Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 40 reviews
Joined: Nov 2012
Purchased Course: Feb 2013
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Dan Bernstein for GMAT success!

5 stars
February 26, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Dan Bernstein
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Note that Dan also teaches regular classes but I opted for the private tutoring due to my unpredictable work schedule.

Dan is the best teacher I have ever had in my entire academic life. Through high school and college I've never had such a great teacher. I recommend him 100%

It goes without say that Dan is brilliant but what is exceptional about Dan is that he is also a great teacher. A lot of times a smart person doesn't always make a great teacher because they have a hard time understanding how you can not understand something that to them is so simple. This is NOT the case with Dan. He was super patient and was able to help me through every hard problem. He is such a great and experienced teacher that he was able to find exactly what I wasn't understanding and break down the problem to teach me the fundamentals that I probably never properly learned in high school.

Dan has an amazing background including having spent some time as a school teacher and it shows. It's one thing to be able to ace the GMAT it's another to have the skills to teach. Dan has both.

There need to be more teachers like Dan.

With Dan's help my score went up about 200 points and I broke 700.

Joined: Mar 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Program

5 stars
February 17, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 700
Hi,

As I benefited from other users' reviews, I would like to pay the favour forward and write my own review of the GMAT Prep companies that I used and specifically of Manhattan GMAT.

First, the Manhattan GMAT (MGMAT) Strategy guides are the best resources to study from, regardless of your preparation level and of your knowledge. These books have provided me with the foundations for all of the concepts tested on the GMAT. The material is comprehensive and covers everything. The end of chapter problems in the strategy guides not only allow you to practice what you have learned but also provide you with the confidence that you need in your studies. I went over these guides many times until I understood all of the concepts well.

Second, the MGMAT CATs are the most accurate tests and the most representative of the actual GMAT compared to the other available resources. I have done practice tests from Veritas, Knewton, and GMAT Prep. The Math is harder on the MGMAT CATs than on the actual GMAT. For the Verbal section, I read a lot online that MGMAT CAT Verbal part is easier than the actual GMAT Verbal part. I do not agree with this assessment. The actual GMAT Verbal may seem harder due to the additional stress associated with the actual test experience. I definitely recommend the MGMAT CATs as practice to anyone who is aiming for high 600s or 700s score.

Third, Stacey Koprince at MGMAT is an excellent teacher and a great motivator. When Stacey stresses in online forums and to her personal clients to do ALL parts of the GMAT CAT when practising at home, she is spot on. One of the main things that I changed and that as a result helped me improve my score by 30 points (670 to 700) was the stamina that I built by doing the AWA and IR sections every time I did a practice test. Furthermore, Stacey is excellent at identifying the weaknesses of students. Each one of us knows what his/her weaknesses are but we sometimes attribute greater weight to improving certain weaknesses while completely ignoring other weaknesses. For example, I was always keen on practising Math question in order to improve my Math knowledge. However, to do well on the GMAT is to learn when to skip a question that tests an acknowledged weakness of yours in order to save time and preserve your mental energy for the questions when the GMAT actually tests your stronger areas. Stacey drilled this point in me and she was right in doing so. For example, I am much stronger in Verbal (hitting 90% plus in practice tests) than in Math. On the actual GMAT, I got this crazy combinatorics problem. I remembered Stacey's advice at that point and simply guessed on the question. This in turn helped me focus my mental energy and my time on the remaining Math questions and on the Verbal part.

Finally, my greatest improvement had been in Sentence Correction (SC). I feel like once you have a good grasp on the rules tested, it actually becomes fun to solve SC questions on the GMAT. As is widely agreed on the GMAT online forums, MGMAT SC guide is an amazing tool to use to improve your SC performance. The book organizes the information in a very elegant way and the end of chapter problems are really good practice. However, Knewton's SC lessons are very very good as well. If you study SC from MGMAT and Knewton then you'll for sure be hitting over 90% in Verbal provided that your CR and RC are decent (70% to 80%).

I owe Stacey Koprince and Manhattan GMAT a lot. They were tremendously helpful and really aim on developing personable relationships with their clients. I asked Stacey to call me for a few minutes before I started the GMAT and hearing her confidence-instilling words really helped me focus my attention on doing well in the test.

Thanks Stacey and Thanks Manhattan GMAT!

Good luck to Everyone!

Joined: Jul 2013
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Pricey, but worth it for quant review

4 stars
September 26, 2013
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 30 reviews
Teacher: Pedro Ledesma
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 690
My tutor was awesome. I'm really happy after spending 6 hours with him. I was scoring in the 640-690 range before meeting with my tutor. I knew I needed to work on Quant, as that was my main weakness. I was scoring in the roughly 50th percentile, while my verbal was upwards of 90th. I was able to improve a lot of basic skills just by talking through the difficult quant sections and problems, particularly percents.
Ultimately, after a few hours I was able to bring my quant score up to a solid 44. Not the most incredible showing, but I don't have a quant background and this was about as far as I felt I could go with a tutor. My overall score didn't change, but my quant skills went up and I intend to take the GMAT again.
So, my view is this: the Manhattan books are great and second to none, but only do tutoring if you have a solid base or feel you learn better with 1:1 attention. The tutoring helped mostly with tweaking my understanding of the process -- not actually teaching me the basics. If you have a strong base, I'd recommend tutoring or a class through Manhattan!

Joined: Jun 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 2011
College: London
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Ireland
Verified Real Student Review

Strategic insights and last minute polishing increased my score!

5 stars
June 7, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Robert Wilburne
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 700
Robert helped me to pace myself for the test. His tips helped me not to get caught up on high level questions and to move on.

We went through my test exprience and discovered improvement opportunities with regards to timing.

Also, he answered some very specific question, which I still had after going through every possible question from all kinds of books (Manhattan, Kaplan, Official Guide), such as inequalities with absolute values on both sides.

If you are happy going through the study material on your own (I DO!), and you want the final push in getting the score you want, it is worth it to ask for 1-2-1 tutoring. I think I only had 2 sessions - so it wasn't more expensive than a 10-weeks course.

Hope this helps,

Y

Joined: Mar 2012
Purchased Course: Feb 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Highly adaptable teaching style

5 stars
March 31, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Brett Beach-Kimball
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I purchased private tutoring from Manhattan GMAT and was paired with Brett Beach-Kimball. Before engaging in online tutoring I had attempted to study on my own and was stuck hovering around the 640 mark. After 8 hours of tutoring from Brett, I took the GMAT and scored a 730. I found the online classroom easy to use and navigate. I must admit, I was skeptical at first as I am very much not a computer guy, but the forum worked well. Brett's strongest attribute as a teacher is his ability to explain problems in multiple ways. Whenever I would have difficulty with a particular problem or concept, Brett would ask me to talk him through my thought process on tackling the problem. Brett made his recommendation on how to approach similar problems in the future based on my thinking and learning style, and did not try to force a "single solution" model on me, which was quite beneficial.
Brett and I also worked together to create a solid game plan for the month leading up to the GMAT. His recommendations were spot on and enabled me to perform at my peak on test day.
The out of session work assigned by Brett on a weekly basis proved invaluable at preparing me for test day. When we started together I was having to rush through the last 7 or 8 questions on the quantitative section. On test day I was able to finish to quantitative section with ten minutes to spare.
It is important to note that in order to maximize time and money (as the tutoring is pricey, but well worth it) you must spend ample time in between tutoring sessions to practice sets and drills. Brett and I met every Monday night for two hours. Between sessions, I usually studied for at least an hour on weeknights and 3 hours on week ends.
Brett is a true professional. I would recommend him to anyone seriously looking to improve their GMAT score and is willing to put in the extra time to do so.

Joined: Jan 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 2011
College: Loyola Marymount University
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I scored a 710!

3 stars
January 23, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 25 reviews
Teacher: Chris Brusznicki
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
Manhattan identified my weakest quant areas (through a practice test) and provided me with additional practice material and strategy tips to improve those areas. Overall, I improved 20 percentile points.

Joined: Jan 2012
Purchased Course: Dec 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Invest time preparing with Manhattan GMAT

4 stars
January 22, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Sarah Ryan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Sarah Ryan was a great teacher, able to guide me when I had lost direction. She made things as clear as possible and showed me a better and more effective way to study.

She helped me determine a strategy to perform well on the GMAT, given my level of existing preparation. She also spent a lot of time reassuring me and trying to build my confidence - probably the most important determinant of my performance!

I liked the Manhattan books as well, much more rigorous than competitors. As they say, they focus on rules and concepts, rather than guessing strategies. The general info (Getting Started with GMAT) and articles on time management on the manhattangmat website were very useful as well.




Joined: Sep 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 2011
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Gregg as a private tutor!

5 stars
November 17, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Gregg Lachow
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I started prepping for the GMAT with Manhattan GMAT's 9 week course with Gregg. The curriculum was great but I didn't have enough time to dedicate to studying. When I finally had time to be serious, I reached out to Gregg for private tutoring.

Gregg is very knowledgeable about the GMAT. He clearly communicates techniques and methods that are effective once you adopt them. He is able to quickly pinpoint your weaker areas and offers great recommendations on how best to approach studying. Having him in my corner provided a great confidence boost that enabled me to improve my score from the 500 range to 720. The journey was tiring but Gregg made it more manageable and ultimately, successful. Thank you, Gregg!

Joined: Oct 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
College: Yale
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is Best in Class

5 stars
October 11, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Denver 1 review
Teacher: Andrea Pawliczek
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
A friend of mine referred me to Manhattan GMAT because he said it was geared toward people who have aggressive GMAT goals. I signed up for the self study so that I could review the materials on my own time. After completing the basic course content and taking a couple practice tests I signed up for private tutoring with Andrea. Andrea helped me to develop a game plan to address my weaknesses. We spent a significant amount of time in our sessions reviewing the problems. We discussed the logic behind the problem and practical strategies for eliminating certain answers if time is running short. Additionally Andrea provided tactical tips about how to prepare for the test: how many practice exams to take, when to take the final practice test, when to stop learning new content, etc. Originally I had planned on taking the GMAT two times. But, MGMAT and Andrea helped me to exceed my goal on the first attempt, allowing me to focus on the rest of my application. I would highly recommend Manhattan GMAT and Andrea to anyone who wants to do well on their GMAT. Thank you!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2011
College: Russia
Major: Political Science
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

Waste of time and money

2 stars
September 20, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 369 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Dmitry Royter
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 640
I've taken 10+ hours private tutoring with MGMAT instructor Dmitry Royter

Overall attitude and strategy

Dmitry didn't seem interested in improving my score. I think that he just didn't care. As no guarantees on improvement are offered by MGMAT he was sure that he will receive the money anyway. He didn't try to figure out my weak points he just helped me to solve some difficult problems. May be I'm wrong, but I think that when you pay 200$ an hour it's not just for solving some tasks. I can find solutions to most of the difficult tasks on line for free. I have completed several CATs and asked to give me some feedback on them for several weeks, but haven't received any clear answer. Just - "you are doing fine"...
Even though I'm not satisfied with Dmitry's attitude I must say that he is friendly and polite.

Tactics
Dmitry was good at explaining some tasks. Mostly CR part. His SC explanations were weak and usually unclear. I've received no new info in math.

To summarize, I consider my experience almost complete money and time loss.