Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 284 reviews
Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Sign up for Magoosh. You won't regret it.

5 stars
October 18, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Pros:
-The price is unbeatable
-Video tutorials and video explanations of EVERY question in Magoosh's extensive question bank make learning easy
-Dashboard of progress and score estimates makes progress tracking easy
-As many practice tests as you'd like (with questions selected from the bank)
-Focus on understanding, rather than trying to "beat" the test

Cons:
-Could focus more on strategy
-Although the SC aspect of verbal is strong, CR and RC could be enhanced (although everything you NEED to know is covered)
-IR is covered in the same way as CR and RC, but it could be more comprehensive
-No AWA practice essays

Without hesitation, I would recommend Magoosh to anyone taking the GMAT. It was the most helpful study resource I encountered.

Joined: Oct 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 2013
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best ROI - You have nothing to lose!!

5 stars
October 12, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I paid $99 for access to this site, and out of all other prep companies this has the best value.
They guarantee 50 point improvement (or money back) -- there is no reason not to try this.

You get an excellent question bank and access to some of the best math and verbal video's. Lucid and makes learning interesting. Recommend to couple this with mgmat set of books (see their study plans).

I hope they don't change the price !! The UI/UX of the site is better than most prep companies -- they have a timer on all questions let you see your incorrect and correct answer choices. Makes it easy to spot your weaknesses.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 2014
College: The University of Texas at Austin
Major: Marketing
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Need help with Quant? Magoosh can help

5 stars
October 10, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 640
With only 3 weeks of study time Magoosh was able to simply explain some of the tricky concepts in math that were giving me trouble. I can't say I used the verbal section much, but what I did touch on was very informative. My focus was in math, and magoosh provided plenty of problems and explanations that kept me busy. I'm certain that Magoosh helped me improve my score. I would definitely recommend this course.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Worth it

5 stars
October 7, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
The short videos for GMAT are very useful. Practice questions with video explanations simplify your prep. Worth the money! go for it

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: UCLA
Major: Philosophy
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very affordable and efficient way to prepare for the Gmat

5 stars
September 28, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
This course has all the tools you need to self-study for the Gmat including access to a lot of practice questions, detailed explanations for each question, and video lessons galore! This site isn't the only self-study course out there but I think its definitely one of the most convenient and effective! 10/10 would refer others.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Texas Christian University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for re-takers and self studiers

5 stars
September 26, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 700
I was already familiar with the GMAT format having taken the test 3 months prior after a classroom course. Magoosh put me over the top by helping me master the topics, rather than simply being familiar with them. The question bank is quite extensive, and logging errors is much easier with a video explanation for each. The lesson videos were great for "on your own time" studying - I especially utilized these on my commute. My total study time was 6 weeks. Anything more than that and you might exhaust the question bank, especially the "Very Hard" level.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: University of Colorado at Boulder
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Program, Great Price

5 stars
September 26, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
Magoosh has an amazing amount of content for the price. Honestly, I don't think there is a better deal out there that is as comprehensive as Magoosh. While it may not be in depth as other, more expensive programs, it definitely has everything you need to do well or improve your GMAT score. I think Magoosh's math is its strongest aspect. It has a lot of practice problems and in depth video explanations for every question. I think Magoosh's math is a lot harder than the actual GMAT, which helps you reach the higher score questions. Magoosh's verbal, while not as extensive as the math in my opinion, does still provide enough practice. All in all, Magoosh is an amazing product for the price!

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
Verified Real Student Review

From 660 to 700 in two months

5 stars
September 25, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 700
Magoosh was great in many ways. For one, the short videos were helpful and started from the basics. For another, the strategies improved my score in a very short period. I scored 600 in my first practice GMAT. After one month of practice, I achieved a total score of 680 and a perfect AWA score; in two months time, I achieved a total score 700.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: English
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

80 Point Improvement in Under 1 Month

5 stars
September 16, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 740
I'm applying R1 to several top 20 schools, and, as such, I wanted to retake the GMAT in a short time frame, just under a month. During my previous attempt (one year ago), I used the OG books, studying completely on my own. I felt like I could whip through a bunch of problems at a rapid pace, but for the problems I missed, I quickly rationalized what I did wrong without ever fully understanding the key concepts that led to the correct answer. Four plus years into the working world, it had been probably eight or ten years since I had covered these concepts, so not a big surprise. Insert Magoosh!

The Magoosh team does a wonderful job at efficiently providing concept breakdowns, both in lesson form and in the applied setting of a problem set. The on-demand lessons were exactly what I needed in order to remaster key concepts and understand what concepts I failed to apply, in the event that I answered a question incorrectly.

While I used Magoosh primarily for Quantitative work, I did run through many of the Verbal lessons, which were equally helpful. I've already recommended this program to two or three friends/colleagues, and I will continue to do so.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Abilene Christian University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

High Quality and Cost-Effectiveness Can Coexist

5 stars
September 14, 2014
Company: Magoosh 284 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 264 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I purchased Magoosh Premium for ~$100 as some sort of package deal they were running. I was planning on trying to take the GMAT cold and see how I would do but after taking one of the GMAT official practice tests I realized that this was not going to be a good plan. On my official GMAT practice test, having no preconceived notions of the test, I scored a 600. 89th percentile in verbal and 35th percentile in quant. Having identified the area in which I was lacking I began to worry because I saw how much the Kaplan courses and others like it cost. After a bit of Internet sleuthing I found Magoosh, the price was right, so I went for it. Though I purchased the premium I only used it for math. I drilled math for about two weeks and put in about 50 hours of studying. The video explanations after each question is the main feature of Magoosh that I found beneficial. With only two weeks of using this program under my belt, I began working full-time and stopped studying for the month before my test, which was likely a handicap to my final score. Yesterday I took my exam and I scored a 720, 94th percentile in verbal and 68th percentile in quant. I didn't need to do as well as I did for the program I am applying to but it felt great to know that I rocked the GMAT with a minimal amount of studying. Thanks to Magoosh I spent only $100 on study materials and got, what I would consider to be, an acceptable result. Magoosh is all you need.