Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 256 reviews
Joined: Apr 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Georgetown University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Flexible Prep for Disciplined Students!

5 stars
April 13, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Math + IR 17 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I used the online curriculum to prepare for the GMAT since my schedule requires me travel often and can change day to day. Obviously, in person classes weren't an option and this definitely worked better for me anyways! I didn't spend any time rehashing what I understood and focused instead on my areas of weakness. Not only did the program significantly improve my math skills, but also my verbal as well. Prior to test prep, I was scoring in the high 500/low 600 range. I worked pretty intensively (12 weeks at 2-3 hours a day, 6 days a week) and was able to achieve much higher than I anticipated!

Joined: Apr 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: University of Melbourne
Major: Chemical Engineering
Country: Thailand
Verified Real Student Review

MOST EFFECTIVE AND AFFORABLE

5 stars
April 10, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 237 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 620
Magoosh provides very flexible way of getting done. juggling with a full time job, i couldnt attend normal prep classes like many other people. Magoosh gave me the option to study at night. In only about 1 month of prep-ing i got the score that i can be happy with.

Joined: Apr 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Tool - Highly Recommended

5 stars
April 6, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 237 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I'm not typically one to write reviews - but I genuinely have nothing but good things to say about Magoosh. As a student that had been out of post-secondary for 6+ years, I had a lot of catching up to do, especially when it came to my quantitative skills.

On the first official GMAT practice test I took (December 2016), I got a 500. Needless to say, I was worried. After reading some reviews, I decided to go with Magoosh as my study tool and it really worked for me. All the video lessons were so helpful. Not only was the teacher excellent, but the fact that you did practice questions in the middle of the video (which were then taken up), was great. Also, the 1.5x speed option was fantastic, allowed me to get more in, in a shorter period of time, while still being able to keep up.

I wrote my official GMAT yesterday (April 2017) and got a 710. A huge improvement, in large part to the teaching that Magoosh exposed me to (alongside lots of commitment, of course - nothing comes for free!).

As a side note, Magoosh also has great customer support. I had to get in touch with them twice, and they were very quick to respond.

Thank you, Magoosh!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Purdue University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Utilities
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thoroughly prepared with Magoosh

5 stars
March 26, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 237 reviews
Teacher: Mike
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I was extremely happy with the GMAT preparation I received from Magoosh. I had about a month and a half to prepare starting from nothing. The first practice test I took I received a 540. I structured my studying such that I tried to watch the entire set of video lessons in each topic one day at a time, then doing an additional 10-15 practice problems if I had time. The lessons were thorough, and they stressed just the right points to maximize my time and effort. I believe that the questions on Magoosh were reasonably more difficult than the actual GMAT questions, so I would absolutely recommend using Magoosh to prepare. By studying for a solid month, watching each video, doing three practice exams in total, and doing about 200 total questions from Magoosh, I was well prepared and walked out of the exam with a 730. That score improvement of 540 to 730 was solely due to the preparation I received from Magoosh.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent

5 stars
March 21, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 237 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I used Magoosh as my only preparation for the GMAT, aside from a handful of books I purchased. I was worried that I wasn't going to be able to be competitive since I couldn't afford to take a $1000+ course. However, I found the resources Magoosh offered to extremely helpful and clear. I am naturally a verbal person, so I didn't use their verbal section, but I found quant section to be extremely challenging. The huge benefit of this service is that every single question has a video explanation, and often a text explanation with a different way of doing the problem, as well as links to relevant videos. The primary instructor, Mike McGarry, has a very clear writing style and was not only great at explaining how to do specific problems, but also at explaining entirely new ways of thinking. At his suggestion I started to develop "number sense," a concept I was previously unfamiliar with. Using this resource daily over about 6 months, I moved my quant score from the 40th percentile to the 87th percentile, and my overall score from a 630 to a 760. I was actually shocked by the score on test day - the highest that I got on a practice test was 710. But I was practicing with only "very hard" questions, so on the test itself I could not believe how easy it was.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Most User-Friendly Online GMAT Course

5 stars
March 20, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 237 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
If you're looking for an online GMAT study course, I can't recommend the Magoosh Premium Prep more highly. What I particularly like about the program is how easy it was for me to simply go into the program and practice at my own pace. I could customize my study plan and watch the video lessons that I needed to, skipping the ones where I already felt comfortable.

Before working with Magoosh, I had been studying with The Economist GMAT Tutor, which I also found really helpful. The difference between the two, however, comes down to overall value. With Magoosh, my access was for a full year, while I could only use The Economist GMAT Tutor for a few months. Magoosh's programs are also a fraction of the cost of similar online courses. I paid ~$700 for The Economist's program and only $100 for Magoosh's program.

The one thing I will note is that my practice test scores on Magoosh were consistently lower than what I was getting with The Economist GMAT Tutor. This was a positive result, since the low scores were a good nudge for me to keep studying and refining my strategy.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh was totally worth the money!

5 stars
March 18, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 237 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I signed up for Magoosh about a month and a half before my GMAT. I had just started studying but really needed something to keep me on track and make studying simple when I wasn't feeling up to the task of reading chapters in a book. The Magoosh video series was so easy to understand and the lessons are broken down into short videos varying from a couple of minutes to maybe fifteen minutes max. They were easy to start at any time and stop and the professors were easy to understand.

There were also about 1,200 questions provided for both Quant and Verbal sections combined and every question had an explanation. I paid $149 total for the online course and it was money well spent. I suggest you take this course for lessons and possibly supplement with outside questions and exams for more practice.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Bocconi University
Country: Italy
Verified Real Student Review

Mastering your analytical skills

5 stars
March 16, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 237 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
Magoosh was really helpful in making me look at problems from another perspective. People tend to underestimate the fact that 50% of the difficulty of the question consists in understanding what is actually being asked. Magoosh lessons, bot quant and verbal, put you on the right track to master question rephrasing. They help you understand what was the GMAC member thinking when writing the question and what capabilities are being testes. Moreover, the video explanations for every question are always really detailed, and they make you realize not only what was the mistake itself, but also the root of the mistake. So why did you make that mistake? What was your logical scheme that led to that misake? I'm not an english-native speaker, thus this kind of reasoning, of always going back to the root of the problem by backward reasoning, helped me a lot in mastering the Verbal part, where I scored 41, 7 points more than in the first attempt at GMAT.

In addition, Magoosh team was really helpful and available for any problem or technical issue arising during the course. Totally worth it!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

When in a pinch

4 stars
March 14, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 237 reviews
Teacher: Mick McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 650
I took the GMAT studying with friend's books for several months and got a 590, a score i felt was fair for the effort I put in. I spoke to some friends who were looking to go to grad school and who were scoring in the low to mid 600s. I was using a online tutor and she suggested that I check out Magoosh. As it turns out, I was already a member and had used their free week trial many months earlier. I upgraded to the premium and started from square one. Mike narrates most of the videos for math which was where I was looking to improve. The videos were simple to follow and not too long where I would lose focus. Magoosh's format is such that when I was at work and had a few minutes here and there I would be able to crank out a few problems or watch a video. Their app is also conducive for on-the-go learning. I took the GMAT after spending several months with Magoosh and scored a 650. A score which I am very happy with. I highly recommend Magoosh to anyone looking for that little something extra to help them study and for students who are on-the-go like I was.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great software - easy to use at your own pace

5 stars
March 13, 2017
Company: Magoosh 256 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 237 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The massive bank of questions with detailed explanation videos helped me really perfect my strategy and really master the material.

I would recommend Magoosh to anyone, great deal for the price point. Only qualm that I had with it was that it seemed to greatly decrease the scores on practice tests which was a bit discouraging! I got 680 and 710 on the GMAT Prep practice tests and 710 on actual test. On Magoosh practice tests I never broke 600! While this did frustrate me it also motivated me to study harder so maybe it's a pro for some!

Overall great product. Would recommend for anyone looking to improve their GMAT techniques and strategy.