Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2017 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 370 reviews
Joined: May 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Great Prep Material, Would Recommend Taking Live Course Over Online

4 stars
August 3, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I originally purchased the entire MGMAT book set, but after having trouble staying focused and working through some of the difficult material, I decided to fork out the money for the class. I don't live near any of the live courses, so the online option was my only choice.

First, the class was useful for what I needed it for. It kept me on track and I moved through the material much faster then I was doing on my own. However, I think this would have been much more effective in a live classroom environment. The online environment seemed to move pretty slow at times as we waited for everyone to get on the same page, for occasional technical difficulties to be solved, or for students to type in their answers/figure out their microphone. All of these seemed to slow down the pace and made it awkward at times.

But with those annoyances removed, I think the overall content of the course is unmatched. The MGMAT guides are incredible, and if you're like me, having someone there to walk you through them is essential to mastering the material. I also think some of the online tools such as the assessment reports, OG companion, and OG tracker are great resources.

So with that, if you're good at staying focused and reading the material, I'd opt for the books w/ access to the additional tools mentioned above. If you need help staying on track, I'd go for the live class (if possible) or the online class if you're willing to be patient with the pace at times.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Good stuff

5 stars
August 3, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Santa Monica 8 reviews
Teacher: Dan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
Manhattan GMAT was totally worth it and a great investment. After my initial CAT I scored in the low-mid 600s. Over the course of 9 weeks, the weekly classes combined with the rigorous homework schedule helped me a ton in preparing for the real thing. I ended up scoring in the low 700s with both 80+ percentile on quant and verbal on the actual thing. Dan was a great teacher and made the classes lively and fun.


Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2009
Verified Real Student Review

ManhattanGmat can really help - but you have to do the work ...

4 stars
August 2, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Grace
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
First off - it helps that the ManhattanGmat teachers recently went through the test. For the most part they know what they're doing; however, like any sort of teaching environment, you will find some teachers that are better or worse than others.

For the 9 week session, they give a description of your teacher. My advice is to read it closely - a teacher can make or break the process. My teacher Grace was awesome in that she touched on the material, but really didn't treat the class as a chance to rehash the book. She really emphasized how that material will appear on the exams and what does mean about the way you have to think about it. This is the value of having a instructor over the books. The books will give you the content. If you're a good test taker you'll probably figure a lot of this out on your own. However, if you're like me - hearing Grace talk about better ways to approach a problem or how you can sense the GMAT "tricks" really helped.

That being said, I had to relearn geometry, number properties, and grammar. And then I had to unlearn how to read passages or arguments and make my own conclusions. However, Grace's tips and tricks about questions definitely always helped.

It was more than a year between my course and the test - which I don't recommend. After reviewing all the content - AGAIN - I then had my notes and the practice tests to get me through. In the end, the practice test were the saving grace as they helped me feel ready for the test. The official guides were a huge help as they provided more questions and allowed for studying on the go (you can't be all GMAT all the time). The test did not feel like a surprise - really you knew what to expect. If you're a good test taker then the practice tests, official guides, and the content books might be enough for you. But if you need to hear the strategy then sign up for the test.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT guided my 99th percentile score (760)

5 stars
July 30, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Kara Thornton & Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
In my opinion:

Most importantly, Manhattan GMAT has, by far, the best course materials available. During my prep course selection process I could only realistically compare the course curriculum between companies. I spent more than a few visits at Barnes and Noble to look at the Manhattan GMAT, Kaplan, and Princeton Review books.

Anyone who seeks to score well on the GMAT must acknowledge that the majority of the prep work will not be done in the classroom. Therefore, I thought it was crucial that the prep books had good knowledge to impart. I am a math tutor, and easily recognized the vast amount of effort Manhattan GMAT has put forth in their prep books. I found myself thinking, this is exactly how I would break this problem down for my clients. As I knew that all programs would have highly qualified teachers, the study guide content carried much weight in my decicion making process.

Moreover, Manhattan GMAT is unique in that the prep books INTEGRATE the official GMAC study guides. The "study" portions of the GMAC books seem like summaries of the Manhattan GMAT guides. At one point in ealy March, I remember looking at the Manhattan guides and telling my friend "I think MANHATTAN GMAT IS THE REAL DEAL."

I finally decided to pursue the test with Manhattan GMAT. At first I was slightly dissappointed with my decision. The classroom interface was not as sleek as some of the other programs. The additional tools, such as the OG Tracker (you will find out soon enough), were also not as sleek as some of the prep programs appear to be in tracking progress.

Although, after some time, I began to appreciate using the bulkier tools. The reason is two fold: 1. I knew every single data point I entered, watching my right/wrong and timing over/under for every single practice problem 2. The time spent entering information gave my brain brief breaks from problem sets and studying. The result was, that I was mentally fresher and well aquainted with my strengths and weaknesses.

Finally, the staff at Manhattan GMAT have been fantastic. The instructors were prompt in response to any questions outside of class. The customer service team was professional, reasonable, and helpful. Manhattan GMAT and its employees also never made any kind of silly promises. Promises like refunds for unimproved scores. (Please save yourself the time!) The GMAT will teach you the value of wasting even 2 minutes.

If your score doesn't improve during a Manhattan GMAT course, it is not Manhattan's fault. Manhattan GMAT marks the trail, gives you a compass, and a map; but you have to hike for youself to climb the mountain. They can help you climb higher and faster more safely, but the work still rests on the student to achieve the final score.

If you want to be the best you can be, commit yourself to working this program and you will not regret it.

On January 10, 2010 I took a free practice CAT with Manhattan GMAT, my score was a 580.

In early Feburary, I took a brief, non-adaptive, pre-test with Kaplan, my projected score was 630.

In April, May, and June I studied with Manhattan GMAT. In July I reviewed my course objectives and practiced problems daily.

On July 24, 2010 I felt my heart pound as I revealed my unofficial score at the Pearson testing center... 760 99th Percentile.

Thank you Manhattan GMAT. Business School, here I come.

-Brent Carpenetti
Carpenetti Calculus

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

This course got me where I need to be

5 stars
July 23, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Dan B.
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I was somewhat stressed out the outset of this course...I didn't think I'd be able to improve my verbal scores and I was concerned over how much math material there was.

But this class got me there. I followed my instructor's directions and did the work and improved my verbal scores into the high 90s and improved my math by 10 percentile points.

I trusted the process and it worked out great. There was a lot of material but I recommend manhattan gmat to my friends all the time--



Joined: Apr 2010

Top quality product, Excellent value for money for those who are self motivated

5 stars
July 23, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Guided Self Study Prep
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
My GMAT score before using the Manhattan GMAT review series : 610

My GMAT score after 3 months and painstaking practice using nothing but these study aides : 700

I used The MGMAT foundation math and 5 other math strategy guides plus the sentence correction strategy guide. It takes you through every technique you need to learn step by step from the easy stuff to the hard stuff. It took me 2 months just to get through the math guides. For those with good self motivation this is highly effective learning and vastly cheaper than a tutor or a boot-camp. Personally, unless you are extremely squeezed for time I would recommend this guide series as the FIRST step in you study process. Tutors and other books/practice tests/workshops etc can be used to fine tune later if you need it. Boot camps probably teach you what you would learn on your own given time. If you purchase the guides with MGMAT you get access to their excellent online practice CATs. The detailed feedback on the CATs is invaluable for targeting your weak areas and to enhance your exam strategy and techniques.

Excellent quality, top class teaching materials. All you need to get a high score.

Joined: Apr 2010

The course has its ups and downs

3 stars
July 22, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Santa Monica 8 reviews
Teacher: I had several - I honestly do not remember!
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
My title is true to form - the course is excellent, but it has its ups and downs. Everyone kept discussing how great the teachers were. I honestly found many holes in the instruction style. Plus, the classroom was tiny and humid, so that distracted the student during the learning process. Anyway...

I had one instructor during my first few weeks. He was so arrogant and ridiculous that I began to dislike him. It really detracted from learning. I really did not feel like I learned much in the actual class. To be honest, I learned SO much more from just watching the online class recordings and other course material. It was just not helpful.

So, I decided to switch my days of attendance. My second instructor explained the lessons in a very rapid manner - it was TOO fast. I asked him to slow down, repeatedly, which did not seem to help the matter. After class, I would hear constant comments from him to the other students about how "Stanford is just not likely...it is a longshot" and "INSEAD is for people who could not get into Harvard". I felt like I was in a classroom with true elitists. I wanted to be in a class with a teacher and students that were all like-minded: ready to take the exam. The class caused more frustration than helped it.

I believe it depends upon the person. Some people would truly benefit from a classroom style instruction. However, if you are more of a free-thinker, I would try the online class. I believe Emily Sledge and Dan Gonzalez were instructors on some of the online recordings I would listen to. They were excellent. I think it is easy to follow without distractions of a classroom.

Hope this helps!


Joined: May 2010

must for beginners

5 stars
July 21, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Guided Self Study Prep
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
i recommend it for all beginners it addresses all errors have been asked in GMAT so far

Joined: Mar 2009

This is all I used

4 stars
July 20, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Guided Self Study Prep
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I was careless the first time, and got butchered. The 2nd time I got a better score. All I used were MGMAT Guides and Official Guides (all 3). I think this is all anyone needs. Good luck!

Joined: Mar 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great course and great testing prep

5 stars
July 20, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
This was a great course. I was very surprised at how interactive the online class format was. It was great, the teachers were energetic and the class was responsive. Overall, everyone enjoyed the learning.
The material was also good, though it emphasized the MGMAT methods over personal discovery of methods which I preferred. It taught me all about the test and question types which I would not have learned without this resource.
The tests were also very good. One of the best resources was the analysis of the tests. These tests go through all question types to analyze performance and timing. Also helpful were these BTG forums to help me along in preparations for test day and keeping me on the ground in terms of realistic scores.

I went from a 620 to a 730 thanks to Manhattan GMAT!