Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Kaplan - Chicago

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 4 reviews
205 West Randolph
Suite 200
Chicago, IL 60606
Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

So many resources

5 stars
September 11, 2017
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 7 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 4 reviews
Teacher: Greg Bunn
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I started my GMAT journey over a year ago - I took a practice test blind and scored 640. Bad score but not a bad place to start my studying. I began the course, while still in school and writing my senior thesis, and ultimately realized I couldn't put in the time to get to the score I wanted. I was hovering around a 680 which simply wasn't good enough for me. I spoke to my instructor and she informed me that I could "freeze" my course, which was a game changer for me. I probably wouldn't have gone back to the GMAT if it wasn't for that!

I returned to the GMAT about 8 months later and spent a good deal of time in the Qbank, recorded sessions, as well as in person classes. Kaplan was super flexible about enrolling me in new "in person" classes and refreshing all of my resources, which gave me a fresh start. I was impressed with how willing they were to enroll me a second time when I wanted to take advantage of the "Higher Score Guarantee" even though I hadn't taken the official exam yet.

Throughout my time with Kaplan, I was also very impressed with how willing the instructors were to listen to your questions, whether in person or via email, and give you thoughtful answers. As I approached my test date, my instructor Greg was incredible about answering my many questions as I did hundreds of Qbank practice questions between classes. He also encouraged me when I was doubtful of my own ability, and that confidence helped me a lot. I really appreciated his demeanour and help!

Overall, Kaplan was so accommodating and had all the resources I could've wanted for my GMAT prep. I highly recommend!

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Brigham Young University - Provo
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great strategies and practice questions

4 stars
January 27, 2017
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 7 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 4 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Hammes
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 760
I needed a flexible course that could work with my schedule, which I found at Kaplan. I also wasn't sure a course would help. I was wrong. The Kaplan course teaches you how the test makers think and also helps you to understand the ways the test makers like to test you. This makes the test much easier and allows for quick gains in score. The practice exams and challenge workshops were especially helpful.

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: Lawrence University
Major: Anthropology
Industry: International Development/Relief
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course that helped me reach my goal score!

5 stars
August 30, 2015
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online PLUS 3 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 4 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Tambornino
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
The Kaplan teachers were helpful and engaging. The additional online resources like the quiz bank and practice tests were amazing, and the on-site practice exam allowed me to familiarize myself with the testing site before test day--SO HUGE!! I also learned a lot of time-saving tricks in the live online sessions that I would not have learned through self-directed study or the on-demand sessions. I would highly recommend this course.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Nov 2009
College: Vanderbilt
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent teacher made the course a great experience

5 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - Anywhere
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 4 reviews
Teacher: Alyson Fitch
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
My teacher was amazing. There were many "ah ha" moments when she lectured and she was enthusiastic and engaging. I bought a Princeton Review book to get some extra practice tests and not surprisingly, the strategies for Kaplan and Princeton are very similar. What made this course great was the teacher. Having an advanced course option was also helpful since we did not have to review basic math concepts such as factoring etc. I started off in a regular class and then switched to the advanced one after a few sessions. I did not feel like I was getting much out of the regular class lectures but it was only the first few ones that I attended. The two courses have the same material and are taught from the same book, you just review more advanced questions in the advanced course and everyone in the class has got a 600 or above on the diagnostic exam or on a previous GMAT. My teacher was awesome for the advanced course, I would recommend her whether she was teaching advanced or regular. The online material for Kaplan is excellent, and is a very good option for people who don't want to pay for a full class. You get tons of practice questions and 9 tests. It analyzes your tests and tells you specific areas to work on. It doesn't just say work on math, it says work on "Number properties" or "Proportions" for example. Then you can create quizes on those specific areas.

The Latest Kaplan Forum Posts

The Latest Kaplan Forum Posts