Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 367 reviews
Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Villanova University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe is a GMAT assassin.

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
This was my first tutor-pupil relationship, ever. I found Joe to be flexible and responsive - both of which are supremely important in a work-GMAT balancing act. He knows his stuff inside and out, and is a great guy. I took a diagnostic completely cold and scored a 610; I ended up with a 720 on GMAT #1. Highly recommend.

Thanks, Joe and Manhattan Prep!

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Effective GMAT prep class

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took David Mahler's GMAT class over the summer. The 9 week session was particularly helpful as they identified my weaknesses and helped me improve in those specific areas. I did well on my first attempt and even better on my second attempt.

Strongly Recommended!

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Carleton University
Major: International Business
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Avi Gutman: simply AMAZING!

5 stars
July 8, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: N/A
Before I dive into my personal story, if you don't want to read the entire review, I will say this right off the bat: Avi is an INCREDIBLE teacher, he is literally the definition of what a perfect, ideal teacher should be.
My story:
I researched online to find a tutor in Toronto with amazing reviews, and found Avi. I approached Avi four weeks before my exam, to inquire about his tutoring availability and rates, and gave him a brief explanation of my situation; I wasn't scoring where I wanted to be in my practice tests, so I figured a few tutoring sessions with the right instructor would help to boost my score. After explaining my situation to Avi, however, he did not encourage me to get tutoring sessions with him (he did not try to sell his tutoring at all, which I found to be very honest and genuine), instead, he made me realize that there was no rush to be done with the GMAT in the time period I was expecting to be, and told me he thought I would benefit more from enrolling in his 9-session course (much cheaper than private tutoring!), which covers the entire GMAT content. I decided to take Avi's expert advice, and enrolled in his course. This was an AMAZING decision! Avi is all of the things an ideal teacher should be: patient, extremely intelligent (goes without saying he knows the content inside and out), caring, devoted, thoughtful, funny!, did I say patient?, very calming and reassuring whenever you are in doubt or stressing, and he is extremely effective at explaining things in detail, he breaks every concept down so much so that everyone is able to understand even the most complex concepts and problems. It's absolutely incredible how simple he makes everything seem! Every time I would email Avi with a question or letting him know I am stressed out about my upcoming exam, etc., as soon as I’d read the first line or two of his email, I would IMMEDIATELY feel calm and reassured, he is truly a fantastic therapist, and always knows what to say to calm students down, while providing great advice with a sound plan of action. For anyone considering it but not sure if it is worth it: IT IS! Plus, with the cost of the course comes the 10-volume Manhattan book series, and access to all of Manhattan’s online services, including 6 practice CATs.
Thank you, Avi, for being an amazing teacher and therapist!!!

Also, the company itself is awesome, they are very dedicated to their students, and they offer plenty of useful resources for students.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Cornell University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Dmitry Farber - Great Tutor For Any Level Student

5 stars
July 8, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 39 reviews
Teacher: Dmitry Farber
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Dmitry Farber was an exemplary tutor. He was very flexible with his schedule, and extremely well-prepared for our sessions, such that if I didn't have any specific material that I wanted to review, he was prepared with a full lesson as a backup. He is the absolute KING of metaphors, and you'll realize this if you work with him. But more importantly, he was incredibly understanding, has unlimited patience, and truly cares about drilling the knowledge into his students, rather than showcasing his intelligence. Meanwhile, it was obvious in our sessions that he is brilliant, but able to break down complex concepts in the simplest of ways to understand. I was unique in that I was ALMOST at the score I wanted when I first met with Dmitry, but he was able to give me 750+ score level advice and guidance, put together a study plan for me, and give me the tools so that in the end I was able to score above my initial target score. I would highly recommend Dmitry to anyone considering a private tutor, and I only wish I'd started working with him earlier. He's not only an outstanding tutor, but a great guy who cared about my success almost as much as I did.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Chelsey Cooley from Manhattan Prep is the best

5 stars
May 31, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 39 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Trust me, paying that $250/hour for Chelsey, especially if you are just under 50 points away from your goal score, is totally worth it. I was struggling with quant - pretty much scored the same every practice exam for 2 months, then 3 hours with Chelsey, my score went up 50 points (in quant alone) within 3 weeks.

Chelsey zeros in on both your strengths and weaknesses and designs a study plan specific to your needs. I think she pretty much knows every single GMAT problem out there and can pick out specific problems that you need to practice. She's practical and to the point. I also feel that Chelsey sincerely cares about her students!

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Worth it

5 stars
May 31, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I loved everything about my Manhattan Prep experience - the printed materials, the online courses, the online forums, the instruction, the customer service, and the private tutoring.

It's perfect for someone with a solid foundation in verbal/quant - the course teaches you how to tackle the GMAT questions in a smart way that suits you. But the class only works if you actually do the homework as they are assigned - if you don't do the practice exams/the HW assignments, the class is not going to help you.

I like the online materials because if you've missed something in class or didn't understand something, the online videos teach you the same thing.

My instructor also stayed after class all the time to answer questions.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Major: Political Science
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan Prep

5 stars
May 26, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Ceilidh Erickson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
After attempting to study for the GMAT by myself via GMAC's "Original Guide" and not seeing much improvement in my scores on online practice tests, I decided to enroll in Manhattan Prep's 9-week course. Ceilidh Erickson was my instructor throughout the course, and I highly recommend selecting her as your course instructor due to her incredibly solid grasp of the course materials and her ability to make an unenjoyable process (studying for the GMAT) much more enjoyable.

Taking Manhattan Prep's course was definitely the difference-maker in seeing improvement in my scores. Their study materials, online tests, and vault of resources provide you with the quant and verbal content knowledge base you need to succeed on the test, as well as with a comprehensive knowledge of the best strategy to optimize your results. Knowing all of the math and grammar is important, but you realize quickly that knowing how to approach the test (i.e. timing, in-test strategy, managing test stress) is just as important (if not more important).

A lot of the value derived from Manhattan Prep comes from outside the actual course. Sitting through the 9-week course is just the tip of the iceberg that is your preparation for achieving your desired score. Being plugged into the Manhattan Prep apparatus that provides a vast array of resources and constant support throughout the GMAT journey is extremely important when progressing toward your ultimate GMAT course goal. For instance, after taking the actual GMAT once and falling short of my desired score, Manhattan Prep devised an additional two-month study plan to help me progress toward my desired goal. The instructors (Ceilidh in particular) and also extremely responsive to answering questions and providing you with additional resources on an ad-hoc basis well after you finish the actual course.

In short, if you're serious about realizing your potential in taking the GMAT, Manhattan Prep is an effective way to prepare for the test and is worth the investment of money and time.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: College of William and Mary
Major: Finance
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

$$$ but worth it if you put in the time...5 stars for Ceilidh Erickson!

5 stars
May 12, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Ceilidh Erickson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Short version: Manhattan Prep is pricey but worth the investment. MPrep offers various test prep options depending on your learning style, such as online tutorials ($), practice tests and books ($), in-person courses, ($$) and individual tutoring ($$$). The instructors are well-training to teach you effective strategies for identifying various questions types within Data Sufficiency, Problem Solving, Sentence Correction, etc. and selecting / eliminating answer choices based (e.g. avoiding common GMAT traps).

I completed the in-person course at their Chelsea location in February 2016 with instructor Ceilidh Erickson. There are 9 classes in total, 3 hours each. This class is a commitment, as students are expected to follow along the syllabus and complete practice problems outside of class - they suggest 10 hours of studying / week, and I realistically dedicated about 5-6 / week.

My initial practice score was a 600 and after applying what I learned in class for two months, I took the official GMAT and scored a 740. This would not have been possible without Ceilidh's approachable and effective teaching style - her energy is contagious and I actually felt motivated to learn tips and tricks for "beating the GMAT". The GMAT itself does not test math / verbal skills above a high school level, but the way questions are worded and set up are meant to trick and trap test takers. Ceilidh equips you with critical timing strategies and answer-eliminating tricks to help you get (or guess) the right question. She is engaging in class and you will find it's hard to zone out (or you will get called out!). I highly recommend Ceilidh and signing up for a free trial class to see if the class is a fit.After each class, she also sends recap emails which are a great refresher before the exam. As her student, you will always feel supported throughout the course, and after - she genuinely cares about your success and want to celebrate when you reach your goal!

Warning: The test is designed so you miss approximately half of the questions. Accept that you will miss questions and that you will have to give your "best guess" and move on sometimes, so focus on time management and problem recognition.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Fordham University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

590 to 700 - Thank you Manhattan Prep and Joe Martin!

5 stars
April 24, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Joe Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 700
I took the GMAT several years ago and scored a 590 after reading through the Official Guide and working through practice tests/problems. This time, I decided to take a more serious approach with a prep course, and I had heard from some of my friends that Manhattan Prep was the best. I registered for Joe Martin's class, followed the syllabus throughout the 9 weeks, self-studied for a month after the class ended, and scored a 700.

After browsing through the course options, I decided to go with the full 9-week course, but wanted to ensure that both the day/time and instructor were right. Many of the reviews I read pointed to Joe Martin, so I registered for one of his classes. That turned out to be the right decision.

Joe will be the first one to tell you that all of the Manhattan Prep instructors are great, but he has consistently proven to be among the best. He is engaging, funny, and knowledgeable about both the mechanics and the content of the GMAT; you will find that understanding the GMAT itself is just as important as understanding the formulas, grammar rules, etc. that the questions are derived from. He also is very approachable for questions in class or via email.

In regards to the Manhattan Prep books: if you are taking the GMAT, you should be using those to study. Although there are 10+ books, they are very clear and not intimidating at all. They break down each topic and prepare you for every kind of question you will see on the test.

The Manhattan Prep CATs are also great. You get 6 CATs, which is more than enough, especially combined with the free tests you get from GMAC itself. After each MPrep test, you get a breakdown of each question, which is extremely valuable to see what you got wrong or even how you can get correct answers faster.

If you are taking the GMAT, use Manhattan Prep and try to get into Joe Martin's class. You will not regret it.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan GMAT is a must. Thank you Joe Martin!

5 stars
March 29, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 367 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 259 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 85 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I was initially hesitant to sign up for the course because it was a bit costly. I decided to go through with it since I couldn't reach my target score of 700 by studying on my own (for over 6 months). After reading numerous reviews about Joe Martin, I signed up for his 9-week course and I absolutely LOVED it! Joe was a great teacher who taught the class many GMAT tricks and and gave us an understanding of the exam. He kept the class fun and the 3 hours always flew by. I scored a 580 on my initial practice exam before the class began. When I took the GMAT last weekend, I received my target score of 700! Thank you for all of your help Joe & Manhattan GMAT! No regrets.