Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 367 reviews
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Columbia University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT's Online Course with Josh is the way to go!

5 stars
May 23, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Josh Braslow
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I'd highly recommend Manhattan Prep, and specifically Josh Braslow as an instructor. When I was initially looking up who to take the course with, there were many highly rated instructors. Josh's name obviously came up, given how long he's been at MGMAT and his consistently strong track record. Despite the fact that there were some younger instructors who were highly rated, I figured that Josh's experience with the test for many years would be helpful. And boy, was I right! Josh really understands the test inside out, and will help you understand how the test writers think about questions. This goes a long way in terms of understanding guessing and elimination strategies. Josh also has a great sense of humor, which make the classes very enjoyable - making it a lot easier to sit through classes starting at 7am!

I also had a post-course assessment with Josh, which I would HIGHLY recommend signing up for ASAP after the course ends, provided that you were able to keep up with all the classroom requirements. I had one month between when the class ended and when I was taking my exam, and spending about 45 minutes with Josh on the phone really helped me develop a plan to elevate my performance in the last 4 weeks before my exam. We analyzed my prior performances on practice exams, focused on key areas, and made sure I was spending my last few weeks efficiently.

The first time I looked at anything GMAT-related was in February 2017. I improved 140 points from my first practice test in February 2017 (620) to my actual test in May 2017 (760) - all in the span of 3 months

It's not about working hard and doing as many practice questions / tests as you physically can, it's about working smart and using your time efficiently. Josh and MGMAT do a fantastic job of reinforcing these principles.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Score Improved to 760!

5 stars
May 21, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Brian Birdwell and Patrick Tyrell
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
I had a fantastic experience taking the online Manhattan Prep GMAT course. The instructors (mine were Brian and Patrick) were extremely knowledgeable and took the time to get to know where each student was in the studying process. I had taken the GMAT once prior to taking this course and my score jumped 70 points after it ended which was more than I could have asked for! By taking the course you also receive tons of studying material divided by topic and level of difficulty along with numerous practice tests.I would highly recommend this course to anyone who plans to take the GMAT.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: UNC Chapel Hill
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Helped me Score a 750!

5 stars
May 19, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Christine Defenbaugh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 750
My experience with Manhattan Prep went above and beyond my expectations. Having self studied for the GMAT prior to taking the class, I was pleasantly surprised by the level of expertise and skill all of the instructors had and was so happy to have such seasoned GMAT takers teaching me the most helpful tips and tricks for taking the test. I took the course with Christine Defenbaugh - she is an incredible teacher whose explanations are clear and understandable. She is very nice, very smart, and helps you identify target areas to ensure you get the score you are striving for. You've got to put in the work, but they provide you with the tools, tricks, and guidance to help support you through your studies. After scoring 70+ higher on my second test, Manhattan Prep is definitely the way to go.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Michigan
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I hit my goal thanks to Manhattan Prep

5 stars
May 15, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: James Brock
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
My goal required a 160 point swing and I was able to hit it with the help of the course. The layout of the course was perfect; I used the homework to create a study schedule which kept me on track each day. The once-a-week class was great to clear any questions I had during the week of the study,

The course was surprisingly interactive for an online course. I did not feel like I was missing out at all by not attending a live in-person class. The instructors were very energetic and kept the class exciting. They explained the material in a way that was easy to understand, but more importantly they taught strategies for taking the test, such as guessing and timing strategies, which I think helped me the most.

I would absolutely recommend Manhattan Prep to anyone looking to take the GMAT.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: MIT
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Definitely worth the time! Advice for future students

5 stars
May 12, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Took Avi Gutman's class - great teacher and very engaging. You have to be fully involved in the classroom discussion to make the most of the course, but if you do so, your score will definitely improve.

MGMAT's quant strategy guides are super helpful; in my opinion, the Number Properties guide really is the best of them all. Put simply, I would not have obtained my quant score of 50 without this guide. The GMAT is all about thinking logically and using quick tricks wherever possible - MGMAT's Number Properties guide really knocks it out of the park in this regard.

The verbal strategy guides are also very useful; I have found the CR strategy guide to best most effective in raising my verbal score. While I am no expert at CR, MGMAT's CR guide lays out an extremely effective framework for approaching each CR question type. It took a lot of practice to get used to this framework, but the extra boost to my verbal score (42) was worth all the trouble.

MGMAT also helped me tremendously with my timing issues, a very important part of this test.

Advice for prospective students: Take your MGMAT CAT scores with a grain of salt. I will note that the MGMAT quant section is much tougher than that in the actual exam. While over-preparation is obviously better than under-preparation, MGMAT runs the risk of demoralizing students into not taking the test. I recommend MGMAT re-calibrate the difficulty level of its CAT quant questions.

Thank you MGMAT for helping me obtain my dream GMAT score!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Tutoring highly recommended

5 stars
January 29, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 39 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 720
Highly recommend Manhattan for GMAT prep. Books are comprehensive, and the tutoring was personalized, insightful, and data-driven (cheers to Ryan Jacobs). Reached my target score in record time and got into my school of choice.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Major: Finance
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Instructor, Excellent Course

5 stars
January 27, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Céilidh Erickson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 720
After struggling with the GMAT for a year and not moving past the mid-600s, I decided to sign up for a Manhattan GMAT live class. Some people I know who previously took the class spoke very highly of the course. Ceilidh Erickson was the instructor and she was amazing.

She not only did a great job of teaching the basic skills and formulas but also taught us how to think and attack each question logically. During class, she addressed everyone’s needs and she was great at telling how people were dealing with the material. She showed different logical techniques which helped save time, eliminate answers, and guess and move on. These techniques are what she uses on the test such as spending the first few seconds with the pen down on quant and crossing off extreme answers on the RC section. These techniques are KEY when solving the tougher questions because the test is adaptive. When we did practice questions, she showed us multiple ways to solve a problem and this helped add to the arsenal of methods to use during the actual test so you don’t get stuck.

After the course, I wanted to work on a few specific areas and set some hours for tutoring with Ceilidh to make sure I would surpass the 700 level. I debated on spending the money but decided to go for it because in the end, it’s a small investment for the future. We spent about 3 hours going through my weaknesses to sure those up and she showed me some new techniques and ways to think about solving problems before I actually put pen to paper. After another month of studying, I was testing above the 700 level and booked the test.

I highly recommend taking either the class or tutoring with Ceilidh. I honestly don’t think I would have achieved the score I got without her. It’s and no regrets decision and well worth the money, time, and energy. Even after the class and tutoring when I was studying on my own, she was always available to answer questions.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Birla Institute of Technology & Science
Major: Engineering
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A 30 point jump

5 stars
January 19, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 39 reviews
Teacher: Josh Braslow
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 740
On the first attempt, I scored 710 on the GMAT but I felt it wasn't enough for the schools I was aiming for. In order to address my weaknesses in specific areas and strengthen my concepts, I opted for the 10 hour private tutoring session by Manhattan Prep. My instructor Josh understood my strengths and weaknesses from day 1 itself and provided me with the best strategies to go forward with during preparation and while giving the exam. The approach he suggested me to use while solving critical reasoning questions made a lot of difference in my verbal score. He also helped me understand the concepts in quant that I was struggling with such as divisibility and number properties by giving me ample number of difficult problems to solve. The Manhattan Prep Strategy Guide books and the practice exams were extremely helpful as well in understanding concepts especially sentence correction rules though the quant section on the practice exams was a little tougher and can demoralize oneself at times. But all in all it the course is an excellent way to give yourself that push and reach higher scores.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Waterloo
Major: Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Exactly What I Was Looking For

5 stars
January 7, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
While the cost of Manhattan's prep course is is among the highest, it was exactly what I was looking for. Beyond providing an organized structure to study for the GMAT, the course provides multiple strategies to tackle problems to accommodate personal strengths and weaknesses, analytics to assess areas of improvement, and holistic guidance on how to study, manage time, and approach exam day. It's a complete package.

Avi's approach to instructing is engaging and reflective of the class' needs. There isn't a session that goes by where he doesn't ask for feedback and updates on students' individual progress. While he's efficient in covering content, he also willing to slow down and tailor his delivery for students when asked. He's friendly, patient, and responsive to emails if you students have questions outside of class. Definitely recommended as an instructor.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Indiana University
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Manhattan and Isaac Puglia

5 stars
December 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 18 reviews
Teacher: isaac puglia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 730
I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep for GMAT prep and Isaac Puglia as an instructor. I subscribed to his teaching method and exceeded my score goals in a timely manner.