Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 47 reviews
Joined: May 2011
Purchased Course: Oct 2010
College: Muhlenberg College
Major: Economics
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

650 to 720... Not Bad!

5 stars
May 2, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 87 reviews
Teacher: Chris Ryan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 720
I believe Manhattan GMAT is the best test prep company. I have experience with Knewton and Kaplan as well. Knewton is much cheaper but only online.

My big issue was test anxiety and I had to deal with that on my own. For any test anxiety cases (like my own), I would suggest this video.
The first time i watched it my heart was pounding and by the 80th time i was totally fine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1kK-QuuZeuw

Joined: Dec 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Washington University in St. Louis
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good Quick Learning

4 stars
December 6, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Liz Moliski
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
- Teacher was effective at focusing on my weaknesses first
- very motivating
- Good at analyzing past practice exams

Joined: Aug 2009
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ron Purewal Private Tutoring

5 stars
September 20, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 7 reviews
Teacher: Ron Purewal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 700
I've encountered many teachers and tutors throughout my schooling and Ron is by far the best. No joke!

During my sessions with Ron I learned more valuable information and techniques than any course or self study program. Ron was able to diagnose my problems with the GMAT during our very first session by just watching how I solved the problems and seeing which problems I typically missed. The way that he is different from other instructors is that other instructors would have looked at my weaknesses and just told me to do more problems in those areas and go back and re-read the concepts in the workbooks. Instead, Ron gave me new techniques/tips to apply in those weak areas but more importantly he stressed his TAKEAWAY philosophy (just search the forum for takeaways)

Additional things I learned were a throwaway list, time management, alternative quant solving techniques, DS techniques, CR techniques, test day stress management, etc. For someone like me who had plateaued, Ron's help was helpful in taking me to the next level.

Also, as others have mentioned, he creates a comfortable setting in which its more of a dialogue than getting lectured at. He is simply awesome! Try to take a class with him and/or private tutoring.

Joined: Oct 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Ron changed my entire outlook on the GMAT

5 stars
September 20, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Ron Purewal
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: N/A
I’ve had 3 different tutors, so I think I can offer a unique perspective because I’ve seen what others have to offer. I know that many people have already said great things about Ron and I agree with them . What makes Ron so good?

He knows his material, and not just his material but theories, ideas, and methods that go far beyond the material.

Besides having excellent credentials, he’s been teaching standardized testing for years, and I’m talking over a decade or more. He takes a holistic approach to studying. I don’t know of any other teachers who can talk about the Stanislavsky method and the biological effects of stress and how all of it can be related to GMAT studying.

He makes even the complex simple by offering easy-to-grasp analogies and explanations

If you want a good example of this, you can check out his Thursdays with Ron video where he explains factors. He gives a good story to help understand the concept by using the story of two robbers.

He simplifies and streamlines

If there’s a more effective way than formulas and textbook methods, he’ll show you. At the same time, he won’t dismiss other methods. He’s not trying to replace tools in your tool box. He’s trying to give you a wider variety.

He’ll tell you directly if you’re wasting your time on a certain method or theory

I memorized a lot of formulas and Ron would tell me whether it was useful or simply a waste of time. If you look on a lot of the forums, you’ll find that many times people are using overly complex theories to solve problems, and if you’re doing this, Ron will tell you.

He focuses on the essentials

If you’re spending time learning something that isn’t going to help you on the test, he’ll tell you.

He has a philosophy

He has a method and an overall set of ideas that guide him and if anyone’s ever taught professionally, they’ll understand how important this is and how the best teachers have this.

He'll refocus your attention

There are many times where one may be doing a problem and wonder, “Is this a 700 level problem?” Ron will tell you that it's not the level, but what you take away or learn from a problem that's important.

He’s responsive and explains everything until it’s understood

Anytime I had a question, he always responded in a timely manner with an excellent detailed response.

The first two hours with Ron was worth more than all the time I spent with 3 different tutors. That’s no exaggeration.

You can get a good idea of his teaching style if you see some of the Thursdays with Ron videos on MGMAT, but I will say that you should bear in mind that he’s working in a small time frame with a high number of students so if he moves a little quick, realize that in a tutoring session, this won’t happen. He always gives good explanations and is extremely responsive even when you email him. I think his active role and thorough answers in other forums such as this one should demonstrate his dedication and interest in helping people. I’ve never seen Ron give a short, general explanation to a specific question. You’ll know what I mean if you look at his posts. I always search for his posts either here or on the MGMAT site because I know that he'll provide a thorough answer.

Even if you don’t have the $1,000 to spend on tutoring, I’d say that if you want to self-study, you should definitely try to find $430 to invest in a two hour session with Ron. I know that $430 is almost the cost of enrollment for some prep companies, but Ron can easily save you time and wasted effort by telling you exactly what you should and shouldn’t be focusing on. There are a lot of excellent forums and websites that offer study tips and information, but it can be difficult to navigate the massive amount of info floating around. By learning from Ron, you’re gaining so much more than quant or verbal knowledge – you’re gaining an overall understanding of the GMAT and the best methods to effectively study for it.

Joined: Aug 2010

Excellent materials, solid tuition provided

5 stars
August 7, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Teacher: Dave Malloy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I found MGMAT to be really exceptional. When I went to see Dave for private tutoring, I had already taken a Princeton Review course and tried using some Kaplan books for self-study. I found both the online and printed materials offered by MGMAT to be of excellent, if not far superior quality, to the others I had used to date. Dave, my tutor, was affable and patient. He identified some glaring gaps in my approach and helped me figure out a study plan that was effective and made sense. I have other friends who have used MGMAT and they have all had similarly positive experiences. MGMAT is definitely a high-end boutique when it comes to the prep centers out there however, I couldn't recommend them more highly.

Joined: Jan 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 2008
Verified Real Student Review

The difference between an average school and my reach school - Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
August 6, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Philadelphia 12 reviews
Teacher: Abby Pelcyger
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 530   After: 680
While I have this review labeled under private tutoring, I also invested in two courses and one math bootcamp provided by Manhattan GMAT ("MGMAT"). Below I will highly my opinion on various aspects of my experience.

The Materials: MGMAT's materials are incredible. They aren't incredible because they teach you a ton of "short-cuts" they are effective because they teach you material from the foundation up to the advanced skills necessary to earn a top score. Quantitative material is broken up into books seperated by topic. There are exceptional practice problems that were created by the master instructors at MGMAT who sat through the exam and identified (to the extent it's possible) how to formulate problems of similar difficulty levels as on the real exam. For the Verbal concepts there are also books broken out into topical area. In addition to these excellent resources there are the official guides that come along with the purchase of any course with MGMAT. These books are packed full of REAL questions that were once part of the live exams administered to MBA hopefuls on the GMAT. I have looked at other review materials and while many companies have 1 or 2 great aspects, MGMAT wholistically has the best materials.

The Instructors: The instructors are in one word - OUTSTANDING. They should be for the hoops they have to jump through just to teach at the company. Rigorous interviews and presentations must be made, hopeful instructors are thrown into classroom simulation before being hired and forced to answer tedious questions that mimic what students will be like. Only those that can remain composed and actually convey the material effectively are granted the opportunity to teach students.

My experience with the instructors was an absolute pleasure. Kara Thornton taught my first class and was patient when students of various levels asked questions that ranged the spectrum from intermediate to difficult. I was a student that had trouble with intermediate to mid-range quantitative problems and I never at any time felt like I did not belong. The instructors encouraged me and acted as if they were my biggest fan during the process. Problems in class are solved step by step and devoid of short-cuts where mistakes can be made.


Tutoring:
I dealt with Abby Pelcyger for my one on one tutoring. I cannot emphasize enough how tutoring made the difference for me. In the context of one on one tutoring Abby went over every practice exam and real exam I had taken (more than 10+ practice exams and 5 real GMAT exams) to understand my patterns, my weakenesses, and my strengths. Abby then build a custom plan tailored for my needs which were extremely weighty. At the time I had 3 weeks to prepare for the GMATs before Memorial Day weekend. I was on the waitlist at Cornell for 5 months already and new it would be my last chance to get over the hump.

Abby taught me time management strategies that helped me mentally to get over the pressure and guilt of skipping a problem too difficult for myself. My three weeks and 15+ hours spent with Abby were some of the best dollars I ever spent.

The only thing I would have done differently is I would have hired Abby and utilized private tutoring earlier in my process.

RESULTS: I took the GMAT once before becoming acclimated with MGMAT and 5 times afterwards. My score before MGMAT was 530, after the first course I jumped to a 610. There were a few hiccups on the next exams. After private tutoring I scored a 680 and was removed from the waitlist.

MGMAT helped me gain access to the school I wanted and changed my life forever. I am grateful for their team and highly commend their expertise to any prospective MBA applicant.


Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

530-680

4 stars
August 6, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 387 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 47 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 31 reviews
Teacher: Andrew Mara
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
My math score went from 29th percentile to 73rd percentile. My verbal went from 73rd to 91st. The books are terrific and the tutors are fantastic. Personally I used my tutor strictly for quantitative purposes but my verbal score went up just by doing the homework. I highly recommend this course for anyone who has been away from math since high school. They go through the basics and the tutors quickly realize your general ceiling to create the most effective approach.

I scored a 530 on my first diagnostic and I'm hoping to get a 700+ on my exam!