Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Kaplan

4.3 stars
(4.3/5) - 107 reviews
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Ryerson University
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best Question Bank. Mediocre Lessons

3 stars
June 16, 2017
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced 3 reviews
Teacher: Self paced - no teacher
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
1) Video lessons: I like this course because it provides general overview of concepts and the live sessions go in some detail for the harder questions. So I use it as an intro to concepts. But for the most part, the lessons on the actual prep site aren't very thorough. If I really want to learn details, I go to Magoosh, Manhattanprep books or Gmatprepnow.

2) Question Bank: Probably the best question bank. It has 3000 questions. And they're in the form of a question bank (which is what I prefer) No issues here. This is the main use I get out of the course. (But you can also buy the question bank for much cheaper separately... although I think there are less questions. But still about 1500. Which is great)

3) Math foundations - I originally bought math foundation with these guys and asked for a refund. It's VERY basic and it cost 200. Not worth it at all. It doesn't prepare you nearly well enough. The math foundations book from Manhattan prep was the most useful tool for me in preparing for the actual GMAT studying.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Brigham Young University - Provo
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great strategies and practice questions

4 stars
January 27, 2017
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 3 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Hammes
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 760
I needed a flexible course that could work with my schedule, which I found at Kaplan. I also wasn't sure a course would help. I was wrong. The Kaplan course teaches you how the test makers think and also helps you to understand the ways the test makers like to test you. This makes the test much easier and allows for quick gains in score. The practice exams and challenge workshops were especially helpful.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: University of Minnesota
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher and materials

4 stars
December 4, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Minneapolis/St. Paul 3 reviews
Teacher: Glen Johnson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 440
Overall, I had a good experience with Kaplan. I learned a lot through the in-person course. I had a great class size (5 people); everyone was able to get individual attention and also explain to each other why we got certain questions wrong or right and what our thinking was behind it. My teacher Glen was great, I'd recommend him to anyone. There are a lot of great materials online which were extremely helpful. The only thing I would change is that there's a deadline for which you have access to those materials. Due to me not being happy with my score I'll want to retake the GMAT, which I'm fine with, but Kaplan wants you to pay $50 for every two weeks until you retake it, which I think is ridiculous since I already paid $1400 AND received a score that I didn't like.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Preparation, and well worth the price!

5 stars
December 1, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced 3 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I did the self-paced, online Kaplan GMAT prep. I only had 4 weeks to study before taking it, so I had to do the self-paced version and work on it on my own. I completed the entire course in 4 weeks, took 8 of the 9 available practice exams, including the on-site practice exam. I studied for 8-10 hours every day. It may not have been the ideal way to study for the GMAT (in such a condensed time frame), but Kaplan's course made it so easy. I loved the structure of the course. It gives you the liberty to follow an established plan if you don't know what to do, and allows you to do your own thing if you think something works better for you. Kaplan obviously are professionals, and it it shows in their coursework. The question bank is amazing, and the number of computer-adaptive practice exams is the most important tool to success. I have had many friends contact me after hearing that I took the GMAT, and I strongly recommend Kaplan to every one of them. I had a hard time paying that much money for a prep course, but it was well worth it in the end. Your future may depend on your GMAT score, so don't be afraid to invest.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Very good course. Online quiz bank very helpful.

5 stars
December 1, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took the Kaplan course this fall and it was very helpful. The online quiz bank had hundreds of questions and you could sort them by style, difficulty, subject. The practice tests were a very good gauge. I took 3 after studying for a while and go 690, 720 and 700. I ended up getting a 710 on the actual GMAT, which was my goal.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

worth the money for serious test takers

5 stars
October 8, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced 3 reviews
Teacher: n/a
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I was pleased with the course…my score improved by 120 points from start to finish. It's quite pricey, but worth it if you plan on putting the hours in. There's a decent amount of instruction and practice.

The self-paced course was a good option, especially if you are working full time.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Would not recommend

1 star
July 18, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
My teacher was fine, but not particularly organized. There were only 6 in person class sessions. Geometry was not covered, rules were not covered, how to approach problems was only covered in a very basic, glossing over manner.

I got a Diag score of 610 and ended the course getting 650-660s on the GMAT Prep free practice exams. That is unacceptable.

I am now doing some hours with Manhattan Prep -- highly recommend them. They actually analyze how you are doing in a much more in depth manner, and the teaching is much more structured. They also use Official Guide questions, which Kaplan does not, and are significantly different from the ones Kaplan uses.

Do not use Kaplan.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Geology
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Verified Real Student Review

Perfectly organized and paced lessons

5 stars
February 17, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online PLUS 3 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Houston 4 reviews
Teacher: Various - Online
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
I decided on the Live Online version due to only having about five weeks to prepare for the test, with the thought that the online lessons might be hard to follow, or just not very engaging. I had taken one of their free "GMAT Orientation" live online lessons previously and did like how the instructor was very engaging and enthusiastic, and hoped that this was the rule rather than the exception.

What I found once I started the live sessions was that all of the Kaplan instructors have the same level of enthusiasm and supportive attitude that keeps you engaged in the class during the discussion and practice questions. The live instructor coupled with the additional instructors answering questions in the discussion boxes makes sure that none of the students get left behind or without their questions answered.

Overall, the live sessions coupled with the full length practice tests, quiz bank, app, lessons on demand, and other practice/study tools the Kaplan test prep was in my opinion a great value. I feel that it added close to 100 points to my overall score.

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: Colgate University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consumer Products
Verified Real Student Review

Good experience with Kaplan

5 stars
January 20, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Chauncey Bellamy/Loretta P
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
This was my first time using Kaplan, or any test prep service, as well as my fire time taking the GMAT. I likely would not have taken the course if the company I work for didn't offer reimbursement but I'm definitely glad that I did as I know it contributed to achieving the score I did, which was above my target.
The in-person sessions were great. Even if the teachers hadn't been fantastic, which they were, it forced me to devote 3 hours, 2 days a week to learning, which meant that my personal study time could be used for practice tests and quizzes. I only had a month and a half between the beginning of the class and my GMAT date but felt fully prepared on test day without having to completely cage myself up after work or on weekends.
The classes should fit easily into most professional schedules (7pm on weekdays, 10am on weekends) and I was able to easily find a make up class for the in-person session that I missed. Kaplan teachers were very knowledgeable, eager to answer any and all questions, and were never stumped. They also all seemed to have significant experience with the test and weren't afraid to point out areas that they thought Kaplan put too much or too little weight on compared to the actual test.
The online sessions were all well instructed and moved at a good pace. The database of questions and customizable quizzes was great towards the end of my studying as I could just focus on the areas that needed patching up. After taking 5 practice GMATs (they offer 9) including one "Test Day Experience" (you actually go to a testing center and take the test as if it is the real one) I was very comfortable and confident on test day. I actually thought the quantitative section of the real GMAT was easier than the Kaplan versions which was a nice surprise.
Overall, I started the course as someone who didn't much believe in the value of a test prep course but now would firmly recommend Kaplan to anyone and would go back to them if I ever have the need in the future.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2015
College: Tufts
Major: Economics
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Course!

5 stars
December 22, 2015
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online PLUS 3 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Tambornino
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 750
I've used Manhattan, Magoosh, and Kaplan, and absolutely loved the Kaplan program. I raised my score from a 700 to a 750, and I think much of it was due to Kaplan's support and test-day experience. I got to sit down and take an actual GMAT test in a certified test center, which I think is an incredible advantage to any student looking to embark on this for the first time. Also, the mentor they provided me sent me over an awesome "how to structure your homework and studying" guide that I've since passed on to anyone looking for help. It really made a difference this time around. Finally, the ease of use and sheer amount of resources Kaplan provides in addition to the standard classes/homework are awesome. The quiz banks and workshops were super helpful and kept me busy until test day. By the way, Joseph is a rockstar. He's a riot, likes to sing, and has some incredibly useful strategies.