Course
GMAT PREP COURSE

Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person

3.8 stars
(3.8/5) - 6 reviews
Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Brigham Young University - Provo
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great strategies and practice questions

4 stars
January 27, 2017
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 3 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Hammes
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 760
I needed a flexible course that could work with my schedule, which I found at Kaplan. I also wasn't sure a course would help. I was wrong. The Kaplan course teaches you how the test makers think and also helps you to understand the ways the test makers like to test you. This makes the test much easier and allows for quick gains in score. The practice exams and challenge workshops were especially helpful.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: University of Minnesota
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher and materials

4 stars
December 4, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Minneapolis/St. Paul 3 reviews
Teacher: Glen Johnson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 440
Overall, I had a good experience with Kaplan. I learned a lot through the in-person course. I had a great class size (5 people); everyone was able to get individual attention and also explain to each other why we got certain questions wrong or right and what our thinking was behind it. My teacher Glen was great, I'd recommend him to anyone. There are a lot of great materials online which were extremely helpful. The only thing I would change is that there's a deadline for which you have access to those materials. Due to me not being happy with my score I'll want to retake the GMAT, which I'm fine with, but Kaplan wants you to pay $50 for every two weeks until you retake it, which I think is ridiculous since I already paid $1400 AND received a score that I didn't like.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Very good course. Online quiz bank very helpful.

5 stars
December 1, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took the Kaplan course this fall and it was very helpful. The online quiz bank had hundreds of questions and you could sort them by style, difficulty, subject. The practice tests were a very good gauge. I took 3 after studying for a while and go 690, 720 and 700. I ended up getting a 710 on the actual GMAT, which was my goal.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Would not recommend

1 star
July 18, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
My teacher was fine, but not particularly organized. There were only 6 in person class sessions. Geometry was not covered, rules were not covered, how to approach problems was only covered in a very basic, glossing over manner.

I got a Diag score of 610 and ended the course getting 650-660s on the GMAT Prep free practice exams. That is unacceptable.

I am now doing some hours with Manhattan Prep -- highly recommend them. They actually analyze how you are doing in a much more in depth manner, and the teaching is much more structured. They also use Official Guide questions, which Kaplan does not, and are significantly different from the ones Kaplan uses.

Do not use Kaplan.

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: Colgate University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consumer Products
Verified Real Student Review

Good experience with Kaplan

5 stars
January 20, 2016
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Chauncey Bellamy/Loretta P
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
This was my first time using Kaplan, or any test prep service, as well as my fire time taking the GMAT. I likely would not have taken the course if the company I work for didn't offer reimbursement but I'm definitely glad that I did as I know it contributed to achieving the score I did, which was above my target.
The in-person sessions were great. Even if the teachers hadn't been fantastic, which they were, it forced me to devote 3 hours, 2 days a week to learning, which meant that my personal study time could be used for practice tests and quizzes. I only had a month and a half between the beginning of the class and my GMAT date but felt fully prepared on test day without having to completely cage myself up after work or on weekends.
The classes should fit easily into most professional schedules (7pm on weekdays, 10am on weekends) and I was able to easily find a make up class for the in-person session that I missed. Kaplan teachers were very knowledgeable, eager to answer any and all questions, and were never stumped. They also all seemed to have significant experience with the test and weren't afraid to point out areas that they thought Kaplan put too much or too little weight on compared to the actual test.
The online sessions were all well instructed and moved at a good pace. The database of questions and customizable quizzes was great towards the end of my studying as I could just focus on the areas that needed patching up. After taking 5 practice GMATs (they offer 9) including one "Test Day Experience" (you actually go to a testing center and take the test as if it is the real one) I was very comfortable and confident on test day. I actually thought the quantitative section of the real GMAT was easier than the Kaplan versions which was a nice surprise.
Overall, I started the course as someone who didn't much believe in the value of a test prep course but now would firmly recommend Kaplan to anyone and would go back to them if I ever have the need in the future.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
College: Cal Poly Pomona
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

Great tips and tricks, but not enough time!

4 stars
November 4, 2015
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Southern California 2 reviews
Teacher: Barbara Delaney
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The instructor was amazing, she was detailed and made sure everyone in the class was able to grasp the concept before moving on to the next subject. We met a total of 6 times, every Saturday from 10-1 and 10-12 for the verbal lessons. The course comes with what they call "flex sessions," which are basically live online classes that are about 1-2 hours longs. These classes were really helpful, I definitely signed up for the same class more than once! Even with the short time restraint the instructors were willing to help and made sure to explain everything well. I tried studying without signing up for prep courses because my friends said it wasn't needed and I could study by myself. Oh boy was I wrong, as I was signing up to take the test I looked at the sample questions on the mba website and was completely lost. I did not know how to answer a lot of questions which made me very nervous so I decided to take a prep course. The instructors show easy ways to solve problems. You have about 2 mins to solve a question in the quant section, but they show you ways to cut your time down. Sometimes our brains are trained to make things more complicated than they are, I know my brain does that... The instructors teach you how to be strategic and how to pick your battles with questions since there is a penalty for not finishing a section. Overall the tips and tricks I learned are amazing. I just wish there was more meetings for in person and the flex sessions were longer. One hour is not long enough to learn geometry and statistics! I highly suggest taking this course if you think you're struggling. It's quite pricey, but I think it's worth it with what I've learned so far. I've gained more confidence for my GMAT.