Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

The Princeton Review

4 stars
(4/5) - 60 reviews
Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: BITS Pilani
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Princeton Review Classroom program was indeed a very rewarding experience

5 stars
June 28, 2015
Company: The Princeton Review 60 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 31 reviews
Teacher: Merrily Tobin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
If you are based in Bangalore and looking for a GMAT classroom program, I would strongly recommend that you consider the Princeton Review, Indiranagar centre. The course structure is comprehensive and well structured. Periodic tests and the immense support from the faculty helps you streamline your preparation and gives you the cutting edge. Its a 10 week program, and I can vouch for it that by the end of it you will be fully equipped to tame the dragon called GMAT.
Best of luck with your preparation.

Cheers,
Sutirth

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2013
College: NITK Surathkal
Major: Electrical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience!

5 stars
March 2, 2015
Company: The Princeton Review 60 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 31 reviews
Teacher: Merrily
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took the GMAT in August 2014 and scored a 760 (Q51, V42, IR 8, AWA 5.5). I went to Princeton Review, Bangalore for GMAT coaching and would recommend it to anyone looking for GMAT coaching. Princeton offers 10 weeks of classroom coaching after which you can qualify for booster sessions in which you work one-on-one with master trainers who are experts in verbal and quant. While the classroom sessions ensure you are at a 600+ level, the booster sessions take you to 720+ scores. The master trainers analyze your performance in every section and work with you to strengthen them. These one-on-one sessions are extremely valuable and can easily give you a 100 point jump on the GMAT. The personal attention and effort of the master trainers helped me get a 760 on the GMAT. Just after my classroom sessions, i was at a 650 level. The booster sessions took me up another 110 points from there. I would strongly recommend Princeton Review to anyone aiming for a high score on the GMAT especially because of the one-on-one booster sessions.

Joined: Dec 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: Manipal Institute of Technology, Manipal University
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Prep Course

5 stars
December 21, 2014
Company: The Princeton Review 60 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 31 reviews
Teacher: Rajarshi Ghoshal, Anindita Bose, Jyoti Datta
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
Hi Guys,

A few months back, when I decided that I would write the GMAT, I had no idea about the preparation required or how daunting the preparation would be. Through the grape vine I heard about The Princeton Review preparatory courses and after some research I enrolled the full time classroom course and availed individual sessions provided by the organization.

Know next to nothing about the exam and the preparation I started by classes with The Princeton Review. I found that from the very first class I found that the instructors did not sugar coat the preparatory activities and gave me a very realistic picture of the tasks that lay ahead of me. This I feel was paramount in me giving my best to my GMAT studies. The faculty was very thorough with their respective subjects and topics. Even in the classroom sessions they gave individual attention to the students which is something I found to be extremely helpful in the long run.

Since I had been working for the last four years I barely had any touch with the subjects or a strict regiment of studies one is accustomed to when attending school or college. Besides being friendly and patient, the faculty was very understanding of my situation and drew up a study plan which was best suited to my needs. The instructors' uncanny ability to pin point my areas of weakness and structure my lessons accordingly was probably the most helpful thing in my preparation.

The classes were always scheduled at a convenient time and the pace at which the lessons proceeded where very apt for a 3 month GMAT preparatory course. The lesson plan was very structured and the additional material provided at the center was of a very good standard. As the lessons proceeded the standard of teaching only got better. For me, Critical Reasoning was the topic that was most troubling. But both my Verbal instructors gave me such a targeted approach to understanding the topic that by the time I was done with my preparation, Critical Reasoning was one of the topics that I was most confident in. Data Sufficiency was another question type which troubled me, mainly because my time management in such questions was not up to the mark. My Quantitative faculty noticed this early on and gave me additional material and strategy tips which were most helpful to me during my exam.

Alongside all this, the faculty provided me with constant motivation and counselled me during the entire course of my preparation. There was a time when my mock test scores were on the downward trajectory and the advice that the faculty gave me then has still stuck with me even months after completing my exam.

Through their continual tutoring and counsel I was able to score a 690 on the GMAT, a score that at one point never seemed possible in my eyes. I have unwavering faith in The Princeton Review and their faculty that they can make a success story out of anyone. I have since and will continue to recommend The Princeton Review to my friends and acquaintances for all their GMAT preparatory needs and requirements.

Thank you Princeton Review for your hard work and motivation. I will always be indebted to you for my success.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: JSSATE
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review Jayanagar Bangalore Review

5 stars
October 11, 2014
Company: The Princeton Review 60 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 31 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - International Academy 1 review
Teacher: Dr. Ramya Nitin, Bodhana Pavithran
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Math: The course consisted of explanations of the Math concepts tested by GMAT divided into different topics. Review Material was comprehensive on the content. In the class room, questions were worked out and the approach to be used for each question type was discussed e.g. When to plug in, split approach for DS etc. Importantly, solving GMAT math problems was made to seem like a fun activity in class.

Verbal: Lessons in the verbal review comprise of different types of approaches to be used for each question type on the GMAT. SC: The common and rare correction types were separate, good list of idioms that can come in handy etc. My SC accuracy was near 100% most of the times. RC: Different approaches to working passages of different kinds followed by the techniques to be used for each kind of question on the passage. CR: Working the argument by finding the flaw, line of reasoning etc.

Other things of note: Online drills and tests were very helpful in my preparation. Homework schedule, if one sticks to it, is comprehensive enough as a study plan. Class timings were convenient. Teachers very much knowledgeable and approachable.

Boosters: Students are eligible for booster sessions if they score a 600 on one of the online tests during the course. I took the Verbal boosters where Merrily Tobin was my teacher. Although I went in for these sessions with hardly a week before my GMAT, these sessions helped me a lot in time management on the test, RC and CR accuracy.

I scored a 630 on the first practice test before the course started and ended up with a 730 (M:50,V:40,IR:7,AWA:6) on my actual GMAT after the course. I owe a big chunk of my success to The Princeton Review and the awesome teachers there- Dr.Ramya, Bodhana and Merrily :)

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
College: Texas Christian University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good introduction to test basics, not enough for an elite score

2 stars
September 29, 2014
Company: The Princeton Review 60 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 31 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - Dallas 2 reviews
Teacher: Amrita Tharappel
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 580
I had not taken a college class in 10 years. I wanted an in-person experience to reorient myself to a homework and study schedule. The book and online resources for Princeton Review were ample, and having 12 online tests was a great way to practice. The online tests are set up very similar to the actual GMAT. I was disappointed in the classroom experience though. The other students were not as dedicated and didn't offer much of a collaborative environment. The teacher was prepared, but we did not dig into the material enough that I felt I'd mastered the topics. Familiar, yes. After following all homework and attending all classes, I fell short of my goal and ultimately did not feel prepared for the test experience. I would recommend this only to familiarize yourself with the format, but know that you'll need other resources to achieve a 700+.

Joined: Oct 2012
Purchased Course: Jun 2012
College: AEC & RI
Major: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Greatly Helpful course

4 stars
September 22, 2014
Company: The Princeton Review 60 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 31 reviews
Teacher: Merrily Tobin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 670
Hi!

My experience with Princeton Review was Fantastic.
The apparent strengths of TPR are the teaching methods, course content, lab & library facilities, and the qualified trainers. Also, I found the Trainers updated with the test contents, & formats and constantly working on teaching methods to help students go through the changes, if any.
In my view, what puts TPR apart is the availability of trainers outside classrooms and their sincere effort to focus on every student.
Both my tutors Merrily & Rohit were there for me throughout my GMAT prep. They spent so much extra time with me that without any doubt pushed my GMAT score in my second attempt (from 520 to 670). Especially I found each of Merrily’s classes as well as booster sessions Energy packed and motivating.
Booster sessions were definitely more than just a technical discussion, very useful, as they helped me identify the flaws in my thought process. Apparently to approach GMAT questions, it is critical to know the weakness than the strength.
I wasn’t either a fast learner or a quick thinker. So I took more than 4 months after finishing all my classroom sessions to take my first GMAT test. Then my second attempt was 3 months after that. Both my tutors did not deny once when I asked for an extra help throughout my prep. Merrily would come to the centre just for my Booster session though there were no other classes scheduled for her that day. Tutors’ faith in my ability instilled a responsibility on me to give my best. Each booster session was a real confidence booster. Moreover, after my second attempt (with 670), when I approached Merrily for help with my third attempt, she readily accepted. May be I was lucky to have found the right coaches to start working on my dream career.
I would highly recommend TPR for all those looking for real help with GMAT prep.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2013
College: M S Ramaiah Institute of Technology, Bangalore
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing experience. Value for money

5 stars
September 10, 2014
Company: The Princeton Review 60 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 31 reviews
Teacher: Merrily Tobin, Rohit Maiya, Sonal Kochar, Asma Jabeen.
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I joined for gmat classes at Princeton review in December 2013. My classes were taken be Sonal(verbal) and Asma(quant). These classes gave me a thorough grounding in all the concepts needed for the GMAT. After gaining all basic training in verbal and quant, I was put for booster sessions around FEB. I think this structure of the course is very effective. It caters to the individual needs of each student.
My verbal boosters were taken by Merrily and quant by Rohit Maiya. Unlike the basic class which gives you all the relevant skills for GMAT, the boosters specifically identify where we are going wrong and corrects them.
In verbal boosters, Merrily would make me redo the questions which were answered wrong or which took more time. She would analyse the thinking process which went into solving the questions and gave detailed feedback which helped me correct the approach. The common mistakes I was making in verbal were-
1)In CR I was not deconstructing the argument and was not able to identify patterns. I was giving more time in selecting the answers than deconstructing the argument. But the answer choices confuse you more. Once I started identifying patterns and started predicting answers before reading the answer choices, I started getting around 90% of the CR questions right from 50%
2) In SC there were many areas I was going wrong in. My approach was corrected to a large extent. I was also thought when to give up and move on.
3) I was made aware of the time killers. Some of the questions just cannot be answered. I became aware of such questions which helped me immensely in the real GMAT.
4) In RC I was taking more time in reading the passage. I stared giving more time to important stuff and skip the details. Also predicting what the sentence is going to say by reading the first 3 or 4 words was of immense help in putting the sentence in w.r.t the main idea of the passage.

Quant boosters too improved my skills immensely. Rohit always asked me to work smart not hard. He would come up with different approaches to the same problem which would save time and effort. This approach of trying out different methods of solving a problem helped me immensely in improving my Quant score which had stagnated. I was really bad in plugging-in, arithmetic and Geometry, which were made a lot easier by Rohit.
And I gave my first GMAT on April 11th. The mistake I did was I didn't go for any boosters for about 20-25 days before the test. This was a major mistake. I just concentrated on studying more and more material which was there on the net.
In the end I didn't apply any approach and scored a 610(q45,v27).
This was a terrible score considering I had scored 740 in two of the GMATPREP s.
I had lost complete hope in my ability. That's when Merrily motivated me a lot. TPR had done everything from giving me classes, to boosters to MGMAT tests , library of books etc. I didn’t expect them to do more. But merrily had not lost hope in my ability. She asked me to take rest for 4/5 days and asked me to come for boosters. She analyzed that I had completely strayed away from the approach in Sc, Cr and Rc. I took about 4/5 verbal boosters in a month and was back on track. I scored a 690 (q49,v34) on May 22. It is considerably better score than 610.
I am thoroughly satisfied with Manya group gmat classes. They tailor the course according to the students needs and abilities.
I was quite satisfied with my score of 690. Recently I realized I can give one more try as the score will not go lower even if I score less. But I really hope to cross the 720-730 this time. I recently attended a sc workshop conducted by merrily. The questions we solved were the once which will propel the score to 700+. The questions are also representative of the recent trends in GMAT which is moving away from pure grammar and towards meaning in SC.
Hope to cross the elusive 700 this time when I take my GMAT on sept 2nd. I thank TPR for being a constant companion in my GMAT journey.

P.S- I gave my GMAT again on Sept 2nd and I have scored a 710(Q49, V38).

Joined: Dec 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 2013
College: Manipal Institute of Technology
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

My Princeton Review Experience for GMAT

4 stars
December 31, 2013
Company: The Princeton Review 60 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Small Group Instruction Course 10 reviews
Teacher: Merrily Tobin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
When I decided to start preparing for the GMAT (at Bangalore) I looked at a lot of prep classes among which Princeton Review was the best. My experience at Princeton was excellent because of the following:

1. Excellent trainers who know the content well and can put it across to students very efficiently.
2. Trainers are helpful in clearing doubts and take interest in the student's performance.
3. Princeton Review Books (they provide their own books along with the Official Guide).
4. Their Online Portal where every student gets an account with a set of practice questions, full length Mock Tests (gear you for the Computer Adaptive tests) and online tutorials (very helpful for self study at home and for quick revision before the test).
5. Their lab and library where you could sit and do self study.
6. Booster sessions: Any student who crosses a 600 mark in any of the mock tests gets to have one on one sessions with the master trainers. These sessions are extremely helpful in identifying deficiencies particular to a student and then correcting them for a better score.

I would like to extend a special thanks to Merrily for helping me out very patiently, with a lot of interest to improve my Verbal score. I give full credit to Princeton Review for my 710 score. Highly Recommended.

Joined: Aug 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review Classroom Coaching

4 stars
December 10, 2013
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The Classroom Coaching that I attended at TPR for GMAT has definitely played a key role in me achieving a score of 710!

Best things about the overall package they offer are:

1) Their faculty especially for verbal is very experienced. The tutors have been in the GMAT training field for a long time and they know exactly what has to be taught to a potential GMAT test taker. They approach the training in a systematic and organized way so that you are well versed with the concepts that you have learned before moving on to the next topics. Also, the tutors are just not limited to queries been asked in the classroom - they are available to schedule any extra help sessions. One can tremendously improve their score just by being attentive and regular to the classroom.

2) The facilities TPR offers are really good. Their library is up to date with all the materials that you need for your GMAT preparation. You can also take up mock tests at the center at any time of the week. I had been taking practice tests even after 6 months of my completion of their classroom course!

3) Their course material unlike many other big brand materials has a very simplified approach to even the tricky topics. GMAT does not test you much on the depth of knowledge on a subject, instead you just need to know right approach to specific problems or questions. The course material provides basic guidelines and also very simple techniques which can get you to the right answer and take seconds to solve as compared to the traditional approach which can be very laborious.

Last but not the least - I would like to mention about their Booster sessions which offer unlimited one-to-one support. This has been instrumental in improving my score by atleast 70 points and helped me identify and correct the common mistakes that I was making. Verbal tutor Merrily Tobin has helped me understand the way questions on GMAT need to be approached and pointed out the errors I was making repeatedly and helped me avoid them by analyzing every single question in detail and identifying the root cause. This really helped me change the way I approached a GMAT question and get a score of 40 in verbal.

All the Best with your GMAT prep!

Joined: Sep 2013
Purchased Course: Jun 2013
College: University of California Irvine
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great way to prepare for the GMAT!

5 stars
September 13, 2013
Company: The Princeton Review 60 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Small Group Instruction Course 10 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - Irvine University Center 2 reviews
Teacher: Becky Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I'm very glad that I took this course prior to my first actual exam. Becky was an amazing teacher that really broke down all of the tricks and methods necessary to get the higher score I was aiming for. Although math is a strong suit of mine, Becky was still able to make the problems seem like clockwork by teaching specific methods for each topic, allowing me to bypass all of the hard algebra or long equations I was normally used to using in my undergrad. This was especially helpful in keeping with the test's timed nature. Similarly, her teaching style for the verbal section allows the student to only focus on the important aspects of the question, making the process of elimination quite simple once you've mastered all of the rules. All in all, I would absolutely recommend her, and the Princeton Review, to any students looking for a way to study for their GMAT.