Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh Premium Prep

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 258 reviews
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Very very helpful!

5 stars
August 12, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I subscribed to Magoosh about one month before my GMAT date and used only their site (and flashcards app on iPhone) to prepare, and I was very very happy with my experience! The platform is extremely easy to use and the lessons are SUPER helpful- both quantitive and verbal. What I found most helpful was that after doing practice tests (or just any practice question) on Magoosh, instead of only seeing the correct answer, they have individual videos for each question that explain how the correct answer was obtained and why the others were wrong. Also, they give you very in-depth statistics about your performance, like what specific topics you are best and worst at, linking you to videos that deal with these topics specifically. Overall I am very very happy I used Magoosh and thankful this platform is so well done!!

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: The London School of Economics and Political Science
Major: Political Science
Industry: Accounting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect tool for GMAT in 5 weeks

5 stars
August 11, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I'd first and foremost like to thank Magoosh for delivering such a high quality product at such a fair price. As the title suggests, I went from having never heard of the GMAT to sitting it today in 7 weeks, whilst working a full-time job and getting 720. From my first practice test in the low-mid 600's five weeks ago, just before I signed up to Magoosh, todayrepresented a good 70/80 point improvement (despite my Quant not being as good as expected because of my own nerves/concentration lapses and no fault of Magoosh).

For somebody in my position, who is self-motivated, Magoosh is the perfect product and here is why:
- Excellent quality of resources - Mike McGarry's tutelage for the Quant was exceptional. The content is always snappy and no frills. If you are realistic about where you need to give yourself help, the video bank has you covered. I can't say as much for the Verbal because I didn't use it very much, taking the approach that Quant is where I needed improvement and basically free-styled the Verbal for lack of a better term.
- Fantastic customer service - all of my interactions with the product and its team have been very positive. There is a great array of resources, with the blog, the phone apps, etc. Also, the product feels very positive to use and the atmosphere is friendly. There will no doubt be bad and good days and I found it easy to pick myself back up on Magoosh, knowing I'd be back listening to Mike.
- Very decent question bank - enough said, but it did the job for the period of time I had.
- Great value - clearly $150 is an absolute bargain. In comparison with The Economist's app at £500 for 3 months (an app which I was not thrilled by trialling), I think there is little doubt that this is hands down the best value for money out there.

Overall, a very valuable product. I should caveat, however, that I am somebody who is self-disciplined and also good at self-diagnosing where I need help with things. One thing I would say is that Magoosh is what you make of it, and whilst it gave me every tool I needed, I'd suggest everybody thinks about what they need when selecting a service. If you need a more full-on GMAT course, I'd recommend thinking about how best to integrate Magoosh into your arsenal, but, at its price and with the content and resources it has, I can't see how you can go wrong with buying the Premium Prep course.

Thanks again Magoosh,

Harry

Joined: Dec 2013
Purchased Course: May 2016
College: uk
Major: Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best Course available at affordable price

5 stars
August 9, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Mike
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 730
Magooh helped me build core grammatical concepts, that helped me solve SC question. The free idiom book is an asset given to those who are preparing for GMAT. No course explained idioms in such a lucid way.
Though, I am strong in quant, I went through the videos of quant and solving the same question becomes easier after watching videos of magoosh. I especially like videos of P&C and probability very much. One thing I can simply say about magooh is that no test prep company on this planet can give such a good course at such a price.

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: Singapore Management University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

Incredible bite-sized lessons packed with information and an insatiable question bank

5 stars
August 7, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Magoosh was an absolute godsend for my GMAT preparation.

Before I heard of Magoosh I reckoned that I could get by purely based on practicing questions from the OG, but that's not nearly enough to score in top 10%. To get a 700+ score you need lessons, and lots of them.

Most importantly you need quality practice questions done ON A COMPUTER! You can't simply practice off a book because the experience is complete different. You need to get used to computer adaptive testing and looking up and down from the screen to your scratchpad and back.

Magoosh is great for this because:
1) Math lessons are succint and provide numerous shortcuts
2) Math practice problems are considerably harder than those on the actual exam. This lets you get acclimatized to the intensity and the requirements of the GMAT exam
3) Every single practice question has an answer video with detailed explanations behind it
4) Magoosh support replies within one day and answers any questions in a detailed manner

All of these combined for the relatively low price of 100-200$ is nothing short of magical.

Joined: May 2011
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Washington University in St. Louis
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

40 Point Improvement - 6 Years Later

5 stars
August 2, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Self- Taught
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 700
Magoosh is a fantastic tool for someone who's looking to avoid the classroom (and the classroom cost) but wants effective and efficient training. I studied for 3 months with Magoosh, and was able to hit my target score on my first attempt. My approach was to try and cover as much as possible within the 3 months, and I firmly believe that if I had another month/took the test again, I could have done even better. In addition to the tools and videos, Magoosh's customer service is bar none. I would send questions around 12 am EST and would wake up at 6 EST to answers. Would recommend 10x over.

Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

30 point jump in 1 month!

5 stars
August 1, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 660
I only had 1 month until I re-sat my exam and I'm so glad I leaned on Magoosh for that intense 30 day study. The video explanations for each problem helped me to change the way I approached problems... I felt like I could hear Mike McGarry's voice walking me through the answer choices on the day of the exam!

Albeit I'm still not at my ideal score, I'd say a 30 point jump in just 30 days of unsupervised study was pretty impressive. I look forward to studying even more and working harder for my third attempt at the GMAT!

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Plymouth University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: Vietnam
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommnded GMAT course

5 stars
July 28, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I started learning GMAT at Magoosh five months ago and I am extremely satisfied with not only the in-depth explaination provided by the Tutor but also the support from staff when i encountered any problems. I took GMAT Exam after 5 months studying part-time and got a 740. I highly recommend students to attend a Magoosh Gmat course.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: West Bengal university of technology
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Perfect place to start off your preparations th the

4 stars
July 24, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Mike mcgarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took magoosh premium gmat premium 2 months ago.The tutorials are of immense help for a newbie.Even before you start solving problems,I advise to go through the full tutorials at least twice.Once do with was in a very solid ground.the problem s are quite exhaustive and the videos provide enough materials to understand the problem in detail.I only used magoosh for a month and then also started with beat the gnat forum.Thr gmat blogs are one of the best available materials online.For a beginner ,I will surely recommend it.

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: Amity University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best course in terms of being not too much to go through.

5 stars
July 24, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
The cost is attractive and its worth every cent. The course has math videos by Mike McGarry ( who also writes the Magoosh GMat Blog - very good) The videos are topic wise and short, to the point with examples. I'd say go through a video once and try some problems. The second time you go through the video you'll pick up on finer points. Mike is a great teacher and I loved Math. He shares "Big Ideas" in the video for advanced topics like numbers and these Ideas once understood can make doing 700 level questions a matter of seconds.
The SC section is excellent and better to do SC with Magoosh and outside practice questions than Manhattan prep. I did CR via Powerscore CR Bible so I don't comment on Magoosh CR but if you have shortage of time I say its ok. RC I saw videos and they are good but I didnt use RC as I am confident of RC.
All in all its a great tool. They have a lot of articles that talk about your prep. The two practice tests gaged my level - I got 700 in one and 760 in the second. The explanations are there to all questions on magoosh - video and text with alternate explanations. They have around thousand practice questions for Math an Verbal and the Important thing is that each question tests you. so i suggest watch the explanation even if you get it right.
The idea is to chill in your gmat rep and Magoosh takes it so. Overloading with questions that can be redundant is just a waste in my opinion so try Magoosh u'll find their to the point in their prep strategy. They give you what you need and want and don't waste your stamina.
Also go through the Magoosh blog in case of being stuck in any topic like ratio and proportion they have a great way of teaching.

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Clemson University
Major: Biology
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Study right and get the score you want.

5 stars
July 14, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Magoosh is a great tool, especially for someone who has never taken the GMAT before. I had not taken formal math or english courses since high school (Biology major), but Magoosh made it easy to learn the basics that eventually led to more advanced understanding.

The first practice test I took was a 550, but after studying Magoosh for six months (using their six-month study plan), I was able to bring my practice test score up to a 650, which was 30 points away from my 680 goal. Although this cannot be proven, I believe that the Magoosh practice tests were harder than the actual GMAT. At no point during my actual GMAT, did I feel like the questions were harder than the Magoosh questions. This greatly enhanced my confidence and led to my eventual 720 score.

For those considering Magoosh, my only recommendation is to stick to a study plan. The independent study nature of Magoosh can make it difficult to remain diligent in your preparation. If you stick to a plan and have a clear goal, then you will succeed.