Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 40 reviews
Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Chelsey Cooley from Manhattan Prep is the best

5 stars
May 31, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Trust me, paying that $250/hour for Chelsey, especially if you are just under 50 points away from your goal score, is totally worth it. I was struggling with quant - pretty much scored the same every practice exam for 2 months, then 3 hours with Chelsey, my score went up 50 points (in quant alone) within 3 weeks.

Chelsey zeros in on both your strengths and weaknesses and designs a study plan specific to your needs. I think she pretty much knows every single GMAT problem out there and can pick out specific problems that you need to practice. She's practical and to the point. I also feel that Chelsey sincerely cares about her students!

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Miami University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Verified Real Student Review

Could not recommend more highly

5 stars
February 23, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Briefly - I could not be more pleased by my experience with Joe Martin and Manhattan Prep. I was under significant timing pressure, with only one month to prepare for the GMAT, and was blown away by how much I was able to improve though my private tutoring work with Joe.

Joe's instruction, combined with the Manhattan Prep resources, were invaluable in helping me develop test taking strategies for both the quant and verbal and rebuild the math skills that I had neglected since high school.

I was ultimately able to achieve a score that would have been at the very highest range of my expectations when I began this process, and I could not be more satisfied with my experience and outcome.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: Barnard College
Major: American Studies
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe Martin Works GMAT Magic

5 stars
November 16, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
The short version: Joe is a gifted, enthusiastic, and patient teacher who helped me improve my score by over 100 points in less than two months of weekly tutoring sessions. Working with Joe made a top-tier MBA program a possibility for me. Work with him. Period. You won't regret it.

The long version: I'm an older candidate who graduated from a liberal arts school and hadn't touched math in nearly 10 years. I took Manhattan Prep's 9-week course and subsequently spent several months studying fundamental math concepts with a different tutor. Despite my efforts, I became frustrated by my progress and Manhattan Prep suggested that I work with Joe.

The difference was night and day. Joe is as humble as he is brilliant and clearly takes pride in helping his students succeed. During our first session, he listened to my concerns, asked pointed questions, and created a structured game plan that struck a balance between content review and test taking strategy. It was apparent that Joe not only has a masterful understanding of GMAT concepts and content, but is also a natural teacher who clearly enjoys working through the material with his students. For example, when I struggled with a problem, Joe would patiently think of different ways to explain the concept until I understood it. I started noticing improvement in my scores within weeks of working together, and was thrilled when I earned a 660 on my first official exam. (That might not sound very impressive to you GMAT snobs out there, but I started at a 410, so that's a victory in my book.) I truly can't recommend him enough; it's an investment that will definitely pay off.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very Knowledgeable Tutor But That Didn't Translate to An Improvement In My Score

3 stars
March 27, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 550
My assigned tutor with Manhattan GMAT was Mark Sullivan. I was impressed with his knowledge of the GMAT and recommended strategies to succeed. He made himself readily available and provided great resources to help me during our time. His e-mails were informative and always useful.

I didn't see improvement initially with my private tutoring but after a few sessions I began to gain some traction and improve my performance on my practice exams. He served as a great motivator to me when I wanted to quit, and he was able to talk me into sticking with it.

Unfortunately when it came to taking the exam, I saw no difference in my score on the Quant or Verbal section. Needless to say, after spending thousands of dollars on private customized tutoring I was pretty disappointed. As a result, I can't recommend this service to friends. I take responsibility that I may not be the brightest kid and one who has always struggled with formalized testing.

Mark was confident that if I were to retake the GMAT in a month I would be scoring where I was on my practice exams prior the exam (upper 600s). Fortunately for me, I was able to land a great consulting position shortly after taking the GMAT exam but that meant I was unable to get back in and take the exam when that tutoring was fresh.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great Prep

5 stars
October 9, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Jake Nicholson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
I decided to sign up for Manhattan GMAT because my sister used this program and had great results.

I took the 9-week session and the depth that Ron Purewal explains each question helped me understand the core fundamental of each problem and alternative ways to solve a problem. The prep material that Manhattan provided was also very complete and had tons of practice problems for review.

After the 9-week course, I signed up for private tutoring with Jake Nicholson. He helped me develop a systematic approach to each problem, which allowed me to avoid careless mistakes and to logically think through each problem, no matter how complex it was.

My 1st practice test score from not knowing anything about GMAT was in the mid-500's. From my 1st official GMAT to my 2nd, I improved my score from 680 to 720. I am very happy with my score and highly recommend Manhattan GMAT for anyone who is preparing for the GMAT!

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Brian Birdwell: GMAT Ninja

5 stars
September 5, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Brian Birdwell
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 680
Brian is an amazing teacher: he is not only extremely personable but also great at keeping the content fun and interesting. He does a great job at teaching the tricks of the trade, a lot of which there isn't time for in the online course. If you're looking to beat the GMAT, look no further than Brian Birdwell! Thanks B!

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
College: University of Virginia
Major: History
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

Avi Gutman A+

5 stars
July 14, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Avi Gutman and Manhattan GMAT are excellent. Avi is exceptional at what he does. Great teacher, explains concepts clearly, understands the strengths/weaknesses/challenges of each student and has well-articulated blog posts that explain tricky concepts.

Whether as a course or private tutoring, I would recommend Avi and Manhattan GMAT to anyone taking the test.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend MGMAT for a 700 Score

5 stars
June 1, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Kyle Widdison
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
I would highly recommend MGMAT to anyone wanting to score in the 700's. I first took a Veritas Prep class, which was fine, it helped me get a 680. As I continued to study though, I felt like I plateaued; I wasn't able to further improve on my practice tests.

Soon after I took the test I bought the MGMAT books and started studying on my own. I started to improve again as I feel I learned the content of the test material much better. MGMAT has the best content of any GMAT test prep I've come across. Other companies largely just teach tips and good guessing techniques, as opposed to how to actually understand the content on the test..

Along with using the MGMAT materials I also met with Kyle Widdison, a Manhattan private tutor. He was fantastic. He really listed to my concerns and tried to understand what was holding me back. He's very down to earth and pragmatic. Kyle helped me focus my study efforts very quickly and I started to see immediate improvement. Not only did he help me understand the test material better, he helped me to have a better mental game while taking it. After meeting with him and studying with the MGMAT materials I boosted my score to a 720.

Joined: May 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Major: Accounting
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A one-hour private tutoring session took me to the next level.

5 stars
May 12, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Marc Fienberg
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I purchased the MGMAT materials second-hand and pursued a self-study strategy.

I was stuck between 700 and 720 on all my practice exams, but was hoping to get into the mid-700s. Enter Marc Fienberg. I thought a 1-hour private tutoring session would really help me go to the next level in my scoring. I was paired with Marc, who was a great instructor. He asked me beforehand (via email) what I was struggling with and what I thought I needed. While private tutoring costs as much as a 1st year associate at a top law firm, the money was well spent for me. Marc was able to quickly talk me through my struggles and give me concise, helpful tips that I used during the remainder of my study time and the actual exam.

On test day, I ended up getting higher than I got an any of the ~7 practice exams I ever took.

Joined: Feb 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great Tutor for Personalized Instruction

5 stars
February 28, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Marc Fienberg
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 760
I took the Manhattan GMAT course prior to taking the GMAT for the first time, and even after 9 weeks of diligently following the course syllabus, I didn't feel prepared for the test. The class simply did not provide me enough time to focus on my weakest areas. So before taking my next GMAT, I opted to get a tutor (Marc Fienberg) to focus solely on the math section. Marc quickly zeroed in on my strengths and capabilities and offered tailored instruction and advice accordingly. I would highly recommend a tutor (and Marc) to any student who is very strong in one area but weaker in another. This way, you don't waste your time covering material that you already perform well on.