Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 277 reviews
Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
Verified Real Student Review

From 660 to 700 in two months

5 stars
September 25, 2014
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 700
Magoosh was great in many ways. For one, the short videos were helpful and started from the basics. For another, the strategies improved my score in a very short period. I scored 600 in my first practice GMAT. After one month of practice, I achieved a total score of 680 and a perfect AWA score; in two months time, I achieved a total score 700.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Major: English
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

80 Point Improvement in Under 1 Month

5 stars
September 16, 2014
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 740
I'm applying R1 to several top 20 schools, and, as such, I wanted to retake the GMAT in a short time frame, just under a month. During my previous attempt (one year ago), I used the OG books, studying completely on my own. I felt like I could whip through a bunch of problems at a rapid pace, but for the problems I missed, I quickly rationalized what I did wrong without ever fully understanding the key concepts that led to the correct answer. Four plus years into the working world, it had been probably eight or ten years since I had covered these concepts, so not a big surprise. Insert Magoosh!

The Magoosh team does a wonderful job at efficiently providing concept breakdowns, both in lesson form and in the applied setting of a problem set. The on-demand lessons were exactly what I needed in order to remaster key concepts and understand what concepts I failed to apply, in the event that I answered a question incorrectly.

While I used Magoosh primarily for Quantitative work, I did run through many of the Verbal lessons, which were equally helpful. I've already recommended this program to two or three friends/colleagues, and I will continue to do so.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Abilene Christian University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

High Quality and Cost-Effectiveness Can Coexist

5 stars
September 14, 2014
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I purchased Magoosh Premium for ~$100 as some sort of package deal they were running. I was planning on trying to take the GMAT cold and see how I would do but after taking one of the GMAT official practice tests I realized that this was not going to be a good plan. On my official GMAT practice test, having no preconceived notions of the test, I scored a 600. 89th percentile in verbal and 35th percentile in quant. Having identified the area in which I was lacking I began to worry because I saw how much the Kaplan courses and others like it cost. After a bit of Internet sleuthing I found Magoosh, the price was right, so I went for it. Though I purchased the premium I only used it for math. I drilled math for about two weeks and put in about 50 hours of studying. The video explanations after each question is the main feature of Magoosh that I found beneficial. With only two weeks of using this program under my belt, I began working full-time and stopped studying for the month before my test, which was likely a handicap to my final score. Yesterday I took my exam and I scored a 720, 94th percentile in verbal and 68th percentile in quant. I didn't need to do as well as I did for the program I am applying to but it felt great to know that I rocked the GMAT with a minimal amount of studying. Thanks to Magoosh I spent only $100 on study materials and got, what I would consider to be, an acceptable result. Magoosh is all you need.

Joined: Aug 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Good for quant

4 stars
August 21, 2014
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 720
Hello,

I'll be honest in how I used Magoosh prep. I'm from tech background with relatively stronger quant skills. I had taken GMAT before as well but I was stuck at Q49. I read some Magoosh's reviews and gave it a shot. And the concepts are really good and it was a good brush-up for me. And their tougher questions are also good. I ended up with Q50. So I'd recommend Magoosh for quant material.

Thanks
Sachin Y

Joined: Aug 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep site at a great price

5 stars
August 4, 2014
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 700
I thought Magoosh was great. It was exactly what I needed. Video explanations for every question are perfect. The video lessons themselves are great too. I just needed one place to get everything - lessons, problems, and explanations - and Magoosh provides all that without costing a lot.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: FSU
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Verified Real Student Review

Great format to structure and focus effort!

5 stars
July 31, 2014
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Magoosh- online
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
Magoosh was instrumental to my improvement on the GMAT - and I'm feeling stoked for just scoring a 690. I found the online lessons extremely helpful by focusing my attention on a set curriculum and providing an outline that thoroughly covers all the material needed. In my case, around 3 months ago I took a baseline practice test and scored a depressing 500. Then, after signing up for full Magoosh access online, I just watched all the videos and finished the 800+ practice questions. After words I was doing much better on the practice tests. My best practice test was 630 I believe, so it's also helpful to know their material may be a bit more difficult than the actual exam. In all, I think I invested around 120-140 hours studying over several months with Magoosh and the Official Guide, and just hit 690. I'm confident this score will get me exactly what I need.. Anyway, I found Magoosh extremely helpful and I highly recommend it.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
College: University of Chicago
Major: Economics
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Math + Verbal 1yr Subscription Review

4 stars
July 30, 2014
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I actually used Magoosh and MGMAT books to study for the GMAT. The only reason I didn't give a 5 star review stems from the fact that I didn't use Magoosh exclusively or in its entirety.

I studied all of the MGMAT books and then used Magoosh video lessons as a supplement. Often the Magoosh videos taught me new things that weren't in the MGMAT books, helped reinforce concepts that I had already learned, and made it easier to understand concepts from a different perspective when the MGMAT methods weren't clicking for me.

One of the biggest assets from Magoosh was the question banks. I found them to be a great source for hundreds of new questions that could be done online in a customizable test. Although customization wasn't perfectly comprehensive, it still gave options for time, number of questions, and detailed question types. I used nearly every practice question, and each question came with a video and text explanation.

Ultimately I think Magoosh was a big help when combined with the MGMAT books and I would recommend Magoosh to friends.

N.B.: I don't think any one source is the comprehensive guide to the GMAT. So saying Magoosh was a supplement to MGMAT is not a knock on the site. If anything, MGMAT was a supplement to Magoosh as well.