Company
ADMISSION CONSULTING COMPANY

Personal MBA Coach

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 6 reviews
Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing work with awesome results!

5 stars
December 28, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 6 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 6 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I took the comprehensive school package with Scott. Since I had already created a shortlist of my schools, we concentrated more on essays/application content and interviews. The overall experience with Scott was excellent! With his help, I got into two of my dream schools (INSEAD + LBS).
I started preparing for applications pretty late (mid August with September timelines). This plus a demanding job meant I was working late in the night on applications and needed someone who could help me finish the applications in such short time with quick turnarounds. Scott exceeded these expectations and was as invested in my applications as I was! There were times when he replied to my mails with edits/quick responses within hours. I would send him content at 3AM in the night and he would respond by the time i woke up in morning and then I would take up the version control from there.
He is excellent at essays. He has a no BS approach to essays and when I compare the first and last version of my essays, I can see a huge difference. He gave direct and honest feedback on my essays and helped me craft my story well. His focus was not on completing the applications, but on making them perfect. This helped me create really amazing essays, resume and overall application.
If I have to compare him to other consultants (based on my initial free consultations and feedback from multiple other friends who used other consultants), I would say Scott is much better, personalized and invested in your applications/success than other consulting companies.
One important thing - Scott is great for essays/applications/interview prep/recommendation letter strategy. However, if you are looking for someone who provides you with a lot of content (e.g. pdfs about schools, resume writing document etc) like other big name consulting companies, you may need to look for someone else. I personally was able to research well using all the free content from the internet. All other things - Scott and I ran the show together!

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Major: Hospitality Management
Industry: Food Service/Lodging
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A company that truly cares about your dream

5 stars
December 16, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 6 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 6 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I initially reached out to Personal MBA Coach for a consultation, as I am from a non traditional background (casino industry) and not sure if I will have a chance for top B-schools. After speaking with Scott from Personal MBA Coach, I was convinced that I could actually be an ideal candidate. Based on my initial conversation with Scott from Personal MBA Coach, I knew he is very experienced in the MBA admissions consulting and really knows what candidate each school is looking for. He is also honest about the weaknesses in my application for improvement. I immediately decided to work with Personal MBA Coach. Throughout the application process, I have worked with Scott from Personal MBA Coach on brainstorming ideas to reflect my true self and weave a holistic story for each school I applied for. As I was only interested in applying to smaller MBA programs, I would not put together targeted essays without Scott's expertise and guidance. Most importantly, not only Sco tt is extremely knowledgeable in this field, he deeply cares about your development with heart and soul and wants to do whatever he can to help you get into your dream school. It has been a fantastic experience of working with Scott and he made my application process very enjoyable. I would not get into Haas and Tuck with scholarships if I did not work with Scott from Personal MBA Coach. I highly recommend anyone who wants to get to your dream school to talk to Personal MBA Coach and you will be surprised by the personalized services and the amount of attention you will receive from Personal MBA Coach. I am truly grateful for my choice of working with Personal MBA Coach!

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: University of St Andrews
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Transportation
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic!

5 stars
December 15, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 6 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 6 reviews
Teacher: Scott
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
When I decided to apply to Bschool, I knew that I needed some extra support. After some research, I found Personal MBA Coach and had a chat with Scott. He was friendly, genuinely interested, and understood where I was coming from and my needs.

Scott was so helpful and open from the beginning and constantly challenged me. He critiqued my essays and references with great detail and endless patience. I have an unconventional background and was very unfamiliar with this kind of process; Scott helped me to pull out the right elements of my background and experience and convey it in the ''Bschool way''.
I had a low GMAT score for the schools I applied to and there's no way I would've gotten into LBS without Personal MBA Coach's continuous support, flexibility, advice and patience. I even got a scholarship from one of the schools I applied to! It was great to work with Scott - fun, interesting, and a great learning experience.
Thank you Scott!

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: USC
Major: Business
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Personal MBA Coach - well worth it

5 stars
October 18, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 6 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 6 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburg
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
I highly suggest you schedule a short consultation with Scott before pulling the trigger with any MBA consultant. Before deciding on Scott, I spoke with a couple bigger names, and what helped make my decision was Scott's honesty, passion, and direct relationship with the applicant. Unlike some bigger names, Scott worked with me on almost every part of the process, from brainstorming schools to thinking of essay stories to even writing the blurbs in the application. He has a true interest in seeing his "students" succeed. Granted I started the process very early, so I had a lot of attention and was able to turn many drafts of my materials -- Scott helped transform my essays from very surface level writings to much deeper stories that resonate with any reader. All in all, I was admitted to my top M7 choice. It was a pleasure working with him -- I definitely recommend at least speaking with him.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: Oxford
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Conscientious and very frank consultant who does this for a living not a side job

5 stars
August 27, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 6 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 6 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
Scott did a great job and I could not have asked for better. Considered the big MBA consulting shops but chose Scott because it's his full time job to do this and he's been doing it for almost a decade now and I simply felt more comfortable with him.

He is very honest in his feedback and solutions focused but I valued that highly because others sugar coated feedback or suggested I not apply to certain schools. Scott was always available for helpful advice through the application process, interview process and even McKinsey Emerging Scholars applications after. He is responsive usually within 24 hours which is important considering I decided to apply for round 2 in mid November.

In the end, I got into Wharton and had six figure scholarship to go to another M7. If he hadn't advised me to do this or not that I wouldn't have gotten in. Word of advice for those going into this but consultants seem like a lot of money but you get what you put into it.

Scott had to encourage me to work harder on my essays and I'm glad he did because if I hadn't put in the effort in some of these early rounds the material would not have come off as authentic. Also check reference clients for people who have used the consulting service. Scott will put you in touch with his and even has drinks

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Major: Engineering
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great MBA Admissions Consultant - A+++

5 stars
August 8, 2017
Company: Personal MBA Coach 6 reviews
Course: Personal MBA Coach - Admission Consulting 6 reviews
Teacher: Scott Edinburgh
  • Developing an effective admissions strategy:
  • Availability and responsiveness to questions:
  • Essay preparation and editing:
  • Interview Preparation:
After speaking with numerous consulting services about my background and specific plans to pursue a top-tier MBA, I hired Scott from Personal MBA Coach. I had a short timeline to submit four applications and knew very little about the application process. From the beginning, Scott appeared (and was) genuinely interested in my situation and made a point to gather every detail. By the end of our time working together, I felt Scott knew everything about me.

As stated in some of the other reviews, Scott is clear and to the point. I didn’t need someone to boost my ego and praise my accomplishments. I needed someone who could comprehend my background, goals, etc. and guide me in telling an effective story. That was exactly what Scott did throughout the process!

Scott continually pushed me to think about how I (my essays) would look to the admission committees. This was very helpful in writing essays that effectively displayed my strengths and specific motivations to attend the different schools. After submitting all of my applications, I was depleted, but I felt that I had submitted my best possible essays and left nothing on the table.

Scott also coached me through the interview processes and performed mock interviews over the phone. This guidance was very helpful and gave me the confidence I needed to ace the interviews.

In the end, I was admitted to one of my top three schools (M7). I dedicated myself to those applications and feel worthy of admission, but credit much of my success to Scott. Without his knowledge of the process and ability to push me for more details and polished stories that were directly applicable to each school, there is no way that I could have crafted my story in such an effective way. Thank you, Scott!