Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2017 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 370 reviews
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: The University of Texas at Austin
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with Seb!

5 stars
May 26, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Seb Moosapor
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
After about a month of attempting to self-study using the Offical GMAT Guides, I realized I needed more structure and content review, so I decided to take a class. I had heard great things about Manhattan Prep, so I decided to try it. Overall, it was an awesome experience! I did the online class and was worried about staying engaged, but the instructor did a great job of utilizing student responses and even calling on us to explain our reasoning on the microphone to the class so it was a really good online class experience. I was especially grateful for my instructor, Seb, because he gave us difficult practice problems in class, so you really learn even if you’re already scoring pretty high on your own. Seb was also very available before/after class and over email for extra help and questions. Manhattan sends you TONS of resources, both physical and online, which is great but also a little overwhelming. Seb was really helpful in telling us how to prioritize the homework and which resources would be most helpful. I don’t know many people who would have time to do all the homework and read all the resources, so having help to choose which things to spend my limited time on was great. Seb was also wonderful at helping me get to know the test in addition to the materials. He gives you tricks for guessing, timing, and understanding how/why GMAT writes its questions, which really helped me get a top score! Overall a great experience that helped me to pace my studying and make sure I had been exposed to all of the content!

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Chris Gentry - Highly Recommended!

5 stars
May 24, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Atlanta 3 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I highly recommend taking private tutoring sessions with Chris Gentry. Chris provided very helpful tips on test strategy - i.e. which problems you should focus on and which problems are not worth your time. Chris analyzes your practice tests / performance and provides very specific feedback on how to focus your studies. Lastly, and in my opinion most important, Chris was a constant source of positive feedback. Prepping for the GMAT can be a stressful endeavor, and Chris helps remove the stress and anxiety associated with both preparation and test day itself. Chris helped me boost my score from the mid 600's to breaking the 700 mark.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the Investment!

5 stars
May 24, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 25 reviews
Teacher: Sergio Frisoli
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I had an outstanding experience with Manhattan Prep in getting ready for the GMAT. I took the full nine week class with Sergio Frisoli, who was not only an excellent instructor in the classroom but also went above and beyond by making himself available outside of class via phone or email. Although I had not been in a classroom in several years and the idea of a three hour weekly session seemed daunting, the way Sergio ran the class was so engaging that I never really noticed the time going by. He mentioned at the beginning of the nine weeks that he had been a teacher prior to going to business school, and his experience clearly showed.

While Manhattan has a set curriculum the instructors follow, Sergio (and, I would imagine, other instructors) don't just stick to a script; they always make time to answer questions and customize each session to fit what the students need. This flexibility made my experience that much better and had a huge influence on my score.

Speaking of scores...I started the course "cold" with a baseline score in the low 600s. I sat for the exam twice and ended up with a score over 700, which was my target. Getting the nearly-100 point improvement was great, of course, and is ultimately why people take prep classes in the first place.

But when I think of Manhattan, I will most remember my experience after the first time I took the exam and I did not do very well. Even though class had been done for several weeks, I reached out to Sergio and he responded immediately with several really helpful pointers about what to do in the couple weeks before I took the exam again. I even got an unsolicited email from him the night before the test, just wishing me good luck. While I haven't used another prep service so can't say this with 100 percent certainty, I highly doubt you'll be able to find a better, more personalized experience than the one you get from Manhattan.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Columbia University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT's Online Course with Josh is the way to go!

5 stars
May 23, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Josh Braslow
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I'd highly recommend Manhattan Prep, and specifically Josh Braslow as an instructor. When I was initially looking up who to take the course with, there were many highly rated instructors. Josh's name obviously came up, given how long he's been at MGMAT and his consistently strong track record. Despite the fact that there were some younger instructors who were highly rated, I figured that Josh's experience with the test for many years would be helpful. And boy, was I right! Josh really understands the test inside out, and will help you understand how the test writers think about questions. This goes a long way in terms of understanding guessing and elimination strategies. Josh also has a great sense of humor, which make the classes very enjoyable - making it a lot easier to sit through classes starting at 7am!

I also had a post-course assessment with Josh, which I would HIGHLY recommend signing up for ASAP after the course ends, provided that you were able to keep up with all the classroom requirements. I had one month between when the class ended and when I was taking my exam, and spending about 45 minutes with Josh on the phone really helped me develop a plan to elevate my performance in the last 4 weeks before my exam. We analyzed my prior performances on practice exams, focused on key areas, and made sure I was spending my last few weeks efficiently.

The first time I looked at anything GMAT-related was in February 2017. I improved 140 points from my first practice test in February 2017 (620) to my actual test in May 2017 (760) - all in the span of 3 months

It's not about working hard and doing as many practice questions / tests as you physically can, it's about working smart and using your time efficiently. Josh and MGMAT do a fantastic job of reinforcing these principles.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Score Improved to 760!

5 stars
May 21, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Brian Birdwell and Patrick Tyrell
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
I had a fantastic experience taking the online Manhattan Prep GMAT course. The instructors (mine were Brian and Patrick) were extremely knowledgeable and took the time to get to know where each student was in the studying process. I had taken the GMAT once prior to taking this course and my score jumped 70 points after it ended which was more than I could have asked for! By taking the course you also receive tons of studying material divided by topic and level of difficulty along with numerous practice tests.I would highly recommend this course to anyone who plans to take the GMAT.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: UNC Chapel Hill
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Helped me Score a 750!

5 stars
May 19, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Christine Defenbaugh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 750
My experience with Manhattan Prep went above and beyond my expectations. Having self studied for the GMAT prior to taking the class, I was pleasantly surprised by the level of expertise and skill all of the instructors had and was so happy to have such seasoned GMAT takers teaching me the most helpful tips and tricks for taking the test. I took the course with Christine Defenbaugh - she is an incredible teacher whose explanations are clear and understandable. She is very nice, very smart, and helps you identify target areas to ensure you get the score you are striving for. You've got to put in the work, but they provide you with the tools, tricks, and guidance to help support you through your studies. After scoring 70+ higher on my second test, Manhattan Prep is definitely the way to go.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Michigan
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I hit my goal thanks to Manhattan Prep

5 stars
May 15, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: James Brock
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
My goal required a 160 point swing and I was able to hit it with the help of the course. The layout of the course was perfect; I used the homework to create a study schedule which kept me on track each day. The once-a-week class was great to clear any questions I had during the week of the study,

The course was surprisingly interactive for an online course. I did not feel like I was missing out at all by not attending a live in-person class. The instructors were very energetic and kept the class exciting. They explained the material in a way that was easy to understand, but more importantly they taught strategies for taking the test, such as guessing and timing strategies, which I think helped me the most.

I would absolutely recommend Manhattan Prep to anyone looking to take the GMAT.

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: MIT
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Definitely worth the time! Advice for future students

5 stars
May 12, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Took Avi Gutman's class - great teacher and very engaging. You have to be fully involved in the classroom discussion to make the most of the course, but if you do so, your score will definitely improve.

MGMAT's quant strategy guides are super helpful; in my opinion, the Number Properties guide really is the best of them all. Put simply, I would not have obtained my quant score of 50 without this guide. The GMAT is all about thinking logically and using quick tricks wherever possible - MGMAT's Number Properties guide really knocks it out of the park in this regard.

The verbal strategy guides are also very useful; I have found the CR strategy guide to best most effective in raising my verbal score. While I am no expert at CR, MGMAT's CR guide lays out an extremely effective framework for approaching each CR question type. It took a lot of practice to get used to this framework, but the extra boost to my verbal score (42) was worth all the trouble.

MGMAT also helped me tremendously with my timing issues, a very important part of this test.

Advice for prospective students: Take your MGMAT CAT scores with a grain of salt. I will note that the MGMAT quant section is much tougher than that in the actual exam. While over-preparation is obviously better than under-preparation, MGMAT runs the risk of demoralizing students into not taking the test. I recommend MGMAT re-calibrate the difficulty level of its CAT quant questions.

Thank you MGMAT for helping me obtain my dream GMAT score!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Tutoring highly recommended

5 stars
January 29, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 720
Highly recommend Manhattan for GMAT prep. Books are comprehensive, and the tutoring was personalized, insightful, and data-driven (cheers to Ryan Jacobs). Reached my target score in record time and got into my school of choice.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Major: Finance
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Instructor, Excellent Course

5 stars
January 27, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Céilidh Erickson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 720
After struggling with the GMAT for a year and not moving past the mid-600s, I decided to sign up for a Manhattan GMAT live class. Some people I know who previously took the class spoke very highly of the course. Ceilidh Erickson was the instructor and she was amazing.

She not only did a great job of teaching the basic skills and formulas but also taught us how to think and attack each question logically. During class, she addressed everyone’s needs and she was great at telling how people were dealing with the material. She showed different logical techniques which helped save time, eliminate answers, and guess and move on. These techniques are what she uses on the test such as spending the first few seconds with the pen down on quant and crossing off extreme answers on the RC section. These techniques are KEY when solving the tougher questions because the test is adaptive. When we did practice questions, she showed us multiple ways to solve a problem and this helped add to the arsenal of methods to use during the actual test so you don’t get stuck.

After the course, I wanted to work on a few specific areas and set some hours for tutoring with Ceilidh to make sure I would surpass the 700 level. I debated on spending the money but decided to go for it because in the end, it’s a small investment for the future. We spent about 3 hours going through my weaknesses to sure those up and she showed me some new techniques and ways to think about solving problems before I actually put pen to paper. After another month of studying, I was testing above the 700 level and booked the test.

I highly recommend taking either the class or tutoring with Ceilidh. I honestly don’t think I would have achieved the score I got without her. It’s and no regrets decision and well worth the money, time, and energy. Even after the class and tutoring when I was studying on my own, she was always available to answer questions.