmpowerGMAT gave me.

I only had enough time to test them on one GMATprep CAT before the real exam. I got a 710, breaking through the 700 barrier for the first time.
The next morning, I focused as much as possible on implementing the tactics that had worked the day before. I couldn’t believe the score that showed up: 740, ranking in the 97th percentile.

Those tactics helped me achieve a score that many, including myself, have only dreamed about.

I would highly recommend EmpowerGMAT, especially to the people that feel like they are beginning to stall and don’t gain any more points by doing additional practice questions. I would also encourage people to contact them directly and tell them about your particular issues or situation, the EmpowerGMAT team is extremely kind, helpful, and comprehensive.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT on Demand Course- Excellent for Non natives

5 stars
October 8, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Max Peterson and Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 750
I stumbled upon empowergmat via their 5 days for 5$ event that they had back in June 2015 and wanted to try the course out as I was looking for study tips and tricks to improve from my 690 in my 2nd GMAT attempt. I wanted to reach 730+ but had already exhausted all the available resources. I enrolled myself for the 5$ event and I was surprised to see the the depth and clarity in their verbal video tutorials by Max and the follow up questions not only cemented what you learned in theory but also taught you about the common traps. After the first day itself I enrolled myself for 1 month and as they provide a month to month billing (highly transparent and helpful for short term commitment that I was looking for!), it proved to the boost that I needed to push my score from 690 to 750 in 1 month.

Max's appraoch to CR completely changed my thought process and it made me more confident of dealing with 700+ level questions. The SC approach was straightforward without the use of unnecessary grammatical jargons. RC was taught with an eye out for achieving maximum accuracy while not going abvoe the average time per question.

Rich's test it and triage approaches in quant not only helped me in undertsanding the various time saving strategies, these also helped me in understanding the mind of the test maker at GMAC.

All these strategies worked wonders for me in the actual GMAT and I was able to clearly see why the incorrect answers were incorrect. Once i had this undertsanding, i was more confident with my answers.

I would definitely recommend EMPOWERGMAT to retakers who are looking at a highly compressed preparation schedule that will give them amazing results.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Country: Bulgaria
Verified Real Student Review

From 580 to 650; All Credits Go to EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
October 4, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 310
My first attempt was in mid-July 2015 and scored a miserable 580 Q39 V31. I was stunned with my quant score as I have never scored this low during my mock tests.

Luckily, however, I came across to the EMPOWERgmat course, which, I think, is the BEST available course so far. The studying process with the program is efficient and gives you the tips and knowledge that you will use during both preparation period and the actual exam. More importantly, Rich’s videos are so much fun as well. He is the real GMAT assassin!

Following two months of preparation (70% of the time spent on Quant section and the remaining on Verbal), I showed up at the test center. The AWA section and integrated reasoning went OKAY and then when I moved to the quant section I felt way more confident and followed Rich’s instructions. I completely failed in the verbal section as my RC skills are very low and was so frustrated that expected the exact same score as before. Anyways, I finished the test and the score popped up: 650 Q47 V32. Improved my quant score by 8 points and verbal – by 1 point only.

Even though it is just the beginning of my GMAT journey and 650 is not a good score at all, I wanted to share this experience with you. This 70 points improvement would have been IMPOSSIBLE without EMPOWERgmat. The next 70 points improvement will come from the stress management during the exam and from more preparation for the verbal section.

Good luck to you all!

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
Verified Real Student Review

740! You'd have to be nuts to use another course.

5 stars
September 28, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Max and Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
EMPOWERgmat helped me earn 740, the 97th percentile.

On my first GMAT Prep test I scored a 520, and although I was kind of terrified, I learned that that was actually better than the average starting score, which made me feel a lot better. I set about following the 3 month study plan with an obsession. I think the thing that made the biggest difference is understanding that to get good at answering GMAT questions, and working the adaptive CAT, you have to build specialized skills.

Here are the skills from the course, and my own reflections that enabled me to get a 740:
+Double check - Especially on the questions you know you can do. Early on, I missed way too many questions I because I made stupid, idiot mistakes. Rather than just hitting my head against the desk, I reflected on what bad habits were causing those mistakes. Before you click “next”, double check.
+The test measures thoroughness. If the question says, n > 2, don’t just think 3, consider 2.1.
+Attention to detail - When you read a question, read it carefully enough to catch exactly what it’s asking for because they’ve got a brutal punisher answer waiting for you otherwise
+Spotting the gaps - This is especially helpful in CR, and DS. In Empower, they teach about the 3 common flaws/assumptions: 1-No other factors, 2-Success, 3-Relevance. In every CR argument, you can count on at least one of them, and you’ll know how to answer every assumption, strengthen, weaken, and evaluate the argument question. In DS, knowing what’s missing makes finding the right answer a lot more direct, and sort of takes the mystery out of it.
+Being in control when you read - It's way to easy to race through the content as you read, but I'm sure you noticed that when you don't race, you're far more accurate. For me at least, it was night and day. The only way to perform at my best is to read with careful, slow, high engagement.

You should also follow EMPOWERgmat's rules to picking your best score really carefully. That changed everything for me. I owe EMPOWERgmat everything for sharing this strategy, and I hope that others can benefit from the system the same way I did. The course did it all. It teaches the content, the tactics, and the x-factors, and for a fraction of the price of other courses.

Taking EMPOWERgmat is like leasing a Rolls Royce for $99 month. It feels like it's too good to be true, but it's the real deal. You'd have to be nuts to take another course.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: Stockholms university
Major: Finance
Industry: Student
Country: Sweden
Verified Real Student Review

Best verbal techniques out there and great fundamental tricks to ace the GMAT

5 stars
September 23, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I came across Empowergmat here on the forums and since my verbal and math skills were stagnating around the 33/42 mark I felt like giving them a try.

I only took the course for one month as a way to prepare for my official Gmat that was creeping closer each day but I learned so many techniques and ways to think about the test!

I especially loved the verbal modules as the key techniques and understandings I derived from the course quickly got my verbal from a 33 to the 40 range. I also really liked the Little things that they added, such as how you should view the test and what really matters.

All in all i am extremely happy about the experience and feel that it would have taken a lot longer time to reach the 700 level (even more to get a 720) without the use of Empowergmat.

Thank you Max & Rich for your teachings!

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Major: Economics
Country: Greece
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT is the company to choose if you want maximum results with minimum cost.

5 stars
September 16, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
I started studying alone for GMAT in November 2014 using the Official Guide books, the Manhattan Prep Tests and Kaplan 800. At that time, I was scoring around 590 level, which was good considering that I had just started studying for GMAT and I did not have any previous encounter with that type of math or verbal questions. I studied for approximately 5 months but I wasn't making any notable progress. While I was strong on Verbal, my Quant skills suffered considerably (they were hoovering at the 39 level while Verbal was at approximately at 34). It was then when I decided to seek for help.
I decided to try EmpowerGMAT because I needed help with the Quant Section before anything else and I had read many good things in the forums about Rich, the math tutor of empowerGMAT. This course was also one of the cheapest to buy out there.
The entire course is comprised of modules that teach you tactics and strategies for every single part of the exam by solving real GMAT questions. You will learn methods that will help you solve Quant questions very easily, methods that will help you divide long RC passages to smaller segments, tricks to identify wrong answers in CR and many others. EmpowerGMAT teaches you the tricks to solve certain questions that they seemed hard before, and how to avoid lengthy calculations that eat away your remaining time.
Overall, the course is great, the whole team is very helpful and they try hard to answer any questions you might have as soon as possible. In my opinion, the one thing that made all the difference in increasing my score 70 points was that Rich and Max not only teach you how to solve these questions the easiest way possible, but they also teach you how the GMAT works and how it awards or punishes the test taker.
I totally recommend this course to anyone who wants to take the GMAT, give it a go and you won't regret it.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Program!

5 stars
September 6, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 720
I decided to try Empower after one of my friends, who had just started business school, recommended it to me. I was at first a bit skeptical of just having online classes, but they give you a lot of guidance (1-month plan, 3-month plans) to keep you on your feet. I had already spent time studying, so I knew all the rules, but Empower strategies really pushed me to process the questions more efficiently - particularly the confidence to dump hard math questions. I could envision Rich's voice encouraging me to skip a question when I was on the exam, which I had previously never been able to do. The videos were engaging and easy to follow and I really wish I had started with Empower from the beginning of my studies. Great program!

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

I owe my 720 to EMPOWERgmat! The most powerful GMAT Course.

5 stars
September 5, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 74 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 74 reviews
Teacher: Max and Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 720
EMPOWERgmat is crazy powerful. I was languishing in the low 600s for about 4 months and was starting to get really discouraged. Two of my friends at work recommended EMPOWERgmat and I signed up. The reason they recommended the course is because it emphasizes the things that lead to points. For example, yes the course covers all of the rules you need for SCs, but it shows you how to attack the questions in a way that make it so cut and dry. I especially loved the tactics on the verbal side of the course, which is exactly where I needed help. I was able to go from a V33 to a V44 in about 6 weeks, which if I had known were possible I would have signed up for EMPOWERgmat from the start.

If you are shopping for courses TAKE EMPOWERGMAT! You'll learn how to beat the GMAT and be a trained tactician.