Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 47 reviews
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Ivey Business School, Western University
Major: Business
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Elaine Loh!

5 stars
January 17, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Elaine Loh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 720
Without Manhattan Prep and specifically, my private instructor Elaine Loh, I could not have broken through the 700 barrier. I owe my entire 720 (Q49, V40) to Elaine's guidance, tutoring, and her holistic way of teaching. Content is not the sole focus of Elaine's teaching; of course, content is important up to a certain point, but your style of studying and mentality are equally important. Elaine put a huge emphasis on error logging and having a positive and relaxed mindset, and I can honestly say that these two things probably made the biggest difference in my studying.

After I started error logging and becoming more "mindful", upon Elaine's suggestion, my practice scores shot up exponentially. Just for reference, I began my GMAT journey at 600!

More so than her awesome way of teaching, Elaine is just really darn knowledgeable about the GMAT. The way that she is able to clarify points of confusion in a very clear and concise manner is not something that just any smart person can do! She also taught me certain strategies that were very helpful to ultimately succeeding on the GMAT.

All in all, as you can see, I am a huge fan of Elaine and Manhattan Prep. While I can't speak for other instructors, I certainly have no doubts that Manhattan Prep is a top-notch company. If you are struggling with the GMAT, I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep and Elaine Loh!

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped this liberal arts major score a 720 with 46 Q!

5 stars
January 16, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I completed 10 hours of private instruction with Dan Patinkin upon the enthusiastic recommendation of a personal friend, who had in turn been enthusiastically recommended by both of her MBA bosses. I would like to keep the enthusiastic chain of recommendation momentum going!

Obviously, everyone's results will vary depending on what their strength and weaknesses are, and their individual learning styles. So I'll just keep this to my personal experience.

I began studying for the GMAT in August of 2017. I work in non-profits and studied the liberal arts; the last time I did math was AP Stats in high school and I never took anything more advanced than Algebra 2. Thinking about standardized testing, let alone math, still makes my heart race.

From the get-go, I knew my work with Dan would be pretty much exclusively dedicated to quant, and that's partially why it was important to me to spring for personal tutoring rather than a class. Wouldn't have made sense to spend my precious time and money practicing verbal, since I desperately needed extra support with math.

Manhattan's attention to detail, and that of Dan specifically, helped me transform over the space of a few short months. Don't get me wrong, you have to work a lot.... like 10-15 hours per week for 4+ months... but for me, the hardest part of studying has always been knowing exactly WHERE to focus my efforts, and that's what Manhattan/Dan took care of for me.

So all I had to do, thanks to his help, was.... practice.

At one point, I scored a 490 on a practice test and CRIED. I am proud to say that last month, I sat for my very first (and final!) GMAT in December 2017 and scored a 720 -- 46 Q (WAY above my target) and 44 V!

I wouldn't have been able to make a fraction of these gains -- let alone keep my cool -- if it weren't for Dan's insight, generosity, and encouragement.

Thank you!

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 740
I was very lucky to have studied with Keith from Chicago. I initially met Keith through the Manhattan GMAT class pack in which he was the instructor, and later took a few private classes with him to improve my understanding.

Overall, Keith is a very efficient and to-the-point instructor. I was quite confident in math but was making unnecessary mistakes so Keith pinpointed it to exactly where it was and provided CUSTOMIZED study plans for me based on my goal and schedule. As for verbal, he was instrumental in teaching me how to read and answer the question.

My first practice test was in the 600, and with the help of Keith and many hours of hard work, I increased a score of 100+. I would highly recommend Keith to any student who would like to learn and achieve a good score.

Manhattan GMAT also offers one of the best online platforms. It syncs up with the book and the explanations really helped me understand why an answer was right, and better yet, why other answers were wrong. In addition, you can use the report feature to see your overall performance and area of improvement. I would recommend taking a GMAT course with Keith through Manhattan. Thank you Keith!

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: USC
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

You're in the hands of an expert

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I was beyond thrilled with my outcome after working with Dan. If you're willing to put in the work and the time, he'll get you where you want to go. Over the course of four months, I went from a 620 (35Q, 41V, Princeton Review Practice Test) to a 770 (48Q, 48V, Official GMAT). I worked with Dan for 12 hours total, and about 150 hours on my own. I was astonished by how well Dan knew the material - he seemed to have hundreds of questions committed to memory and knew exactly which one to throw at you when. I felt like I was in incredible hands. I also really appreciated that Dan was conservative about how much time we were spending together (minding my budget) and that he was generous with his time between sessions if I had questions via email. After I finished up with Dan, I passed him along to my best friend, and she saw an equally sizable leap between her initial and final scores. I put a lot of faith in Dan as a guide and I am so glad that I did. Highly recommend working with him.

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Huge Factor in 90 Point Swing

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
I highly recommend Chris Gentry to anyone in the Atlanta area looking to take the GMAT or looking to improve score. I achieved a 90 point swing over the course of three months, which I attribute greatly to Chris's help during our weekly hour-long sessions.

Learning about different GMAT-tailored test-taking strategies, learning how to manage time crunch more effectively and different approaches to common 700-800 level questions I feel made the difference for me. Getting this score was way above my expectations when I started the process, and I decided to apply to an additional three top-5 schools as a result.

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great working with Graham

5 stars
October 5, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 87 reviews
Teacher: Graham Riske
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 750
I highly recommend working with Graham. Working with him, I was able to raise my score 40 points in just about 2 months. Not only did Graham help me with tips and tricks for math, but he did it with a calm demeanor that helped with my stressed-out GMAT nerves. Graham was relaxed as he told me to focus on studying smart, rather than just grinding away for hours. Taking his advice, I succeeded and made myself a lot less miserable in the process. I would definitely work with Graham again.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: cornell university
Major: Psychology
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Logan is awesome

5 stars
August 30, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 29 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 660
Manhattan Prep is a great GMAT prep program. I was working full time in a busy job that was travel intensive...the online accelerated course was wonderful. It fit into my busy schedule, and really helped me to improve my score. I supplemented the course with a few private tutoring sessions with Logan Thompson...he was extremely patient with me and extremely thorough in his explanations. Logan helped me improve my over all score by 100 points, and boost my verbal score to the 98th percentile. Logan was a life saver! I am now applying to schools that were initially out of my reach. Thanks Manhattan Prep!

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Logan Thompson - Highly recommended!

5 stars
August 27, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 29 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 710
Logan is a great teacher! He helped me improve my score from a 570 to a 710. Before reaching out to Logan for private tutoring, I had studied from the Manhattan books. However, it was Logan who helped me understand how to tackle problems, and how to avoid common GMAT traps. He taught me how study and review wrong questions. He was very encouraging through the entire process, always believing in me. He was very accessible, and would always respond to my emails. After our tutoring sessions were over, he would follow-up with me, making sure I was making good progress. I would really recommend Logan!

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: University of Toronto
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

640 to a 740! Here's my journey:

5 stars
July 22, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 740
I started with a 3-month class-style course with Manhattan prep. It was an online course with 4 hours of class per week. This was great as I managed to cover all the required topics and brush up on my skills. After completing this course I did the GMAT and scored a 640 (Q52, V76). Although my basics were in place, I definitely wasn't happy with this score and knew I could do better!
MPrep offered a free post course assessment (PCA) (which I did prior to the test) and then they also offered a free post exam assessment (PEA). This PEA helped me tremendously by pointing out specific areas I should focus on to bring my score up to a 700. I went on to take 3 hours of private tutoring with the same instructor who did the PEA. I then did the test again 5 months after the first test and this time my score went up by 100 points to a 740!

The PEA and private tutoring were gold! I would seriously recommend them in order to be able to put all your energy and effort towards specific topics which can actually help bring your score up instead of wasting time on trying to get the 'high-hanging fruit'.

My 3-month course instructors were Eric Garthoffner and Pedro Ledesma who were very thorough and kept me committed to a regular study schedule. My PEA and pvt tutoring instructor was Chris Gentry - he was phenomenal and continued to stay in touch much after my sessions ended and right up till the day I gave the second test with constant motivation and prep tips.

I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep as a resource to prepare for one's GMAT.

Good Luck!

-Komal
740 (Q77, V96)

Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Major: Psychology
Industry: Transportation
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Success with Keith Blume at Manhattan Prep

5 stars
June 15, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 730
Despite a lot of serious studying on my own, my previous attempt to crack 700 was unsuccessful, but I couldn't pinpoint why. I had a few visits with Keith, each of which were excellent in two different ways:

First, Keith had no issue narrowing in on my areas of weakness, and he provided highly focused and specific tips on how I could improve. The advice he provided was actionable both while studying and while taking the test.

Second, Keith's calm attitude and demeanor allowed me to believe that the test was not as daunting and intimidating as I'd made it out to be in my own head. He had a highly effective way of boosting my confidence so that when I went into the test, I felt that, as long as I trusted my studying and remembered the advice Keith had provided, I would do well.

Ultimately, with Keith's help, my score increased from a 690 to a 730 - a score I was absolutely thrilled to include on my business school applications. I should also note that Keith is very friendly, very accommodating and communicative, but still ensures that meetings are efficient so that all relevant material can be covered within the allotted time.