Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 311 reviews
Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very Knowledgeable Tutor But That Didn't Translate to An Improvement In My Score

3 stars
March 27, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 27 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 550
My assigned tutor with Manhattan GMAT was Mark Sullivan. I was impressed with his knowledge of the GMAT and recommended strategies to succeed. He made himself readily available and provided great resources to help me during our time. His e-mails were informative and always useful.

I didn't see improvement initially with my private tutoring but after a few sessions I began to gain some traction and improve my performance on my practice exams. He served as a great motivator to me when I wanted to quit, and he was able to talk me into sticking with it.

Unfortunately when it came to taking the exam, I saw no difference in my score on the Quant or Verbal section. Needless to say, after spending thousands of dollars on private customized tutoring I was pretty disappointed. As a result, I can't recommend this service to friends. I take responsibility that I may not be the brightest kid and one who has always struggled with formalized testing.

Mark was confident that if I were to retake the GMAT in a month I would be scoring where I was on my practice exams prior the exam (upper 600s). Fortunately for me, I was able to land a great consulting position shortly after taking the GMAT exam but that meant I was unable to get back in and take the exam when that tutoring was fresh.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2014
College: Dartmouth College
Major: Philosophy
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, great instructor Jonathan Schneider

5 stars
March 9, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 229 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 69 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took the 9-week course with Jonathan Schneider and loved it. The class design was thoughtful and structured, and did a good job balancing between learning core concepts and learning test tips and tricks. Probably the biggest asset of the course is the Manhattan GMAT study materials, which go way far beyond the GMAT Official Guide in terms of detail. Whereas the OG explanations start with the right answer and then tell you why it's right, the Manhattan GMAT materials help you think through how to approach a problem from the start and identify the concepts and approaches you can use to arrive at the answer. Overall they emphasize the concepts and variable approaches to problems, whereas the OG only gives one possible way to get to the answer.

Jonathan Schneider is an ideal teacher for the course--he's funny and engaging and makes class enjoyable to go to, and most importantly he really knows his stuff. He can shift gears when needed and provide different ways of thinking about problems, which helped everyone come to understand things. He was always available after class or over email for one-on-one help, and really went beyond what I initially expected when I signed up for a group class.

Overall the class felt like the exact right type of approach. It's important to note that in order to get the results you really have to put in the time; you're not going to learn this stuff by passively listening. The good news is that the class provides the structured approach to get you there. I couldn't recommend this any more strongly.

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very helpful if you're willing to put in the time

4 stars
January 19, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 229 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 29 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Great course. Learned plenty of tips that I would have otherwise not have seen or overlooked in the books. Just make sure that you have enough time during the week to do all of the accompanying work - if you don't the course itself will be far less useful.

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: International Relations
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Dedicated, Talented Instructors

5 stars
January 7, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 38 reviews
Teacher: Joe Lucero, Dejan Krunic
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I initially was a little hesitant to pay so much money for an online course, but it ended up being worth it. The course really helped me hone in and focus my study, and to highlight areas where I needed to learn more. Dejan and Joe were phenomenal--incredibly smart, ridiculously enthusiastic, and always available to answer questions. I did have to miss a few live courses because of work, but it was fine to just catch up with the recorded versions.

When used in conjunction with the OG, MGMAT books, and Thursdays with Ron sessions, this course gives you everything you need to succeed. Keep practicing!

Joined: Jul 2013
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Economics
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT Course

5 stars
January 6, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 229 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Houston 1 review
Teacher: Jamie Nelson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I tried two other courses and nothing comes close to Manhattan in quality. It really comes down to the quality of their materials, the best instructors in the business (all 99th percentile scorers), the most predictive practice tests, and the fantastic OG tracker to keep track of official guide problems.

When studying on my own, I had hard time knowing what I should study next. Manhattan's syllabus and materials makes it easy to get into a rhythm. If you are serious about scoring above 700 and are willing to put in the time, Manhattan has designed the course and materials to get you there. Jamie Nelson was a fantastic instructor and was extremely responsive even after the course ended.

Joined: Dec 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

ManhattanGMAT is a weaker course than Veritas - I did both

3 stars
December 4, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 229 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 29 reviews
Teacher: Pedro Ledesma
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Veritas and ManhattanGmat have very similar scores here. Given their status at the top of the heap I decided to take both.

Materials:

Veritas and ManhattanGMAT materials are generally pretty similar. Though, with the exception of sentence correction, Veritas materials are either equivalent or better than ManhattanGMAT. The online materials are so poorly organized at Manhattan GMAT it took me a long time to realize that they even had all of the material Veritas had.

Finally, Veritas just put up some new practice tests. They are awesome. They feel very similar to the official test questions and are quite challenging. ManhattanGMAT feels a few years out of date. Maybe it's because they were bought out by Kaplan, but either way, it's clear that they have work to do.

Instructor:
Pedro Ledesma is a solid instructor. Knows the material well. Very approachable.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Exceptional Course

5 stars
November 22, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 229 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 69 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in taking the GMAT or improving a previous score. My professor was Joe who was really great! Every instructor follows the same thorough lesson plan. The material and quality instructors are what make the Manhattan Gmat superior. However, I think you will notice a difference in the class environments. I took a Sunday class. Although it cuts into your weekend, I found it to be much smaller (8ppl) and more easy going than weekday courses. Not sure if this was just my experience but I went to 1 weekday make up class which held about 30 people. This class felt a bit more fast paced and I noticed it was more challenging for the instructor to answer each student's questions or focus on any one student or topic for too long.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: University of Delaware
Major: English
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent instructor - fun class!

5 stars
October 29, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 229 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 8 reviews
Teacher: Joe Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 440   After: 590
Joe is a great instructor. He's conversational, and knows how to communicate complex material in a way that is easier to understand. He's also great at making sure everyone has an opportunity to talk through the problem, understand it and encourages multiple approaches. The GMAT is a tricky exam and his approach makes it a lot of fun to try to outsmart the GMAT. I increased my school by 150 points in 2.5 months. I was also accepted into my top choice school (a top tier school in my opinion). I know that without the class this would not have been possible.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: Northwestern University
Major: Metallurgical & Materials Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT Review (Q49/V40/IR8)

4 stars
October 16, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 229 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 6 reviews
Teacher: Ron Purewal
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I studied the GMAT starting in Feb/March; enrolled in the course starting in April and finished in June. Took the GMAT once in August after 1.5 months of intense self-studying and improvement. I didn't do as well on the CATs through MGMAT but I was within 10 points. I took a class because I just needed a routine schedule to get into the mode of studying while at work and I also like being able to contact an instructor for any questions. Ron was pretty laid back although he had some quirks about him. But the material was pretty useful. I found that the examples used in class weren't as hard as ones in the practice CATs. I am an engineer so i thought the MGMAT math wasn't so bad but I found MGMAT's math CATs to be harder than what they made you practice during the course. When I took the actual GMAT, I thought the math was extremely easy, so I guess its good to have a training course thats harder than the actual test. On the other hand, I did pretty well on Verbal portion of MGMAT's practice CATs, but I found the actual GMAT to be much harder, in both SC and CR, so that was a throw-off and I didn't get as good of score as I was getting on my practice tests. Lastly, the IR section was insanely easy on the real GMAT compared to the MGMAT practice IR. Markedly large difference. All in all, my score is pretty good and much better than when I started studying in the beginning so using the MGMAT materials definitely boosted my score and understanding of the test.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

This course gives you all the tools you need and shows you the correct approach to the exam!

5 stars
October 10, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 311 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 38 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince, Joseph Ndu
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took the live online prep course with Stacey Koprince and Joseph Ndu. Before taking the course, I scored a 570 on my practice test. 3 months later, I took the exam and scored a 710 and was accepted to the business school of my choice. At the beginning of the course, Stacey presented us with an article she had written called "What the GMAT really tests" and asked us to read it every week. She stressed that it is not a math or grammar test, but a decision-making test and that we have to "learn how to think". I cannot think of a better way to describe what Joey and Stacey did over the course of nine weeks. They taught me how to think. Joey constantly was giving tips that I ended up calling the "Tao of GMAT". It was more than learning the math, it was training on how to look at the problems and how to think about it in a way that will save time and get you to the right answer. He also constantly sent videos filled with pictures and diagrams, because Joey knows how the brain works and these videos literally helped me picture the problems and the solution. I had these pictures in my brain(and their voices in my head) while taking the exam. That is because they bring you into the thought process behind each question type by constantly engaging the class and asking us questions to guide us through this thought process. Finally, they even gave great advice on books and articles to read throughout the course and how to read them--as well as advice on what to eat on exam day!. I've gone on way too long but to sum up, this course changed the way I think in a way that helped me get a great score and the advice has helped me in my approach to work, school and life in general. I can't recommend it enough.