Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Kaplan - Manhattan Village

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 6 reviews
16 Cooper Square
New York, NY 10003
Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: Colgate University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consumer Products
Verified Real Student Review

Good experience with Kaplan

5 stars
January 20, 2016
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person 6 reviews
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Chauncey Bellamy/Loretta P
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
This was my first time using Kaplan, or any test prep service, as well as my fire time taking the GMAT. I likely would not have taken the course if the company I work for didn't offer reimbursement but I'm definitely glad that I did as I know it contributed to achieving the score I did, which was above my target.
The in-person sessions were great. Even if the teachers hadn't been fantastic, which they were, it forced me to devote 3 hours, 2 days a week to learning, which meant that my personal study time could be used for practice tests and quizzes. I only had a month and a half between the beginning of the class and my GMAT date but felt fully prepared on test day without having to completely cage myself up after work or on weekends.
The classes should fit easily into most professional schedules (7pm on weekdays, 10am on weekends) and I was able to easily find a make up class for the in-person session that I missed. Kaplan teachers were very knowledgeable, eager to answer any and all questions, and were never stumped. They also all seemed to have significant experience with the test and weren't afraid to point out areas that they thought Kaplan put too much or too little weight on compared to the actual test.
The online sessions were all well instructed and moved at a good pace. The database of questions and customizable quizzes was great towards the end of my studying as I could just focus on the areas that needed patching up. After taking 5 practice GMATs (they offer 9) including one "Test Day Experience" (you actually go to a testing center and take the test as if it is the real one) I was very comfortable and confident on test day. I actually thought the quantitative section of the real GMAT was easier than the Kaplan versions which was a nice surprise.
Overall, I started the course as someone who didn't much believe in the value of a test prep course but now would firmly recommend Kaplan to anyone and would go back to them if I ever have the need in the future.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Colgate University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Kaplan GMAT - great prep course!

5 stars
October 31, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Jennifer Moore Soprano
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
The Kaplan GMAT course exceeded expectations - the curriculum of the course was extremely well laid out. Each class alternated between math and verbal allowing for intense focus on both mathematical and verbal topics. The instructor was incredible! She was personally invested in each student's success. It's critical that students complete all assignments as each homework task contains key elements covered during the corresponding class and previews for the upcoming class. My favorite component of the course was the "Test Day Experience" where any Kaplan student can sign up to take one of his 9 practice GMATs at an actual Pearson test center. This allowed for a real test experience so going on the actual test day was not intimidating whatsoever. The student has the opportunity to become acclimated to his surroundings and what to expect on test day.

Overall, a well-structured course that prepared me very, very well for the actual exam!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
College: New Jersey City University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Kaplan was a great investment in preparing for the GMAT

5 stars
August 21, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Carlos Hill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I would strongly recommend taking the GMAT prep course with Kaplan. They teach you strategic and tactical approaches to solving math & verbal questions. The teachers are very supportive and helpful. They provide you with insight on how to manage your time when taking the exam and different techniques to use to avoid being overwhelmed. They answer all your questions verbally and via e-mail. You get this great feel of confidence knowing that you will perform well after completing the course with Kaplan.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2009
Verified Real Student Review

A lot of CATs and very helpful

4 stars
August 9, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Stephen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I had to change my course start date 2 or 3 times and Kaplan was always very nice and accommodating. Also, I had to miss a class and was able to make it up very easily. My teacher Stephen was very eccentric but kept the class light and interesting. I was definitely not bored. However, I wouldn't recommend taking a two day a week class because you just don't have enough time to do your homework nor do you have time to really process the information. Kaplan gives you 9 practice tests, which is more than anyone else I believe, but they only give you 3 months to do them all. Other than that, they provided me with two GMAT books (because one became out of date, so they sent me the latest version) and working at their study centers and taking review workshops was always very helpful. I would recommend this prep course to anyone.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Oct 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Helpful in many different aspects

5 stars
August 5, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Rose Yndigoyen
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
The teacher was very detailed. She was explaining the materials thoroughly and giving many examples.
The class participation was great. The overall class was helpful.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Nov 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Decent test prep

4 stars
July 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Synder
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
Customer Service has been extremely helpful and pleasant. I had not taken a math course in over ten years and wish Kaplan recommended I should have taken their math workshops prior to beginning the test prep as I was lost in the math section. Other than that the classes are helpful. I would recommend the one per week class vs the twice per week class (as the assignments do take up a long time). Take advantage of the Pearson mock test as it is similar to taking the GMAT without getting a real score. Also, pracitce the CATs as often as you can to help improve your score and target areas in need of improvement.
Good luck!