Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan GMAT

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 303 reviews
Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: Northwestern University
Major: Metallurgical & Materials Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT Review (Q49/V40/IR8)

4 stars
October 16, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 223 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 6 reviews
Teacher: Ron Purewal
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I studied the GMAT starting in Feb/March; enrolled in the course starting in April and finished in June. Took the GMAT once in August after 1.5 months of intense self-studying and improvement. I didn't do as well on the CATs through MGMAT but I was within 10 points. I took a class because I just needed a routine schedule to get into the mode of studying while at work and I also like being able to contact an instructor for any questions. Ron was pretty laid back although he had some quirks about him. But the material was pretty useful. I found that the examples used in class weren't as hard as ones in the practice CATs. I am an engineer so i thought the MGMAT math wasn't so bad but I found MGMAT's math CATs to be harder than what they made you practice during the course. When I took the actual GMAT, I thought the math was extremely easy, so I guess its good to have a training course thats harder than the actual test. On the other hand, I did pretty well on Verbal portion of MGMAT's practice CATs, but I found the actual GMAT to be much harder, in both SC and CR, so that was a throw-off and I didn't get as good of score as I was getting on my practice tests. Lastly, the IR section was insanely easy on the real GMAT compared to the MGMAT practice IR. Markedly large difference. All in all, my score is pretty good and much better than when I started studying in the beginning so using the MGMAT materials definitely boosted my score and understanding of the test.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

This course gives you all the tools you need and shows you the correct approach to the exam!

5 stars
October 10, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 37 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince, Joseph Ndu
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took the live online prep course with Stacey Koprince and Joseph Ndu. Before taking the course, I scored a 570 on my practice test. 3 months later, I took the exam and scored a 710 and was accepted to the business school of my choice. At the beginning of the course, Stacey presented us with an article she had written called "What the GMAT really tests" and asked us to read it every week. She stressed that it is not a math or grammar test, but a decision-making test and that we have to "learn how to think". I cannot think of a better way to describe what Joey and Stacey did over the course of nine weeks. They taught me how to think. Joey constantly was giving tips that I ended up calling the "Tao of GMAT". It was more than learning the math, it was training on how to look at the problems and how to think about it in a way that will save time and get you to the right answer. He also constantly sent videos filled with pictures and diagrams, because Joey knows how the brain works and these videos literally helped me picture the problems and the solution. I had these pictures in my brain(and their voices in my head) while taking the exam. That is because they bring you into the thought process behind each question type by constantly engaging the class and asking us questions to guide us through this thought process. Finally, they even gave great advice on books and articles to read throughout the course and how to read them--as well as advice on what to eat on exam day!. I've gone on way too long but to sum up, this course changed the way I think in a way that helped me get a great score and the advice has helped me in my approach to work, school and life in general. I can't recommend it enough.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great Prep

5 stars
October 9, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 26 reviews
Teacher: Jake Nicholson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
I decided to sign up for Manhattan GMAT because my sister used this program and had great results.

I took the 9-week session and the depth that Ron Purewal explains each question helped me understand the core fundamental of each problem and alternative ways to solve a problem. The prep material that Manhattan provided was also very complete and had tons of practice problems for review.

After the 9-week course, I signed up for private tutoring with Jake Nicholson. He helped me develop a systematic approach to each problem, which allowed me to avoid careless mistakes and to logically think through each problem, no matter how complex it was.

My 1st practice test score from not knowing anything about GMAT was in the mid-500's. From my 1st official GMAT to my 2nd, I improved my score from 680 to 720. I am very happy with my score and highly recommend Manhattan GMAT for anyone who is preparing for the GMAT!

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
College: Emory University
Major: Business
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Jonathan Schneider is the man!

5 stars
October 9, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 223 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 67 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 720
I took the 9-week class on Wednesday nights which Jonathan Schneider taught. The entire class felt like they clicked with him right away. He is the kind of instructor who gets it. He doesn't go too slow or too fast. He just teaches at a perfect pace.

In my study group of 3, we started with 550-600 in our diagnostic test. Throughout the class, we all made progress and got around 650. All three of us kept getting 630-670 until the end of the class.

Jonathan recommended we took our tests 3-4 weeks after the end of the class, which we did. As expected, we got 660-680. Unsatisfied with those scores, we kept working, and signed up for the test a month later. All three of us had full-time jobs so that was a big commitment. We sent our breakdown and practice test assessments to Jonathan who gave each of us a detailed path to success. I believe this is really where he added a ton of value. He specifically told us what to work on and what not to work on. This made our lives a lot easier. A week later, 2 of us got our first 700+ on a practice, the third one got a 690.

We kept going, refining our weak spots, and finally took our tests 7-8 weeks after the end of the class. We got 710, 720 and 730 respectively, which we were happy with.

The takeaway is Jonathan is an extremely competent in-class instructor who spends time answering questions after hours (almost 24/7) and will be as good as it gets in class. But most importantly, he will spend the time to sit down and reflect on a study plan and give you a detailed strategy as to what you need to tackle to get a great score.

The three of us took the test twice, but we all felt like we would have gotten an even better score had we taken it a third time. It was just a matter of time until we got a 750+.

Jonathan set us up so we would succeed slowly but surely. We didn’t see it for weeks (and some nights we felt pretty desperate) but in the end it all worked out, and this is all thanks to him. Then again, it happened to the three of us, and the only two things we had in common were busy lives and Jonathan Schneider. It’s no coincidence. Jonathan Schneider is the man.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Brian Birdwell: GMAT Ninja

5 stars
September 5, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 26 reviews
Teacher: Brian Birdwell
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 680
Brian is an amazing teacher: he is not only extremely personable but also great at keeping the content fun and interesting. He does a great job at teaching the tricks of the trade, a lot of which there isn't time for in the online course. If you're looking to beat the GMAT, look no further than Brian Birdwell! Thanks B!

M_T
Joined: Aug 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Major: Finance
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good ROI

5 stars
August 28, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 223 reviews
Teacher: Emily McAteer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
The course was great and really helped me master the materials, understand the questions, and utilize effective test taking strategies. Emily was a great teacher and was very knowledgeable about the materials.

Joined: Aug 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: university of california, santa barbara
Major: English
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT 9 week course.

5 stars
August 20, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 223 reviews
Teacher: chris peckover
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
MGMAT helped raise my score 130 points from 580 to 710. Yes, it did require a lot of self study but I could not have done it without MGMAT resources or my teacher Chris! From my own experience I'd say the course really does a good job with the quant preparation. Only qualm I have is that the verbal section, while preparing us with very solid techniques, was a little different on the real test compared to the MGMAT CAT exams. So make sure you study off the Gmat prep exams for verbal as well! Overall I'm extremely satisfied with my score and MGMAT. would definitely recommend!

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
College: University of Virginia
Major: History
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

Avi Gutman A+

5 stars
July 14, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 26 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Avi Gutman and Manhattan GMAT are excellent. Avi is exceptional at what he does. Great teacher, explains concepts clearly, understands the strengths/weaknesses/challenges of each student and has well-articulated blog posts that explain tricky concepts.

Whether as a course or private tutoring, I would recommend Avi and Manhattan GMAT to anyone taking the test.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Nov 2013
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is the way to go!

5 stars
July 11, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 223 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Philadelphia 12 reviews
Teacher: Abby Berry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I chose to enroll in Manhattan GMAT Prep course because I heard that its students consistently score higher than students of other courses. The entire Manhattan GMAT process exceeded my expectations. The course was fun, interactive, and interesting despite a three hour block being a long period of time. There was a clean study plan arranged for us. The best part of being a Manhattan GMAT student are the post-course (pre-exam) and post-exam assessments because the one-on-one conversation helps get you in the right mindset and on the right track. Everyone I interacted with at Manhattan GMAT was extremely helpful, friendly, and easy to talk to. I highly recommend the course, and any of its materials, to students studying for the GMAT.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2013
College: Emory University
Major: Business
Industry: Food Service/Lodging
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent course to map out your 9 weeks to be as prepared as possible as soon as possible!

4 stars
June 30, 2014
Company: Manhattan GMAT 303 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 223 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 67 reviews
Teacher: Mira Leytes
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I'm not a particularly disciplined student, so I really took the course to help me get through the materials in an organized fashion, and it really worked! While it would have been possible to just go through the books myself, I learned a lot from hearing other students in the class go through how they thought about problems. I found the weekly homework guides helpful in keeping myself on track with studying. Our teacher was especially helpful when it came to the little "shortcuts" and "tricks" I would usually scan over in the reading if they didn't seem to be a real shortcut. Class wasn't particularly competitive like some other ones are, but it was enough to motivate me to stay on top of the homework and reading before each session.