Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan GMAT

4.8 stars
278 reviews
Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Fun class, but guides are good enough.

4 stars
April 14, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 206 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 22 reviews
Teacher: Faruk Bursal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
The class, as it is taught, is OK. I realized that I would've done just as good had I just studied on my own with the manhattan guides (which are phenomenal). However, going to class was a pleasure because Faruk made it fun and engaging. I looked forward to class every week for this reason.

Here is how Manhattan can improve their program:
- Make the process of KEEPING TRACK OF WEAK AREAS easier and more fluid for students. Right now, Navigator is a little clunky and is not optimal. It also doesn't sync well with other study materials. Maybe Manhattan can design some sort of a portal for students to flesh out and keep track of their weak areas. This is key to doing well on the GMAT (especially for scoring 700+): identifying weak areas and focusing on those.
- Connect all the material we learn in each class. The classes seem separate and disjointed.

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2013
College: Emory University
Major: Political Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Materials provided by Manhattan GMAT

4 stars
April 10, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 206 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 12 reviews
Teacher: Rey Fernandez
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
Manhattan does a wonderful job providing you with all the materials you will need with your studies (study guides, practice questions, practice exams, test prep booklet, and more) and gives you a plan of action (which lays out a weekly reading guid, practice problem guide, and practice exam guide). Without these materials and plan of action, I would have been lost in my studies. Manhattan also provides you with numerous full length exams scored in a similar algorithm to the actual GMAT.

I found the quantitative materials to be very helpful, as I had forgotten most of my high school math (which is essentially what the GMAT tests). I followed the syllabus diligently, read all of the quant reading, and completed all of the quant practice problems. My quant score raised dramatically from my first practice exam to my actual GMAT.

I came into the class already very strong in Verbal, and most of the Verbal material was designed for students who started a bit weaker. So although I learned a few useful tips, I did not gain much from the Verbal Review.

My instructor was a really great guy - friendly, enthusiastic, and helpful. The 9 3-hour sessions are somewhat helpful, but I definitely found self study of the Manhattan materials to be more helpful.

Overall, I definitely recommend Manhattan!

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Quality GMAT Data Sufficiency Prep

3 stars
April 4, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Quest for 750 Live Online Workshop 1 review
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 25 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 660
The Quest for 750 Data Sufficiency Prep allows you to quickly develop your quant data sufficiency skills in a short amount of time. You can easily figure out where your strengths are and where your gaps are so you know where to focus your studying The software works well and is user-friendly. The course is an interactive class despite being virtual.

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
College: University of California Berkeley
Major: Economics
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Resources, Excellent Teacher

5 stars
April 2, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 206 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Irvine 1 review
Teacher: Eric Garthoffner
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I would highly recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone preparing to take the GMAT. My experience with MGMAT was extremely positive. I took the 9-session course with Eric Garthoffner, a wonderful instructor who not only is entertaining, but also is invested in his students’ success. MGMAT provides so many resources to help its students succeed on the GMAT. You are given the tools you need to strategize and come up with a game plan specific for you. Their tips and strategies make studying easy to tackle.

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
April 1, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 206 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 64 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The nine week prep class was incredibly valuable and I cannot speak highly enough about my teacher Jonathan Schneider. Jonathan is the rare kind of teacher that can craft a lesson to make sure you register the information while also being fun and engaging. The prep course involves a lot of work, I probably averaged around 10 hours a week of work, but it made a huge difference. I wound up getting a 710 on my first time taking the test, this after a 400 on the first practice test.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2013
College: Emory University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Resources and Teacher Quality

5 stars
March 25, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 34 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 25 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I would highly recommend taking Manhattan GMAT to prepare for the test. My experience with Manhattan has been nothing but positive. I chose to take the online course with Stacey Koprince and Marcus Hedahl, two wonderful teachers who were extremely invested in your learning experience. The course provided excellent study materials, ranging from in-depth study guides/books, an online bank of question analysis (OG Archer), and online labs. The quality of the instructors cannot be beaten - their enthusiastic attitude was very encouraging, and they shared useful tips and strategies that made studying much easier (and also kind of fun)! Overall, this was an excellent guide to getting the score you want.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Good course, great materials

4 stars
March 25, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 206 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 64 reviews
Teacher: Mira Leytes
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Thought the course itself was as good as expected. Should expect people from all different levels in your class - including some students who may not speak English natively. The value in the course is really the materials and schedule they provide to keep you on track. The online course material is really grade A.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
College: Northwestern University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience and the Perfect Amount of Structure for a Busy Student!

5 stars
March 24, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 206 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Evanston 5 reviews
Teacher: Dhviya
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I would highly recommend this course to others. After having taken the Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course, I surpassed my goal GMAT score. The instructor was entertaining, the lessons were challenging yet understandable, and the course provided the perfect amount of structure. Furthermore, Manhattan GMAT provides its students with many resources to encourage success on the GMAT as well as during the business school application process in general.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
College: University of Georgia
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Prep Course!

5 stars
March 10, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 206 reviews
Teacher: Marcus Hedahl and Stacey Koprince
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
After scoring a 500 on my first practice test at the start of the course, I didn't think I would score into the 700s on test. The instructors are excellent; they are there for you all the time. The curriculum is solid, and the supplementary material supports the class time perfectly. I would HIGHLY recommend this course to anyone looking to break into the 700s and beyond! After 2 months with Manhattan GMAT, my score catapulted from a 500 to a 760!

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 2013
College: Penn State
Major: Marketing
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Manhattan GMAT course should be mandatory for everyone studying for the GMAT.

5 stars
March 4, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 278 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 206 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 64 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
My GMAT score improved dramatically! From my first practice test (score in the mid-500s) to my eventual score of 680, the journey was challenging but incredible rewarding. My instructor Jonathan was flawless, and quite possibly the most intuitive teacher I've ever had. I have nothing but great things to say about Manhattan GMAT!