Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 79 reviews
Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with EMPOWERgmat! 700 to 760 in 2 months

5 stars
January 9, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 760
I used EMPOWERgmat to help prepare for my 2nd crack at the GMAT. I scored 700 on my first try, but I knew I could do better on the Verbal section. I'm happy I found EMPOWER because their "Score Booster" programs provided just what I needed. The videos on the site cover all the details, without wasting any time. RIch and Max do a great job of breaking down the material and providing tips on how to best approach problems. One of my favorite aspects of the EMPOWER experience is that Rich and Max will always let you know which questions are "worth points." This made me realize that in the past I had put much time and effort into problems that were not necessarily as "important."

Their approach to SC helped me realize just how logical that section is and I began treating those questions with the same confidence I approached the Quant questions. In the past, timing was an issue for me on the Verbal section and I found the RC and CR EMPOWER tactics to be extremely helpful in my time management efforts. Come test day I was able to attack the passages with confidence and use proper note taking strategies to cut down my time spent on each question.

My Verbal score increased from a 37 to a 46 in just 2 months! My goal was to keep my Quant score (49) right where it was and to improve my Verbal score and that's just what I did in 2 short months using EMPOWER. It had been almost 4 months since my first GMAT attempt so I found the Quant Score Booster to be helpful in refreshing my Quant skills to get back to where I was originally. I 100% recommend EMPOWER for all retesters who are committed to improving their score and just need some guidance along the way!

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Score Booster

5 stars
January 5, 2016
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
EMPOWERgmat really helped me organize my approach to the GMAT. After self-studying for about a month and a half, I used the EMPOWERgmat Score Booster to inject some purpose into my studying. The course provided me with new, simple techniques for both verbal and quant and allowed me to develop an effective strategy for each question type. I started to understand how the test makers were thinking and I was able to identify the difficult questions that were not worth worrying about. If you are seeing minimal improvement with self-study or other courses, I highly recommend making the switch. The course simply gets to the point and allowed me the confidence to score a 730 on my first attempt.

Joined: Dec 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Good for that Final Push

5 stars
December 30, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: None
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 740
I had taken a course prior through another reputable company and that was great. It set the foundation for me but I needed something else to give me that final push. That's where Empower came in.

I think what sets Empower apart is they have a great support system in case you have questions and their material really reflects that they understand the test and want to give you every piece of advice to help you ace it, from your mindset going in, even to miscellaneous things like what you should eat or small tricks you can do.

Through Empower I was able to push my score from 710 to 740 and make no mistake, those last 30 points are very difficult to achieve.

Overall, a strong score is always dependent on your work ethic first. No course by itself will help you achieve your goals without it, but having Empower did everything outside of that to guide me there. Thank you!

Joined: Dec 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
Major: Finance
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highest ROI in GMAT Prep: It helped me go from 590 to 720

5 stars
December 19, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Most likely, I do not fit the profile of a lot of GMATers out there: My wife and I just had our first child when I started studying, I was running a de novo business AND I have been out of school for 10 years. I was short on sleep and did not have the luxury of dedicating time to a classroom course.

To sum up my experience with EMPOWER: Excellent. Rich and Max really try to get everyone to understand not just the concepts, but HOW THE EXAM WORKS and HOW TO BEAT IT.

Highly Recommend If: you are budget conscious; do not have the luxury of time to devote to a classroom setting; you have a good baseline to work with.

A very surprising aspect of EMPOWER: the staff and Rich are very engaged.
When you watch the lessons and listen to the podcasts and you hear Rich say, "email me - I want to hear about your GMAT experience" he absolutely means it. As an example: I was scheduled to take the GMAT in September. My infant son had not slept at all the evening before the exam. I went into the testing center on fumes. I BOMBED the verbal. My raw verbal was a full 10 points lower and my GMAT score was 100 points lower than my last two CATs.

I emailed Rich and shared my experience with him. Over the course of 1 day and several emails, Rich spent time trying to dissect if there was more to my poor performance than a lack of sleep. He loaded me up with a few tweaks to the Empower tactics, reinforced some others and off I went to my 720.

In fairness, I did need to employ another course to supplement my verbal. However, the tips and methods Max teaches in Empower are very helpful. “Patterns Patterns Patterns”
I would generally suggest to supplement the Empower course with a question bank outside of the OG with good explanations. Rich and Max do a great job articulating the concepts, but I still needed additional questions to practice on.

I do want to thank Rich and the Empower team. I appreciate your support and hope to hear about many more Empower success stories.

Joined: Dec 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great insides to boost confidence!

5 stars
December 15, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 610
Before using EMPOWERgmat's course I was using another online course that is very well known for its good quant explanations for over 6 months. I took the GMAT three times, but never scored higher than 570, whilst I needed to score at least 600. I explained Rich from EMPOWERgmat my tactics and he quickly gave me motivating feedback. During the entire course Rich and his team will boost your confidence that you need during your test. Some questions are just too hard to answer correctly and they distract you from answering other, easier questions correctly. EMPOWERgmat taught me that not every question matters and I listened to them, as I did not have anything to lose. During my GMAT quant I triaged (strategically guessed) four of the harder questions and I told myself they were too hard to actually count. Eventually I scored 48 on the quant section, an amazing increase from the 39 I scored on my previous GMAT and no I do not consider myself a maths genius, but more the opposite! I was even more impressed that I saw my score boost by this much in only one month time. Thanks EMPOWERgmat for the insights and the great and fun explanations. I am more than satisfied with my 610 score!

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended! 580 to 720 in 2 months

5 stars
December 12, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I was able to improve from a 580 to 720 (Q47 V41 AWA6 IR7) after just two months with Empower! I did use another test prep company right before Empower, but I really believe the tactics and tricks Empower teaches are worth preaching and their methods are refreshingly different. On test day, knowing when to trash a question was absolute key during the quant section.

I took a GMATprep practice test 2 weeks before my exam date and I got a 660. I was so disappointed and almost lost hope that I could obtain my dream score. But I tried my hardest anyway and what I think made the biggest difference was focusing on the verbal section. The same amount of points in verbal meant so much more than the same amount of points in quant. That was something I never would've realized without Empower. I should probably mention my quant score only improved 3 points since day 1! Without Empower I wouldn't even know how to study smart and use my time efficiently.

Now I am able to apply to my target schools knowing that my GMAT will not be the reason I do not get in.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: BYU
Major: Business
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Verbal ScoreBooster saved my GMAT score

5 stars
November 11, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 710
I used EMPOWERgmat a little bit before taking the GMAT the first time and I scored 640 - on par with my discipline and practice. I felt embarrassed by this score so I decided to actually follow the ScoreBooster module for Quant and Verbal. I studied for about 3 months consistently by going through each module outlined in the ScoreBooster packet.

My strength was not Quant, so that's where I focused most of my time initially. However, the more I focused my practice time on Quant, the more frustrated I became as my practice test scores were flat in the mid-600s. I decided to take Brian's advice from the EMPOWERgmat team and focus on Verbal.

Max's modules in Verbal were super helpful to exploit my strengths in Verbal. I revisited my past practice tests and realized how weak I was on CR prompts, so that's where I focused my study time. Amazingly, my scores improved. I stopped worrying about all the math formulas and instead focused all my time on CR prompts and SC tactics.

It all came together when I took a practice exam a week before the GMAT. I totally fumbled the Quant section in that practice exam, I was ~10 minutes behind pace and ended up racing through the last 15 questions, just clicking-through on most. I thought that low 600s was inevitable given how poor the Quant section went for me. I put myself back together during the 8 minute break and knew I had to just crush Verbal. So I did - all that practice really paid off. I submitted the last question and thought I would be lucky to get mid 600s. My score: 700. I was shocked! How could that be given how badly the Quant section went? I scored 99th percentile in Verbal. All that focus on Verbal redeemed my score and helped me feel much more confident.

So I took the GMAT the next week with the same approach - do the best I can on Quant, stay on pace to avoid the anxiety of rushing, and then just freaking attack Verbal like a rabid lawyer. I got a 710 and feel happy with that...

EMPOWERgmat's approach to Verbal was crucial for me. If you struggle with Quant or are just average at it like me, then I recommend doing the Verbal ScoreBooster. Exploit your strengths, and you'll achieve a higher score faster. Worked for me.

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Verified Real Student Review

650 to 740

5 stars
October 26, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 740
I decided to go with empower because of its affordable price, the score booster method which allows you to skip most quant fundamentals, and the various advice and strategies used to work around certain questions and save precious time for the questions that do matter.

For the Quant part, I feel that EmpowerGMAT will definitely be more helpful for people that already have a good grasp of the fundamentals but do want that extra boost by adding efficient strategies to their arsenal, such as the art of triaging and test it methods that must become like reflexes. While those strategies may feel at first counter-intuitive, I do feel that they are much more effective than focusing solely on extremely hard quant questions such as the ones you can find on GMATClub

The Verbal part is extremely useful; I would probably recommend EmpowerGMAT just for their advice on RC which will help you achieve easily 100% accuracy on any level questions. The CR methods are broken down to very simple concepts that are easy to apply and clearly show you which topics are worth more of your time. The SC part focuses less on remembering many complex grammatical rules, and is more oriented towards simple things to look out for, as well as clearing out obvious mistakes in wrong answer choices.

Unfortunately, I failed the official exam a couple of days after finishing the course. I scored a 640 while I was aiming for a 690, which I consistently got on CAT’s at home. I was extremely stressed, especially on the quant part and to my surprise the verbal was a complete disaster.

I rescheduled an exam for the next month, and sent an email to EmpowerGMAT in order to explain what happened.

I got in touch with Brian, who was extremely helpful in identifying the factors that led to the scores I kept getting, and just as I suspected myself, I was not correctly applying the strategies given by EmpowerGMAT. Furthermore, my knowledge of the material was not really an issue, and thus more practice questions were not going to help me much.
Brian also wrote me a detailed email that outlined exactly what strategies I absolutely had to implement on the test day. I felt that this email as probably the most helpful advice EmpowerGMAT gave me.

I only had enough time to test them on one GMATprep CAT before the real exam. I got a 710, breaking through the 700 barrier for the first time.
The next morning, I focused as much as possible on implementing the tactics that had worked the day before. I couldn’t believe the score that showed up: 740, ranking in the 97th percentile.

Those tactics helped me achieve a score that many, including myself, have only dreamed about.

I would highly recommend EmpowerGMAT, especially to the people that feel like they are beginning to stall and don’t gain any more points by doing additional practice questions. I would also encourage people to contact them directly and tell them about your particular issues or situation, the EmpowerGMAT team is extremely kind, helpful, and comprehensive.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT on Demand Course- Excellent for Non natives

5 stars
October 8, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Max Peterson and Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 750
I stumbled upon empowergmat via their 5 days for 5$ event that they had back in June 2015 and wanted to try the course out as I was looking for study tips and tricks to improve from my 690 in my 2nd GMAT attempt. I wanted to reach 730+ but had already exhausted all the available resources. I enrolled myself for the 5$ event and I was surprised to see the the depth and clarity in their verbal video tutorials by Max and the follow up questions not only cemented what you learned in theory but also taught you about the common traps. After the first day itself I enrolled myself for 1 month and as they provide a month to month billing (highly transparent and helpful for short term commitment that I was looking for!), it proved to the boost that I needed to push my score from 690 to 750 in 1 month.

Max's appraoch to CR completely changed my thought process and it made me more confident of dealing with 700+ level questions. The SC approach was straightforward without the use of unnecessary grammatical jargons. RC was taught with an eye out for achieving maximum accuracy while not going abvoe the average time per question.

Rich's test it and triage approaches in quant not only helped me in undertsanding the various time saving strategies, these also helped me in understanding the mind of the test maker at GMAC.

All these strategies worked wonders for me in the actual GMAT and I was able to clearly see why the incorrect answers were incorrect. Once i had this undertsanding, i was more confident with my answers.

I would definitely recommend EMPOWERGMAT to retakers who are looking at a highly compressed preparation schedule that will give them amazing results.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Country: Bulgaria
Verified Real Student Review

From 580 to 650; All Credits Go to EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
October 4, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 79 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 79 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 310
My first attempt was in mid-July 2015 and scored a miserable 580 Q39 V31. I was stunned with my quant score as I have never scored this low during my mock tests.

Luckily, however, I came across to the EMPOWERgmat course, which, I think, is the BEST available course so far. The studying process with the program is efficient and gives you the tips and knowledge that you will use during both preparation period and the actual exam. More importantly, Rich’s videos are so much fun as well. He is the real GMAT assassin!

Following two months of preparation (70% of the time spent on Quant section and the remaining on Verbal), I showed up at the test center. The AWA section and integrated reasoning went OKAY and then when I moved to the quant section I felt way more confident and followed Rich’s instructions. I completely failed in the verbal section as my RC skills are very low and was so frustrated that expected the exact same score as before. Anyways, I finished the test and the score popped up: 650 Q47 V32. Improved my quant score by 8 points and verbal – by 1 point only.

Even though it is just the beginning of my GMAT journey and 650 is not a good score at all, I wanted to share this experience with you. This 70 points improvement would have been IMPOSSIBLE without EMPOWERgmat. The next 70 points improvement will come from the stress management during the exam and from more preparation for the verbal section.

Good luck to you all!