Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 262 reviews
Joined: Feb 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: Lahore University of Management Sciences
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: Pakistan
Verified Real Student Review

Good to Great!

5 stars
January 11, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Teacher: Online
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 730
I had an excellent experience with Magoosh Premium Prep. I had already scored 660 on my previous attempt, so needed to score at least 50 extra points.

The vast question bank with diverse questions and video explanations really helped me focus on my weak areas. I made a 37-Quant & 41-Verbal question sets myself, in order to prepare myself better for the real thing.

The video explanations were thorough and comprehensive, covering basic to advanced details. The fact that the explanations also offered the relevant video lessons really helped in refreshing the concepts.

Overall, the course was worth it and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to cross the 700 mark!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent study materials

5 stars
January 10, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
My GMAT journey was long and tedious. Before I started using Magoosh, I took the online Manhattan course. While both we great, I liked the Magoosh materials much better. Below are three reasons why:

1. Large question bank
Magoosh makes it easy to do a ton of practice problems. Before I started using Magoosh, I dreaded doing problems in the OG book (still worth doing). The interface keeps you on track to do problems sets and makes it easy to select a particular problem type.

2. Specific lessons
The Manhattan lessons were long and general. Magoosh has a ton of videos on specific topics. I felt like the Magoosh lessons were more comprehensive and concise compared to the Manhattan lessons

3. Study plans
While you can see the study plans for free online, they are fantastic and force you to stay on track.

Magoosh was the best ~$100 I spent in 2016. I would highly recommend to everyone.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Magoosh!

5 stars
January 3, 2017
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Magoosh was extremely helpful as it helped me focus on the all question types. It also has really good tips on how to tackle the often neglected parts of the GMAT - AWA and IR, important to maintain confidence during the exam.

What really improved my Magoosh experience were the video explanations offered after each question and the prompt response to any query put forth to the Magoosh Team.

Overall my Magoosh experience has been brilliant and I would recommend it to anyone looking for tangible improvements in their score. :)

P.S. I followed the 3 month GMAT study schedule for advanced students put up on the Magoosh Blog.

Link: https://magoosh.com/gmat/2012/3-month-gmat-study-schedule-for-advanced-students/

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: Ohio University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Legal Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Magoosh

5 stars
December 26, 2016
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I received late notification about an important MBA opportunity and only had one month to study for the GMAT. My sister recommended Magoosh after her successful GRE prep using the program. I spent almost all of my free time during that month studying with Magoosh and achieved a score within the range I needed on my first (and only) opportunity to take the exam. I would never recommend cramming GMAT prep into one month if it isn't absolutely necessary, but Magoosh helped me make the most out of my limited time. Would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone taking the GMAT or other exam.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: Imperial College London
Major: Physics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

The only resource I used to get 740

5 stars
December 21, 2016
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I studied for the GMAT for about two months before taking the test and Magoosh was the only resource I used (I bought the OG but it just sat on my shelf for the whole process!). Magoosh was really excellent, - it has a comprehensive set of really clear and well-structured video lessons for quant, verbal, IR and AWA and a large question bank (with fully explained video answers) for quant and verbal.

This resource was great for me because I am a native English speaker (who has scored well previously in English exams) and also hold a Physics degree from Imperial College London. Therefore I felt I had the basic skills needed to do well in GMAT, I just needed some review of basic quant concepts, to learn exam skills/techniques and be able to do lots of practice. Magoosh provided this in spades. My only advice would be to download a video speed increasing plug-in - I listened to most of the quant videos on double speed and this helped me get through everything much faster!

I think the best thing about Magoosh is that it is great value compared to other courses on the market - best $80 I've spent this year (although since I live in London it is also the only dollars I've spent this year :p)

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Universidad Católica Andrés Bello
Major: Business
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Country: Venezuela
Verified Real Student Review

Great for understanding the GMAT

5 stars
December 16, 2016
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGary
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
When I first thought of tackling the GMAT, I had no idea on the strcture of the exam. Magoosh helped me to understand this, and it also provides a lot of resources in order to disect every concept that will be tested on the actual test. I would totally recommend using Magoosh, but I believe that using just Magoosh is not going to be enough if you are aiming for a 700+ score. In fact, they actually recommend several other resources outside of Magoosh that will help you improve your score. Also, every time I had an inquiry they would get back to me in as much as 72 hours. Great service.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Minnesota
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Really good value & service/response

5 stars
December 12, 2016
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry et al
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 680
You can't spend a better $80 to get GMAT help. I took a classroom course prior to this which was more than 10x as expensive, and maybe half as beneficial.

The videos are the most helpful part of Magoosh... immediately upon answering incorrectly, you can watch a 2-3 minute video that goes step by step into a few different ways the problem could have been approached. This was an invaluable way to study with the "don't make the same mistake twice" mentality that Mike McGarry preaches.

I found the Math help to be much more valuable than the Verbal, but that is subjective and personal to me since I already had a 40V going into Magoosh. I was mainly in it for the Quant, which I did increase 3pts with Mike's blog post that outlines a solid 3-month plan.

One thing to keep in mind if pursing the 3 month plan that I did... it does recommend that you buy several other books. This can effectively increase the price from $80 to about $300, but if you think having a lot of different perspectives on approaches then it's worth it. In my experience, I started with Magoosh + their recommended books, but by the end I found a bit more value with just Magoosh since the videos are much more detailed in their explanations than any book is.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: University of Puerto Rico - Mayaguez
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Program, Excellent Resources!!

5 stars
December 10, 2016
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
Using Magoosh was extremely helpful for me. Their lessons explain everything in a great manner and they put a lot of effort in explaining every single answer to a question. The blog they have and extra resources where amazing, including the study plan schedules. I went from a 530 practice test score to a 750 Official GMAT score, all thanks to Magoosh!

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: University of Ottawa
Major: Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Absolute gem for GMAT preparation!

5 stars
December 8, 2016
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 620
Magoosh was an essential to my entire study plan. I was lucky enough to have bumped into the Magoosh product while I was researching study techniques and schedules for my GMAT preparation. I completed the 1 month study schedule and it did absolute wonders for me! From what I started with in my diagnostic, to what I got on the actual GMAT, it proved the importance of not only having the right resources but also being confident in your testing strategy and Magoosh fortified both! Mike McGarry is one of the best teachers I've had and the videos, blogs, question bank and just everything that was provided in the Magoosh product really catered to my learning style. I would recommend Magoosh to everyone, especially the full verbal and quantitative study package.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
College: University of Pennsylvania
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thank You Magoosh!

5 stars
December 7, 2016
Company: Magoosh 262 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 243 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 720
My experience with Magoosh was absolutely wonderful. I could easily conclude that my success on the GMAT was due mostly (if not entirely) to the work I did through Magoosh. The platform is top notch and the quality of prep materials is unmatched. Additionally, the study plans are very aggressive and comprehensive--so if one can dedicate time to going through any of the study plans and put in the work the results will show. Through the quality of questions, the explanations to questions and the type of material covered and the level at which they are covered, Magoosh sets high expectations for their students. And finally, the staff at Magoosh is extremely helpful and the overall service provided was exceptional.