Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 367 reviews
Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT guided my 99th percentile score (760)

5 stars
July 30, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Kara Thornton & Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
In my opinion:

Most importantly, Manhattan GMAT has, by far, the best course materials available. During my prep course selection process I could only realistically compare the course curriculum between companies. I spent more than a few visits at Barnes and Noble to look at the Manhattan GMAT, Kaplan, and Princeton Review books.

Anyone who seeks to score well on the GMAT must acknowledge that the majority of the prep work will not be done in the classroom. Therefore, I thought it was crucial that the prep books had good knowledge to impart. I am a math tutor, and easily recognized the vast amount of effort Manhattan GMAT has put forth in their prep books. I found myself thinking, this is exactly how I would break this problem down for my clients. As I knew that all programs would have highly qualified teachers, the study guide content carried much weight in my decicion making process.

Moreover, Manhattan GMAT is unique in that the prep books INTEGRATE the official GMAC study guides. The "study" portions of the GMAC books seem like summaries of the Manhattan GMAT guides. At one point in ealy March, I remember looking at the Manhattan guides and telling my friend "I think MANHATTAN GMAT IS THE REAL DEAL."

I finally decided to pursue the test with Manhattan GMAT. At first I was slightly dissappointed with my decision. The classroom interface was not as sleek as some of the other programs. The additional tools, such as the OG Tracker (you will find out soon enough), were also not as sleek as some of the prep programs appear to be in tracking progress.

Although, after some time, I began to appreciate using the bulkier tools. The reason is two fold: 1. I knew every single data point I entered, watching my right/wrong and timing over/under for every single practice problem 2. The time spent entering information gave my brain brief breaks from problem sets and studying. The result was, that I was mentally fresher and well aquainted with my strengths and weaknesses.

Finally, the staff at Manhattan GMAT have been fantastic. The instructors were prompt in response to any questions outside of class. The customer service team was professional, reasonable, and helpful. Manhattan GMAT and its employees also never made any kind of silly promises. Promises like refunds for unimproved scores. (Please save yourself the time!) The GMAT will teach you the value of wasting even 2 minutes.

If your score doesn't improve during a Manhattan GMAT course, it is not Manhattan's fault. Manhattan GMAT marks the trail, gives you a compass, and a map; but you have to hike for youself to climb the mountain. They can help you climb higher and faster more safely, but the work still rests on the student to achieve the final score.

If you want to be the best you can be, commit yourself to working this program and you will not regret it.

On January 10, 2010 I took a free practice CAT with Manhattan GMAT, my score was a 580.

In early Feburary, I took a brief, non-adaptive, pre-test with Kaplan, my projected score was 630.

In April, May, and June I studied with Manhattan GMAT. In July I reviewed my course objectives and practiced problems daily.

On July 24, 2010 I felt my heart pound as I revealed my unofficial score at the Pearson testing center... 760 99th Percentile.

Thank you Manhattan GMAT. Business School, here I come.

-Brent Carpenetti
Carpenetti Calculus

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

This course got me where I need to be

5 stars
July 23, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Dan B.
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I was somewhat stressed out the outset of this course...I didn't think I'd be able to improve my verbal scores and I was concerned over how much math material there was.

But this class got me there. I followed my instructor's directions and did the work and improved my verbal scores into the high 90s and improved my math by 10 percentile points.

I trusted the process and it worked out great. There was a lot of material but I recommend manhattan gmat to my friends all the time--



Joined: Apr 2010

Top quality product, Excellent value for money for those who are self motivated

5 stars
July 23, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Guided Self Study Prep
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
My GMAT score before using the Manhattan GMAT review series : 610

My GMAT score after 3 months and painstaking practice using nothing but these study aides : 700

I used The MGMAT foundation math and 5 other math strategy guides plus the sentence correction strategy guide. It takes you through every technique you need to learn step by step from the easy stuff to the hard stuff. It took me 2 months just to get through the math guides. For those with good self motivation this is highly effective learning and vastly cheaper than a tutor or a boot-camp. Personally, unless you are extremely squeezed for time I would recommend this guide series as the FIRST step in you study process. Tutors and other books/practice tests/workshops etc can be used to fine tune later if you need it. Boot camps probably teach you what you would learn on your own given time. If you purchase the guides with MGMAT you get access to their excellent online practice CATs. The detailed feedback on the CATs is invaluable for targeting your weak areas and to enhance your exam strategy and techniques.

Excellent quality, top class teaching materials. All you need to get a high score.

Joined: Apr 2010

The course has its ups and downs

3 stars
July 22, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Santa Monica 8 reviews
Teacher: I had several - I honestly do not remember!
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
My title is true to form - the course is excellent, but it has its ups and downs. Everyone kept discussing how great the teachers were. I honestly found many holes in the instruction style. Plus, the classroom was tiny and humid, so that distracted the student during the learning process. Anyway...

I had one instructor during my first few weeks. He was so arrogant and ridiculous that I began to dislike him. It really detracted from learning. I really did not feel like I learned much in the actual class. To be honest, I learned SO much more from just watching the online class recordings and other course material. It was just not helpful.

So, I decided to switch my days of attendance. My second instructor explained the lessons in a very rapid manner - it was TOO fast. I asked him to slow down, repeatedly, which did not seem to help the matter. After class, I would hear constant comments from him to the other students about how "Stanford is just not likely...it is a longshot" and "INSEAD is for people who could not get into Harvard". I felt like I was in a classroom with true elitists. I wanted to be in a class with a teacher and students that were all like-minded: ready to take the exam. The class caused more frustration than helped it.

I believe it depends upon the person. Some people would truly benefit from a classroom style instruction. However, if you are more of a free-thinker, I would try the online class. I believe Emily Sledge and Dan Gonzalez were instructors on some of the online recordings I would listen to. They were excellent. I think it is easy to follow without distractions of a classroom.

Hope this helps!


Joined: May 2010

must for beginners

5 stars
July 21, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Guided Self Study Prep
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
i recommend it for all beginners it addresses all errors have been asked in GMAT so far

Joined: Mar 2009

This is all I used

4 stars
July 20, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Guided Self Study Prep
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I was careless the first time, and got butchered. The 2nd time I got a better score. All I used were MGMAT Guides and Official Guides (all 3). I think this is all anyone needs. Good luck!

Joined: Mar 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great course and great testing prep

5 stars
July 20, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
This was a great course. I was very surprised at how interactive the online class format was. It was great, the teachers were energetic and the class was responsive. Overall, everyone enjoyed the learning.
The material was also good, though it emphasized the MGMAT methods over personal discovery of methods which I preferred. It taught me all about the test and question types which I would not have learned without this resource.
The tests were also very good. One of the best resources was the analysis of the tests. These tests go through all question types to analyze performance and timing. Also helpful were these BTG forums to help me along in preparations for test day and keeping me on the ground in terms of realistic scores.

I went from a 620 to a 730 thanks to Manhattan GMAT!