Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan GMAT 2-Week Boot Camp

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 3 reviews
Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: Yale University
Major: History
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep GMAT 2-week Bootcamp review

4 stars
June 15, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 2-Week Boot Camp 3 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler and David Bernstein
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
This course was a great starting point to getting me kicked off on my GMAT prep. You go through all the content and get familiarized with all the different types of questions, guided by an instructor who knows the best techniques and teaches you how to approach the exam both from a holistic viewpoint (timing, mindset, scoring system, etc) and a sectioned viewpoint (specific question-type techniques).

I found that ultimately, my score only got better the more I practiced on my own and the more practice tests I took. This course was super important in guiding my approach and ensuring I was tackling questions and problems the right way.

Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: New York University
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Verified Real Student Review

Extraordinary Experience

5 stars
September 17, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 2-Week Boot Camp 3 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider & Hemanth Venkataraman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 740
I had to shell out a lot of money and take a pretty serious leap of faith for the MGMAT 2-week boot camp. I think it came in at about $3k, and to be honest, the staff in the MGMAT office was not especially helpful when it came to questions over the phone. I was basically looking for guidance on the boot camp versus private tutoring and I felt like I was being responded off pre-written response cards. At the end of the day, I just checked reviews on the internet, talked to some friends, and took a gamble. It paid off.

The 2-week boot camp was co-taught by Jonathan and Hemanth. I was absolutely thrilled with both of them. They have different teaching styles, but both are extremely effective. Both were incredibly humorous, and personable. I was also blown away by how comfortable they were in the test and all of its nuances.

One of the biggest aids for me was when Jonathan offhanded remarked that all of the GMAT instructors agree that to beat the GMAT, you need to be a bit of a "GMAT nerd." And by that he meant, instead of being scared by the test, be interested in the question. Realize what they want you to think, where the traps will be, so that you become intrigued by each questions rather than paralyzed. This really worked for me...after my third CAT I went home to my fiancee and remarked - "this is really a fantastic test. I'm starting to fall in love with it." It was this attitudinal change that really took me from my starting score and vaulted me into the 700s.

Jonathan spent hours with me outside of classes, and responding to my e-mails. I just checked GMail, and we have nearly 50 e-mails back forth, half of which probably came after the course had officially ended. I also bombed the GMAT when I took it immediately after the course because my nerves got the better of me...Jonathan helped cool me down and set a plan for re-taking it. I followed his advice completely and it worked :)

The last thing I wanted to mention was how impressed I was by the MGMAT online framework. There are so many tools. I spent over 300 hours studying this summer, and still probably used less than half of their online tools. Normally I think of "online supplements" as weak marketing tools, so I didn't even pay attention to them at first. Only when our instructors started taking us through the value of the online tools, and how they enabled us to analyze our performance in each category and niche question type did my score really start to move. Knowing exactly where to focus (super specified) probably saved me dozens of hours of studying.

Overall, this was a dream experience. When the course ended I remarked to my fiancee how sad I was, because it was such a merit to be able to learn with Jonathan and Hemanth for two weeks straight. They made my days entertaining and productive. Oh well...now off to biz school :)

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
Verified Real Student Review

No Gimmicks

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 2-Week Boot Camp 3 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Jonathan Schneider
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
Manhattan GMAT really knows how to teach the topics covered by the GMAT, so much so that "educated guessing" techniques are not a huge focus of the class. The instructors take the time to understand each student's individual weaknesses and addresses any and all problems. In addition, the Manhattan GMAT tools are very effective at allowing students to self diagnose areas which need additional work so the student can focus their studies and then make the one on one coaching sessions with the instructors more productive.

All in all a great class with instructors who care. You walk out of the class prepared for the exam because you know the material, not because you are shown how to guess. This is essential if you want to master the GMAT. I wish I had taken the Manhattan GMAT class immediately.