Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Kaplan

4.4 stars
(4.4/5) - 101 reviews
Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Would not recommend

1 star
July 18, 2016
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 3 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
My teacher was fine, but not particularly organized. There were only 6 in person class sessions. Geometry was not covered, rules were not covered, how to approach problems was only covered in a very basic, glossing over manner.

I got a Diag score of 610 and ended the course getting 650-660s on the GMAT Prep free practice exams. That is unacceptable.

I am now doing some hours with Manhattan Prep -- highly recommend them. They actually analyze how you are doing in a much more in depth manner, and the teaching is much more structured. They also use Official Guide questions, which Kaplan does not, and are significantly different from the ones Kaplan uses.

Do not use Kaplan.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Geology
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Verified Real Student Review

Perfectly organized and paced lessons

5 stars
February 17, 2016
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online PLUS 3 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Houston 4 reviews
Teacher: Various - Online
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
I decided on the Live Online version due to only having about five weeks to prepare for the test, with the thought that the online lessons might be hard to follow, or just not very engaging. I had taken one of their free "GMAT Orientation" live online lessons previously and did like how the instructor was very engaging and enthusiastic, and hoped that this was the rule rather than the exception.

What I found once I started the live sessions was that all of the Kaplan instructors have the same level of enthusiasm and supportive attitude that keeps you engaged in the class during the discussion and practice questions. The live instructor coupled with the additional instructors answering questions in the discussion boxes makes sure that none of the students get left behind or without their questions answered.

Overall, the live sessions coupled with the full length practice tests, quiz bank, app, lessons on demand, and other practice/study tools the Kaplan test prep was in my opinion a great value. I feel that it added close to 100 points to my overall score.

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: Colgate University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consumer Products
Verified Real Student Review

Good experience with Kaplan

5 stars
January 20, 2016
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 3 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Chauncey Bellamy/Loretta P
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
This was my first time using Kaplan, or any test prep service, as well as my fire time taking the GMAT. I likely would not have taken the course if the company I work for didn't offer reimbursement but I'm definitely glad that I did as I know it contributed to achieving the score I did, which was above my target.
The in-person sessions were great. Even if the teachers hadn't been fantastic, which they were, it forced me to devote 3 hours, 2 days a week to learning, which meant that my personal study time could be used for practice tests and quizzes. I only had a month and a half between the beginning of the class and my GMAT date but felt fully prepared on test day without having to completely cage myself up after work or on weekends.
The classes should fit easily into most professional schedules (7pm on weekdays, 10am on weekends) and I was able to easily find a make up class for the in-person session that I missed. Kaplan teachers were very knowledgeable, eager to answer any and all questions, and were never stumped. They also all seemed to have significant experience with the test and weren't afraid to point out areas that they thought Kaplan put too much or too little weight on compared to the actual test.
The online sessions were all well instructed and moved at a good pace. The database of questions and customizable quizzes was great towards the end of my studying as I could just focus on the areas that needed patching up. After taking 5 practice GMATs (they offer 9) including one "Test Day Experience" (you actually go to a testing center and take the test as if it is the real one) I was very comfortable and confident on test day. I actually thought the quantitative section of the real GMAT was easier than the Kaplan versions which was a nice surprise.
Overall, I started the course as someone who didn't much believe in the value of a test prep course but now would firmly recommend Kaplan to anyone and would go back to them if I ever have the need in the future.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2015
College: Tufts
Major: Economics
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Course!

5 stars
December 22, 2015
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online PLUS 3 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Tambornino
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 750
I've used Manhattan, Magoosh, and Kaplan, and absolutely loved the Kaplan program. I raised my score from a 700 to a 750, and I think much of it was due to Kaplan's support and test-day experience. I got to sit down and take an actual GMAT test in a certified test center, which I think is an incredible advantage to any student looking to embark on this for the first time. Also, the mentor they provided me sent me over an awesome "how to structure your homework and studying" guide that I've since passed on to anyone looking for help. It really made a difference this time around. Finally, the ease of use and sheer amount of resources Kaplan provides in addition to the standard classes/homework are awesome. The quiz banks and workshops were super helpful and kept me busy until test day. By the way, Joseph is a rockstar. He's a riot, likes to sing, and has some incredibly useful strategies.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: Cal Poly Pomona
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

Great tips and tricks, but not enough time!

4 stars
November 4, 2015
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 3 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Southern California 2 reviews
Teacher: Barbara Delaney
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The instructor was amazing, she was detailed and made sure everyone in the class was able to grasp the concept before moving on to the next subject. We met a total of 6 times, every Saturday from 10-1 and 10-12 for the verbal lessons. The course comes with what they call "flex sessions," which are basically live online classes that are about 1-2 hours longs. These classes were really helpful, I definitely signed up for the same class more than once! Even with the short time restraint the instructors were willing to help and made sure to explain everything well. I tried studying without signing up for prep courses because my friends said it wasn't needed and I could study by myself. Oh boy was I wrong, as I was signing up to take the test I looked at the sample questions on the mba website and was completely lost. I did not know how to answer a lot of questions which made me very nervous so I decided to take a prep course. The instructors show easy ways to solve problems. You have about 2 mins to solve a question in the quant section, but they show you ways to cut your time down. Sometimes our brains are trained to make things more complicated than they are, I know my brain does that... The instructors teach you how to be strategic and how to pick your battles with questions since there is a penalty for not finishing a section. Overall the tips and tricks I learned are amazing. I just wish there was more meetings for in person and the flex sessions were longer. One hour is not long enough to learn geometry and statistics! I highly suggest taking this course if you think you're struggling. It's quite pricey, but I think it's worth it with what I've learned so far. I've gained more confidence for my GMAT.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great course with really helpful test-taking tips

5 stars
November 4, 2015
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online 2 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Houston 4 reviews
Teacher: Angela Hygh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
The Kaplan Live-Online GMAT course was incredible helpful for my test-taking experience. Going in, I knew very little about the GMAT itself and had not taken a standardized test or a math class of any sort in years. The teachers are very helpful and skilled at teaching ways to attack the test. They have an array of great tips that make the experience quicker and easier and will help you pick up some of your older/lost skills. I don't generally write reviews for anything, but this course was really really useful and well worth the time and money.

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: Lawrence University
Major: Anthropology
Industry: International Development/Relief
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course that helped me reach my goal score!

5 stars
August 30, 2015
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online PLUS 3 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 2 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Tambornino
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
The Kaplan teachers were helpful and engaging. The additional online resources like the quiz bank and practice tests were amazing, and the on-site practice exam allowed me to familiarize myself with the testing site before test day--SO HUGE!! I also learned a lot of time-saving tricks in the live online sessions that I would not have learned through self-directed study or the on-demand sessions. I would highly recommend this course.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Advantage Plus- worth it?

4 stars
July 28, 2015
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person PLUS 1 review
Location: Kaplan - Houston 4 reviews
Teacher: Omar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I was pleased with my Kaplan course overall, but felt I would have gotten the same out of an online course with a couple of coaching sessions (ie without the on site component). I found the flex session teachers were much more effective in their teaching styles and the TAs were ready to answer questions that came up during the sessions. Save money and forgo the on site sessions, in my opinion. I was very impressed with Kaplan's online platform.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: Brandeis University
Major: Business
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thank Goodness for Kaplan

5 stars
July 19, 2015
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online 2 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Boston 5 reviews
Teacher: Justin Doff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
First off, I can't thank Kaplan enough for their thorough and well taught courses. I learned a lot of great testing skills and tricks to help me through the GMAT. But what really blew me away was the customer service. Because of an injury, I was unable to take the GMAT when I had originally planned and rescheduled the test for February 2015. I called the customer service team a few days after my course access had "expired" and explained my situation and asked if I could use my Better Score Guarantee. They were incredibly accommodating and allowed me to re-register for another class. I was given access to every practice test and problem set that I needed to succeed. I cannot thank Kaplan enough for their professionalism and help.

Joined: Aug 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: UNC Chapel Hill
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Verified Real Student Review

Re-takers beware - Money-back guarantee is impossible to invoke

1 star
August 17, 2014
Company: Kaplan 101 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT On Demand
Teacher: N.A
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 660
My issue is not so much with the course material itself as with the money-back guarantee. I scored a 690 on the test in April 2014, which is not terrible, but I had really been hoping to break a 700. The reason I chose to re-take with Kaplan was the money-back guarantee. I was willing to pay $600 to break 700 or at least improve my quant percentile.

First of all, their diagnostic exam is dubious at best. I called before buying the course to verify that the 690 could be used as my baseline score, and I'm glad I did, because I got a 550 on the diagnostic which is about 90 points lower than any of my previous practice exams. Towards the end of the course, though, all my practice exams were 710-740. So you can imagine my horror when I submitted the real exam and saw "660" pop up on the screen, with no improvement whatsoever in the quant section.

When I called yesterday to invoke the money-back guarantee, I was told that because I cancelled my scores, there was no way to prove that I actually scored lower. In order to get my $600 back, I'd have to pay $100 to GMAC to reinstate the scores, which would also be sent to all the schools. So basically it's a catch-22: if you do score lower, in order to prove it to Kaplan you also have to send your lower score to all the schools you're applying to and jeopordize your chances of getting in... which defeats the whole purpose of re-taking to begin with!

Even if i DID do that, the guy on the phone says because I didn't take the final CAT (which is listed as "Optional" on the syllabus), I was ineligible. If I had known that the "optional" tests are actually "required" then I would have just filled it out the night before. But I'm sure that even if I did do that, there'd be some other technicality on that they'd get me on.

I was so frustrated and work up I was literally in tears and asked if I could talk to the guy's manager. He said that his manager would call me back in "24 to 48 hours," and then, to add insult to injury, he offered to allow me to repeat the course for free. (How generous! Keep in mind that the on-demand program Kaplan offers is entirely pre-recorded, and granting someone access to it costs the company $0. And it doesn't work.)

I'm just so disappointed and disillusioned by this experience. I'd be interested to see the stats on what percent of people who do score lower on the exam after taking the Kaplan course, and attempt to get their money back, are actually able to get their money back. (I'm sure Kaplan's answer is that nobody scores lower so there are no stats on that.) I actually thought that the course material itself was helpful so it's possible that maybe nerves or just having a bad day caused me to score lower. Either way, if you're considering re-taking the exam I would definitely not be swayed by Kaplan's MBG because they have a lot of systems in place to make sure that it's not actually possible.