Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 286 reviews
Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great software - easy to use at your own pace

5 stars
March 13, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The massive bank of questions with detailed explanation videos helped me really perfect my strategy and really master the material.

I would recommend Magoosh to anyone, great deal for the price point. Only qualm that I had with it was that it seemed to greatly decrease the scores on practice tests which was a bit discouraging! I got 680 and 710 on the GMAT Prep practice tests and 710 on actual test. On Magoosh practice tests I never broke 600! While this did frustrate me it also motivated me to study harder so maybe it's a pro for some!

Overall great product. Would recommend for anyone looking to improve their GMAT techniques and strategy.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Major: Business
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Premium

5 stars
March 6, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 680
Magoosh helped me considerably increase my score. The videos are very helpful and well explained. They have videos for everything you need to know for the GMAT. The customer service is great, they always answer very fast and they make sure you have the best experience with their website. This is a great affordable tool, I recommend it!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: University of South Carolina
Major: Hospitality Management
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

620 to 760

5 stars
March 6, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 760
I took the GMAT 5 years ago with no studying and got a 620. When I decided to go back to get an MBA, I registered for Magoosh and began following their 6 month study schedule for people starting at square one. After three months I saw such massive improvements that I decided to take another practice test. I scored a 750 and a 760 on my practice tests and decided it was time to take the test. On the official GMAT I scored another 760. I absolutely attribute this 140 point increase to Magoosh. I probably finished less than half of their study plan, so can only imagine the improvement for someone with the time to complete the entire thing.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: UNC Chapel Hill
Major: Economics
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Wealth of resources and strategies for every component of GMAT

5 stars
March 6, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Teacher: Mike
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 650
My first day of GMAT preparation I took one of the OG practice tests and scored a 610. From there I began studying with Magoosh following the 3-month beginner study plan. I found this to be too much to fit into my schedule - currently working full-time and the months fell over the holidays. I spread some of the material out over the course of a couple of days because I had a long runway before my exam date, but toward the end I resorted to self-guided video lessons, practice problems and flashcard review. This summed to around 8-10 hours of study per week.

Core materials:
- Video lessons
- Practice problems
- Flashcards
- OG practice problems (bought the book on Amazon)

Mike is amazing. Truly so smart and a great teacher. Watch as many of the video lessons as you can, even if by the title you assume you are already a whiz. The tips and tricks gained from these videos are priceless. The other teachers are great too, but he is the star.

One feature I really enjoyed was the score estimate calculator based on the practice problems completed in your profile. On the high end, Magoosh estimated my scores to be 39 for Math and 38 for Verbal. My exam scores ended up being a 42 in Math and a 38 in Verbal, which I was pleased with and made sense because my score estimate stemmed from my total bank of answered practice questions.

The flashcard apps were nice for while on the go, but I admittedly did not gain nearly as much from them as from the practice problems and videos. The vocabulary one was the most helpful.

For next time:
Yes, there is going to be a next time. While I was happy to see the score increase from my initial raw test results, I feel that if I dedicated time to the following I can increase my 650 to closer to my goal of 700. One mistake I made was always doing the practice problems in practice mode, which gave me the habit of having time between each question to watch the video lesson and regroup. On test day, this is not an option, and I felt pressed for time during the Math section.

tldr; Magoosh is amazing! Use all of the resources and you will gain a lot! Good luck!

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Boston College
Major: Economics
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

6 months of study to 750!

5 stars
March 4, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 750
I'm so pleased with how magoosh helped me prepare for the GMAT. I mostly only used the quant so that's all I can really comment on. I did the videos and worked through the example questions and then found myself doing really well on the practice questions. When I did the GMAT Prep practice tests, i found the lessons in magoosh easily applicable. The teacher was clear and easy to listen to and overall very easy to follow and comprehensive. After I had finished all the questions, I went back and redid all my incorrect ones. After doing this, i was well prepped for the exam and ended up scoring a 50 on quant.

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Univeresity of Notre Dame
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic GMAT Prep Tool - Got Me to 780

5 stars
March 3, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 780
Magoosh really set itself apart from other GMAT study tools. I used Magoosh to complement the Manhattan study tools. The Manhattan guides more basic and helped build a foundation, but didn't challenge me or help me learn more difficult concepts. I used both the Quant and the Verbal question banks and found the to far exceed my expectations. First of all, they were online and allowed you to easily access questions whenever and wherever you want. Second, the questions had a good range of difficulties and adjusted the difficulty as you do more problems to challenge you just enough to maximize your time and improvement. Third, and most importantly, Magoosh had, by far, the BEST explanations for question solutions. They had both a written explanation and a video explanation that was very thorough in walking you through the reasoning behind the answer. Importantly, they put it in simpler terms so you fully understand where you went wrong and why you got the question wrong. The most important part in studying for the GMAT isn't just doing questions or putting hours in. It is really analyzing your mistakes and trying to avoid making the same mistakes again. Magoosh has made that very, very easy.

Additionally, Magoosh's online software platform is by far the smoothest and user friendly. I highly recommend using Magoosh. My first practice test was a 650 and by the end I was scoring a 770 and 780 consistently.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: New York University
Major: Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Affordable, engaging, and helpful content.

5 stars
February 19, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
This was my first time taking the GMAT. The prep materials I used were the 2016 Official Guide for 3 months + Magoosh Prep for the final month before my test date. I had done the 2016 Official Guide before, but was having difficulty retaining any information from doing the work in the textbook—the solutions were text heavy and difficult to read.

Magoosh's premium package had a question bank, practice tests, solution videos, and lessons for only $150, compared to Manhattan Prep's $1000. I found the solution videos particularly helpful because they walked me step-by-step through any problem that I had trouble with while explaining the general concept behind each answer, so I started to catch onto the patterns in the GMAT. I found the Magoosh Prep to be slightly harder in terms of Quant and Verbal than the real test, so when I actually took it, I had a +160 point difference than the anticipated score on Magoosh.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Maastricht University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Best help I could have wished for!

5 stars
February 13, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I only had a month for studying while working full-time as a consultant in the first three weeks. The impressive amount of study material provided by Magoosh with hundreds of explanations from Mike helped me so much to get my score, I couldn't have done it without Magoosh! They have so many video lessons, practice questions and even video explanations for every single practice question, too. I have to say that a month is not a lot of time to prepare for the GMAT, at least two more weeks or so would be good, so better take your time, but either way, it is definitely doable with Magoosh which is worth every cent!

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Brooks Institute of Photography
Country: Indonesia
Verified Real Student Review

Worth every cent

5 stars
February 5, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I'm a screenwriter and have been out of college for 10 years. The last time I engaged in any serious math was in high school and English is not my native language, but Magoosh certainly helped me achieve 710 without breaking my bank while at the same time allowing me to practice on my own schedule. The lessons really gave me a strong sense of structure and build a solid foundation. Better yet the practice schedule really keeps me on track on my progress, on step at a time.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Study Material that I retained

5 stars
January 30, 2017
Company: Magoosh 286 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 266 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I had bought the official GMAT books over a year ago, and barely opened them. I had no drive or accountability and so I rarely studied. Finally (2 Months before my test) I made myself sign up for the 7 Day trial period for Magoosh, and it was the most I had studied all year collectively. Due to my learning style I really thrived with the Magoosh videos. Whereas before I would just be confused by explanations I read in books, the videos did a great job pointing out each step so that I knew where I went wrong. I also took advantage of the mobile friendly flashcards, I travel for work and I can't always get easy access to my computer, but I was able to productively study on my phone due to these flash cards.