Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 261 reviews
NL7
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT Prep -- Excellent!!

5 stars
October 25, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Houston 2 reviews
Teacher: Jamie Nelson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I took an in-person course with Jamie Nelson, and I highly recommend her class to anyone considering taking the GMAT! Jamie is very engaging, and you can tell that she has many years of experience helping students master the GMAT.

The in-person class was definitely beneficial for me, as I was working full time while trying to prepare for the GMAT. Committing to a Manhattan Prep course helped me to develop a prep routine. I attended the three-hour class once a week and followed the assigned homework very closely. Jamie provided supplemental resources for my weakest content areas to help me master the basics.

When you sign up for the Manhattan Prep In-Person Class, you receive a ton of useful resources: Manhattan Prep strategy guides, the most recent Official GMAT Guide, access to pre-recorded online lessons, 6 MGMAT practice exams, and the list goes on. Additionally, once you have complete the prep course, Manhattan Prep offers a one-on-one post course assessment meeting with an instructor to outline a custom study plan for you to follow from the time the course ends until your test day.

Ultimately, I was able to improve my score by 200+ points! The Manhattan GMAT Prep classes are definitely worth the investment.

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: U of Toronto
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Chemicals
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

540 to 720

5 stars
October 16, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Teacher: Jamie & Paul
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 720
Excellent course overall Jamie & Paul were very engaging instructors and always willing to answer question. Having never taken any sort of standardized test before; having the opportunity to learn about different test taking strategies as well as the course content was very beneficial. Manhattan Prep also offered a mindfulness workshop led by another instructor: Logan. If you have the opportunity to participate I would definitely recommend it. The mindfulness workshop really helped slow down the pace of the test.

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: Stanford
Major: Engineering Management
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

AMZAZING GMAT PREP!!

5 stars
July 19, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
I highly recommend Manhattan prep to help you prepare for the GMAT. I took the in person class with instructor Ryan Jacobs and had a post course assessment with Liz Moliski. Both were extremely helpful in improving my score. By the end of the class, I was able to improve my score from 640 to 730! These people are amazing and I strongly recommend them if you want to get the best score possible.

Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Emory University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep - The Real Deal

5 stars
June 23, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Teacher: Reed Arnold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 680
Manhattan Prep provides an unparalleled experience. As a test taker who has worked with two different companies, I must admit that Manhattan Prep offers the most value and the best services. I enrolled in the 9-session GMAT prep course and had the pleasure of working with Reed Arnold. Reed was friendly from day 1 and somehow found a way to help me actually enjoy my 3-month study period !

Reed led classes with a unique style that incorporated humor, lessons from his past and proven best practices. Reed always paused for any questions and had an impressive way of ensuring that all students would leave each class feeling positive and confident. Even more impressive, Reed remained available at all times by keeping his promise that he would always respond to any question or urgent request for advice via email! I personally emailed Reed on a weekly basis and am very happy to report that he consistently responded with thoughtful and timely responses and extremely helpful insights. Reed truly cares about all of his students and will take time out of his day or weekend to help any student.

Working with Reed helped me move my overall GMAT score to a 680. I am very happy with this score and was able to make a massive quant jump (37 before to 47 after) because of the combination of Reed's abilities as an instructor and the high-quality/comprehensive structure of the Manhattan Prep course. I plan to take the test again on July 5th and feel confident that I am now capable of scoring even higher!

Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Emory University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best value for those looking to push their score 40 - 60 points higher than their natural plateau

5 stars
June 15, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Teacher: Josh Yardley
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 740
Manhattan prep is hands down the best GMAT preparation program out there. I took a full course because I knew I needed the guidance and the added discipline. What surprised me was the majority of the value of the paid course came after the course ended! I had ongoing support from my course teacher, Josh Yardley, as well as a post-course assessment and post-exam assessment with Stacey Koprince. All these tools on top of the books, the course, and the online materials are what make Manhattan stand out above the rest. To give you some perspective, I probably would have plateaued around a 680 studying by myself. I ended up scoring a 740 on my 2nd try...

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the Investment!

5 stars
May 24, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Sergio Frisoli
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I had an outstanding experience with Manhattan Prep in getting ready for the GMAT. I took the full nine week class with Sergio Frisoli, who was not only an excellent instructor in the classroom but also went above and beyond by making himself available outside of class via phone or email. Although I had not been in a classroom in several years and the idea of a three hour weekly session seemed daunting, the way Sergio ran the class was so engaging that I never really noticed the time going by. He mentioned at the beginning of the nine weeks that he had been a teacher prior to going to business school, and his experience clearly showed.

While Manhattan has a set curriculum the instructors follow, Sergio (and, I would imagine, other instructors) don't just stick to a script; they always make time to answer questions and customize each session to fit what the students need. This flexibility made my experience that much better and had a huge influence on my score.

Speaking of scores...I started the course "cold" with a baseline score in the low 600s. I sat for the exam twice and ended up with a score over 700, which was my target. Getting the nearly-100 point improvement was great, of course, and is ultimately why people take prep classes in the first place.

But when I think of Manhattan, I will most remember my experience after the first time I took the exam and I did not do very well. Even though class had been done for several weeks, I reached out to Sergio and he responded immediately with several really helpful pointers about what to do in the couple weeks before I took the exam again. I even got an unsolicited email from him the night before the test, just wishing me good luck. While I haven't used another prep service so can't say this with 100 percent certainty, I highly doubt you'll be able to find a better, more personalized experience than the one you get from Manhattan.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: UNC Chapel Hill
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Helped me Score a 750!

5 stars
May 19, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Christine Defenbaugh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 750
My experience with Manhattan Prep went above and beyond my expectations. Having self studied for the GMAT prior to taking the class, I was pleasantly surprised by the level of expertise and skill all of the instructors had and was so happy to have such seasoned GMAT takers teaching me the most helpful tips and tricks for taking the test. I took the course with Christine Defenbaugh - she is an incredible teacher whose explanations are clear and understandable. She is very nice, very smart, and helps you identify target areas to ensure you get the score you are striving for. You've got to put in the work, but they provide you with the tools, tricks, and guidance to help support you through your studies. After scoring 70+ higher on my second test, Manhattan Prep is definitely the way to go.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Waterloo
Major: Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Exactly What I Was Looking For

5 stars
January 7, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
While the cost of Manhattan's prep course is is among the highest, it was exactly what I was looking for. Beyond providing an organized structure to study for the GMAT, the course provides multiple strategies to tackle problems to accommodate personal strengths and weaknesses, analytics to assess areas of improvement, and holistic guidance on how to study, manage time, and approach exam day. It's a complete package.

Avi's approach to instructing is engaging and reflective of the class' needs. There isn't a session that goes by where he doesn't ask for feedback and updates on students' individual progress. While he's efficient in covering content, he also willing to slow down and tailor his delivery for students when asked. He's friendly, patient, and responsive to emails if you students have questions outside of class. Definitely recommended as an instructor.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Indiana University
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Manhattan and Isaac Puglia

5 stars
December 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 18 reviews
Teacher: isaac puglia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 730
I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep for GMAT prep and Isaac Puglia as an instructor. I subscribed to his teaching method and exceeded my score goals in a timely manner.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely useful course if you don't know anything about the test

5 stars
December 12, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry & Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took this course without having taken the GMAT before. I didn't know anything about the format of the exam or the questions when I started it. With this in mind, I had high expectations. From the very beginning, Dan and Chris were thorough and methodical in their approach. The first week consisted of explaining the entire format of the test, how each section is scored, how we should structure our study time, and the logic behind the syllabus. I found this very useful because from the outset I was able to develop a long term plan of how I could tackle the various components of the exam.

Personally, I struggled the most with the math at first. I found the study guides somewhat useful for reviewing the basic math skills that I hadn't used in a while (exponent rules, geometry, etc). That being said, the most useful tool was access to the GMAT Navigator. This tool in conjunction with the Official Guide helped me brush up on my math skills and get my timing down to the second. The verbal lessons provided were also very useful. Dan and Chris broke down the thought process behind each question and this helped me form a consistent method of attack on the tricky CR Q's.

The Post Course Assessment was arguably the most helpful component. After you take 3 practice exams and complete the course, you are scheduled a 30 minute one-on-one session with an instructor. I did mine with Chris and he helped me target exactly what the pain points were, develop a study plan leading up to test day, and give me strategies to use as I studied. The PCA was critical to my success on the exam.

Finally, I should say that I found the MPREP practice exams significantly harder than the actual GMAT and the GMAC practice tests. This is a good thing. While I was quite frustrated throughout the course, my lower scores on the MPREP tests made me keep pushing myself. In the end I beat my target score on the real exam by 10 points! Huge thank you to Dan and Chris for an excellent course.