Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 262 reviews
Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent

5 stars
March 21, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I used Magoosh as my only preparation for the GMAT, aside from a handful of books I purchased. I was worried that I wasn't going to be able to be competitive since I couldn't afford to take a $1000+ course. However, I found the resources Magoosh offered to extremely helpful and clear. I am naturally a verbal person, so I didn't use their verbal section, but I found quant section to be extremely challenging. The huge benefit of this service is that every single question has a video explanation, and often a text explanation with a different way of doing the problem, as well as links to relevant videos. The primary instructor, Mike McGarry, has a very clear writing style and was not only great at explaining how to do specific problems, but also at explaining entirely new ways of thinking. At his suggestion I started to develop "number sense," a concept I was previously unfamiliar with. Using this resource daily over about 6 months, I moved my quant score from the 40th percentile to the 87th percentile, and my overall score from a 630 to a 760. I was actually shocked by the score on test day - the highest that I got on a practice test was 710. But I was practicing with only "very hard" questions, so on the test itself I could not believe how easy it was.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Most User-Friendly Online GMAT Course

5 stars
March 20, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
If you're looking for an online GMAT study course, I can't recommend the Magoosh Premium Prep more highly. What I particularly like about the program is how easy it was for me to simply go into the program and practice at my own pace. I could customize my study plan and watch the video lessons that I needed to, skipping the ones where I already felt comfortable.

Before working with Magoosh, I had been studying with The Economist GMAT Tutor, which I also found really helpful. The difference between the two, however, comes down to overall value. With Magoosh, my access was for a full year, while I could only use The Economist GMAT Tutor for a few months. Magoosh's programs are also a fraction of the cost of similar online courses. I paid ~$700 for The Economist's program and only $100 for Magoosh's program.

The one thing I will note is that my practice test scores on Magoosh were consistently lower than what I was getting with The Economist GMAT Tutor. This was a positive result, since the low scores were a good nudge for me to keep studying and refining my strategy.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh was totally worth the money!

5 stars
March 18, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I signed up for Magoosh about a month and a half before my GMAT. I had just started studying but really needed something to keep me on track and make studying simple when I wasn't feeling up to the task of reading chapters in a book. The Magoosh video series was so easy to understand and the lessons are broken down into short videos varying from a couple of minutes to maybe fifteen minutes max. They were easy to start at any time and stop and the professors were easy to understand.

There were also about 1,200 questions provided for both Quant and Verbal sections combined and every question had an explanation. I paid $149 total for the online course and it was money well spent. I suggest you take this course for lessons and possibly supplement with outside questions and exams for more practice.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Bocconi University
Country: Italy
Verified Real Student Review

Mastering your analytical skills

5 stars
March 16, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
Magoosh was really helpful in making me look at problems from another perspective. People tend to underestimate the fact that 50% of the difficulty of the question consists in understanding what is actually being asked. Magoosh lessons, bot quant and verbal, put you on the right track to master question rephrasing. They help you understand what was the GMAC member thinking when writing the question and what capabilities are being testes. Moreover, the video explanations for every question are always really detailed, and they make you realize not only what was the mistake itself, but also the root of the mistake. So why did you make that mistake? What was your logical scheme that led to that misake? I'm not an english-native speaker, thus this kind of reasoning, of always going back to the root of the problem by backward reasoning, helped me a lot in mastering the Verbal part, where I scored 41, 7 points more than in the first attempt at GMAT.

In addition, Magoosh team was really helpful and available for any problem or technical issue arising during the course. Totally worth it!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

When in a pinch

4 stars
March 14, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Teacher: Mick McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 650
I took the GMAT studying with friend's books for several months and got a 590, a score i felt was fair for the effort I put in. I spoke to some friends who were looking to go to grad school and who were scoring in the low to mid 600s. I was using a online tutor and she suggested that I check out Magoosh. As it turns out, I was already a member and had used their free week trial many months earlier. I upgraded to the premium and started from square one. Mike narrates most of the videos for math which was where I was looking to improve. The videos were simple to follow and not too long where I would lose focus. Magoosh's format is such that when I was at work and had a few minutes here and there I would be able to crank out a few problems or watch a video. Their app is also conducive for on-the-go learning. I took the GMAT after spending several months with Magoosh and scored a 650. A score which I am very happy with. I highly recommend Magoosh to anyone looking for that little something extra to help them study and for students who are on-the-go like I was.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great software - easy to use at your own pace

5 stars
March 13, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The massive bank of questions with detailed explanation videos helped me really perfect my strategy and really master the material.

I would recommend Magoosh to anyone, great deal for the price point. Only qualm that I had with it was that it seemed to greatly decrease the scores on practice tests which was a bit discouraging! I got 680 and 710 on the GMAT Prep practice tests and 710 on actual test. On Magoosh practice tests I never broke 600! While this did frustrate me it also motivated me to study harder so maybe it's a pro for some!

Overall great product. Would recommend for anyone looking to improve their GMAT techniques and strategy.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Major: Business
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Premium

5 stars
March 6, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 680
Magoosh helped me considerably increase my score. The videos are very helpful and well explained. They have videos for everything you need to know for the GMAT. The customer service is great, they always answer very fast and they make sure you have the best experience with their website. This is a great affordable tool, I recommend it!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: University of South Carolina
Major: Hospitality Management
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

620 to 760

5 stars
March 6, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 760
I took the GMAT 5 years ago with no studying and got a 620. When I decided to go back to get an MBA, I registered for Magoosh and began following their 6 month study schedule for people starting at square one. After three months I saw such massive improvements that I decided to take another practice test. I scored a 750 and a 760 on my practice tests and decided it was time to take the test. On the official GMAT I scored another 760. I absolutely attribute this 140 point increase to Magoosh. I probably finished less than half of their study plan, so can only imagine the improvement for someone with the time to complete the entire thing.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: UNC Chapel Hill
Major: Economics
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Wealth of resources and strategies for every component of GMAT

5 stars
March 6, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Teacher: Mike
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 650
My first day of GMAT preparation I took one of the OG practice tests and scored a 610. From there I began studying with Magoosh following the 3-month beginner study plan. I found this to be too much to fit into my schedule - currently working full-time and the months fell over the holidays. I spread some of the material out over the course of a couple of days because I had a long runway before my exam date, but toward the end I resorted to self-guided video lessons, practice problems and flashcard review. This summed to around 8-10 hours of study per week.

Core materials:
- Video lessons
- Practice problems
- Flashcards
- OG practice problems (bought the book on Amazon)

Mike is amazing. Truly so smart and a great teacher. Watch as many of the video lessons as you can, even if by the title you assume you are already a whiz. The tips and tricks gained from these videos are priceless. The other teachers are great too, but he is the star.

One feature I really enjoyed was the score estimate calculator based on the practice problems completed in your profile. On the high end, Magoosh estimated my scores to be 39 for Math and 38 for Verbal. My exam scores ended up being a 42 in Math and a 38 in Verbal, which I was pleased with and made sense because my score estimate stemmed from my total bank of answered practice questions.

The flashcard apps were nice for while on the go, but I admittedly did not gain nearly as much from them as from the practice problems and videos. The vocabulary one was the most helpful.

For next time:
Yes, there is going to be a next time. While I was happy to see the score increase from my initial raw test results, I feel that if I dedicated time to the following I can increase my 650 to closer to my goal of 700. One mistake I made was always doing the practice problems in practice mode, which gave me the habit of having time between each question to watch the video lesson and regroup. On test day, this is not an option, and I felt pressed for time during the Math section.

tldr; Magoosh is amazing! Use all of the resources and you will gain a lot! Good luck!

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Boston College
Major: Economics
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

6 months of study to 750!

5 stars
March 4, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 750
I'm so pleased with how magoosh helped me prepare for the GMAT. I mostly only used the quant so that's all I can really comment on. I did the videos and worked through the example questions and then found myself doing really well on the practice questions. When I did the GMAT Prep practice tests, i found the lessons in magoosh easily applicable. The teacher was clear and easy to listen to and overall very easy to follow and comprehensive. After I had finished all the questions, I went back and redid all my incorrect ones. After doing this, i was well prepped for the exam and ended up scoring a 50 on quant.