Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Kaplan

4.3 stars
(4.3/5) - 110 reviews
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: University of San Diego
Major: Marketing
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Raised my score 100 points with Kaplan

5 stars
October 25, 2017
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person PLUS 2 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Berkeley 1 review
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 680
I found the in person classes super helpful with the Kaplan course. I ended up having a class with only 3 other people and was able to take advantage of asking a lot of questions. I also loved the online resources, specifically the quiz bank and the practice tests. I spent about 100 hours using the online resources and never ran out of study materials. I raised my score from 580 on my diagnostic test to 680 on my official GMAT by the end. I would definitely recommend!

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Queens University of Charlotte
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Live Online Course - Best Thing to Happen to Me

5 stars
October 17, 2017
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online 3 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Charlotte 1 review
Teacher: Gene Suhrir & Carrie Wright
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 450   After: 560
When I first started my GMAT journey, I assumed that it wouldn't be hard at all or similar to the SAT where I can do my best and just do well enough to be accepted. I was so mistaken. I opened up my GMAT book infrequently, pretended like I could make myself study when in reality, I'd go home and not do anything. Kaplan's Live Online course was the best thing to happen to me. Although pricey, it's on the lower end of most of the great study programs. Every week for 6 weeks I'd sit myself down in front of my laptop and listen and participate while the instructor was live on the screen. He was able to answer questions immediately if anyone had any or clarify any points that I may have missed or was unclear to everyone. It was a busy 6 weeks for me. Kaplan also has a GMAT channel with both pre-recorded lessons and live ones that you can take outside of your scheduled live classes. Lastly, Kaplan has the Qbank with thousands of questions for you to work through and get feedback on. I retook the GMAT the following monday after my last class (Kaplan advises you to take it at least 3 weeks out to soak in the lessons; I scheduled the exam before finding this out) and scored a 560. That's a 110 point jump from my previous 450! Now, this score may not get into a lot of the higher rated business schools, but remember that I scored that against the advice of Kaplan. Had I waited an extra 3 weeks, it's possible I could've scored even higher. I 100% recommend this to anyone who needs to have a live instructor but cannot travel or afford to have an in person class.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

So many resources

5 stars
September 11, 2017
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 7 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 4 reviews
Teacher: Greg Bunn
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I started my GMAT journey over a year ago - I took a practice test blind and scored 640. Bad score but not a bad place to start my studying. I began the course, while still in school and writing my senior thesis, and ultimately realized I couldn't put in the time to get to the score I wanted. I was hovering around a 680 which simply wasn't good enough for me. I spoke to my instructor and she informed me that I could "freeze" my course, which was a game changer for me. I probably wouldn't have gone back to the GMAT if it wasn't for that!

I returned to the GMAT about 8 months later and spent a good deal of time in the Qbank, recorded sessions, as well as in person classes. Kaplan was super flexible about enrolling me in new "in person" classes and refreshing all of my resources, which gave me a fresh start. I was impressed with how willing they were to enroll me a second time when I wanted to take advantage of the "Higher Score Guarantee" even though I hadn't taken the official exam yet.

Throughout my time with Kaplan, I was also very impressed with how willing the instructors were to listen to your questions, whether in person or via email, and give you thoughtful answers. As I approached my test date, my instructor Greg was incredible about answering my many questions as I did hundreds of Qbank practice questions between classes. He also encouraged me when I was doubtful of my own ability, and that confidence helped me a lot. I really appreciated his demeanour and help!

Overall, Kaplan was so accommodating and had all the resources I could've wanted for my GMAT prep. I highly recommend!

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Ryerson University
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best Question Bank. Mediocre Lessons

3 stars
June 16, 2017
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced 3 reviews
Teacher: Self paced - no teacher
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
1) Video lessons: I like this course because it provides general overview of concepts and the live sessions go in some detail for the harder questions. So I use it as an intro to concepts. But for the most part, the lessons on the actual prep site aren't very thorough. If I really want to learn details, I go to Magoosh, Manhattanprep books or Gmatprepnow.

2) Question Bank: Probably the best question bank. It has 3000 questions. And they're in the form of a question bank (which is what I prefer) No issues here. This is the main use I get out of the course. (But you can also buy the question bank for much cheaper separately... although I think there are less questions. But still about 1500. Which is great)

3) Math foundations - I originally bought math foundation with these guys and asked for a refund. It's VERY basic and it cost 200. Not worth it at all. It doesn't prepare you nearly well enough. The math foundations book from Manhattan prep was the most useful tool for me in preparing for the actual GMAT studying.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Brigham Young University - Provo
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great strategies and practice questions

4 stars
January 27, 2017
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 7 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 4 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Hammes
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 760
I needed a flexible course that could work with my schedule, which I found at Kaplan. I also wasn't sure a course would help. I was wrong. The Kaplan course teaches you how the test makers think and also helps you to understand the ways the test makers like to test you. This makes the test much easier and allows for quick gains in score. The practice exams and challenge workshops were especially helpful.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: University of Minnesota
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher and materials

4 stars
December 4, 2016
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 7 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Minneapolis/St. Paul 3 reviews
Teacher: Glen Johnson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 440
Overall, I had a good experience with Kaplan. I learned a lot through the in-person course. I had a great class size (5 people); everyone was able to get individual attention and also explain to each other why we got certain questions wrong or right and what our thinking was behind it. My teacher Glen was great, I'd recommend him to anyone. There are a lot of great materials online which were extremely helpful. The only thing I would change is that there's a deadline for which you have access to those materials. Due to me not being happy with my score I'll want to retake the GMAT, which I'm fine with, but Kaplan wants you to pay $50 for every two weeks until you retake it, which I think is ridiculous since I already paid $1400 AND received a score that I didn't like.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Preparation, and well worth the price!

5 stars
December 1, 2016
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced 3 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I did the self-paced, online Kaplan GMAT prep. I only had 4 weeks to study before taking it, so I had to do the self-paced version and work on it on my own. I completed the entire course in 4 weeks, took 8 of the 9 available practice exams, including the on-site practice exam. I studied for 8-10 hours every day. It may not have been the ideal way to study for the GMAT (in such a condensed time frame), but Kaplan's course made it so easy. I loved the structure of the course. It gives you the liberty to follow an established plan if you don't know what to do, and allows you to do your own thing if you think something works better for you. Kaplan obviously are professionals, and it it shows in their coursework. The question bank is amazing, and the number of computer-adaptive practice exams is the most important tool to success. I have had many friends contact me after hearing that I took the GMAT, and I strongly recommend Kaplan to every one of them. I had a hard time paying that much money for a prep course, but it was well worth it in the end. Your future may depend on your GMAT score, so don't be afraid to invest.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Very good course. Online quiz bank very helpful.

5 stars
December 1, 2016
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 7 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took the Kaplan course this fall and it was very helpful. The online quiz bank had hundreds of questions and you could sort them by style, difficulty, subject. The practice tests were a very good gauge. I took 3 after studying for a while and go 690, 720 and 700. I ended up getting a 710 on the actual GMAT, which was my goal.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

worth the money for serious test takers

5 stars
October 8, 2016
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced 3 reviews
Teacher: n/a
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I was pleased with the course…my score improved by 120 points from start to finish. It's quite pricey, but worth it if you plan on putting the hours in. There's a decent amount of instruction and practice.

The self-paced course was a good option, especially if you are working full time.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Would not recommend

1 star
July 18, 2016
Company: Kaplan 110 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 7 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
My teacher was fine, but not particularly organized. There were only 6 in person class sessions. Geometry was not covered, rules were not covered, how to approach problems was only covered in a very basic, glossing over manner.

I got a Diag score of 610 and ended the course getting 650-660s on the GMAT Prep free practice exams. That is unacceptable.

I am now doing some hours with Manhattan Prep -- highly recommend them. They actually analyze how you are doing in a much more in depth manner, and the teaching is much more structured. They also use Official Guide questions, which Kaplan does not, and are significantly different from the ones Kaplan uses.

Do not use Kaplan.