Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 313 reviews
Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep course is a worthwhile investment

5 stars
June 22, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 231 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 70 reviews
Teacher: Joe Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I debated doing the self-study or taking the course, and in the end I decided to take the full course, which I would recommend to those who are debating between the two. The most useful pieces of information I gleaned from the course were the overall test taking strategies. I think the breadth of the curriculum necessitates a significant amount of self-study, but the course was very helpful in keeping my study schedule on track. It seems that the overall quality of teachers employed by Manhattan Prep is very high. My teacher, Joe Martin, was awesome: very engaging, knowledgeable, responsive, and funny (which can be crucial when discussing dry GMAT material for hours straight). I also sat in on a makeup class with Ceilidh Erickson, and she was great as well, further proving my assertion about the quality of teachers.

I definitely recommend the Manhattan Prep course to anyone who is thinking about taking the test or looking to improve on a previous score.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Teacher, Great Books, Decent Online Resources

5 stars
June 2, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 231 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 23 reviews
Teacher: Josh Yardley
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I opted for the 9 week Manhattan course over the much more compact Veritas course because I was working full time and only had about 1-2 hours a night to study.

Right out of the gate, I score a 620 and brought it up to a 730 several months later with Manhattan Prep (studying about 15 hours a week on average).

Pros:
- Incredible Teacher
- Great Schedule (once a week for 9 weeks)
- In depth, well-written, and entertaining (at times) books
- Ebooks (this was HUGE, I didn't even factor it in at the beginning, but it made studying while traveling so much easier)
- Solid online resources (cons below)
- Post-Course Assessment was very helpful

Cons:
- No way to sort by unsolved OG problems in Navigator (seems like such an obvious feature, but they spent all their engineering resources on a site facelift apparently)
- MGMAT math and IR were way harder than the quant problems on the real exam. I believe this did me a disservice, because I over-analyzed easy problems on the test and double-checked my work when I should have spent that time elsewhere
- IR practice sets were obnoxious. I couldn't just practice a few at a time, I had go through an entire section to see the answers
- Couldn't restart an exam. I accidentally started an exam without IR, I realized this 2 seconds in, but couldn't restart and effectively "lost" that section unless I decided to reset all 6 exams

Honestly, I'd probably give the course a 4 overall, but the my teacher was so good that I'll round up to 5 stars

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very Knowledgeable Tutor But That Didn't Translate to An Improvement In My Score

3 stars
March 27, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 27 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 550
My assigned tutor with Manhattan GMAT was Mark Sullivan. I was impressed with his knowledge of the GMAT and recommended strategies to succeed. He made himself readily available and provided great resources to help me during our time. His e-mails were informative and always useful.

I didn't see improvement initially with my private tutoring but after a few sessions I began to gain some traction and improve my performance on my practice exams. He served as a great motivator to me when I wanted to quit, and he was able to talk me into sticking with it.

Unfortunately when it came to taking the exam, I saw no difference in my score on the Quant or Verbal section. Needless to say, after spending thousands of dollars on private customized tutoring I was pretty disappointed. As a result, I can't recommend this service to friends. I take responsibility that I may not be the brightest kid and one who has always struggled with formalized testing.

Mark was confident that if I were to retake the GMAT in a month I would be scoring where I was on my practice exams prior the exam (upper 600s). Fortunately for me, I was able to land a great consulting position shortly after taking the GMAT exam but that meant I was unable to get back in and take the exam when that tutoring was fresh.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2014
College: Dartmouth College
Major: Philosophy
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, great instructor Jonathan Schneider

5 stars
March 9, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 231 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 70 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took the 9-week course with Jonathan Schneider and loved it. The class design was thoughtful and structured, and did a good job balancing between learning core concepts and learning test tips and tricks. Probably the biggest asset of the course is the Manhattan GMAT study materials, which go way far beyond the GMAT Official Guide in terms of detail. Whereas the OG explanations start with the right answer and then tell you why it's right, the Manhattan GMAT materials help you think through how to approach a problem from the start and identify the concepts and approaches you can use to arrive at the answer. Overall they emphasize the concepts and variable approaches to problems, whereas the OG only gives one possible way to get to the answer.

Jonathan Schneider is an ideal teacher for the course--he's funny and engaging and makes class enjoyable to go to, and most importantly he really knows his stuff. He can shift gears when needed and provide different ways of thinking about problems, which helped everyone come to understand things. He was always available after class or over email for one-on-one help, and really went beyond what I initially expected when I signed up for a group class.

Overall the class felt like the exact right type of approach. It's important to note that in order to get the results you really have to put in the time; you're not going to learn this stuff by passively listening. The good news is that the class provides the structured approach to get you there. I couldn't recommend this any more strongly.

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very helpful if you're willing to put in the time

4 stars
January 19, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 231 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 29 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Great course. Learned plenty of tips that I would have otherwise not have seen or overlooked in the books. Just make sure that you have enough time during the week to do all of the accompanying work - if you don't the course itself will be far less useful.

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: International Relations
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Dedicated, Talented Instructors

5 stars
January 7, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 38 reviews
Teacher: Joe Lucero, Dejan Krunic
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I initially was a little hesitant to pay so much money for an online course, but it ended up being worth it. The course really helped me hone in and focus my study, and to highlight areas where I needed to learn more. Dejan and Joe were phenomenal--incredibly smart, ridiculously enthusiastic, and always available to answer questions. I did have to miss a few live courses because of work, but it was fine to just catch up with the recorded versions.

When used in conjunction with the OG, MGMAT books, and Thursdays with Ron sessions, this course gives you everything you need to succeed. Keep practicing!

Joined: Jul 2013
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Economics
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT Course

5 stars
January 6, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 231 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Houston 1 review
Teacher: Jamie Nelson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I tried two other courses and nothing comes close to Manhattan in quality. It really comes down to the quality of their materials, the best instructors in the business (all 99th percentile scorers), the most predictive practice tests, and the fantastic OG tracker to keep track of official guide problems.

When studying on my own, I had hard time knowing what I should study next. Manhattan's syllabus and materials makes it easy to get into a rhythm. If you are serious about scoring above 700 and are willing to put in the time, Manhattan has designed the course and materials to get you there. Jamie Nelson was a fantastic instructor and was extremely responsive even after the course ended.

Joined: Dec 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

ManhattanGMAT is a weaker course than Veritas - I did both

3 stars
December 4, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 231 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 29 reviews
Teacher: Pedro Ledesma
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Veritas and ManhattanGmat have very similar scores here. Given their status at the top of the heap I decided to take both.

Materials:

Veritas and ManhattanGMAT materials are generally pretty similar. Though, with the exception of sentence correction, Veritas materials are either equivalent or better than ManhattanGMAT. The online materials are so poorly organized at Manhattan GMAT it took me a long time to realize that they even had all of the material Veritas had.

Finally, Veritas just put up some new practice tests. They are awesome. They feel very similar to the official test questions and are quite challenging. ManhattanGMAT feels a few years out of date. Maybe it's because they were bought out by Kaplan, but either way, it's clear that they have work to do.

Instructor:
Pedro Ledesma is a solid instructor. Knows the material well. Very approachable.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Exceptional Course

5 stars
November 22, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 231 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 70 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in taking the GMAT or improving a previous score. My professor was Joe who was really great! Every instructor follows the same thorough lesson plan. The material and quality instructors are what make the Manhattan Gmat superior. However, I think you will notice a difference in the class environments. I took a Sunday class. Although it cuts into your weekend, I found it to be much smaller (8ppl) and more easy going than weekday courses. Not sure if this was just my experience but I went to 1 weekday make up class which held about 30 people. This class felt a bit more fast paced and I noticed it was more challenging for the instructor to answer each student's questions or focus on any one student or topic for too long.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: University of Delaware
Major: English
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent instructor - fun class!

5 stars
October 29, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 313 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 231 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 8 reviews
Teacher: Joe Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 440   After: 590
Joe is a great instructor. He's conversational, and knows how to communicate complex material in a way that is easier to understand. He's also great at making sure everyone has an opportunity to talk through the problem, understand it and encourages multiple approaches. The GMAT is a tricky exam and his approach makes it a lot of fun to try to outsmart the GMAT. I increased my school by 150 points in 2.5 months. I was also accepted into my top choice school (a top tier school in my opinion). I know that without the class this would not have been possible.