Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 277 reviews
Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Study Material that I retained

5 stars
January 30, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I had bought the official GMAT books over a year ago, and barely opened them. I had no drive or accountability and so I rarely studied. Finally (2 Months before my test) I made myself sign up for the 7 Day trial period for Magoosh, and it was the most I had studied all year collectively. Due to my learning style I really thrived with the Magoosh videos. Whereas before I would just be confused by explanations I read in books, the videos did a great job pointing out each step so that I knew where I went wrong. I also took advantage of the mobile friendly flashcards, I travel for work and I can't always get easy access to my computer, but I was able to productively study on my phone due to these flash cards.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Couldn't have got my score without them

5 stars
January 25, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGary
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
Took the first practice test with the software and received a 580. Studied for a couple weeks but didn't feel like I was getting much better. Came across Magoosh and after watching a couple videos, knew it could be the extra boost I needed. I ended up buying the Premium edition with only 8 days before the test but it really helped. Wish I could have had the guidance earlier. Both the verbal and math have excellent insight and breakdown the fundamentals of each section. Highly recommend for anyone prepping for the test!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: United States Military Academy
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Great Course!

5 stars
January 22, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
When I first started the program I took the diagnostic 20 question exam: I got every math question wrong and only 3 verbal right. After condensing the 3 month program into 2 months (which the self paced program allowed me to do), I was able to achieve a 690 (44 on Quant and 40 on Verbal) and an 8 on the IR! The affordable program (way less than the hundreds of dollars other programs were asking for) was great because it fit my own condensed schedule and covered everything I needed. Magoosh helped me far exceed my goal and get into the MHA/MBA program I wanted! I will absolutely recommend them to anyone taking graduate tests!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend

5 stars
January 20, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Magoosh was definitely worth every cent. There are tons of video lessons for each topic, as well as video explanations for every one of the 1000+ questions. There is no way that I could have done as well as I did on the GMAT without Magoosh.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: University of California Los Angeles
Major: Environmental Studies
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Lessons & Problems for Self-Studying (at a great price!)

5 stars
January 17, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Magoosh is an amazing test prep site - at an equally amazing price (~$150). I had been self-studying using book materials, and always dreaded studying. Then I found Magoosh, and I couldn't wait to study. The lesson videos are interesting and very easy to understand. There are hundreds of practice problems available with video answer explanations after each question. You can customize your practice to specific types of problems with specific difficulty level. The timer on each question allows you to feel the time pressure, which helps you master your timing (especially helpful for me on the math section).

Magoosh gave me the confidence that I needed for test day. I would not have reached my goal score if it wasn't for Magoosh. I would recommend to anyone studying for the GMAT. It is the best resource for the price.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Resource for Gaining Confidence

5 stars
January 16, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
When I previously took the GMAT, I felt like I was guessing on every answer in the quant portion of the exam. I retook the GMAT specifically to raise my quant score. Going in the second time, I felt confident in the answers that I selected. Magoosh really emphasizes understanding the concepts behind the math and not just memorizing formulas. This helped learn how to approach a problem. I also learned when to cut my losses to save time if I did not know how to attack a problem. I ended up achieving my goal math score as well.

I was not aiming to increase my verbal score, as I was satisfied with it the first time around. However, I did watch a handful of the Magoosh verbal videos. I did not keep up with them, as I felt overwhelmed by the focus on the types of clauses and verb forms - it was too difficult for me to keep all of them straight.

Joined: Feb 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: Lahore University of Management Sciences
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: Pakistan
Verified Real Student Review

Good to Great!

5 stars
January 11, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: Online
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 730
I had an excellent experience with Magoosh Premium Prep. I had already scored 660 on my previous attempt, so needed to score at least 50 extra points.

The vast question bank with diverse questions and video explanations really helped me focus on my weak areas. I made a 37-Quant & 41-Verbal question sets myself, in order to prepare myself better for the real thing.

The video explanations were thorough and comprehensive, covering basic to advanced details. The fact that the explanations also offered the relevant video lessons really helped in refreshing the concepts.

Overall, the course was worth it and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to cross the 700 mark!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent study materials

5 stars
January 10, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
My GMAT journey was long and tedious. Before I started using Magoosh, I took the online Manhattan course. While both we great, I liked the Magoosh materials much better. Below are three reasons why:

1. Large question bank
Magoosh makes it easy to do a ton of practice problems. Before I started using Magoosh, I dreaded doing problems in the OG book (still worth doing). The interface keeps you on track to do problems sets and makes it easy to select a particular problem type.

2. Specific lessons
The Manhattan lessons were long and general. Magoosh has a ton of videos on specific topics. I felt like the Magoosh lessons were more comprehensive and concise compared to the Manhattan lessons

3. Study plans
While you can see the study plans for free online, they are fantastic and force you to stay on track.

Magoosh was the best ~$100 I spent in 2016. I would highly recommend to everyone.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Magoosh!

5 stars
January 3, 2017
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Magoosh was extremely helpful as it helped me focus on the all question types. It also has really good tips on how to tackle the often neglected parts of the GMAT - AWA and IR, important to maintain confidence during the exam.

What really improved my Magoosh experience were the video explanations offered after each question and the prompt response to any query put forth to the Magoosh Team.

Overall my Magoosh experience has been brilliant and I would recommend it to anyone looking for tangible improvements in their score. :)

P.S. I followed the 3 month GMAT study schedule for advanced students put up on the Magoosh Blog.

Link: https://magoosh.com/gmat/2012/3-month-gmat-study-schedule-for-advanced-students/

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: Ohio University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Legal Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Magoosh

5 stars
December 26, 2016
Company: Magoosh 277 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 258 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I received late notification about an important MBA opportunity and only had one month to study for the GMAT. My sister recommended Magoosh after her successful GRE prep using the program. I spent almost all of my free time during that month studying with Magoosh and achieved a score within the range I needed on my first (and only) opportunity to take the exam. I would never recommend cramming GMAT prep into one month if it isn't absolutely necessary, but Magoosh helped me make the most out of my limited time. Would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone taking the GMAT or other exam.