Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 323 reviews
Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent course to get up to speed with content and strategy

4 stars
January 30, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 238 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
I would echo the view of most of GMAT takers that Manhattan offers the best content. I have attended the course in person in London and it has certainly prepared me well to score over 600. My only issue lack of practice material outside questions in the book. If you are someone learns by practising (and making mistakes) you may find course a little bit light on practice materials. Hence, I choose to sign up for Magoosh which had tons of pracrtice materials for a fraction of the MGMAT price and both course worked very well in combination.

Joined: Dec 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course - High Recommended!

5 stars
December 17, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 238 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Starr
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Based on my experience, Manhattan course is the best GMAT prep course out there. Before I started the Manhattan course, I was using Veritas Prep on demand and did not see huge improvement in my practice test scores.

I enrolled in the Manhattan GMAT 9 week prep course and I am finishing my preparation to enroll in the exam.

I attended all the classes and felt that they were a great supplement to my studying. I cannot recommend Manhattan Prep and instructor Ryan Starr enough. Ryan Starr is a fantastic teacher who genuinely cares about his students' performance. Ryan’s tricks and words of encouragement were incredibly helpful in improving my score.

In addition, the website is amazing - "homework help" hours, the on demand prep, the evaluation of the preparation – its making a huge difference.

I believe that the approach to learning that Manhattan Prep has created is what truly makes the course successful.

I can only think of good things to say about the company and the employees of Manhattan.

Joined: May 2013
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Country: Portugal
Verified Real Student Review

A must for the Quant Section!

4 stars
December 17, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 238 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Starr
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 490   After: 650
Its True: Manhattan GMAT provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success

The course is very comprehensive given you the opportunity to improve your skills in each of the section tested on Gmat Exam.

The course is special good for the ones who want to improve the quant score - i notice that the mocks exams on quant section are harder than the real exam. My improvement on quant section were from Q37 to Q47.

Notice that our score really depends on the work he put into studying plan. With discipline, focus, and a time, he can achieve our dream score.

Joined: Dec 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Consistency Pays Off

5 stars
December 16, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 40 reviews
Teacher: Noah Teitelbaum
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 740
Manhattan Prep combines the two necessities of beating the GMAT: content and strategy.

For content, the 9-week course is balanced between Verbal and Quant, building on itself each week with both readings and actual OG problems. Progress is tracked by 3 CAT exams taken throughout the course, as well as homework planners and trackers. The essay and IR are also taught, but in such away that they are thoroughly understood without becoming an added layer of stress.

As for strategies, instructors at Manhattan Prep cut to the core of each problem type. For Problem Solving and Data Sufficiency, students are taught how to instantly recognize question stems. Then, depending on the answer choices, strategies such as back-solving, smart numbers and even guessing may be utilized. For verbal, the approach of eliminating answer choices helps to keep thoughts organized and makes even the toughest problems a 50-50 toss-up. Most importantly, there is an intense focus on timing, without which even the smartest test takers will be lost.

As an aside, for those who cannot commit to a weekly class in a consistent location, the live online course is great. Each session is still incredibly interactive and the ability to actually see and hear the instructors makes it hard not to pay attention.

For those thinking of taking the GMAT, best of luck! However, you won't need luck if you use Manhattan Prep...

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
Verified Real Student Review

It was OK, would not recommend as the sole resource

3 stars
November 23, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
Manhattan was good to get back to being familiar with the basics (especially math-wise). I hadn't taken a math class since high school, so I was a little rusty to say the least. The books were really great for getting back on track with math; the verbal books didn't feel as helpful. I wasn't thrilled that Manhattan didn't provide that many practice questions outside of the the tests they gave. I felt like buying "real" GMAT questions and tests was a great supplement for the Manhattan lessons, but I don't think it was Manhattan's course alone that helped boost my score. I really felt like doing problems over and over (outside of the practice tests) was the most useful thing for me. Ultimately, I would recommend Manhattan if you supplement it with other practice questions, etc.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: Barnard College
Major: American Studies
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe Martin Works GMAT Magic

5 stars
November 16, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 28 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 74 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
The short version: Joe is a gifted, enthusiastic, and patient teacher who helped me improve my score by over 100 points in less than two months of weekly tutoring sessions. Working with Joe made a top-tier MBA program a possibility for me. Work with him. Period. You won't regret it.

The long version: I'm an older candidate who graduated from a liberal arts school and hadn't touched math in nearly 10 years. I took Manhattan Prep's 9-week course and subsequently spent several months studying fundamental math concepts with a different tutor. Despite my efforts, I became frustrated by my progress and Manhattan Prep suggested that I work with Joe.

The difference was night and day. Joe is as humble as he is brilliant and clearly takes pride in helping his students succeed. During our first session, he listened to my concerns, asked pointed questions, and created a structured game plan that struck a balance between content review and test taking strategy. It was apparent that Joe not only has a masterful understanding of GMAT concepts and content, but is also a natural teacher who clearly enjoys working through the material with his students. For example, when I struggled with a problem, Joe would patiently think of different ways to explain the concept until I understood it. I started noticing improvement in my scores within weeks of working together, and was thrilled when I earned a 660 on my first official exam. (That might not sound very impressive to you GMAT snobs out there, but I started at a 410, so that's a victory in my book.) I truly can't recommend him enough; it's an investment that will definitely pay off.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent instructor. I not only mastered the content but also gained test-day strategies.

5 stars
November 5, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 238 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 74 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Joe was a great instructor for all aspects of the GMAT in terms of content and test-day strategies. I achieved my target score of >700 after the nine session course and three weeks of self-study. Joe was a great instructor; he clearly knows the material and the exam very well, and took time to help his students succeed. He was always available to provide feedback after class or via email. I'd definitely recommend MGMAT as a prep company and Joe as a teacher.

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: University of Southern California
Major: Aerospace Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is the Best in the Business

5 stars
October 5, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 238 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Seattle 3 reviews
Teacher: Jayson Beatty
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
If you are serious about getting into a top-tier business school, Manhattan GMAT can help you get the score you want. Their track record speaks for itself and makes them the best in the business. My personal experience was very positive; after 3 months of classes and 1 month of self-studying, my score went up 80 points and I got my target score.

My instructor Jayson Beatty was fantastic, I looked forward to class every week. He made GMAT learning fun and entertaining, partially because he's just a funny guy. We met once a week for class, which made email communication very important. Jayson is very responsive to emails, always replying within hours. Lectures were systematic, first we learned the concept, then we went applied our learning through a series of examples. I registered for an in-person class with 6 students, which allowed us to take turns answer questions on the board.

Highly recommend both Manhattan GMAT and Jayson Beatty!

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: William & Mary
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

Disappointing.

3 stars
September 30, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 238 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 30 reviews
Teacher: Marcus
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
My main problem with Manhattan GMAT is that it is just a standardized test machine. I did not feel like the professor or anyone working at Manhattan really cared how I did- even when I asked for help. You would think if you shelled out $1,200 for a prep course that you would get some personalized study tips.
My problem was timing. The only help I got was advice to "just keep doing more problems". I, of course, obliged and did not get near the score I wanted to get.
I went from a 660 after taking Manhattan GMAT course to a 720 after using Magoosh GMAT materials.
Obviously, this course works for some people. If you do end up taking it, my suggestion would be to know your stuff before you go. Make sure you are solid on the fundamentals or else this course will not help you at all.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Jonathan Schneider is an excellent instructor!

5 stars
July 21, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 323 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 238 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 74 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Before signing up for my 9-week GMAT prep course I did a lot of research online and asked coworkers/friends for recommendations about where and with who to take it. Manhattan GMAT was hands down the recommendation across the board. I chose the class based on its convenience with my schedule (and the need to discipline my studying by committing to an in-person course) and had high expectations after reading Jonathan's reviews on BeattheGMAT, Yelp, and LinkedIn. Thankfully, he did not disappoint! I found his strategies for mastering content to be very helpful, and what I appreciated most was the way that he helped put things into perspective and lessen the stress of taking the test. He was very responsive to my emails even after the class ended and helped answer questions/suggest strategies for improving my score after my first exam. Main point - Jonathan is a great instructor and I know I couldn't have received the score I did without the strategies I learned from him.