Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Kaplan

4.4 stars
(4.4/5) - 106 reviews
Joined: Jun 2011
Purchased Course: Feb 2011
College: Tufts University
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

An excellent course with an excellent teacher

5 stars
June 27, 2011
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Cambridge 3 reviews
Teacher: Eli Meyer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
An excellent course to help prepare for the GMAT. I personally struggled with math, but both the verbal and quantitative sections were equally stressed and taught well. Kaplan's template for writing the essay portion of the exam also made tackling that section much less stressful. Eli is an excellent teacher and always explained new concepts clearly. He also took time to answer any questions during class, and made himself available for additional help before and after class as well as online.

Joined: Jun 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
College: University of Pittsburgh
Major: Philosophy
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great way to prepare!

5 stars
June 27, 2011
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Pittsburg 1 review
Teacher: John Barrow
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I had done no preparation and went into this class completely blind. I feel that was a good decision because the GMAT is all about strategy. You can study certain topics until you have them memorized, but without the Kaplan quick tricks you will waste time during the test and be generally inefficient in your efforts. This class was wonderful and helped me get to a place where I could do independent study/practice to boost my score those last couple points I needed to reach my goal.

Joined: Nov 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher, but overall course lacked detail

3 stars
March 5, 2011
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Indianapolis 1 review
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
I have experience using Kaplan, Manhattan GMAT, and Knewton.

As far as Kaplan, I think it does a decent job at giving you broad skills needed to succeed on the GMAT, but it lacks detail on the more difficult subjects. If you need a significant score improvement or want to break well above 700, there are better courses available.

Also, the Kaplan CAT algorithm was seriously flawed when I was enrolled. I was consistently scoring mid-500s on the CATs, and on the actual GMAT I scored nearly 100 points higher. (though I have heard that they corrected this in the past year)

Joined: Nov 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course curriculum, made better with a great teacher

5 stars
November 18, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - On Site
Location: Kaplan - U Penn 1 review
Teacher: Jason Garbowski
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730

I just wanted to write to say that this Kaplan course was a great class experience. Jason is a dynamic and enthusiastic teacher and that made the world of a difference. I was a little hesitant in signing up for a Kaplan class because I wasn't sure how much more value it would provide in comparison to just studying and practicing by myself, but in the end I'm very happy that I signed up. I liked the way Kaplan has structured the course such that it breaks up the types of questions and the ways in which they were asked. I'm also a big fan of the online interface, the analysis of the strengths and weaknesses, and the customizable quiz bank. Kaplan has clearly put in a lot of thought and effort into designing the Advanced GMAT course.

Jason's experience with taking and teaching the GMAT makes a huge difference in teacher quality. It provides the students a sense of confidence when their teacher can provide them a clear idea of what they will see and experience on test day, and what GMAC thinks about when they are developing the questions.

Finally, the class was held in William's hall on Penn's campus and there were quite a few Penn students (senior and juniors) taking the class. As a Penn alumni myself, I think this made for a better experience. When there is a high caliber of students, it makes for a more challenging learning environment and it makes class discussions of questions more interesting.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: The Ohio State University
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Positive Experience

4 stars
October 31, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan International 10 reviews
Teacher: Chauncey Bellamy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 640
Chauncey was a great teacher and focused on really implementing Kaplan's strategies in his students. He was very effective and I recommend him. Kaplan's written materials are great in that they are concise and easy to follow. Kaplan focuses on the content that matters. The online content is plentiful and allows for much practice. In terms of improving my score - Kaplan's course improved my score. It forces you to study efficiently and study the content that matters on test day.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Colgate University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Kaplan GMAT - great prep course!

5 stars
October 31, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Jennifer Moore Soprano
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
The Kaplan GMAT course exceeded expectations - the curriculum of the course was extremely well laid out. Each class alternated between math and verbal allowing for intense focus on both mathematical and verbal topics. The instructor was incredible! She was personally invested in each student's success. It's critical that students complete all assignments as each homework task contains key elements covered during the corresponding class and previews for the upcoming class. My favorite component of the course was the "Test Day Experience" where any Kaplan student can sign up to take one of his 9 practice GMATs at an actual Pearson test center. This allowed for a real test experience so going on the actual test day was not intimidating whatsoever. The student has the opportunity to become acclimated to his surroundings and what to expect on test day.

Overall, a well-structured course that prepared me very, very well for the actual exam!

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
College: Irvine, CA
Major: Political Science
Industry: Other Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely helpful GMAT prep course

5 stars
October 31, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - Anywhere
Location: Kaplan - Los Angeles 2 reviews
Teacher: Gene Suhir
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
This course was perfect for me because it allowed me to take the course within my schedule from the comfort of my own home but still giving me the classroom experience. The instructor and TA were extremely knowledgeable about the GMAT and were more than willing to share their knowledge (along with their humor). Everything from the moment I signed up until I ended the course has had no issues.

This course helped me focus on my weaknesses and give me a strategy to not only improve my weaknesses but to turn them into strengths. I highly recommend anyone taking the GMAT to take a prep course with Kaplan. It is more than worth your money.

rmd
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Work overload

4 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Queens College 1 review
Teacher: Jeffrey
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
A great course to get your feet wet. Expensive, but worth the money.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: Northwestern University
Major: Economics
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Kaplan teaches the strategy

4 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Boston 5 reviews
Teacher: Lisa Wolf
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I reall enjoyed this course. Though i felt the actual lessons on mathematical properties were not as useful because of my current skill set, the course did a great job to teach how best to beat the test using strategy to eliminate answers and get the best answer in the least amount of time. Lisa was great and was very knowledgeable and willing to help.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: SUNY Albany
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great tips, but intense

4 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 106 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan International 10 reviews
Teacher: neelam
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 440   After: 550
I took this course over a 5 week period, I would of extended it out if I knew it was going to be so intense. The course was great and the teacher was great as well. It gave a lot of good tip and ways to combat certain types of problems.