Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - New York

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 85 reviews
138 West 25th St.
9th Fl.
New York, NY 10001
Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: Yale University
Major: History
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep GMAT 2-week Bootcamp review

4 stars
June 15, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 2-Week Boot Camp 3 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler and David Bernstein
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
This course was a great starting point to getting me kicked off on my GMAT prep. You go through all the content and get familiarized with all the different types of questions, guided by an instructor who knows the best techniques and teaches you how to approach the exam both from a holistic viewpoint (timing, mindset, scoring system, etc) and a sectioned viewpoint (specific question-type techniques).

I found that ultimately, my score only got better the more I practiced on my own and the more practice tests I took. This course was super important in guiding my approach and ensuring I was tackling questions and problems the right way.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: UNC Chapel Hill
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Helped me Score a 750!

5 stars
May 19, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Christine Defenbaugh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 750
My experience with Manhattan Prep went above and beyond my expectations. Having self studied for the GMAT prior to taking the class, I was pleasantly surprised by the level of expertise and skill all of the instructors had and was so happy to have such seasoned GMAT takers teaching me the most helpful tips and tricks for taking the test. I took the course with Christine Defenbaugh - she is an incredible teacher whose explanations are clear and understandable. She is very nice, very smart, and helps you identify target areas to ensure you get the score you are striving for. You've got to put in the work, but they provide you with the tools, tricks, and guidance to help support you through your studies. After scoring 70+ higher on my second test, Manhattan Prep is definitely the way to go.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Fundação Getulio Vargar
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course

5 stars
August 26, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Christine Defenbaugh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took the ManhattanPrep classes early in 2016 and high recommend the course. The classes and material were great and helped me study to take the GMAT and get a score over 700. The books and online material are very streamlined so you study in the most efficient manner and don't waste time learning or doing things that won't help. Our instructor, Christine, was a lot of fun. Make no mistake though, the study and homework workload is heavy. I'd say 10-20 hrs per week.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep course with Manhattan Prep's instructor Eric Caballero

5 stars
July 30, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Eric Caballero
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took the GMAT class with Eric Caballero as highly recommended by my friend, who scored 750+. The first class I had with Eric, I realized he is AWESOME! Not only he was able to explain questions clearly, he taught the strategy of solving questions given limited time. Plus, he is very nice and has good humor.

When I took my first mock test (un-timed) before the class, I scored 700+, however it took me more than twice of the time allowed to finish it. After taking the class with Eric and finishing homework assigned, I was able to solve most questions within suggested time. A month after I finished the class, I was able to score 750+ on my official test. Kudos to Manhattan Prep and Eric!

I would suggest Manhattan prep and Eric to anyone who wants to crack the GMAT and avoid lengthy preparation time.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Villanova University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe is a GMAT assassin.

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
This was my first tutor-pupil relationship, ever. I found Joe to be flexible and responsive - both of which are supremely important in a work-GMAT balancing act. He knows his stuff inside and out, and is a great guy. I took a diagnostic completely cold and scored a 610; I ended up with a 720 on GMAT #1. Highly recommend.

Thanks, Joe and Manhattan Prep!

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Effective GMAT prep class

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took David Mahler's GMAT class over the summer. The 9 week session was particularly helpful as they identified my weaknesses and helped me improve in those specific areas. I did well on my first attempt and even better on my second attempt.

Strongly Recommended!

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Major: Political Science
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan Prep

5 stars
May 26, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Ceilidh Erickson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
After attempting to study for the GMAT by myself via GMAC's "Original Guide" and not seeing much improvement in my scores on online practice tests, I decided to enroll in Manhattan Prep's 9-week course. Ceilidh Erickson was my instructor throughout the course, and I highly recommend selecting her as your course instructor due to her incredibly solid grasp of the course materials and her ability to make an unenjoyable process (studying for the GMAT) much more enjoyable.

Taking Manhattan Prep's course was definitely the difference-maker in seeing improvement in my scores. Their study materials, online tests, and vault of resources provide you with the quant and verbal content knowledge base you need to succeed on the test, as well as with a comprehensive knowledge of the best strategy to optimize your results. Knowing all of the math and grammar is important, but you realize quickly that knowing how to approach the test (i.e. timing, in-test strategy, managing test stress) is just as important (if not more important).

A lot of the value derived from Manhattan Prep comes from outside the actual course. Sitting through the 9-week course is just the tip of the iceberg that is your preparation for achieving your desired score. Being plugged into the Manhattan Prep apparatus that provides a vast array of resources and constant support throughout the GMAT journey is extremely important when progressing toward your ultimate GMAT course goal. For instance, after taking the actual GMAT once and falling short of my desired score, Manhattan Prep devised an additional two-month study plan to help me progress toward my desired goal. The instructors (Ceilidh in particular) and also extremely responsive to answering questions and providing you with additional resources on an ad-hoc basis well after you finish the actual course.

In short, if you're serious about realizing your potential in taking the GMAT, Manhattan Prep is an effective way to prepare for the test and is worth the investment of money and time.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: College of William and Mary
Major: Finance
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

$$$ but worth it if you put in the time...5 stars for Ceilidh Erickson!

5 stars
May 12, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Ceilidh Erickson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Short version: Manhattan Prep is pricey but worth the investment. MPrep offers various test prep options depending on your learning style, such as online tutorials ($), practice tests and books ($), in-person courses, ($$) and individual tutoring ($$$). The instructors are well-training to teach you effective strategies for identifying various questions types within Data Sufficiency, Problem Solving, Sentence Correction, etc. and selecting / eliminating answer choices based (e.g. avoiding common GMAT traps).

I completed the in-person course at their Chelsea location in February 2016 with instructor Ceilidh Erickson. There are 9 classes in total, 3 hours each. This class is a commitment, as students are expected to follow along the syllabus and complete practice problems outside of class - they suggest 10 hours of studying / week, and I realistically dedicated about 5-6 / week.

My initial practice score was a 600 and after applying what I learned in class for two months, I took the official GMAT and scored a 740. This would not have been possible without Ceilidh's approachable and effective teaching style - her energy is contagious and I actually felt motivated to learn tips and tricks for "beating the GMAT". The GMAT itself does not test math / verbal skills above a high school level, but the way questions are worded and set up are meant to trick and trap test takers. Ceilidh equips you with critical timing strategies and answer-eliminating tricks to help you get (or guess) the right question. She is engaging in class and you will find it's hard to zone out (or you will get called out!). I highly recommend Ceilidh and signing up for a free trial class to see if the class is a fit.After each class, she also sends recap emails which are a great refresher before the exam. As her student, you will always feel supported throughout the course, and after - she genuinely cares about your success and want to celebrate when you reach your goal!

Warning: The test is designed so you miss approximately half of the questions. Accept that you will miss questions and that you will have to give your "best guess" and move on sometimes, so focus on time management and problem recognition.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Fordham University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

590 to 700 - Thank you Manhattan Prep and Joe Martin!

5 stars
April 24, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Joe Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 700
I took the GMAT several years ago and scored a 590 after reading through the Official Guide and working through practice tests/problems. This time, I decided to take a more serious approach with a prep course, and I had heard from some of my friends that Manhattan Prep was the best. I registered for Joe Martin's class, followed the syllabus throughout the 9 weeks, self-studied for a month after the class ended, and scored a 700.

After browsing through the course options, I decided to go with the full 9-week course, but wanted to ensure that both the day/time and instructor were right. Many of the reviews I read pointed to Joe Martin, so I registered for one of his classes. That turned out to be the right decision.

Joe will be the first one to tell you that all of the Manhattan Prep instructors are great, but he has consistently proven to be among the best. He is engaging, funny, and knowledgeable about both the mechanics and the content of the GMAT; you will find that understanding the GMAT itself is just as important as understanding the formulas, grammar rules, etc. that the questions are derived from. He also is very approachable for questions in class or via email.

In regards to the Manhattan Prep books: if you are taking the GMAT, you should be using those to study. Although there are 10+ books, they are very clear and not intimidating at all. They break down each topic and prepare you for every kind of question you will see on the test.

The Manhattan Prep CATs are also great. You get 6 CATs, which is more than enough, especially combined with the free tests you get from GMAC itself. After each MPrep test, you get a breakdown of each question, which is extremely valuable to see what you got wrong or even how you can get correct answers faster.

If you are taking the GMAT, use Manhattan Prep and try to get into Joe Martin's class. You will not regret it.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is a must. Thank you Joe Martin!

5 stars
March 29, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I was initially hesitant to sign up for the course because it was a bit costly. I decided to go through with it since I couldn't reach my target score of 700 by studying on my own (for over 6 months). After reading numerous reviews about Joe Martin, I signed up for his 9-week course and I absolutely LOVED it! Joe was a great teacher who taught the class many GMAT tricks and and gave us an understanding of the exam. He kept the class fun and the 3 hours always flew by. I scored a 580 on my initial practice exam before the class began. When I took the GMAT last weekend, I received my target score of 700! Thank you for all of your help Joe & Manhattan GMAT! No regrets.