Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Kaplan

4.3 stars
(4.3/5) - 107 reviews
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
College: Florida International University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Kaplan Works

4 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - Anywhere
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan International 10 reviews
Teacher: Emery Dora
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the Kaplan intensified class and in hindsight that might have been the only reason against it. Not that it is their fault. It's really mine for not stretching out my classes over a longer period of time.

Nevertheless, what the class did for me was amazing and really helpful. Little tricks here and there that get you to the result that much faster and save you time are the biggest things I got from it.

The teaching team was very helpful. They were very quick to respond and their classes were actually fun and informative.

I recommend taking a Kaplan course.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
Verified Real Student Review

This course helped me prepare completely for the test!

5 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Denver 1 review
Teacher: Richard Boutcher
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 510   After: 590
My teacher was always energetic for the two and a half hours of class considering it was at night! Also my teacher was always available for questions outside of class and always got back to us right away. In addition, the materials provided with the course were helpful because they went step by step through the processes so I had no trouble studying on my own at home.

lnb
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: Virginia Tech
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course!

5 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Teacher: Tarun Srivastava
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
My teacher was amazing. I am taking the GMAT on November 6th, 2010 and I feel very prepared thanks to Tarun. I highly recommend Kaplan for anyone who wants to feel confident and do well on the GMAT.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: Northwestern
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course!

4 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Evanston 1 review
Teacher: Can't remember
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The classroom was awesome - very clean and well-equipped. The materials were good and showed the variety of GMAT questions. Instructor was helpful and you can email him at anytime. The biggest advantage is the 10 practice CATs which allow you to simulate the actual test. Also, you can take the CAT at any actual GMAT testing center - simulating the test environment as well.

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: college of Charleston
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely Dissatisfied, Should Have Saved My Money

2 stars
October 14, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Private Tutoring
Location: Kaplan - Charleston 1 review
Teacher: ?
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: N/A
After spending three months studying through the Manhattan GMAT books and Official Guide, as well as taking numerous tests, I took the GMAT and was not happy with my grade. I set my date to retake the test and decided to get serious with the studying so I could beat this test the second time around.

After reading tons of reviews and evaluating my options (Mgmat, Veritas, PowerScore), I finally decided to go with Kaplan...which turned out to be one of the worst decisions I have ever made, not to mention a waste of $2200. Bottom line, I was essentially forced into doing a private tutoring package because there were no classes for months and came to find that there are no tutors available, and cannot be refunded. Instead Kaplan assigned me to an online tutor: who I have not heard from in weeks and has not returned my emails or answered my calls.

With that being said, here are my Pro's and Con's for this company:

PROs:
-Their methods are really comprehensive (even better than Mgmat) and they do a good job explaining them in the live online segment of the site
- The student interface is attractive and keeps track of your progress (so does Manhattan GMAT)
- You can go back and review things you got wrong virtually anytime
-You can take practice tests at Pearson

CONs:
-HOW THEY TREAT YOU AS A CUSTOMER. This has plain and simple been one of the worst customer experiences I have ever recieved. Simply put, if you're going to pay this much for a service, you would at least expect to be treated with respect and understanding. I could not be more dissatisfied here.
-Lack of available space in classes and with tutors.
-Slow turnaround time for requests and complaints from both the center and tutors- from the number of times I have tried to get in touch with local representitives, I have been neglected and felt optionless
- The practice test interface often freezes and I have to re-start the test to get back to that question

Summing this up, unless you can verify that their course has space for you, don't waste your money. I couldn't stress this enough, this has been a nightmare for me, and a month into the course my "online" tutor has yet to make even our first meeting, nor will Kaplan refund my course.

***Note from Kaplan GMAT***

Morgan – once again, thanks for bringing the situation to our attention. We’re sorry you had a less-than-stellar experience with your enrollment; you shouldn’t have had these issues. We take our customers very seriously, and we’ll use your experience as way to improve our processes. In the meantime, we’re happy that we get a chance to make things right – and we are committed to helping you achieve and exceed your GMAT goal in December. Good luck! We look forward to hearing your feedback following your course and a successful test day.


Thanks again,

Andrew Mitchell
Assistant Director, GMAT
Kaplan Test Prep
http://www.beatthegmat.com/member57538.html

Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: Samford University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Learning New Methods

5 stars
September 22, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - Anywhere
Location: Kaplan - Knoxville 1 review
Teacher: Gene Suhir
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 640
The Kaplan Online course taught me how to approach each question type and how to dissect the question down to its basic parts. As someone who had taken the GMAT, I was a little ahead of the curve than the rest of the class. But that did not matter, because the way the teaching is approached, its applies amply to any GMAT level test taker. The course is offered without a live teacher, but having a teacher and a TA there to answer questions as they occur during the Powerpoints make a world of difference.

This course is worth the money, especially with the huge Test Question Bank to create your own practice tests.

Joined: Aug 2010
College: University of Minnesota

With a family and full-time work this helped me focus on preparation.

4 stars
August 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Private Tutoring
Location: Kaplan - Minneapolis/St. Paul 3 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 550
With a family and full-time work William helped me focus on getting ready to take the GMAT. He was very flexible in meeting me at times that worked for my family and I.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2008
College: University of Utah
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Experience

5 stars
August 25, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Seattle 1 review
Teacher: Catherine Jang
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Kaplan Method is a very straight-forward way of going about answering GMAT questions. Cat was a fantastic teacher and really knew her stuff. Every aspect of the GMAT is covered in detail. Every subject has great tips and tricks to help you take the test smarter and faster. I would recommend this class to anybody who is looking to take the GMAT.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: university of Louisiana
Major: Finance
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT with Kaplan

4 stars
August 22, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - Anywhere
Location: Kaplan - New Orleans 1 review
Teacher: Kim Crowley
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 340   After: 440
It was a very enjoyable experience! My score was up by 100 as guaranteed!!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2009
College: University of Maryland, College Park
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

It Works!

5 stars
August 21, 2010
Company: Kaplan 107 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Gainesville 1 review
Teacher: Elizabeth Zeanah
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 640
I found the Kaplan strategies to be very effective and easy to follow. The course enables students to attack the GMAT in a different way, showing you where to focus your attention and how to assess a question. I have recommended Kaplan to at least four friends in the past year and will continue to refer the program to future GMAT takers.