Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 344 reviews
Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course

5 stars
September 11, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Raleigh-Durham 5 reviews
Teacher: Whitney Garner
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Whitney was a fantastic instructor and was readily available both in and out of the classroom. Moreover, it was clear she really enjoyed teaching the course and brought a lot of energy into every lesson. The overall course was easy to follow and well organized. I was especially impressed with their online portal which contained a myriad of resources, particularly the practice exams. In addition to learning about the exam question types and how to best tackle them, I think the most important aspects of the course were the strategies involved in taking the GMAT. I was very happy with the results of the course, and I am so thankful to have found them!

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Fundação Getulio Vargar
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course

5 stars
August 26, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 83 reviews
Teacher: Christine Defenbaugh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took the ManhattanPrep classes early in 2016 and high recommend the course. The classes and material were great and helped me study to take the GMAT and get a score over 700. The books and online material are very streamlined so you study in the most efficient manner and don't waste time learning or doing things that won't help. Our instructor, Christine, was a lot of fun. Make no mistake though, the study and homework workload is heavy. I'd say 10-20 hrs per week.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Economics
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Resources, Great Tutors

5 stars
August 7, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 33 reviews
Teacher: Jayson Beatty
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Signing up for 10 hours with a Manhattan Prep private tutor also gets you all of their books, the Official Guide, 6 CATs, interactive online classes, and the secretly important GMAT Navigator question analyzer. Each of those elements is extremely helpful.

In addition to being the man, Jayson Beatty was extremely helpful in nailing down the tough concepts and providing strategy and feedback. He helped to prioritize my focus and time and guided me to a good score on the GMAT (770). I give Jayson the highest praise.

All of the resources MGMAT provides can be extremely helpful if you invest in using them. Having a GMAT resource like Jayson is most helpful if you work on problems and concepts the rest of the week and come with questions. Having 1000s of pages is only helpful if you read them with focus and don't let yourself ignore things that you don't understand. Overall, Manhattan Prep gives you everything you could need to get a great score, and it's up to you to make the most of it. Manhattan Prep GMAT was absolutely fantastic for me, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep course with Manhattan Prep's instructor Eric Caballero

5 stars
July 30, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 83 reviews
Teacher: Eric Caballero
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took the GMAT class with Eric Caballero as highly recommended by my friend, who scored 750+. The first class I had with Eric, I realized he is AWESOME! Not only he was able to explain questions clearly, he taught the strategy of solving questions given limited time. Plus, he is very nice and has good humor.

When I took my first mock test (un-timed) before the class, I scored 700+, however it took me more than twice of the time allowed to finish it. After taking the class with Eric and finishing homework assigned, I was able to solve most questions within suggested time. A month after I finished the class, I was able to score 750+ on my official test. Kudos to Manhattan Prep and Eric!

I would suggest Manhattan prep and Eric to anyone who wants to crack the GMAT and avoid lengthy preparation time.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: university of calgary
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Chemicals
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan prep is the way to go!

5 stars
July 28, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 43 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs and Paul Fisher
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 390
Manhattan Prep is the way to go for GMAT. I bought Manhattan GMAT books after reading their excellent review online; however, I was still lost after reading through all the books. I then signed up for 9 week course online with Manhattan Prep and that was definitely money well spent. The classes are incredibly helpful and both of my instructors, Ryan Jacobs and Paul Fisher, were really knowledgeable and approachable. They teach you so many tricks that you would never learn by just reading the books.

After taking the classes, I found that I was still struggling with CR and certain areas of quant. I then took 4 private lessons with Ryan that essentially helped me to cross the 700 mark.

Ryan is an awesome teacher who genuinely cares for his students and is always available to answer questions, even when he is on vacation. If you are struggling with GMAT in general, I suggest signing up for classes with Manhattan prep. However, if there are specific areas that need work, I would sign up for private lessons (they are expensive, but so worth it) with Ryan.

A big thank you to Manhattan Prep and Ryan Jacobs!

My score: 710 (48 Quant, 39 Verbal)

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: University of California San Diego
Major: Urban and Regional Planning
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Really impressed

5 stars
July 23, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 43 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince and Reed Arnold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 670
I am so lucky to have been able to get into Stacey Koprince and Reed Arnold's class. They co-taught, and to my luck, I got the best of both worlds with both of their perspectives on questions and answers. They really went above and beyond what I expected from a course. Their support continued even after the course was over. They assured me that they would be there to help me anytime I had any questions. They obviously care about their students and it's obvious by the way they offer so much support even when they're not going to make anything extra from doing so. Most importantly, they instilled confidence and helped me rid my test anxiety and panic. I ultimately picked them because I read so many positive reviews about them, and the reviews were right. I hadn't heard of Reed Arnold, but I will say that he was SO HELPFUL in my process to learning. I would even e-mail sometimes at 2am and he would still respond to try and help me with problems!!! Seriously, what a guy. What I loved most about their teaching style is they will not just spoon feed you answers. They will guide you in the right direction and let you know if you're doing well or if you could change a few things. This was extremely helpful since it helped me to remember everything they helped me with.

Anyhow, I had first used The Economist online prep course and it was by far the worst investment of money and time I've ever made. I went with them because it was half the price of other courses. BAD DECISION. After 2 months of that and not improving my practice scores at all (580) I decided enough was enough. Most of my friends who scored well recommended Manhattan Prep so I went with it. BEST DECISION. Honestly, after 4 weeks, my score went up 50 points, and by the time I took my test, I had improved from 580 to 670 48Q/34V. Although not the score I was hoping for, it was my first time taking the test and I'm confident I'll get a 700 my second time around.

If you are going back and forth and are not sure which instructor to choose (I'm sure there are many great instructors), Stacey Koprince and/or Reed Arnold. I'm dead serious. Best instructors I've ever had. They balance humor, participation, don't waste time, and are very easy to understand. I'll be honest, I took some trial courses with other instructors and I just couldn't stand the way they talked.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Kimberly Cabot

5 stars
July 23, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 17 reviews
Teacher: Kimberly Cabot
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took the prep course with Kimberly, and I really enjoyed my experience. She's very passionate about teaching the class and extremely knowledgeable as well. What I enjoyed most was her unique approach to solving quantitative problems. For example, while she would show us how to solve problems the "traditional" way, she would often point out a simpler solution that relied more on common sense thinking and less on calculation. I also really enjoyed her strategies around timing and pacing- from how to set up your scratch paper to benchmarks you should be following to make sure you're going to finish the exam on time. I think these small details were responsible for that +20 point boost I got on test day.

Manhattan Prep also has a ton of additional resources on their online student portal. My only gripe would be that it's very overwhelming and not presented in the most intuitive way. My favorite resource was the sentence correction book. While the classroom sessions do delve into the basics of sentence correction, this book is an absolute must to master all the nuances.

My final advice would be to take as many practices tests as possible. Manhattan provides 6 CATs, but I used free tests from Kaplan, Veritas, and the official GMAT to as well to improve my timing and pacing instincts and to diversify my prep. In my experience, the scores I got from Manhattan CATs were much lower than my official score (my highest Manhattan CAT was 700 and I was plateauing at that). So don't feel you need to hit your target score before taking the real thing. You may be pleasantly surprised on test day :)

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Villanova University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe is a GMAT assassin.

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 33 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 83 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
This was my first tutor-pupil relationship, ever. I found Joe to be flexible and responsive - both of which are supremely important in a work-GMAT balancing act. He knows his stuff inside and out, and is a great guy. I took a diagnostic completely cold and scored a 610; I ended up with a 720 on GMAT #1. Highly recommend.

Thanks, Joe and Manhattan Prep!

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Effective GMAT prep class

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 83 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took David Mahler's GMAT class over the summer. The 9 week session was particularly helpful as they identified my weaknesses and helped me improve in those specific areas. I did well on my first attempt and even better on my second attempt.

Strongly Recommended!

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Carleton University
Major: International Business
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Avi Gutman: simply AMAZING!

5 stars
July 8, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 344 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: N/A
Before I dive into my personal story, if you don't want to read the entire review, I will say this right off the bat: Avi is an INCREDIBLE teacher, he is literally the definition of what a perfect, ideal teacher should be.
My story:
I researched online to find a tutor in Toronto with amazing reviews, and found Avi. I approached Avi four weeks before my exam, to inquire about his tutoring availability and rates, and gave him a brief explanation of my situation; I wasn't scoring where I wanted to be in my practice tests, so I figured a few tutoring sessions with the right instructor would help to boost my score. After explaining my situation to Avi, however, he did not encourage me to get tutoring sessions with him (he did not try to sell his tutoring at all, which I found to be very honest and genuine), instead, he made me realize that there was no rush to be done with the GMAT in the time period I was expecting to be, and told me he thought I would benefit more from enrolling in his 9-session course (much cheaper than private tutoring!), which covers the entire GMAT content. I decided to take Avi's expert advice, and enrolled in his course. This was an AMAZING decision! Avi is all of the things an ideal teacher should be: patient, extremely intelligent (goes without saying he knows the content inside and out), caring, devoted, thoughtful, funny!, did I say patient?, very calming and reassuring whenever you are in doubt or stressing, and he is extremely effective at explaining things in detail, he breaks every concept down so much so that everyone is able to understand even the most complex concepts and problems. It's absolutely incredible how simple he makes everything seem! Every time I would email Avi with a question or letting him know I am stressed out about my upcoming exam, etc., as soon as I’d read the first line or two of his email, I would IMMEDIATELY feel calm and reassured, he is truly a fantastic therapist, and always knows what to say to calm students down, while providing great advice with a sound plan of action. For anyone considering it but not sure if it is worth it: IT IS! Plus, with the cost of the course comes the 10-volume Manhattan book series, and access to all of Manhattan’s online services, including 6 practice CATs.
Thank you, Avi, for being an amazing teacher and therapist!!!

Also, the company itself is awesome, they are very dedicated to their students, and they offer plenty of useful resources for students.