Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - Boston

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 25 reviews
140 Clarendon St.
Boston, MA 02116
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the Investment!

5 stars
May 24, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 260 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Sergio Frisoli
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I had an outstanding experience with Manhattan Prep in getting ready for the GMAT. I took the full nine week class with Sergio Frisoli, who was not only an excellent instructor in the classroom but also went above and beyond by making himself available outside of class via phone or email. Although I had not been in a classroom in several years and the idea of a three hour weekly session seemed daunting, the way Sergio ran the class was so engaging that I never really noticed the time going by. He mentioned at the beginning of the nine weeks that he had been a teacher prior to going to business school, and his experience clearly showed.

While Manhattan has a set curriculum the instructors follow, Sergio (and, I would imagine, other instructors) don't just stick to a script; they always make time to answer questions and customize each session to fit what the students need. This flexibility made my experience that much better and had a huge influence on my score.

Speaking of scores...I started the course "cold" with a baseline score in the low 600s. I sat for the exam twice and ended up with a score over 700, which was my target. Getting the nearly-100 point improvement was great, of course, and is ultimately why people take prep classes in the first place.

But when I think of Manhattan, I will most remember my experience after the first time I took the exam and I did not do very well. Even though class had been done for several weeks, I reached out to Sergio and he responded immediately with several really helpful pointers about what to do in the couple weeks before I took the exam again. I even got an unsolicited email from him the night before the test, just wishing me good luck. While I haven't used another prep service so can't say this with 100 percent certainty, I highly doubt you'll be able to find a better, more personalized experience than the one you get from Manhattan.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely useful course if you don't know anything about the test

5 stars
December 12, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 260 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry & Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took this course without having taken the GMAT before. I didn't know anything about the format of the exam or the questions when I started it. With this in mind, I had high expectations. From the very beginning, Dan and Chris were thorough and methodical in their approach. The first week consisted of explaining the entire format of the test, how each section is scored, how we should structure our study time, and the logic behind the syllabus. I found this very useful because from the outset I was able to develop a long term plan of how I could tackle the various components of the exam.

Personally, I struggled the most with the math at first. I found the study guides somewhat useful for reviewing the basic math skills that I hadn't used in a while (exponent rules, geometry, etc). That being said, the most useful tool was access to the GMAT Navigator. This tool in conjunction with the Official Guide helped me brush up on my math skills and get my timing down to the second. The verbal lessons provided were also very useful. Dan and Chris broke down the thought process behind each question and this helped me form a consistent method of attack on the tricky CR Q's.

The Post Course Assessment was arguably the most helpful component. After you take 3 practice exams and complete the course, you are scheduled a 30 minute one-on-one session with an instructor. I did mine with Chris and he helped me target exactly what the pain points were, develop a study plan leading up to test day, and give me strategies to use as I studied. The PCA was critical to my success on the exam.

Finally, I should say that I found the MPREP practice exams significantly harder than the actual GMAT and the GMAC practice tests. This is a good thing. While I was quite frustrated throughout the course, my lower scores on the MPREP tests made me keep pushing myself. In the end I beat my target score on the real exam by 10 points! Huge thank you to Dan and Chris for an excellent course.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Teacher, Great Books, Decent Online Resources

5 stars
June 2, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 260 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Josh Yardley
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I opted for the 9 week Manhattan course over the much more compact Veritas course because I was working full time and only had about 1-2 hours a night to study.

Right out of the gate, I score a 620 and brought it up to a 730 several months later with Manhattan Prep (studying about 15 hours a week on average).

Pros:
- Incredible Teacher
- Great Schedule (once a week for 9 weeks)
- In depth, well-written, and entertaining (at times) books
- Ebooks (this was HUGE, I didn't even factor it in at the beginning, but it made studying while traveling so much easier)
- Solid online resources (cons below)
- Post-Course Assessment was very helpful

Cons:
- No way to sort by unsolved OG problems in Navigator (seems like such an obvious feature, but they spent all their engineering resources on a site facelift apparently)
- MGMAT math and IR were way harder than the quant problems on the real exam. I believe this did me a disservice, because I over-analyzed easy problems on the test and double-checked my work when I should have spent that time elsewhere
- IR practice sets were obnoxious. I couldn't just practice a few at a time, I had go through an entire section to see the answers
- Couldn't restart an exam. I accidentally started an exam without IR, I realized this 2 seconds in, but couldn't restart and effectively "lost" that section unless I decided to reset all 6 exams

Honestly, I'd probably give the course a 4 overall, but the my teacher was so good that I'll round up to 5 stars

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Fun class, but guides are good enough.

4 stars
April 14, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 260 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Faruk Bursal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
The class, as it is taught, is OK. I realized that I would've done just as good had I just studied on my own with the manhattan guides (which are phenomenal). However, going to class was a pleasure because Faruk made it fun and engaging. I looked forward to class every week for this reason.

Here is how Manhattan can improve their program:
- Make the process of KEEPING TRACK OF WEAK AREAS easier and more fluid for students. Right now, Navigator is a little clunky and is not optimal. It also doesn't sync well with other study materials. Maybe Manhattan can design some sort of a portal for students to flesh out and keep track of their weak areas. This is key to doing well on the GMAT (especially for scoring 700+): identifying weak areas and focusing on those.
- Connect all the material we learn in each class. The classes seem separate and disjointed.

Joined: Feb 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 2013
College: Colgate University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good Course

5 stars
February 7, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 260 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Faruk Bursal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I had a very positive experience with my Manhattan GMAT course. Faruk was an excellent teacher, the course was comprehensive, and the tips that I learned definitely contributed positively to my GMAT score. The course is only as good as the effort that you put into it, but if you are willing to put in the effort, it is a good way to study for the test.

Joined: Mar 2012
Purchased Course: Oct 2011
College: Washington University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Tons of resources!

5 stars
March 2, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 260 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Tom Rose
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Manhattan GMAT provides a comprehensive approach to studying for the GMAT.

They syllabus is a bit intimidating in the brute amount of information in contains, but if you diligently work through it over the course of a few months you'll definitely get improved results.

Tom Rose is a fantastic teacher. His explanations were clear and he's very funny as well.

I also heavily utilized "Thursdays with Ron", which is actually free to anyone. These thorough and difficult sessions significantly helped me with Quant.

Joined: Mar 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
Major: International Relations
Industry: Trading/Import/Export
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great GMAT content course

4 stars
January 16, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 260 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Josh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I finished Manhattan GMAT in November and was overall pleased with the experience. I believe that the class was very helpful in reinforcing what I had learned through my homework and clearing up some deficiencies.

The problem with MGMAT, however is practice testing. The tests are good for timing purposes, but their content is not at all similar to what I found on test day. The verbal was WAY too easy. The Quant was WAY too convoluted and overly difficult. In reality, a high % of questions on test day were focused on number properties (especially DS questions) and MGMAT seemed to go out of their way to make their problems especially wordy. I scored 700, 710, 720 in their practice tests but then got a 670 on test day round 1.

I finally retook this month and with help of other prep materials received a 710. I certainly wouldn't be where I am today without the help of Manhattan GMAT but think that their online system has a ways to go to catch up with Knewton and others.


Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: May 2011
College: Iona COllege
Major: Finance
Industry: Sports
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT

5 stars
October 11, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 260 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Faruk Bursal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
MGMAT offered a comprehensive course that, combined with the strategy guides and online material, helped me score a 700 on my GMAT.

The course was very good, and introduced you to the GMAT and what to expect. Furthermore, the course helped you learn how to approach the exam-how to think. Because the course is a total of 27 hours, there is not enough time to get in depth into material. This is where their strategy guides as well as the online materials come in. The strategy guides helped me build a foundation, while the online material (especially Thursdays with Ron) help me push to a 700.

Joined: Feb 2011
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: College of the Holy Cross
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Well worth the money

5 stars
February 9, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 260 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Faruk Bursal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I went into this class knowing I was not a great test taker and would need to improve a ton on my verbal skills in order to break 700. My Manhattan GMAT Professor Faruk Bursal was incredibly helpful in teaching how to approach the test so that timing wouldn't be an issue. The materials that you receive are incredibly helpful and versatile enough that you can adjust how much time you want to spend on a given subject depending on how comfortable you were. Manhattan GMAT also provides awesome excel files that help you budget your study time on a weekly basis. I wound up scoring in the 86th and 85th percentiles for the Verbal and Quant sections. This class was worth every penny.

Joined: Nov 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: Wisconsin Madison
Major: Manufacturing Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, delivered by a very friendly, approachable and competent instructor

5 stars
October 24, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Ian Jorgeson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Teacher:
Ian was extremely friendly, had a very informal style of delivering the content. He was always available after class to help out on questions or help me review my practice tests, even take calls before my exam. Very qualified, has a lot of experience teaching the course, brought new ideas to the classroom

Course Material:
Verbal course material was extremely helpful and help me get from a 32 when I started to a 41 on the test day.
Math is helpful is you are struggling with it, but you may need additional help if you are in late 40s and want to get to 50/51

Overall experience: Very helpful, helped me stay on top of things, despite heavy work schedule. Only worked during the weekends and the classes helped me get an excellent primer on the topics covered. I spent 2 months after the classes got over on my own, but the foundation the course built was very useful.