Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 75 reviews
Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

I owe my 720 to EMPOWERgmat! The most powerful GMAT Course.

5 stars
September 5, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Teacher: Max and Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 720
EMPOWERgmat is crazy powerful. I was languishing in the low 600s for about 4 months and was starting to get really discouraged. Two of my friends at work recommended EMPOWERgmat and I signed up. The reason they recommended the course is because it emphasizes the things that lead to points. For example, yes the course covers all of the rules you need for SCs, but it shows you how to attack the questions in a way that make it so cut and dry. I especially loved the tactics on the verbal side of the course, which is exactly where I needed help. I was able to go from a V33 to a V44 in about 6 weeks, which if I had known were possible I would have signed up for EMPOWERgmat from the start.

If you are shopping for courses TAKE EMPOWERGMAT! You'll learn how to beat the GMAT and be a trained tactician.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
College: Tennessee Wesleyan College
Major: Accounting
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT to the rescue!

5 stars
September 1, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I decided I wanted to take the GMAT earlier this year and did a TON of research of self-study guides. I borrowed some books from friends, had some Manhattan prep stuff and tried to teach myself the content and familiarize myself with some math I hadn't done in YEARS. I took multiple practice CAT's and scored nothing higher than 700. With an average of around 680. I went into the real GMAT not very confident of hitting my 730 target score. I walked out with a 680 and very discouraged. I knew that to get different results I had to change how I studied. I looked over Magoosh, e-gmat, and EmpowerGMAT. After browsing forums and looking at the course overview I signed up for Empower. It was the best decision I made in my GMAT studies. I knew I wanted to take the GMAT again in around 30 days. I went through the entire Empower course in that time. There 1 month plan was a great help and I was able to pace myself through all of the modules. I had to put a lot of time in, but I was fully prepared to do so!

I begin to learn some of Empower's exclusive tactics, Rich and Max explained things clearly and concisely, and gave me such confidence. They have some great insights in how to BEAT the GMAT. And by that I don't mean get all the questions right, I mean information on how questions are composed and how the scoring works which allowed me to understand where I should be focusing. Their Quant is OUTSTANDING. Although I only scored a 44Q on test day, my 2 practice CAT's leading up to my real exam I scored 48Q on both. I didn't have a good performance on the day with Q, but that was down to me. Rich had given me the tools. Verbal was an area I knew I could improve. I felt VERY strong at RC, but SC was an area I knew I could improve a lot. Empower's SC is underrated. I read very few people telling me Empower's SC was good when I was doing my research. But it just clicked for me! I NAILED the verbal on test day and got a 47 (99th percentile) to score 730 Overall (96th percentile). I could not have done it with Empower. If you put the time in, they will give you the tools to ROCK the GMAT.

I feel like I could retake the exam and score 750+, but I have the score I need right now and will be evaluating my options for B-School!

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: The University of Alabama
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Review

5 stars
September 1, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
The EMPOWERgmat video course was incredible and definitely helped me beat the GMAT! I followed the 2 month study plan (after having used another video-based test prep method that I didn't love off and on for a few months), which is extremely organized and gives you a great outline of what to study and when. In addition to the great video lessons, there are also full video answer explanations for every single problem in the GMAT Official Guide. This was SO helpful, especially the week leading up to the test. I took 7 practice tests and ranged in scores from 630 to 700, and I got a 750 on the actual exam. Would recommend this product to anyone, especially auditory learners! It's very reasonably priced too.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: May 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Empower GMAT if you want a 700+

5 stars
August 24, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Teacher: Rick
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
EmpowerGMAT was great for helping me fine tune my quant skills to achieve a 700 score. I was able to increase my quant score by 9 points using their empower assassin techniques. Rick does an in depth analysis of all the possible topics that you will see on test day. I would recommend Empower to anyone interested in taking the GMAT especially if you are aiming for a top score!

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Personalized Affordable GMAT Course

5 stars
August 13, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 75 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 75 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I chose EMPOWERgmat because it seemed like one of the more affordable options. I have studied for other standardized test, and, from my personal study style, I knew that I needed 1) structure, 2) personalized action, and 3) a variety of resources that wouldn't break the bank. I only had four weeks to study for the exam. I started my study with a high diagnostic exam (670). I scored a 720 on test day, just 4 weeks later (while working 50+ hours a week at my job). EMPOWERgmat was the perfect resource.

EMPOWERgmat does not work on its own, but instead supplements some of the best print resources, including the Official Guide to the GMAT. Through its expert teachers and course managers, EMPOWERgmat organizes and explains the test's concepts in bite-sized chunks. After completing each problem, GMAT experts walk you through the solution. The difference between other test prep resources and EMPOWERgmat is that EMPOWERgmat teachers offer the tricks and shortcuts that can only be taught after extensive study of the test; these teachers know this test and all of its quirks, and they want to share this knowledge with you. While these tricks are not problem specific, the tricks are broad enough to apply to multiple types of problems, and the teachers suggest which problems to use which tricks. You will have plenty of time to practice using (or not using) the tricks to solve the most complicated problem.

One of my few criticisms is the lack of Computer Adaptive Tests ("CATs") built into the resource. EMPOWERgmat teaches many useful techniques and tools that you want to apply right away. No practice is as good as a CAT, and it was slightly discouraging to have to find other resources with CATs. Luckily, these tests are easy to acquire (www.mba.com offers two free CATs) and they are cheap. Even with the price of EMPOWERgmat and buying multiple CATs, the costs were minimal, especially compared with better known test prep resources.

Overall, I would recommend EMPOWERgmat for its flexibility (you can study in the perfect bite-sized chunks), personalized study (EMPOWERgmat has some of the best customer service, and their interface and program allows maximized customization for study), and the strong techniques (particularly quantitative) for mastering and excelling at the test. Thanks, EMPOWERgmat!