Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

The Princeton Review

4 stars
(4/5) - 64 reviews
Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Great mentor-ship throughout

5 stars
August 17, 2016
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 34 reviews
Teacher: Sabrina Bonny, Padmini Hosur and Merrily Tobin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
When I first decided to take the GMAT, I started with ordering the usual OG bundle way back in January. I soon realized that I needed an 'activation energy' to kick-start my preps and hence decided to look for some GMAT classes around Whitefield. I found Manya's Princeton Review near my place and decided to give it a shot as I was clear that I have no time to waste on commute, plus I wanted a weekday course to keep myself in the GMAT mood throughout the weeks.

I requested a demo session and was invited for a 1-hour verbal session. Sabrina is the verbal instructor at the Whitefield center and was taking a small pep-talk on AWAs on that day. I was surprised by the number of key take-aways I was able to gather in that power-packed one hour. I then decided to take the course and was really satisfied that the whole program was suited to my needs. I got alternate weekday classes and a small batch facilitated enough personal attention. My batch mates were all supportive and highly competent and this was another key factor in keeping up the motivation.

The classes at Princeton require you to take a diagnostic test before they start, I scored a 540 and it immediately dawned on me that GMAT is not a piece of cake. The best part came when I was given personalized feedback on my diag test by both the instructors : Sabrina for verbal and Padmini for Quants. This was the point where I was literally GMAT illiterate. The classes followed and so did the tips and tricks that immediately catapulted my scores to 650+ in my other mocks. I thoroughly enjoyed the teaching style of both my instructors and the constant motivation and tips that they gave me throughout the course.

There was a point when my scores plateaued at 690-710s, that's when I was instructed to attend the Booster sessions conducted by senior trainers (Merrily Tobin: Verbal). These sessions are highly effective as the trainers analyse your complete test taking strategy and advise on how to modify it to bosst your score further by 30-40 points. In my case the best advice was to stop being a superman and to start skipping tough questions (esp. in verbal) than to try to tackle them all. Literally you cannot, GMAT is designed for that. This was made very clear by Merrily. She also gave me a rough timer statistic to which I had to stick to while taking the test, this was immensely helpful in maintaining the pace throughout the test.

At the end of 4 power packed months, numerous sessions, tiring mocks, and umpteen practice questions I took the GMAT and voila - 750 (Q50, V40) :)

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review Booster Sessions

5 stars
July 1, 2016
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 34 reviews
Teacher: Merrily Tobin / Ram Kumar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took the GMAT test in June 2016 and my score was greatly enhanced by the booster sessions offered by Princeton Review. These sessions primarily emphasized upon efficient test taking strategies that helped push up my scores by ~40-50 points.

The primary benefit of these one-on-one sessions was the ability to go through practice tests and recognize areas that were quick wins as well as areas that required actual concentration on content. The analysis of performances across the various prep tests that I took greatly helped in ensuring that repetitive mistakes were avoided. Additionally, the boosters also helped me in tackling questions in a manner that was much more timely than the approach I had earlier.

It was an absolutely great personalized experience with no restrictions on any kind of support that I needed. Would highly recommend these sessions to anyone who is planning on cracking this exam.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: NMIMS University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review's GMAT course delivers results!!!

5 stars
January 18, 2016
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Small Group Instruction Course 11 reviews
Teacher: Merrily Tobin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Princeton Review's GMAT course is very well structure, 10 Math and 11 Verbal classroom sessions of Verbal and Math each. Batch size of each GMAT batch is adequate, faculties are well-versed with GMAT course and tactics, and test series prepares one adequately for a 650+ score. Princeton Review offers free Booster sessions for those (after completion of course) for those individuals who have been scoring 650+ on at least 2 tests. These booster sessions are one-on-one sessions by Master Trainers extending from 2-3 hours each. I have had the privilege of being qualified to Booster session and having one-on-one session with Merrily. In booster session the master trainer analyze one’s performance in every section and work with the person to master these weak sections. Prior to my booster session I was scoring 650. Post my booster sessions with Merrily and Ram I was scoring at 700 level. The mock tests at Princeton Review have been adequately and meticulously designed to give an individual same level of difficulty and variation in questions w.r.t. difficulty and topics covered as one would encounter on an actual GMAT test. Princeton review has a colossal pool of questions and the 10 mock tests mimic the actual GMAT. This makes one aware of his current level of understanding a topic and help one to overcome the weak sections. The overall structure of the course is flexible enough for someone who is currently working, thus making it ideal for an individual to give time to both work and course. Apart from the classroom sessions, booster sessions, workbooks, Princeton Review also provides access to their video lectures. Apart from the workbooks, sessions (online and classroom), Princeton Review also conducts Intensive Workshops for Math and Verbal. These workshops are highly effective and focus on the medium to hard difficulty level questions on the test. I would highly recommend Princeton Review’s GMAT course for anyone who want’s positive results for themselves.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: Panjab University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Other Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Thank u Princeton Review for making my dream come true!

5 stars
August 7, 2015
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 34 reviews
Teacher: Deepti Singh & Suman Rawat
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 710
Having scored 710 in GMAT, I am very hopeful of fulfilling my dream of getting into a good B school and earning a management degree. Getting this score definitely took some hard work but I never knew it would be so much fun ! Thanks to Manya - Princeton Review Chandigarh for making things easy for me. I first thought of enrolling only for Verbal classes at Princeton as it was my weak area but I was guided by trainers to attend math classes as well so that I can stabilize my strong area and secure a good score in it. And today I realize how valuable that advice was :)
I had a wonderful time at Princeton Chandigarh with the trainers and batchmates . We used to have very informative at the same time very interactive and friendly classroom sessions with our teachers. Both our teachers Ms Deepti Singh (Math) and Ms Suman Rawat (Verbal) encouraged us to come up with doubts not just during our classes but also after all our classes were over. They not only helped strengthen my concepts but also counseled me on complete preparation plan. Comprehensive study material helped me improve my grip on concepts. As verbal was my weak area, Suman Ma’am provided me with some extra practice material and detailed analysis sessions. My performance was very closely monitored by my trainers due to which I could identify my weaknesses and correct them. GMAT is not only about knowing all rules or concepts, time management & using the right approach is required and must be followed – this valuable lesson also came from my trainers. Despite their busy schedules, they ensured individual attention and I can’t thank them enough for that. I wanted a good score but my trainers wanted it badly too and I must say that the combined effort has made 710 possible for me. Thank you so much Princeton Chandigarh for making it possible !!

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: BITS Pilani
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Princeton Review Classroom program was indeed a very rewarding experience

5 stars
June 28, 2015
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 34 reviews
Teacher: Merrily Tobin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
If you are based in Bangalore and looking for a GMAT classroom program, I would strongly recommend that you consider the Princeton Review, Indiranagar centre. The course structure is comprehensive and well structured. Periodic tests and the immense support from the faculty helps you streamline your preparation and gives you the cutting edge. Its a 10 week program, and I can vouch for it that by the end of it you will be fully equipped to tame the dragon called GMAT.
Best of luck with your preparation.

Cheers,
Sutirth

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2013
College: NITK Surathkal
Major: Electrical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience!

5 stars
March 2, 2015
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 34 reviews
Teacher: Merrily
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took the GMAT in August 2014 and scored a 760 (Q51, V42, IR 8, AWA 5.5). I went to Princeton Review, Bangalore for GMAT coaching and would recommend it to anyone looking for GMAT coaching. Princeton offers 10 weeks of classroom coaching after which you can qualify for booster sessions in which you work one-on-one with master trainers who are experts in verbal and quant. While the classroom sessions ensure you are at a 600+ level, the booster sessions take you to 720+ scores. The master trainers analyze your performance in every section and work with you to strengthen them. These one-on-one sessions are extremely valuable and can easily give you a 100 point jump on the GMAT. The personal attention and effort of the master trainers helped me get a 760 on the GMAT. Just after my classroom sessions, i was at a 650 level. The booster sessions took me up another 110 points from there. I would strongly recommend Princeton Review to anyone aiming for a high score on the GMAT especially because of the one-on-one booster sessions.

Joined: Dec 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: Manipal Institute of Technology, Manipal University
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Prep Course

5 stars
December 21, 2014
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 34 reviews
Teacher: Rajarshi Ghoshal, Anindita Bose, Jyoti Datta
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
Hi Guys,

A few months back, when I decided that I would write the GMAT, I had no idea about the preparation required or how daunting the preparation would be. Through the grape vine I heard about The Princeton Review preparatory courses and after some research I enrolled the full time classroom course and availed individual sessions provided by the organization.

Know next to nothing about the exam and the preparation I started by classes with The Princeton Review. I found that from the very first class I found that the instructors did not sugar coat the preparatory activities and gave me a very realistic picture of the tasks that lay ahead of me. This I feel was paramount in me giving my best to my GMAT studies. The faculty was very thorough with their respective subjects and topics. Even in the classroom sessions they gave individual attention to the students which is something I found to be extremely helpful in the long run.

Since I had been working for the last four years I barely had any touch with the subjects or a strict regiment of studies one is accustomed to when attending school or college. Besides being friendly and patient, the faculty was very understanding of my situation and drew up a study plan which was best suited to my needs. The instructors' uncanny ability to pin point my areas of weakness and structure my lessons accordingly was probably the most helpful thing in my preparation.

The classes were always scheduled at a convenient time and the pace at which the lessons proceeded where very apt for a 3 month GMAT preparatory course. The lesson plan was very structured and the additional material provided at the center was of a very good standard. As the lessons proceeded the standard of teaching only got better. For me, Critical Reasoning was the topic that was most troubling. But both my Verbal instructors gave me such a targeted approach to understanding the topic that by the time I was done with my preparation, Critical Reasoning was one of the topics that I was most confident in. Data Sufficiency was another question type which troubled me, mainly because my time management in such questions was not up to the mark. My Quantitative faculty noticed this early on and gave me additional material and strategy tips which were most helpful to me during my exam.

Alongside all this, the faculty provided me with constant motivation and counselled me during the entire course of my preparation. There was a time when my mock test scores were on the downward trajectory and the advice that the faculty gave me then has still stuck with me even months after completing my exam.

Through their continual tutoring and counsel I was able to score a 690 on the GMAT, a score that at one point never seemed possible in my eyes. I have unwavering faith in The Princeton Review and their faculty that they can make a success story out of anyone. I have since and will continue to recommend The Princeton Review to my friends and acquaintances for all their GMAT preparatory needs and requirements.

Thank you Princeton Review for your hard work and motivation. I will always be indebted to you for my success.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: JSSATE
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review Jayanagar Bangalore Review

5 stars
October 11, 2014
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 34 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - International Academy 1 review
Teacher: Dr. Ramya Nitin, Bodhana Pavithran
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Math: The course consisted of explanations of the Math concepts tested by GMAT divided into different topics. Review Material was comprehensive on the content. In the class room, questions were worked out and the approach to be used for each question type was discussed e.g. When to plug in, split approach for DS etc. Importantly, solving GMAT math problems was made to seem like a fun activity in class.

Verbal: Lessons in the verbal review comprise of different types of approaches to be used for each question type on the GMAT. SC: The common and rare correction types were separate, good list of idioms that can come in handy etc. My SC accuracy was near 100% most of the times. RC: Different approaches to working passages of different kinds followed by the techniques to be used for each kind of question on the passage. CR: Working the argument by finding the flaw, line of reasoning etc.

Other things of note: Online drills and tests were very helpful in my preparation. Homework schedule, if one sticks to it, is comprehensive enough as a study plan. Class timings were convenient. Teachers very much knowledgeable and approachable.

Boosters: Students are eligible for booster sessions if they score a 600 on one of the online tests during the course. I took the Verbal boosters where Merrily Tobin was my teacher. Although I went in for these sessions with hardly a week before my GMAT, these sessions helped me a lot in time management on the test, RC and CR accuracy.

I scored a 630 on the first practice test before the course started and ended up with a 730 (M:50,V:40,IR:7,AWA:6) on my actual GMAT after the course. I owe a big chunk of my success to The Princeton Review and the awesome teachers there- Dr.Ramya, Bodhana and Merrily :)

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
College: Texas Christian University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good introduction to test basics, not enough for an elite score

2 stars
September 29, 2014
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 34 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - Dallas 2 reviews
Teacher: Amrita Tharappel
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 580
I had not taken a college class in 10 years. I wanted an in-person experience to reorient myself to a homework and study schedule. The book and online resources for Princeton Review were ample, and having 12 online tests was a great way to practice. The online tests are set up very similar to the actual GMAT. I was disappointed in the classroom experience though. The other students were not as dedicated and didn't offer much of a collaborative environment. The teacher was prepared, but we did not dig into the material enough that I felt I'd mastered the topics. Familiar, yes. After following all homework and attending all classes, I fell short of my goal and ultimately did not feel prepared for the test experience. I would recommend this only to familiarize yourself with the format, but know that you'll need other resources to achieve a 700+.

Joined: Oct 2012
Purchased Course: Jun 2012
College: AEC & RI
Major: Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Greatly Helpful course

4 stars
September 22, 2014
Company: The Princeton Review 64 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 34 reviews
Teacher: Merrily Tobin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 670
Hi!

My experience with Princeton Review was Fantastic.
The apparent strengths of TPR are the teaching methods, course content, lab & library facilities, and the qualified trainers. Also, I found the Trainers updated with the test contents, & formats and constantly working on teaching methods to help students go through the changes, if any.
In my view, what puts TPR apart is the availability of trainers outside classrooms and their sincere effort to focus on every student.
Both my tutors Merrily & Rohit were there for me throughout my GMAT prep. They spent so much extra time with me that without any doubt pushed my GMAT score in my second attempt (from 520 to 670). Especially I found each of Merrily’s classes as well as booster sessions Energy packed and motivating.
Booster sessions were definitely more than just a technical discussion, very useful, as they helped me identify the flaws in my thought process. Apparently to approach GMAT questions, it is critical to know the weakness than the strength.
I wasn’t either a fast learner or a quick thinker. So I took more than 4 months after finishing all my classroom sessions to take my first GMAT test. Then my second attempt was 3 months after that. Both my tutors did not deny once when I asked for an extra help throughout my prep. Merrily would come to the centre just for my Booster session though there were no other classes scheduled for her that day. Tutors’ faith in my ability instilled a responsibility on me to give my best. Each booster session was a real confidence booster. Moreover, after my second attempt (with 670), when I approached Merrily for help with my third attempt, she readily accepted. May be I was lucky to have found the right coaches to start working on my dream career.
I would highly recommend TPR for all those looking for real help with GMAT prep.