Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep

Best Promo Code 2017 & Verified Reviews

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 370 reviews
Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: university of calgary
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Chemicals
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan prep is the way to go!

5 stars
July 28, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs and Paul Fisher
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 390
Manhattan Prep is the way to go for GMAT. I bought Manhattan GMAT books after reading their excellent review online; however, I was still lost after reading through all the books. I then signed up for 9 week course online with Manhattan Prep and that was definitely money well spent. The classes are incredibly helpful and both of my instructors, Ryan Jacobs and Paul Fisher, were really knowledgeable and approachable. They teach you so many tricks that you would never learn by just reading the books.

After taking the classes, I found that I was still struggling with CR and certain areas of quant. I then took 4 private lessons with Ryan that essentially helped me to cross the 700 mark.

Ryan is an awesome teacher who genuinely cares for his students and is always available to answer questions, even when he is on vacation. If you are struggling with GMAT in general, I suggest signing up for classes with Manhattan prep. However, if there are specific areas that need work, I would sign up for private lessons (they are expensive, but so worth it) with Ryan.

A big thank you to Manhattan Prep and Ryan Jacobs!

My score: 710 (48 Quant, 39 Verbal)

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: University of California San Diego
Major: Urban and Regional Planning
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Really impressed

5 stars
July 23, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 50 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince and Reed Arnold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 670
I am so lucky to have been able to get into Stacey Koprince and Reed Arnold's class. They co-taught, and to my luck, I got the best of both worlds with both of their perspectives on questions and answers. They really went above and beyond what I expected from a course. Their support continued even after the course was over. They assured me that they would be there to help me anytime I had any questions. They obviously care about their students and it's obvious by the way they offer so much support even when they're not going to make anything extra from doing so. Most importantly, they instilled confidence and helped me rid my test anxiety and panic. I ultimately picked them because I read so many positive reviews about them, and the reviews were right. I hadn't heard of Reed Arnold, but I will say that he was SO HELPFUL in my process to learning. I would even e-mail sometimes at 2am and he would still respond to try and help me with problems!!! Seriously, what a guy. What I loved most about their teaching style is they will not just spoon feed you answers. They will guide you in the right direction and let you know if you're doing well or if you could change a few things. This was extremely helpful since it helped me to remember everything they helped me with.

Anyhow, I had first used The Economist online prep course and it was by far the worst investment of money and time I've ever made. I went with them because it was half the price of other courses. BAD DECISION. After 2 months of that and not improving my practice scores at all (580) I decided enough was enough. Most of my friends who scored well recommended Manhattan Prep so I went with it. BEST DECISION. Honestly, after 4 weeks, my score went up 50 points, and by the time I took my test, I had improved from 580 to 670 48Q/34V. Although not the score I was hoping for, it was my first time taking the test and I'm confident I'll get a 700 my second time around.

If you are going back and forth and are not sure which instructor to choose (I'm sure there are many great instructors), Stacey Koprince and/or Reed Arnold. I'm dead serious. Best instructors I've ever had. They balance humor, participation, don't waste time, and are very easy to understand. I'll be honest, I took some trial courses with other instructors and I just couldn't stand the way they talked.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Kimberly Cabot

5 stars
July 23, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - San Francisco 18 reviews
Teacher: Kimberly Cabot
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took the prep course with Kimberly, and I really enjoyed my experience. She's very passionate about teaching the class and extremely knowledgeable as well. What I enjoyed most was her unique approach to solving quantitative problems. For example, while she would show us how to solve problems the "traditional" way, she would often point out a simpler solution that relied more on common sense thinking and less on calculation. I also really enjoyed her strategies around timing and pacing- from how to set up your scratch paper to benchmarks you should be following to make sure you're going to finish the exam on time. I think these small details were responsible for that +20 point boost I got on test day.

Manhattan Prep also has a ton of additional resources on their online student portal. My only gripe would be that it's very overwhelming and not presented in the most intuitive way. My favorite resource was the sentence correction book. While the classroom sessions do delve into the basics of sentence correction, this book is an absolute must to master all the nuances.

My final advice would be to take as many practices tests as possible. Manhattan provides 6 CATs, but I used free tests from Kaplan, Veritas, and the official GMAT to as well to improve my timing and pacing instincts and to diversify my prep. In my experience, the scores I got from Manhattan CATs were much lower than my official score (my highest Manhattan CAT was 700 and I was plateauing at that). So don't feel you need to hit your target score before taking the real thing. You may be pleasantly surprised on test day :)

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Villanova University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe is a GMAT assassin.

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
This was my first tutor-pupil relationship, ever. I found Joe to be flexible and responsive - both of which are supremely important in a work-GMAT balancing act. He knows his stuff inside and out, and is a great guy. I took a diagnostic completely cold and scored a 610; I ended up with a 720 on GMAT #1. Highly recommend.

Thanks, Joe and Manhattan Prep!

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Effective GMAT prep class

5 stars
July 20, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took David Mahler's GMAT class over the summer. The 9 week session was particularly helpful as they identified my weaknesses and helped me improve in those specific areas. I did well on my first attempt and even better on my second attempt.

Strongly Recommended!

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Carleton University
Major: International Business
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Avi Gutman: simply AMAZING!

5 stars
July 8, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: N/A
Before I dive into my personal story, if you don't want to read the entire review, I will say this right off the bat: Avi is an INCREDIBLE teacher, he is literally the definition of what a perfect, ideal teacher should be.
My story:
I researched online to find a tutor in Toronto with amazing reviews, and found Avi. I approached Avi four weeks before my exam, to inquire about his tutoring availability and rates, and gave him a brief explanation of my situation; I wasn't scoring where I wanted to be in my practice tests, so I figured a few tutoring sessions with the right instructor would help to boost my score. After explaining my situation to Avi, however, he did not encourage me to get tutoring sessions with him (he did not try to sell his tutoring at all, which I found to be very honest and genuine), instead, he made me realize that there was no rush to be done with the GMAT in the time period I was expecting to be, and told me he thought I would benefit more from enrolling in his 9-session course (much cheaper than private tutoring!), which covers the entire GMAT content. I decided to take Avi's expert advice, and enrolled in his course. This was an AMAZING decision! Avi is all of the things an ideal teacher should be: patient, extremely intelligent (goes without saying he knows the content inside and out), caring, devoted, thoughtful, funny!, did I say patient?, very calming and reassuring whenever you are in doubt or stressing, and he is extremely effective at explaining things in detail, he breaks every concept down so much so that everyone is able to understand even the most complex concepts and problems. It's absolutely incredible how simple he makes everything seem! Every time I would email Avi with a question or letting him know I am stressed out about my upcoming exam, etc., as soon as I’d read the first line or two of his email, I would IMMEDIATELY feel calm and reassured, he is truly a fantastic therapist, and always knows what to say to calm students down, while providing great advice with a sound plan of action. For anyone considering it but not sure if it is worth it: IT IS! Plus, with the cost of the course comes the 10-volume Manhattan book series, and access to all of Manhattan’s online services, including 6 practice CATs.
Thank you, Avi, for being an amazing teacher and therapist!!!

Also, the company itself is awesome, they are very dedicated to their students, and they offer plenty of useful resources for students.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Cornell University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Dmitry Farber - Great Tutor For Any Level Student

5 stars
July 8, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Dmitry Farber
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Dmitry Farber was an exemplary tutor. He was very flexible with his schedule, and extremely well-prepared for our sessions, such that if I didn't have any specific material that I wanted to review, he was prepared with a full lesson as a backup. He is the absolute KING of metaphors, and you'll realize this if you work with him. But more importantly, he was incredibly understanding, has unlimited patience, and truly cares about drilling the knowledge into his students, rather than showcasing his intelligence. Meanwhile, it was obvious in our sessions that he is brilliant, but able to break down complex concepts in the simplest of ways to understand. I was unique in that I was ALMOST at the score I wanted when I first met with Dmitry, but he was able to give me 750+ score level advice and guidance, put together a study plan for me, and give me the tools so that in the end I was able to score above my initial target score. I would highly recommend Dmitry to anyone considering a private tutor, and I only wish I'd started working with him earlier. He's not only an outstanding tutor, but a great guy who cared about my success almost as much as I did.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Chelsey Cooley from Manhattan Prep is the best

5 stars
May 31, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring 40 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Trust me, paying that $250/hour for Chelsey, especially if you are just under 50 points away from your goal score, is totally worth it. I was struggling with quant - pretty much scored the same every practice exam for 2 months, then 3 hours with Chelsey, my score went up 50 points (in quant alone) within 3 weeks.

Chelsey zeros in on both your strengths and weaknesses and designs a study plan specific to your needs. I think she pretty much knows every single GMAT problem out there and can pick out specific problems that you need to practice. She's practical and to the point. I also feel that Chelsey sincerely cares about her students!

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Worth it

5 stars
May 31, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I loved everything about my Manhattan Prep experience - the printed materials, the online courses, the online forums, the instruction, the customer service, and the private tutoring.

It's perfect for someone with a solid foundation in verbal/quant - the course teaches you how to tackle the GMAT questions in a smart way that suits you. But the class only works if you actually do the homework as they are assigned - if you don't do the practice exams/the HW assignments, the class is not going to help you.

I like the online materials because if you've missed something in class or didn't understand something, the online videos teach you the same thing.

My instructor also stayed after class all the time to answer questions.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Major: Political Science
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan Prep

5 stars
May 26, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 370 reviews
Course: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course 261 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 86 reviews
Teacher: Ceilidh Erickson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
After attempting to study for the GMAT by myself via GMAC's "Original Guide" and not seeing much improvement in my scores on online practice tests, I decided to enroll in Manhattan Prep's 9-week course. Ceilidh Erickson was my instructor throughout the course, and I highly recommend selecting her as your course instructor due to her incredibly solid grasp of the course materials and her ability to make an unenjoyable process (studying for the GMAT) much more enjoyable.

Taking Manhattan Prep's course was definitely the difference-maker in seeing improvement in my scores. Their study materials, online tests, and vault of resources provide you with the quant and verbal content knowledge base you need to succeed on the test, as well as with a comprehensive knowledge of the best strategy to optimize your results. Knowing all of the math and grammar is important, but you realize quickly that knowing how to approach the test (i.e. timing, in-test strategy, managing test stress) is just as important (if not more important).

A lot of the value derived from Manhattan Prep comes from outside the actual course. Sitting through the 9-week course is just the tip of the iceberg that is your preparation for achieving your desired score. Being plugged into the Manhattan Prep apparatus that provides a vast array of resources and constant support throughout the GMAT journey is extremely important when progressing toward your ultimate GMAT course goal. For instance, after taking the actual GMAT once and falling short of my desired score, Manhattan Prep devised an additional two-month study plan to help me progress toward my desired goal. The instructors (Ceilidh in particular) and also extremely responsive to answering questions and providing you with additional resources on an ad-hoc basis well after you finish the actual course.

In short, if you're serious about realizing your potential in taking the GMAT, Manhattan Prep is an effective way to prepare for the test and is worth the investment of money and time.