Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
(5/5) - 91 reviews
Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT on Demand Course- Excellent for Non natives

5 stars
October 8, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Teacher: Max Peterson and Rich Cohen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 750
I stumbled upon empowergmat via their 5 days for 5$ event that they had back in June 2015 and wanted to try the course out as I was looking for study tips and tricks to improve from my 690 in my 2nd GMAT attempt. I wanted to reach 730+ but had already exhausted all the available resources. I enrolled myself for the 5$ event and I was surprised to see the the depth and clarity in their verbal video tutorials by Max and the follow up questions not only cemented what you learned in theory but also taught you about the common traps. After the first day itself I enrolled myself for 1 month and as they provide a month to month billing (highly transparent and helpful for short term commitment that I was looking for!), it proved to the boost that I needed to push my score from 690 to 750 in 1 month.

Max's appraoch to CR completely changed my thought process and it made me more confident of dealing with 700+ level questions. The SC approach was straightforward without the use of unnecessary grammatical jargons. RC was taught with an eye out for achieving maximum accuracy while not going abvoe the average time per question.

Rich's test it and triage approaches in quant not only helped me in undertsanding the various time saving strategies, these also helped me in understanding the mind of the test maker at GMAC.

All these strategies worked wonders for me in the actual GMAT and I was able to clearly see why the incorrect answers were incorrect. Once i had this undertsanding, i was more confident with my answers.

I would definitely recommend EMPOWERGMAT to retakers who are looking at a highly compressed preparation schedule that will give them amazing results.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Country: Bulgaria
Verified Real Student Review

From 580 to 650; All Credits Go to EMPOWERgmat

5 stars
October 4, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 310
My first attempt was in mid-July 2015 and scored a miserable 580 Q39 V31. I was stunned with my quant score as I have never scored this low during my mock tests.

Luckily, however, I came across to the EMPOWERgmat course, which, I think, is the BEST available course so far. The studying process with the program is efficient and gives you the tips and knowledge that you will use during both preparation period and the actual exam. More importantly, Rich’s videos are so much fun as well. He is the real GMAT assassin!

Following two months of preparation (70% of the time spent on Quant section and the remaining on Verbal), I showed up at the test center. The AWA section and integrated reasoning went OKAY and then when I moved to the quant section I felt way more confident and followed Rich’s instructions. I completely failed in the verbal section as my RC skills are very low and was so frustrated that expected the exact same score as before. Anyways, I finished the test and the score popped up: 650 Q47 V32. Improved my quant score by 8 points and verbal – by 1 point only.

Even though it is just the beginning of my GMAT journey and 650 is not a good score at all, I wanted to share this experience with you. This 70 points improvement would have been IMPOSSIBLE without EMPOWERgmat. The next 70 points improvement will come from the stress management during the exam and from more preparation for the verbal section.

Good luck to you all!

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
Verified Real Student Review

740! You'd have to be nuts to use another course.

5 stars
September 28, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Teacher: Max and Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
EMPOWERgmat helped me earn 740, the 97th percentile.

On my first GMAT Prep test I scored a 520, and although I was kind of terrified, I learned that that was actually better than the average starting score, which made me feel a lot better. I set about following the 3 month study plan with an obsession. I think the thing that made the biggest difference is understanding that to get good at answering GMAT questions, and working the adaptive CAT, you have to build specialized skills.

Here are the skills from the course, and my own reflections that enabled me to get a 740:
+Double check - Especially on the questions you know you can do. Early on, I missed way too many questions I because I made stupid, idiot mistakes. Rather than just hitting my head against the desk, I reflected on what bad habits were causing those mistakes. Before you click “next”, double check.
+The test measures thoroughness. If the question says, n > 2, don’t just think 3, consider 2.1.
+Attention to detail - When you read a question, read it carefully enough to catch exactly what it’s asking for because they’ve got a brutal punisher answer waiting for you otherwise
+Spotting the gaps - This is especially helpful in CR, and DS. In Empower, they teach about the 3 common flaws/assumptions: 1-No other factors, 2-Success, 3-Relevance. In every CR argument, you can count on at least one of them, and you’ll know how to answer every assumption, strengthen, weaken, and evaluate the argument question. In DS, knowing what’s missing makes finding the right answer a lot more direct, and sort of takes the mystery out of it.
+Being in control when you read - It's way to easy to race through the content as you read, but I'm sure you noticed that when you don't race, you're far more accurate. For me at least, it was night and day. The only way to perform at my best is to read with careful, slow, high engagement.

You should also follow EMPOWERgmat's rules to picking your best score really carefully. That changed everything for me. I owe EMPOWERgmat everything for sharing this strategy, and I hope that others can benefit from the system the same way I did. The course did it all. It teaches the content, the tactics, and the x-factors, and for a fraction of the price of other courses.

Taking EMPOWERgmat is like leasing a Rolls Royce for $99 month. It feels like it's too good to be true, but it's the real deal. You'd have to be nuts to take another course.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: Stockholms university
Major: Finance
Industry: Student
Country: Sweden
Verified Real Student Review

Best verbal techniques out there and great fundamental tricks to ace the GMAT

5 stars
September 23, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I came across Empowergmat here on the forums and since my verbal and math skills were stagnating around the 33/42 mark I felt like giving them a try.

I only took the course for one month as a way to prepare for my official Gmat that was creeping closer each day but I learned so many techniques and ways to think about the test!

I especially loved the verbal modules as the key techniques and understandings I derived from the course quickly got my verbal from a 33 to the 40 range. I also really liked the Little things that they added, such as how you should view the test and what really matters.

All in all i am extremely happy about the experience and feel that it would have taken a lot longer time to reach the 700 level (even more to get a 720) without the use of Empowergmat.

Thank you Max & Rich for your teachings!

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Major: Economics
Country: Greece
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT is the company to choose if you want maximum results with minimum cost.

5 stars
September 16, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
I started studying alone for GMAT in November 2014 using the Official Guide books, the Manhattan Prep Tests and Kaplan 800. At that time, I was scoring around 590 level, which was good considering that I had just started studying for GMAT and I did not have any previous encounter with that type of math or verbal questions. I studied for approximately 5 months but I wasn't making any notable progress. While I was strong on Verbal, my Quant skills suffered considerably (they were hoovering at the 39 level while Verbal was at approximately at 34). It was then when I decided to seek for help.
I decided to try EmpowerGMAT because I needed help with the Quant Section before anything else and I had read many good things in the forums about Rich, the math tutor of empowerGMAT. This course was also one of the cheapest to buy out there.
The entire course is comprised of modules that teach you tactics and strategies for every single part of the exam by solving real GMAT questions. You will learn methods that will help you solve Quant questions very easily, methods that will help you divide long RC passages to smaller segments, tricks to identify wrong answers in CR and many others. EmpowerGMAT teaches you the tricks to solve certain questions that they seemed hard before, and how to avoid lengthy calculations that eat away your remaining time.
Overall, the course is great, the whole team is very helpful and they try hard to answer any questions you might have as soon as possible. In my opinion, the one thing that made all the difference in increasing my score 70 points was that Rich and Max not only teach you how to solve these questions the easiest way possible, but they also teach you how the GMAT works and how it awards or punishes the test taker.
I totally recommend this course to anyone who wants to take the GMAT, give it a go and you won't regret it.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Program!

5 stars
September 6, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 720
I decided to try Empower after one of my friends, who had just started business school, recommended it to me. I was at first a bit skeptical of just having online classes, but they give you a lot of guidance (1-month plan, 3-month plans) to keep you on your feet. I had already spent time studying, so I knew all the rules, but Empower strategies really pushed me to process the questions more efficiently - particularly the confidence to dump hard math questions. I could envision Rich's voice encouraging me to skip a question when I was on the exam, which I had previously never been able to do. The videos were engaging and easy to follow and I really wish I had started with Empower from the beginning of my studies. Great program!

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

I owe my 720 to EMPOWERgmat! The most powerful GMAT Course.

5 stars
September 5, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Teacher: Max and Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 720
EMPOWERgmat is crazy powerful. I was languishing in the low 600s for about 4 months and was starting to get really discouraged. Two of my friends at work recommended EMPOWERgmat and I signed up. The reason they recommended the course is because it emphasizes the things that lead to points. For example, yes the course covers all of the rules you need for SCs, but it shows you how to attack the questions in a way that make it so cut and dry. I especially loved the tactics on the verbal side of the course, which is exactly where I needed help. I was able to go from a V33 to a V44 in about 6 weeks, which if I had known were possible I would have signed up for EMPOWERgmat from the start.

If you are shopping for courses TAKE EMPOWERGMAT! You'll learn how to beat the GMAT and be a trained tactician.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
College: Tennessee Wesleyan College
Major: Accounting
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT to the rescue!

5 stars
September 1, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I decided I wanted to take the GMAT earlier this year and did a TON of research of self-study guides. I borrowed some books from friends, had some Manhattan prep stuff and tried to teach myself the content and familiarize myself with some math I hadn't done in YEARS. I took multiple practice CAT's and scored nothing higher than 700. With an average of around 680. I went into the real GMAT not very confident of hitting my 730 target score. I walked out with a 680 and very discouraged. I knew that to get different results I had to change how I studied. I looked over Magoosh, e-gmat, and EmpowerGMAT. After browsing forums and looking at the course overview I signed up for Empower. It was the best decision I made in my GMAT studies. I knew I wanted to take the GMAT again in around 30 days. I went through the entire Empower course in that time. There 1 month plan was a great help and I was able to pace myself through all of the modules. I had to put a lot of time in, but I was fully prepared to do so!

I begin to learn some of Empower's exclusive tactics, Rich and Max explained things clearly and concisely, and gave me such confidence. They have some great insights in how to BEAT the GMAT. And by that I don't mean get all the questions right, I mean information on how questions are composed and how the scoring works which allowed me to understand where I should be focusing. Their Quant is OUTSTANDING. Although I only scored a 44Q on test day, my 2 practice CAT's leading up to my real exam I scored 48Q on both. I didn't have a good performance on the day with Q, but that was down to me. Rich had given me the tools. Verbal was an area I knew I could improve. I felt VERY strong at RC, but SC was an area I knew I could improve a lot. Empower's SC is underrated. I read very few people telling me Empower's SC was good when I was doing my research. But it just clicked for me! I NAILED the verbal on test day and got a 47 (99th percentile) to score 730 Overall (96th percentile). I could not have done it with Empower. If you put the time in, they will give you the tools to ROCK the GMAT.

I feel like I could retake the exam and score 750+, but I have the score I need right now and will be evaluating my options for B-School!

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: The University of Alabama
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat Review

5 stars
September 1, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
The EMPOWERgmat video course was incredible and definitely helped me beat the GMAT! I followed the 2 month study plan (after having used another video-based test prep method that I didn't love off and on for a few months), which is extremely organized and gives you a great outline of what to study and when. In addition to the great video lessons, there are also full video answer explanations for every single problem in the GMAT Official Guide. This was SO helpful, especially the week leading up to the test. I took 7 practice tests and ranged in scores from 630 to 700, and I got a 750 on the actual exam. Would recommend this product to anyone, especially auditory learners! It's very reasonably priced too.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: May 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Empower GMAT if you want a 700+

5 stars
August 24, 2015
Company: EMPOWERgmat 91 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 91 reviews
Teacher: Rick
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
EmpowerGMAT was great for helping me fine tune my quant skills to achieve a 700 score. I was able to increase my quant score by 9 points using their empower assassin techniques. Rick does an in depth analysis of all the possible topics that you will see on test day. I would recommend Empower to anyone interested in taking the GMAT especially if you are aiming for a top score!