Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Kaplan - Houston

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 4 reviews
2500 Dunstan
5th Floor
Houston, TX 77005
Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Geology
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Verified Real Student Review

Perfectly organized and paced lessons

5 stars
February 17, 2016
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online PLUS 3 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Houston 4 reviews
Teacher: Various - Online
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
I decided on the Live Online version due to only having about five weeks to prepare for the test, with the thought that the online lessons might be hard to follow, or just not very engaging. I had taken one of their free "GMAT Orientation" live online lessons previously and did like how the instructor was very engaging and enthusiastic, and hoped that this was the rule rather than the exception.

What I found once I started the live sessions was that all of the Kaplan instructors have the same level of enthusiasm and supportive attitude that keeps you engaged in the class during the discussion and practice questions. The live instructor coupled with the additional instructors answering questions in the discussion boxes makes sure that none of the students get left behind or without their questions answered.

Overall, the live sessions coupled with the full length practice tests, quiz bank, app, lessons on demand, and other practice/study tools the Kaplan test prep was in my opinion a great value. I feel that it added close to 100 points to my overall score.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great course with really helpful test-taking tips

5 stars
November 4, 2015
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online 2 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Houston 4 reviews
Teacher: Angela Hygh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
The Kaplan Live-Online GMAT course was incredible helpful for my test-taking experience. Going in, I knew very little about the GMAT itself and had not taken a standardized test or a math class of any sort in years. The teachers are very helpful and skilled at teaching ways to attack the test. They have an array of great tips that make the experience quicker and easier and will help you pick up some of your older/lost skills. I don't generally write reviews for anything, but this course was really really useful and well worth the time and money.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Advantage Plus- worth it?

4 stars
July 28, 2015
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person PLUS 1 review
Location: Kaplan - Houston 4 reviews
Teacher: Omar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I was pleased with my Kaplan course overall, but felt I would have gotten the same out of an online course with a couple of coaching sessions (ie without the on site component). I found the flex session teachers were much more effective in their teaching styles and the TAs were ready to answer questions that came up during the sessions. Save money and forgo the on site sessions, in my opinion. I was very impressed with Kaplan's online platform.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Anil is a great Math genius

4 stars
August 5, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Houston 4 reviews
Teacher: Anil Shah
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
The math preparation was great. Anil did a great job in teaching skills for me to do well on the GMAT. Surprisingly I did better than I expect on the verbal and worse than I expect on the math. I found that I did better on Kaplan's practice test than the actual test.