Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 350 reviews
Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Birla Institute of Technology & Science
Major: Engineering
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A 30 point jump

5 stars
January 19, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 35 reviews
Teacher: Josh Braslow
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 740
On the first attempt, I scored 710 on the GMAT but I felt it wasn't enough for the schools I was aiming for. In order to address my weaknesses in specific areas and strengthen my concepts, I opted for the 10 hour private tutoring session by Manhattan Prep. My instructor Josh understood my strengths and weaknesses from day 1 itself and provided me with the best strategies to go forward with during preparation and while giving the exam. The approach he suggested me to use while solving critical reasoning questions made a lot of difference in my verbal score. He also helped me understand the concepts in quant that I was struggling with such as divisibility and number properties by giving me ample number of difficult problems to solve. The Manhattan Prep Strategy Guide books and the practice exams were extremely helpful as well in understanding concepts especially sentence correction rules though the quant section on the practice exams was a little tougher and can demoralize oneself at times. But all in all it the course is an excellent way to give yourself that push and reach higher scores.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Waterloo
Major: Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Exactly What I Was Looking For

5 stars
January 7, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 254 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
While the cost of Manhattan's prep course is is among the highest, it was exactly what I was looking for. Beyond providing an organized structure to study for the GMAT, the course provides multiple strategies to tackle problems to accommodate personal strengths and weaknesses, analytics to assess areas of improvement, and holistic guidance on how to study, manage time, and approach exam day. It's a complete package.

Avi's approach to instructing is engaging and reflective of the class' needs. There isn't a session that goes by where he doesn't ask for feedback and updates on students' individual progress. While he's efficient in covering content, he also willing to slow down and tailor his delivery for students when asked. He's friendly, patient, and responsive to emails if you students have questions outside of class. Definitely recommended as an instructor.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Indiana University
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Manhattan and Isaac Puglia

5 stars
December 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 254 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 18 reviews
Teacher: isaac puglia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 730
I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep for GMAT prep and Isaac Puglia as an instructor. I subscribed to his teaching method and exceeded my score goals in a timely manner.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely useful course if you don't know anything about the test

5 stars
December 12, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 254 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 24 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry & Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took this course without having taken the GMAT before. I didn't know anything about the format of the exam or the questions when I started it. With this in mind, I had high expectations. From the very beginning, Dan and Chris were thorough and methodical in their approach. The first week consisted of explaining the entire format of the test, how each section is scored, how we should structure our study time, and the logic behind the syllabus. I found this very useful because from the outset I was able to develop a long term plan of how I could tackle the various components of the exam.

Personally, I struggled the most with the math at first. I found the study guides somewhat useful for reviewing the basic math skills that I hadn't used in a while (exponent rules, geometry, etc). That being said, the most useful tool was access to the GMAT Navigator. This tool in conjunction with the Official Guide helped me brush up on my math skills and get my timing down to the second. The verbal lessons provided were also very useful. Dan and Chris broke down the thought process behind each question and this helped me form a consistent method of attack on the tricky CR Q's.

The Post Course Assessment was arguably the most helpful component. After you take 3 practice exams and complete the course, you are scheduled a 30 minute one-on-one session with an instructor. I did mine with Chris and he helped me target exactly what the pain points were, develop a study plan leading up to test day, and give me strategies to use as I studied. The PCA was critical to my success on the exam.

Finally, I should say that I found the MPREP practice exams significantly harder than the actual GMAT and the GMAC practice tests. This is a good thing. While I was quite frustrated throughout the course, my lower scores on the MPREP tests made me keep pushing myself. In the end I beat my target score on the real exam by 10 points! Huge thank you to Dan and Chris for an excellent course.

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: Fordham University
Major: Political Science
Country: Peru
Verified Real Student Review

100 point jump!

5 stars
November 30, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 44 reviews
Teacher: Reed Arnold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
SO many great things to say about Manhattan Prep. First, it's worth noting that I raised my score from 650 to 750 within 30 days after taking the intensive, twice-per-week online class with instructors Reed and Jayson (who are both awesome and hilarious dudes). I don't think that my case should be the expected case, however I also don't think that it is totally unrealistic to target a major boost in your score if you simply stay the path with Manhattan. The first thing we were told is that if you master the subject matter, you can achieve a 650, however to get a 750, you must master the strategies - this couldn't be more true, and this will really only come with practice and diligence. That said, Manhattan delivers a program that focuses on both of these items. I highly highly highly recommend Manhattan Prep for the GMAT.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Best Tutor- Mark, who believes in you even when you doubt yourself!

5 stars
September 28, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 35 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 500   After: 670
I am so glad to be able to write this. It has been a long yet rewarding 10 months. After 1st gmat fail (420), I used Mprep self- interact and improved and got (500) in my 2nd time. I came across a website and the author shared his experiences of taking the Gmat 5 times and the final push was having a great tutor. At first, I was hesitated because I had a poor in person tutor before my 1st gmat and got a 420. I asked myself, am I going to try an online tutor? That was the best decision of my whole gmat journey and worth every penny. I was paired with Mark Sullivan for a post exam assessment and his positive tone and enthusiasm about GMAT were exactly what I needed after my 2nd attempt. Therefore, I asked him if he could private tutor me.

Mark was very diligent and knowledgeable. I told him about my bad experiences with my previous tutor so he quickly shared his tutoring way with me. Mark couldn’t tutor me in July because of his previous engagement, but he clearly wrote down assignments and articles for me before our 1st session in August so that I can start preparing. I knew then that I picked the right tutor.

Mark and I had 6 sessions together, he was always on time and wouldn’t mind staying a few extra mins if I have questions at the end. During our sessions, he was always positive and encouraged me all the time. That was very important to me because I have felt quite beating down after 7 months of rigorously studying. During our sessions, Mark focused on strategies that will help me improve my score, he taught me very useful skills such as how to correctly review error log, gave me drill sheets that will improve certain content area, assign readings that help me with mental strength in preparation for the gmat (gmat is such a mental game in a way), timed set to stimulate exam mode, creating goals for each session and each prep test, etc,.. Mark was very knowledgeable and always willing to answer my questions.

In addition to his tactics on the strategies, Mark’s positivism and encouragement made a HUGE difference on me. GMAT journey could be very lonely and under pressure, having Mark always on my side and showed me support was very crucial to my mental strength. He did not only teach me the skills but he taught me the importance of belief and positivism. I recalled I got a 570 on my last gmat prep 10 days before my 3rd attempt. I immediately sent an email to Mark with all my analysis and asked him should I postpone my exam since I only got a 570. He replied me within hours and said that he think I should go for it because I can and said the prep result was a reference only. We then had our last session, and he sent me 2 more encouraging emails prior to the BIG day and asked me to have confidence walking into that exam room because he knew that I can do this.

My goal was to get a 600 and I ended up getting a 670 (Q 44 V 38)! From 420-670, and I can’t thank Mark enough for teaching me the right way to deal with the Gmat and for believing me all the ways even when I doubt myself! If you are thinking of a tutor, Mark is definitely the right guy! Thank you Mark from the bottom of my heart.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course

5 stars
September 11, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 254 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Raleigh-Durham 5 reviews
Teacher: Whitney Garner
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Whitney was a fantastic instructor and was readily available both in and out of the classroom. Moreover, it was clear she really enjoyed teaching the course and brought a lot of energy into every lesson. The overall course was easy to follow and well organized. I was especially impressed with their online portal which contained a myriad of resources, particularly the practice exams. In addition to learning about the exam question types and how to best tackle them, I think the most important aspects of the course were the strategies involved in taking the GMAT. I was very happy with the results of the course, and I am so thankful to have found them!

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Fundação Getulio Vargar
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course

5 stars
August 26, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 254 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 83 reviews
Teacher: Christine Defenbaugh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took the ManhattanPrep classes early in 2016 and high recommend the course. The classes and material were great and helped me study to take the GMAT and get a score over 700. The books and online material are very streamlined so you study in the most efficient manner and don't waste time learning or doing things that won't help. Our instructor, Christine, was a lot of fun. Make no mistake though, the study and homework workload is heavy. I'd say 10-20 hrs per week.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Economics
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Resources, Great Tutors

5 stars
August 7, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 35 reviews
Teacher: Jayson Beatty
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Signing up for 10 hours with a Manhattan Prep private tutor also gets you all of their books, the Official Guide, 6 CATs, interactive online classes, and the secretly important GMAT Navigator question analyzer. Each of those elements is extremely helpful.

In addition to being the man, Jayson Beatty was extremely helpful in nailing down the tough concepts and providing strategy and feedback. He helped to prioritize my focus and time and guided me to a good score on the GMAT (770). I give Jayson the highest praise.

All of the resources MGMAT provides can be extremely helpful if you invest in using them. Having a GMAT resource like Jayson is most helpful if you work on problems and concepts the rest of the week and come with questions. Having 1000s of pages is only helpful if you read them with focus and don't let yourself ignore things that you don't understand. Overall, Manhattan Prep gives you everything you could need to get a great score, and it's up to you to make the most of it. Manhattan Prep GMAT was absolutely fantastic for me, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep course with Manhattan Prep's instructor Eric Caballero

5 stars
July 30, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 350 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 254 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 83 reviews
Teacher: Eric Caballero
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took the GMAT class with Eric Caballero as highly recommended by my friend, who scored 750+. The first class I had with Eric, I realized he is AWESOME! Not only he was able to explain questions clearly, he taught the strategy of solving questions given limited time. Plus, he is very nice and has good humor.

When I took my first mock test (un-timed) before the class, I scored 700+, however it took me more than twice of the time allowed to finish it. After taking the class with Eric and finishing homework assigned, I was able to solve most questions within suggested time. A month after I finished the class, I was able to score 750+ on my official test. Kudos to Manhattan Prep and Eric!

I would suggest Manhattan prep and Eric to anyone who wants to crack the GMAT and avoid lengthy preparation time.