Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 47 reviews
Joined: Jun 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 2011
College: London
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Ireland
Verified Real Student Review

Strategic insights and last minute polishing increased my score!

5 stars
June 7, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Robert Wilburne
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 700
Robert helped me to pace myself for the test. His tips helped me not to get caught up on high level questions and to move on.

We went through my test exprience and discovered improvement opportunities with regards to timing.

Also, he answered some very specific question, which I still had after going through every possible question from all kinds of books (Manhattan, Kaplan, Official Guide), such as inequalities with absolute values on both sides.

If you are happy going through the study material on your own (I DO!), and you want the final push in getting the score you want, it is worth it to ask for 1-2-1 tutoring. I think I only had 2 sessions - so it wasn't more expensive than a 10-weeks course.

Hope this helps,

Y

Joined: Mar 2012
Purchased Course: Feb 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Highly adaptable teaching style

5 stars
March 31, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Brett Beach-Kimball
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I purchased private tutoring from Manhattan GMAT and was paired with Brett Beach-Kimball. Before engaging in online tutoring I had attempted to study on my own and was stuck hovering around the 640 mark. After 8 hours of tutoring from Brett, I took the GMAT and scored a 730. I found the online classroom easy to use and navigate. I must admit, I was skeptical at first as I am very much not a computer guy, but the forum worked well. Brett's strongest attribute as a teacher is his ability to explain problems in multiple ways. Whenever I would have difficulty with a particular problem or concept, Brett would ask me to talk him through my thought process on tackling the problem. Brett made his recommendation on how to approach similar problems in the future based on my thinking and learning style, and did not try to force a "single solution" model on me, which was quite beneficial.
Brett and I also worked together to create a solid game plan for the month leading up to the GMAT. His recommendations were spot on and enabled me to perform at my peak on test day.
The out of session work assigned by Brett on a weekly basis proved invaluable at preparing me for test day. When we started together I was having to rush through the last 7 or 8 questions on the quantitative section. On test day I was able to finish to quantitative section with ten minutes to spare.
It is important to note that in order to maximize time and money (as the tutoring is pricey, but well worth it) you must spend ample time in between tutoring sessions to practice sets and drills. Brett and I met every Monday night for two hours. Between sessions, I usually studied for at least an hour on weeknights and 3 hours on week ends.
Brett is a true professional. I would recommend him to anyone seriously looking to improve their GMAT score and is willing to put in the extra time to do so.

Joined: Jan 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 2011
College: Loyola Marymount University
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I scored a 710!

3 stars
January 23, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Chris Brusznicki
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
Manhattan identified my weakest quant areas (through a practice test) and provided me with additional practice material and strategy tips to improve those areas. Overall, I improved 20 percentile points.

Joined: Jan 2012
Purchased Course: Dec 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Invest time preparing with Manhattan GMAT

4 stars
January 22, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Sarah Ryan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Sarah Ryan was a great teacher, able to guide me when I had lost direction. She made things as clear as possible and showed me a better and more effective way to study.

She helped me determine a strategy to perform well on the GMAT, given my level of existing preparation. She also spent a lot of time reassuring me and trying to build my confidence - probably the most important determinant of my performance!

I liked the Manhattan books as well, much more rigorous than competitors. As they say, they focus on rules and concepts, rather than guessing strategies. The general info (Getting Started with GMAT) and articles on time management on the manhattangmat website were very useful as well.




Joined: Sep 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 2011
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Gregg as a private tutor!

5 stars
November 17, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 87 reviews
Teacher: Gregg Lachow
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I started prepping for the GMAT with Manhattan GMAT's 9 week course with Gregg. The curriculum was great but I didn't have enough time to dedicate to studying. When I finally had time to be serious, I reached out to Gregg for private tutoring.

Gregg is very knowledgeable about the GMAT. He clearly communicates techniques and methods that are effective once you adopt them. He is able to quickly pinpoint your weaker areas and offers great recommendations on how best to approach studying. Having him in my corner provided a great confidence boost that enabled me to improve my score from the 500 range to 720. The journey was tiring but Gregg made it more manageable and ultimately, successful. Thank you, Gregg!

Joined: Oct 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
College: Yale
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is Best in Class

5 stars
October 11, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Denver 1 review
Teacher: Andrea Pawliczek
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
A friend of mine referred me to Manhattan GMAT because he said it was geared toward people who have aggressive GMAT goals. I signed up for the self study so that I could review the materials on my own time. After completing the basic course content and taking a couple practice tests I signed up for private tutoring with Andrea. Andrea helped me to develop a game plan to address my weaknesses. We spent a significant amount of time in our sessions reviewing the problems. We discussed the logic behind the problem and practical strategies for eliminating certain answers if time is running short. Additionally Andrea provided tactical tips about how to prepare for the test: how many practice exams to take, when to take the final practice test, when to stop learning new content, etc. Originally I had planned on taking the GMAT two times. But, MGMAT and Andrea helped me to exceed my goal on the first attempt, allowing me to focus on the rest of my application. I would highly recommend Manhattan GMAT and Andrea to anyone who wants to do well on their GMAT. Thank you!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2011
College: Russia
Major: Political Science
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

Waste of time and money

2 stars
September 20, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Dmitry Royter
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 640
I've taken 10+ hours private tutoring with MGMAT instructor Dmitry Royter

Overall attitude and strategy

Dmitry didn't seem interested in improving my score. I think that he just didn't care. As no guarantees on improvement are offered by MGMAT he was sure that he will receive the money anyway. He didn't try to figure out my weak points he just helped me to solve some difficult problems. May be I'm wrong, but I think that when you pay 200$ an hour it's not just for solving some tasks. I can find solutions to most of the difficult tasks on line for free. I have completed several CATs and asked to give me some feedback on them for several weeks, but haven't received any clear answer. Just - "you are doing fine"...
Even though I'm not satisfied with Dmitry's attitude I must say that he is friendly and polite.

Tactics
Dmitry was good at explaining some tasks. Mostly CR part. His SC explanations were weak and usually unclear. I've received no new info in math.

To summarize, I consider my experience almost complete money and time loss.

Joined: Sep 2011
Purchased Course: Jul 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Abby and Manhattan GMAT were key in achieving the score I wanted

5 stars
September 17, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Philadelphia 12 reviews
Teacher: Abby Pelcyger
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
My practice test scores were nowhere near where I wanted nor reflective of my ability.

Abby and Manhattan GMAT made all the difference and I got the 700 score I wanted.

Working with Abby was an excellent experience and I feel I made real progress because of her skills and dedication to the process. Abby tailored her teaching process to my unique needs and coached me not only on the tested topics but helped mold and develop my studying and testing skills. It not just about knowing the subject matter but everything including studying and how to take the test. Abby has it all nailed.

The Manhattan GMAT materials were extremely well done and provided a great resource for my preparation. The online recorded classes let me review material at my own pace. Enjoyable and well done. I especially liked the Manhattan GMAT Official Guide Question and Answer explanation utility "Archer".

Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: May 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Best Prep Out There!

5 stars
August 31, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 31 reviews
Teacher: Sean Murphy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 750
I just took my GMAT and scored a 750 (Q49, V42). This was a pretty amazing feat for me considering I scored only 560 my first time taking the GMAT (and that was after taking Veritas tutoring and a Princeton Review Class!)

Only by sitting down with the Manhattan GMAT books and really learning the content contained in them was I able to get into the 700 range. Then, when I was consistently scoring in the 90+ percentile, Manhattan tutoring got me my 750 and into the 98th percentile. I recommend trying to get Sean Murphy in D.C. if he is available. He is a superb teacher and pretty much a genius. He'll show you exactly what you need to do to get the score you want.

If you want a 700+ on the GMAT, use Manhattan GMAT. PERIOD!!!

Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: Jun 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Focused prep that helped me acheive my target score

5 stars
August 7, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Horacio
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 700
I did private online tutoring through Manhattan GMAT and was extremely satisfied with the experience. The online classroom was easy to navigate and the tutor was amazing. We had a brief call before the first tutoring session to discuss my strengths and weaknesses and what exactly wanted to achieve with the tutoring sessions. The sessions were extremely organized and Horacio taught me specific techniques for different types of questions. Horacio was incredibly helpful, patient and most importantly, knowledgeable. I would strongly recommend the online private tutoring sessions and ask for Horacio if you can!