Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 346 reviews
Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: Fordham University
Major: Political Science
Country: Peru
Verified Real Student Review

100 point jump!

5 stars
November 30, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 44 reviews
Teacher: Reed Arnold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
SO many great things to say about Manhattan Prep. First, it's worth noting that I raised my score from 650 to 750 within 30 days after taking the intensive, twice-per-week online class with instructors Reed and Jayson (who are both awesome and hilarious dudes). I don't think that my case should be the expected case, however I also don't think that it is totally unrealistic to target a major boost in your score if you simply stay the path with Manhattan. The first thing we were told is that if you master the subject matter, you can achieve a 650, however to get a 750, you must master the strategies - this couldn't be more true, and this will really only come with practice and diligence. That said, Manhattan delivers a program that focuses on both of these items. I highly highly highly recommend Manhattan Prep for the GMAT.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Best Tutor- Mark, who believes in you even when you doubt yourself!

5 stars
September 28, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 34 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 500   After: 670
I am so glad to be able to write this. It has been a long yet rewarding 10 months. After 1st gmat fail (420), I used Mprep self- interact and improved and got (500) in my 2nd time. I came across a website and the author shared his experiences of taking the Gmat 5 times and the final push was having a great tutor. At first, I was hesitated because I had a poor in person tutor before my 1st gmat and got a 420. I asked myself, am I going to try an online tutor? That was the best decision of my whole gmat journey and worth every penny. I was paired with Mark Sullivan for a post exam assessment and his positive tone and enthusiasm about GMAT were exactly what I needed after my 2nd attempt. Therefore, I asked him if he could private tutor me.

Mark was very diligent and knowledgeable. I told him about my bad experiences with my previous tutor so he quickly shared his tutoring way with me. Mark couldn’t tutor me in July because of his previous engagement, but he clearly wrote down assignments and articles for me before our 1st session in August so that I can start preparing. I knew then that I picked the right tutor.

Mark and I had 6 sessions together, he was always on time and wouldn’t mind staying a few extra mins if I have questions at the end. During our sessions, he was always positive and encouraged me all the time. That was very important to me because I have felt quite beating down after 7 months of rigorously studying. During our sessions, Mark focused on strategies that will help me improve my score, he taught me very useful skills such as how to correctly review error log, gave me drill sheets that will improve certain content area, assign readings that help me with mental strength in preparation for the gmat (gmat is such a mental game in a way), timed set to stimulate exam mode, creating goals for each session and each prep test, etc,.. Mark was very knowledgeable and always willing to answer my questions.

In addition to his tactics on the strategies, Mark’s positivism and encouragement made a HUGE difference on me. GMAT journey could be very lonely and under pressure, having Mark always on my side and showed me support was very crucial to my mental strength. He did not only teach me the skills but he taught me the importance of belief and positivism. I recalled I got a 570 on my last gmat prep 10 days before my 3rd attempt. I immediately sent an email to Mark with all my analysis and asked him should I postpone my exam since I only got a 570. He replied me within hours and said that he think I should go for it because I can and said the prep result was a reference only. We then had our last session, and he sent me 2 more encouraging emails prior to the BIG day and asked me to have confidence walking into that exam room because he knew that I can do this.

My goal was to get a 600 and I ended up getting a 670 (Q 44 V 38)! From 420-670, and I can’t thank Mark enough for teaching me the right way to deal with the Gmat and for believing me all the ways even when I doubt myself! If you are thinking of a tutor, Mark is definitely the right guy! Thank you Mark from the bottom of my heart.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course

5 stars
September 11, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Raleigh-Durham 5 reviews
Teacher: Whitney Garner
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Whitney was a fantastic instructor and was readily available both in and out of the classroom. Moreover, it was clear she really enjoyed teaching the course and brought a lot of energy into every lesson. The overall course was easy to follow and well organized. I was especially impressed with their online portal which contained a myriad of resources, particularly the practice exams. In addition to learning about the exam question types and how to best tackle them, I think the most important aspects of the course were the strategies involved in taking the GMAT. I was very happy with the results of the course, and I am so thankful to have found them!

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Fundação Getulio Vargar
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course

5 stars
August 26, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 83 reviews
Teacher: Christine Defenbaugh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took the ManhattanPrep classes early in 2016 and high recommend the course. The classes and material were great and helped me study to take the GMAT and get a score over 700. The books and online material are very streamlined so you study in the most efficient manner and don't waste time learning or doing things that won't help. Our instructor, Christine, was a lot of fun. Make no mistake though, the study and homework workload is heavy. I'd say 10-20 hrs per week.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Economics
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Resources, Great Tutors

5 stars
August 7, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 34 reviews
Teacher: Jayson Beatty
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Signing up for 10 hours with a Manhattan Prep private tutor also gets you all of their books, the Official Guide, 6 CATs, interactive online classes, and the secretly important GMAT Navigator question analyzer. Each of those elements is extremely helpful.

In addition to being the man, Jayson Beatty was extremely helpful in nailing down the tough concepts and providing strategy and feedback. He helped to prioritize my focus and time and guided me to a good score on the GMAT (770). I give Jayson the highest praise.

All of the resources MGMAT provides can be extremely helpful if you invest in using them. Having a GMAT resource like Jayson is most helpful if you work on problems and concepts the rest of the week and come with questions. Having 1000s of pages is only helpful if you read them with focus and don't let yourself ignore things that you don't understand. Overall, Manhattan Prep gives you everything you could need to get a great score, and it's up to you to make the most of it. Manhattan Prep GMAT was absolutely fantastic for me, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep course with Manhattan Prep's instructor Eric Caballero

5 stars
July 30, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 83 reviews
Teacher: Eric Caballero
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took the GMAT class with Eric Caballero as highly recommended by my friend, who scored 750+. The first class I had with Eric, I realized he is AWESOME! Not only he was able to explain questions clearly, he taught the strategy of solving questions given limited time. Plus, he is very nice and has good humor.

When I took my first mock test (un-timed) before the class, I scored 700+, however it took me more than twice of the time allowed to finish it. After taking the class with Eric and finishing homework assigned, I was able to solve most questions within suggested time. A month after I finished the class, I was able to score 750+ on my official test. Kudos to Manhattan Prep and Eric!

I would suggest Manhattan prep and Eric to anyone who wants to crack the GMAT and avoid lengthy preparation time.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: university of calgary
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Chemicals
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan prep is the way to go!

5 stars
July 28, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 44 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs and Paul Fisher
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 390
Manhattan Prep is the way to go for GMAT. I bought Manhattan GMAT books after reading their excellent review online; however, I was still lost after reading through all the books. I then signed up for 9 week course online with Manhattan Prep and that was definitely money well spent. The classes are incredibly helpful and both of my instructors, Ryan Jacobs and Paul Fisher, were really knowledgeable and approachable. They teach you so many tricks that you would never learn by just reading the books.

After taking the classes, I found that I was still struggling with CR and certain areas of quant. I then took 4 private lessons with Ryan that essentially helped me to cross the 700 mark.

Ryan is an awesome teacher who genuinely cares for his students and is always available to answer questions, even when he is on vacation. If you are struggling with GMAT in general, I suggest signing up for classes with Manhattan prep. However, if there are specific areas that need work, I would sign up for private lessons (they are expensive, but so worth it) with Ryan.

A big thank you to Manhattan Prep and Ryan Jacobs!

My score: 710 (48 Quant, 39 Verbal)

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: University of California San Diego
Major: Urban and Regional Planning
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Really impressed

5 stars
July 23, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 44 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince and Reed Arnold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 670
I am so lucky to have been able to get into Stacey Koprince and Reed Arnold's class. They co-taught, and to my luck, I got the best of both worlds with both of their perspectives on questions and answers. They really went above and beyond what I expected from a course. Their support continued even after the course was over. They assured me that they would be there to help me anytime I had any questions. They obviously care about their students and it's obvious by the way they offer so much support even when they're not going to make anything extra from doing so. Most importantly, they instilled confidence and helped me rid my test anxiety and panic. I ultimately picked them because I read so many positive reviews about them, and the reviews were right. I hadn't heard of Reed Arnold, but I will say that he was SO HELPFUL in my process to learning. I would even e-mail sometimes at 2am and he would still respond to try and help me with problems!!! Seriously, what a guy. What I loved most about their teaching style is they will not just spoon feed you answers. They will guide you in the right direction and let you know if you're doing well or if you could change a few things. This was extremely helpful since it helped me to remember everything they helped me with.

Anyhow, I had first used The Economist online prep course and it was by far the worst investment of money and time I've ever made. I went with them because it was half the price of other courses. BAD DECISION. After 2 months of that and not improving my practice scores at all (580) I decided enough was enough. Most of my friends who scored well recommended Manhattan Prep so I went with it. BEST DECISION. Honestly, after 4 weeks, my score went up 50 points, and by the time I took my test, I had improved from 580 to 670 48Q/34V. Although not the score I was hoping for, it was my first time taking the test and I'm confident I'll get a 700 my second time around.

If you are going back and forth and are not sure which instructor to choose (I'm sure there are many great instructors), Stacey Koprince and/or Reed Arnold. I'm dead serious. Best instructors I've ever had. They balance humor, participation, don't waste time, and are very easy to understand. I'll be honest, I took some trial courses with other instructors and I just couldn't stand the way they talked.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Kimberly Cabot

5 stars
July 23, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 251 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 17 reviews
Teacher: Kimberly Cabot
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took the prep course with Kimberly, and I really enjoyed my experience. She's very passionate about teaching the class and extremely knowledgeable as well. What I enjoyed most was her unique approach to solving quantitative problems. For example, while she would show us how to solve problems the "traditional" way, she would often point out a simpler solution that relied more on common sense thinking and less on calculation. I also really enjoyed her strategies around timing and pacing- from how to set up your scratch paper to benchmarks you should be following to make sure you're going to finish the exam on time. I think these small details were responsible for that +20 point boost I got on test day.

Manhattan Prep also has a ton of additional resources on their online student portal. My only gripe would be that it's very overwhelming and not presented in the most intuitive way. My favorite resource was the sentence correction book. While the classroom sessions do delve into the basics of sentence correction, this book is an absolute must to master all the nuances.

My final advice would be to take as many practices tests as possible. Manhattan provides 6 CATs, but I used free tests from Kaplan, Veritas, and the official GMAT to as well to improve my timing and pacing instincts and to diversify my prep. In my experience, the scores I got from Manhattan CATs were much lower than my official score (my highest Manhattan CAT was 700 and I was plateauing at that). So don't feel you need to hit your target score before taking the real thing. You may be pleasantly surprised on test day :)

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Villanova University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe is a GMAT assassin.

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 346 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 34 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 83 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
This was my first tutor-pupil relationship, ever. I found Joe to be flexible and responsive - both of which are supremely important in a work-GMAT balancing act. He knows his stuff inside and out, and is a great guy. I took a diagnostic completely cold and scored a 610; I ended up with a 720 on GMAT #1. Highly recommend.

Thanks, Joe and Manhattan Prep!