Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - Chicago

4.6 stars
(4.6/5) - 27 reviews
222 West Ontario St.
4th Fl.
Chicago, IL 60610
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 740
I was very lucky to have studied with Keith from Chicago. I initially met Keith through the Manhattan GMAT class pack in which he was the instructor, and later took a few private classes with him to improve my understanding.

Overall, Keith is a very efficient and to-the-point instructor. I was quite confident in math but was making unnecessary mistakes so Keith pinpointed it to exactly where it was and provided CUSTOMIZED study plans for me based on my goal and schedule. As for verbal, he was instrumental in teaching me how to read and answer the question.

My first practice test was in the 600, and with the help of Keith and many hours of hard work, I increased a score of 100+. I would highly recommend Keith to any student who would like to learn and achieve a good score.

Manhattan GMAT also offers one of the best online platforms. It syncs up with the book and the explanations really helped me understand why an answer was right, and better yet, why other answers were wrong. In addition, you can use the report feature to see your overall performance and area of improvement. I would recommend taking a GMAT course with Keith through Manhattan. Thank you Keith!

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT - Very good course

4 stars
December 18, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 270 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Manhattan Prep has an amazing and organized program that walks you through the GMAT books quickly and thoroughly. My professor, Keith was really good, very engaging and fun. He understood our questions and path and customized classes to them. The only weakness that I saw was that for people with quant background, they can get bored easily some times, when professor keeps explaining basic math stuff to people that don't know squat. Overall, I think Manhattan Prep has built their reputation thanks to great professors and amazing results. Their mock-up tests are really good. Quants are more difficult that actual exam but Verbal is really close to actual exam.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2013
Verified Real Student Review

The best way to break out of a decent score

5 stars
June 12, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 270 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 720
Manhattan GMAT is simply the only way to improve a decent score. I have an OK score - lower end of most b school medians. I had taken Kaplan before and they helped me build test tactics off of the foundation of knowledge I already had. At this point I realized I wasn't going to get better with test tactics alone so I ditched Kaplan and went to Manhattan. Their course was thorough and the curriculum/supporting materials were incredible. Approaching the exam I felt confident than I had covered >97% of content and question types going in to the exam. This confidence (along w thorough review) helped me get a significantly better score for the schools I'm applying to. I would HIGHLY recommend Manhattan.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Major: Economics
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great class but not super necessary!

4 stars
June 4, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 270 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
The quality of the materials (MGMAT books) were A+! My instructor was knowledgable and intereting. I actually missed 3 classes but was able to make them up after the course since they have sessions going on at different times of the week. I don't think the classes themselves were very helpful, but the materials and the schedule really motivated me to keep up with the class. I was also able to get a discount as a current student. The practice tests were awesome as well! I improved by 90 points.

Joined: Dec 2009
Purchased Course: Nov 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Good course, a bit pricey, but overall among the best out there

4 stars
July 19, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 51 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Liz Ghini
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
I have taken both the in-person and online version of the course. The in-person course is a lot better than the online course, is it really worth the 1400$ ? I would say maybe, if you really struggle with the basics then NO way, use GMATPREPNOW to brush up your basics for a fraction of the cost and then attend the in-person course.

Not all MGMAT instructors are cut from the same cloth, some are better than others. Liz and Kara Thorton were dream instructors. Aileen Neilsen was not even a shadow of the other two instructors I mentioned. MGMAT doesn't like to hear negative feedback about their "extremely well trained" instructors. I found this out when I called up student services and mentioned that my instructor (Aileen) wasn't upto the mark. Their answer was no way, we reject your subjective opinion about our instructor, if you don't like the instructor pay 300 $ that is if you really can't endure her teaching. I didn't hate her, I just thought that she wasn't good enough. So really there is no way out, MGMAT instructors are the best, well may be some really deserve the title, whereas others are not even close. I understand it MGMAT's policy and I respect it, but come on, not ALL of your instructors awesomely awesome. I would agree that MOST are indeed amazingly amazing :)

In my opinion, unless you really need tips and strategies, one can do just fine with MGMAT and OG books. The MGMAT class really was all about forcing me to study 30-40 hrs every week on homework. Most of the stuff they went over in class was strategy and tips. If you think these in class prep classes are going to teach you everything, including fundamentals, you are mistaken.I found this hard fact after spending $1400 in the course.

One more thing is that the folks at student service are extremely nice, even tough I have had my differences of opinion with them, but I still feel that the fine folks at Student Services do everything in their power to help you and accommodate your requests. For instance, MGMAT doesn't renew your online access more than three times, but the person at Student Services extended my online access for a forth time and that too with a smile. Not just the content, but the overall customer service is phenomenal.

But if you do plan to take a full length in-person course. Manhattan is simply the best hands down. Why?

MGMAT's 9-week live course isn't cheap, but it is excellent. I highly recommend it if you are serious about getting a top score . The written strategy guides are good, the OG Archer is a must-have resource and the other online resources are pretty good too. As far as the instructors are concerned, I suggest taking a trial class before being locked in with someone whose teaching style doesn't appeal to you. In a nutshell, PICK MGMAT (yeah sure shot way to go), but please don't choose blind, AND YES MGMAT is the BEST period.

Joined: Jan 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 2011
College: Loyola Marymount University
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I scored a 710!

3 stars
January 23, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Chris Brusznicki
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
Manhattan identified my weakest quant areas (through a practice test) and provided me with additional practice material and strategy tips to improve those areas. Overall, I improved 20 percentile points.

Joined: Nov 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Get the score you want the first time

5 stars
November 24, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 270 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Chris Brusznicki
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
If you are considering taking a class in order to prepare for the GMAT, most of them are going to cost the same. For the money, I found Manhattan GMAT to be the most thorough, with the best instructors and best reputation. I came into the GMAT process wanting to study for 3 months and get it over with, and with Manhattan GMAT, I succeeded in this goal. You have to be able to put in the time required to study (2 hours per night) but the curriculum and resources make it easy to work through it. The only criticism I would have is that the website is not all that easy to navigate and at times it feels like you are flooded with resources (though it's better to have a surplus than not enough).

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2011
College: SUNY @ Buffalo
Major: Computer Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan provides the structure and tools to achieve your GMAT Target

5 stars
September 19, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 270 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Chris Brusznicki
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 700
I had previously taken a crash course offered from Kaplan and was disappointed on how much of the content was focused on guessing the answers to the questions instead of building the foundation required to succeed beyond the test.

The GMAT program from Manhattan did not focus on educated guessing until the later classes. The primary goal of the program was to build the foundation and providing shortcuts to solve the issues instead of strengthening a pattern of guessing.

At times, the numerous guides/books can feel like drinking from a fire hose. I found that in addition to using the study guide, the analytical tools provided in the Student Center (such as OG Archer) helps you focus more on your weaker areas.

As any course, the instructor goes a long way in making the material interesting (and bearable for those long classes). Chris has a great sense of humor but with his military background, he doesn't have any trouble asserting the areas you need to improve :-) It's nice to have a Kellogg alumni help you throughout your preparation.

Finally, a shout out to the folks who run 'Office Hours' at Manhattan (where you can schedule an hour to talk over the phone/web to discuss issues you have). I used every session - *Nothing* compares to these 1 on 1 sessions. The teachers are always upbeat, friendly and surprisingly funny.


Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: May 2011
College: University of Iowa
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course Overall - Would have liked more class time spent on advanced sections

4 stars
August 22, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 270 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
This was a great course and I'm very happy with my results. I spent a lot of time on my own learning the advanced sections of the MGMAT books which I think helped a lot. There are some very useful tricks that were tought by the instructor and in the prep books. The CAT exams are also very good.

My only complaint is that the course didn't cover much of the advanced material (other than a subset of advanced problems we did in class).

Joined: Jun 2011
Purchased Course: Nov 2010
College: Duke University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I would recommend the Manhattan GMAT prep course to anyone planning to take the GMAT.

5 stars
June 3, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 270 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Chris Brusznicki
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 780
The Manhattan GMAT prep course instructor was knowledgeable and interesting, and he kept the classroom engaged. In addition, the printed and online materials were both great – offering a wide variety of services to all score ranges. After taking the Manhattan GMAT prep course, my score improved over 100 points! I would recommend this course to anyone planning to take the GMAT.