Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Kaplan

4.3 stars
(4.3/5) - 109 reviews
rmd
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Work overload

4 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Queens College 1 review
Teacher: Jeffrey
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
A great course to get your feet wet. Expensive, but worth the money.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: Northwestern University
Major: Economics
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Kaplan teaches the strategy

4 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Boston 5 reviews
Teacher: Lisa Wolf
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I reall enjoyed this course. Though i felt the actual lessons on mathematical properties were not as useful because of my current skill set, the course did a great job to teach how best to beat the test using strategy to eliminate answers and get the best answer in the least amount of time. Lisa was great and was very knowledgeable and willing to help.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: SUNY Albany
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great tips, but intense

4 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan International 10 reviews
Teacher: neelam
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 440   After: 550
I took this course over a 5 week period, I would of extended it out if I knew it was going to be so intense. The course was great and the teacher was great as well. It gave a lot of good tip and ways to combat certain types of problems.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: University of Alberta
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent!

5 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - Anywhere
Teacher: Justin Doff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I enjoyed my Kaplan experience because of the helpful, engaging, and genuinely motivating qualities of my teacher (not to mention his humour). Also, the resources offered such as exam banks, practice CATs, etc were invaluable. Would recommend.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: Manhattan College
Verified Real Student Review

instructor was great, but materials is a little lacking

3 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Washington D.C. 1 review
Teacher: Chris Hickman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I want to be very clear, My instructor was great. his teaching style and guidance were amazing. My issue with the course is that the material provided with the course was lacking. I can honestly say this because i am now doing the self study with Manhattan GMAT and the materials are much more comprehensive.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher, great practice

4 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Nashville 1 review
Teacher: Newton Jennings
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Newton Jennings was an excellent instructor because he's a full time math teacher. My problem area is math, so this was a perfect match. Kaplan offers a lot of practice material so you can become comfortable and consistent with the material before taking the official test. I was reasonably satisfied with how I scored on the GMAT, but I do plan to take it a second time. I would recommend this course; it's worth the time and money.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
Verified Real Student Review

A consistent and advantageous product

5 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Cambridge 3 reviews
Teacher: Eli Meyer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
After starting my course in Houston and transferring to Cambridge, I can say that Kaplan delivers a consistent and advantageous product: that of instilling confidence in their students through strategies and simulations of the actual test day.

Although the teaching styles that I encountered in both Houston and Cambridge differed, both were able to arm me with strategies and give me a sense of what test day would be like. In Houston, my teacher explained each problem's solution thoroughly, which proved beneficial for initially learning the strategy. In Cambridge, where I spent the majority of my Kaplan course, my instructor created an environment that encouraged learning but more importantly caused me to implement those strategies more efficiently. Eli randomly selected individuals to solve problems in front of the class and utilized the various Kaplan strategies in order to demonstrate their correct uses and the time allotment for each step. My main concern for every test I take is maintaining good time management because I can lose significant points if I don't finish the GMAT. But, with the challenges encountered in class, I am able to feel more confident in myself on test day.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Good foundational teaching; good online resources

4 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Schaumburg 1 review
Teacher: BJ Groenewold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I think the Kaplan classroom teaching is a great tool to get you up to speed on GMAT foundational principles, and how to approach each type of problem.

The online resources are perhaps an even greater asset. The online Quiz Bank (which is included if you’re enrolled in a classroom course) has thousands of problems, with answers and explanations. Lessons and workshops are also available online.

Though it is a really helpful foundational resource, I think that it definitely does need to be supplemented with doing a great deal of problem work straight from the Official Guide (GMAC) books. There’s no substitute for these, and these guides give you a better feel for the actual GMAT problems.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: Baruch College
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A tool to manage the GMAT

4 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The GMAT course on site was very helpful. It will teach the basics, the methods, and the instructor will work with you until you take the actual exam.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Nov 2009
College: Vanderbilt
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent teacher made the course a great experience

5 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 109 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - Anywhere
Location: Kaplan - Chicago 4 reviews
Teacher: Alyson Fitch
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
My teacher was amazing. There were many "ah ha" moments when she lectured and she was enthusiastic and engaging. I bought a Princeton Review book to get some extra practice tests and not surprisingly, the strategies for Kaplan and Princeton are very similar. What made this course great was the teacher. Having an advanced course option was also helpful since we did not have to review basic math concepts such as factoring etc. I started off in a regular class and then switched to the advanced one after a few sessions. I did not feel like I was getting much out of the regular class lectures but it was only the first few ones that I attended. The two courses have the same material and are taught from the same book, you just review more advanced questions in the advanced course and everyone in the class has got a 600 or above on the diagnostic exam or on a previous GMAT. My teacher was awesome for the advanced course, I would recommend her whether she was teaching advanced or regular. The online material for Kaplan is excellent, and is a very good option for people who don't want to pay for a full class. You get tons of practice questions and 9 tests. It analyzes your tests and tells you specific areas to work on. It doesn't just say work on math, it says work on "Number properties" or "Proportions" for example. Then you can create quizes on those specific areas.