Course
GMAT PREP COURSE

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 38 reviews
Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Major: Psychology
Industry: Transportation
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Success with Keith Blume at Manhattan Prep

5 stars
June 15, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 730
Despite a lot of serious studying on my own, my previous attempt to crack 700 was unsuccessful, but I couldn't pinpoint why. I had a few visits with Keith, each of which were excellent in two different ways:

First, Keith had no issue narrowing in on my areas of weakness, and he provided highly focused and specific tips on how I could improve. The advice he provided was actionable both while studying and while taking the test.

Second, Keith's calm attitude and demeanor allowed me to believe that the test was not as daunting and intimidating as I'd made it out to be in my own head. He had a highly effective way of boosting my confidence so that when I went into the test, I felt that, as long as I trusted my studying and remembered the advice Keith had provided, I would do well.

Ultimately, with Keith's help, my score increased from a 690 to a 730 - a score I was absolutely thrilled to include on my business school applications. I should also note that Keith is very friendly, very accommodating and communicative, but still ensures that meetings are efficient so that all relevant material can be covered within the allotted time.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Chris Gentry - Highly Recommended!

5 stars
May 24, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Atlanta 3 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I highly recommend taking private tutoring sessions with Chris Gentry. Chris provided very helpful tips on test strategy - i.e. which problems you should focus on and which problems are not worth your time. Chris analyzes your practice tests / performance and provides very specific feedback on how to focus your studies. Lastly, and in my opinion most important, Chris was a constant source of positive feedback. Prepping for the GMAT can be a stressful endeavor, and Chris helps remove the stress and anxiety associated with both preparation and test day itself. Chris helped me boost my score from the mid 600's to breaking the 700 mark.

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Tutoring highly recommended

5 stars
January 29, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 720
Highly recommend Manhattan for GMAT prep. Books are comprehensive, and the tutoring was personalized, insightful, and data-driven (cheers to Ryan Jacobs). Reached my target score in record time and got into my school of choice.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Birla Institute of Technology & Science
Major: Engineering
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A 30 point jump

5 stars
January 19, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Teacher: Josh Braslow
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 740
On the first attempt, I scored 710 on the GMAT but I felt it wasn't enough for the schools I was aiming for. In order to address my weaknesses in specific areas and strengthen my concepts, I opted for the 10 hour private tutoring session by Manhattan Prep. My instructor Josh understood my strengths and weaknesses from day 1 itself and provided me with the best strategies to go forward with during preparation and while giving the exam. The approach he suggested me to use while solving critical reasoning questions made a lot of difference in my verbal score. He also helped me understand the concepts in quant that I was struggling with such as divisibility and number properties by giving me ample number of difficult problems to solve. The Manhattan Prep Strategy Guide books and the practice exams were extremely helpful as well in understanding concepts especially sentence correction rules though the quant section on the practice exams was a little tougher and can demoralize oneself at times. But all in all it the course is an excellent way to give yourself that push and reach higher scores.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Best Tutor- Mark, who believes in you even when you doubt yourself!

5 stars
September 28, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 500   After: 670
I am so glad to be able to write this. It has been a long yet rewarding 10 months. After 1st gmat fail (420), I used Mprep self- interact and improved and got (500) in my 2nd time. I came across a website and the author shared his experiences of taking the Gmat 5 times and the final push was having a great tutor. At first, I was hesitated because I had a poor in person tutor before my 1st gmat and got a 420. I asked myself, am I going to try an online tutor? That was the best decision of my whole gmat journey and worth every penny. I was paired with Mark Sullivan for a post exam assessment and his positive tone and enthusiasm about GMAT were exactly what I needed after my 2nd attempt. Therefore, I asked him if he could private tutor me.

Mark was very diligent and knowledgeable. I told him about my bad experiences with my previous tutor so he quickly shared his tutoring way with me. Mark couldn’t tutor me in July because of his previous engagement, but he clearly wrote down assignments and articles for me before our 1st session in August so that I can start preparing. I knew then that I picked the right tutor.

Mark and I had 6 sessions together, he was always on time and wouldn’t mind staying a few extra mins if I have questions at the end. During our sessions, he was always positive and encouraged me all the time. That was very important to me because I have felt quite beating down after 7 months of rigorously studying. During our sessions, Mark focused on strategies that will help me improve my score, he taught me very useful skills such as how to correctly review error log, gave me drill sheets that will improve certain content area, assign readings that help me with mental strength in preparation for the gmat (gmat is such a mental game in a way), timed set to stimulate exam mode, creating goals for each session and each prep test, etc,.. Mark was very knowledgeable and always willing to answer my questions.

In addition to his tactics on the strategies, Mark’s positivism and encouragement made a HUGE difference on me. GMAT journey could be very lonely and under pressure, having Mark always on my side and showed me support was very crucial to my mental strength. He did not only teach me the skills but he taught me the importance of belief and positivism. I recalled I got a 570 on my last gmat prep 10 days before my 3rd attempt. I immediately sent an email to Mark with all my analysis and asked him should I postpone my exam since I only got a 570. He replied me within hours and said that he think I should go for it because I can and said the prep result was a reference only. We then had our last session, and he sent me 2 more encouraging emails prior to the BIG day and asked me to have confidence walking into that exam room because he knew that I can do this.

My goal was to get a 600 and I ended up getting a 670 (Q 44 V 38)! From 420-670, and I can’t thank Mark enough for teaching me the right way to deal with the Gmat and for believing me all the ways even when I doubt myself! If you are thinking of a tutor, Mark is definitely the right guy! Thank you Mark from the bottom of my heart.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Economics
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Resources, Great Tutors

5 stars
August 7, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Teacher: Jayson Beatty
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Signing up for 10 hours with a Manhattan Prep private tutor also gets you all of their books, the Official Guide, 6 CATs, interactive online classes, and the secretly important GMAT Navigator question analyzer. Each of those elements is extremely helpful.

In addition to being the man, Jayson Beatty was extremely helpful in nailing down the tough concepts and providing strategy and feedback. He helped to prioritize my focus and time and guided me to a good score on the GMAT (770). I give Jayson the highest praise.

All of the resources MGMAT provides can be extremely helpful if you invest in using them. Having a GMAT resource like Jayson is most helpful if you work on problems and concepts the rest of the week and come with questions. Having 1000s of pages is only helpful if you read them with focus and don't let yourself ignore things that you don't understand. Overall, Manhattan Prep gives you everything you could need to get a great score, and it's up to you to make the most of it. Manhattan Prep GMAT was absolutely fantastic for me, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Villanova University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe is a GMAT assassin.

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
This was my first tutor-pupil relationship, ever. I found Joe to be flexible and responsive - both of which are supremely important in a work-GMAT balancing act. He knows his stuff inside and out, and is a great guy. I took a diagnostic completely cold and scored a 610; I ended up with a 720 on GMAT #1. Highly recommend.

Thanks, Joe and Manhattan Prep!

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Cornell University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Dmitry Farber - Great Tutor For Any Level Student

5 stars
July 8, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Teacher: Dmitry Farber
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Dmitry Farber was an exemplary tutor. He was very flexible with his schedule, and extremely well-prepared for our sessions, such that if I didn't have any specific material that I wanted to review, he was prepared with a full lesson as a backup. He is the absolute KING of metaphors, and you'll realize this if you work with him. But more importantly, he was incredibly understanding, has unlimited patience, and truly cares about drilling the knowledge into his students, rather than showcasing his intelligence. Meanwhile, it was obvious in our sessions that he is brilliant, but able to break down complex concepts in the simplest of ways to understand. I was unique in that I was ALMOST at the score I wanted when I first met with Dmitry, but he was able to give me 750+ score level advice and guidance, put together a study plan for me, and give me the tools so that in the end I was able to score above my initial target score. I would highly recommend Dmitry to anyone considering a private tutor, and I only wish I'd started working with him earlier. He's not only an outstanding tutor, but a great guy who cared about my success almost as much as I did.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Chelsey Cooley from Manhattan Prep is the best

5 stars
May 31, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Trust me, paying that $250/hour for Chelsey, especially if you are just under 50 points away from your goal score, is totally worth it. I was struggling with quant - pretty much scored the same every practice exam for 2 months, then 3 hours with Chelsey, my score went up 50 points (in quant alone) within 3 weeks.

Chelsey zeros in on both your strengths and weaknesses and designs a study plan specific to your needs. I think she pretty much knows every single GMAT problem out there and can pick out specific problems that you need to practice. She's practical and to the point. I also feel that Chelsey sincerely cares about her students!

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Miami University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Verified Real Student Review

Could not recommend more highly

5 stars
February 23, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 365 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 38 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Briefly - I could not be more pleased by my experience with Joe Martin and Manhattan Prep. I was under significant timing pressure, with only one month to prepare for the GMAT, and was blown away by how much I was able to improve though my private tutoring work with Joe.

Joe's instruction, combined with the Manhattan Prep resources, were invaluable in helping me develop test taking strategies for both the quant and verbal and rebuild the math skills that I had neglected since high school.

I was ultimately able to achieve a score that would have been at the very highest range of my expectations when I began this process, and I could not be more satisfied with my experience and outcome.