Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

The Princeton Review

3.9 stars
53 reviews
Joined: Dec 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 2013
College: Manipal Institute of Technology
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

My Princeton Review Experience for GMAT

4 stars
December 31, 2013
Company: The Princeton Review 53 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Small Group Instruction Course 10 reviews
Teacher: Merrily Tobin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
When I decided to start preparing for the GMAT (at Bangalore) I looked at a lot of prep classes among which Princeton Review was the best. My experience at Princeton was excellent because of the following:

1. Excellent trainers who know the content well and can put it across to students very efficiently.
2. Trainers are helpful in clearing doubts and take interest in the student's performance.
3. Princeton Review Books (they provide their own books along with the Official Guide).
4. Their Online Portal where every student gets an account with a set of practice questions, full length Mock Tests (gear you for the Computer Adaptive tests) and online tutorials (very helpful for self study at home and for quick revision before the test).
5. Their lab and library where you could sit and do self study.
6. Booster sessions: Any student who crosses a 600 mark in any of the mock tests gets to have one on one sessions with the master trainers. These sessions are extremely helpful in identifying deficiencies particular to a student and then correcting them for a better score.

I would like to extend a special thanks to Merrily for helping me out very patiently, with a lot of interest to improve my Verbal score. I give full credit to Princeton Review for my 710 score. Highly Recommended.

Joined: Aug 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review Classroom Coaching

4 stars
December 10, 2013
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The Classroom Coaching that I attended at TPR for GMAT has definitely played a key role in me achieving a score of 710!

Best things about the overall package they offer are:

1) Their faculty especially for verbal is very experienced. The tutors have been in the GMAT training field for a long time and they know exactly what has to be taught to a potential GMAT test taker. They approach the training in a systematic and organized way so that you are well versed with the concepts that you have learned before moving on to the next topics. Also, the tutors are just not limited to queries been asked in the classroom - they are available to schedule any extra help sessions. One can tremendously improve their score just by being attentive and regular to the classroom.

2) The facilities TPR offers are really good. Their library is up to date with all the materials that you need for your GMAT preparation. You can also take up mock tests at the center at any time of the week. I had been taking practice tests even after 6 months of my completion of their classroom course!

3) Their course material unlike many other big brand materials has a very simplified approach to even the tricky topics. GMAT does not test you much on the depth of knowledge on a subject, instead you just need to know right approach to specific problems or questions. The course material provides basic guidelines and also very simple techniques which can get you to the right answer and take seconds to solve as compared to the traditional approach which can be very laborious.

Last but not the least - I would like to mention about their Booster sessions which offer unlimited one-to-one support. This has been instrumental in improving my score by atleast 70 points and helped me identify and correct the common mistakes that I was making. Verbal tutor Merrily Tobin has helped me understand the way questions on GMAT need to be approached and pointed out the errors I was making repeatedly and helped me avoid them by analyzing every single question in detail and identifying the root cause. This really helped me change the way I approached a GMAT question and get a score of 40 in verbal.

All the Best with your GMAT prep!

Joined: Sep 2013
Purchased Course: Jun 2013
College: University of California Irvine
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great way to prepare for the GMAT!

5 stars
September 13, 2013
Company: The Princeton Review 53 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Small Group Instruction Course 10 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - Irvine University Center 2 reviews
Teacher: Becky Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I'm very glad that I took this course prior to my first actual exam. Becky was an amazing teacher that really broke down all of the tricks and methods necessary to get the higher score I was aiming for. Although math is a strong suit of mine, Becky was still able to make the problems seem like clockwork by teaching specific methods for each topic, allowing me to bypass all of the hard algebra or long equations I was normally used to using in my undergrad. This was especially helpful in keeping with the test's timed nature. Similarly, her teaching style for the verbal section allows the student to only focus on the important aspects of the question, making the process of elimination quite simple once you've mastered all of the rules. All in all, I would absolutely recommend her, and the Princeton Review, to any students looking for a way to study for their GMAT.

Joined: Sep 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Princeton Review Experience

4 stars
September 11, 2013
Company: The Princeton Review 53 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 24 reviews
Teacher: Verbal -Meenakshi kashinath,Quant -asha
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I owe my success in the gmat exam to Princeton review team.Most of the classes were completed according to schedule.The verbal teacher Meenakshi Kashinath is really good and if someone is really weak in verbal then I would definitely suggest princeton review.Once you score above 600 in one of their 10 practice tests you will be given a booster course.This is the big advantage you get with Princeton review.All the booster trainers are higlhly skilled who are very strong in their concepts.Even though I was very strong in quant,attending the booster courses clearly taught me that I needed to learn a lot more and that there is so much more required to get a good score in the finals and finally worked hard to learn the concepts and ended up getting a good score.The best part of my booster session was my verbal classes.I was very weak in verbal.My success in verbal section in the gmat exam goes to Merrily,the verbal booster trainer and if not for these booster sessions I would have ended up with not such a high score.the practice tests provided by princeton are very much similar to what you can expect in the actual gmat exam.Overall I was really happy with Princeton review coaching and I would definitely recommend people to go and join the classes.
(note that to get the best results from the coaching classes it is really important that all the exercises and assignments given are taken seriously )

Joined: Jun 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 2013
College: Dartmouth College
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Teacher

5 stars
June 9, 2013
Company: The Princeton Review 53 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Private Tutoring 8 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - Berkeley Princeton Review 1 review
Teacher: Martin Cinke
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 720
After getting a lower GMAT score than I hoped for the first time around, I signed up for private tutoring through the Princeton Review and started working with Marty Cinke. I cannot say enough good things about Marty. He was extremely thorough, and he did an amazing job at breaking down some of the math problems I previously struggled with. In addition to extensive review of all of the classroom materials and workbooks, Marty went above and beyond to find me additional materials to make sure that I was prepared beyond just the scope of PR's materials and practice tests. I also had materials from a different course that I would sometimes bring in, and Marty was always game to work through problems with me, even when they were not materials he had not worked with previously. Marty's knowledge of the material, and his insight into what warranted extra focus versus what was less important, were both invaluable to my GMAT preparation.

In addition to his abilities as a GMAT tutor, Marty is just a really great person to work with. He was always clear, supportive, encouraging and very funny. He made the very stressful process of preparing for the GMAT much more manageable, and I would recommend him to anyone.

Joined: Mar 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 2013
College: University of California, Irvine
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Curriculum was good, teacher was amazing

4 stars
March 21, 2013
Company: The Princeton Review 53 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT LiveOnline Course 6 reviews
Teacher: Becky Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
The Princeton Review curriculum is very good and will help familiarize you with the test and raise your score. The curriculum is very helpful in re-teaching you all those math concepts you forgot from highschool/college and introducing you to the verbal concepts covered on the GMAT. However, I do think that the Princeton Review focuses a little too much on math and should work on building out their verbal curriculum further. They offer tons of math drills that break apart every math concept, but have very few verbal drills which do not isolate concepts at all. I also think that that Princeton Review, while extremely helpful with raising your math score, focuses just a bit too much on strategies such as "plugging in." Yes, this is a helpful strategy, but at the end of the day its not a substitue for learning how the problems and algebra really work. Plugging in is a good strategy but a bit too time consuming if you're really looking for that top tier math score. Also, if you take this course, be sure to take the practice GMAT exams you get when you sign up for your GMAT. Princeton Review practice exam questions are easier than the real GMAT but the curve is very different. Your score on the real GMAT will be close to Princeton Review practice tests, but you'll probably miss a lot more questions than you can on PR tests. You need to get a feel for the real exam too.

On another note, my live online class teacher Becky Robinson was amazing! She was always extremely responsive to any email, responding within hours of sending her a question. She is very patient with her students and never makes a student feel like a question is silly or too easy. She has a very clear and concise way of explaining the answer to any question she receives and she tailors her response to your test taking level. In general she is also full of great suggestions for study techniques and test day techniques, I would highly recommend her if you can ask for her by name.

Joined: Jan 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 2012
College: Santa Clara University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Prep Review - Martin Cinke

5 stars
January 13, 2013
Company: The Princeton Review 53 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Private Tutoring 8 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - Palo Alto 1 review
Teacher: Martin Cinke
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I would recommend Marty to anyone looking to improve their GMAT score and or to get comfortable with the GMAT.

Before taking the course, I scored a 570 on my first practice test. After the course, my GMAT score improved to a 700.

Marty's teaching style and personality made the course actually fun, if you can believe that. I became comfortable with the GMAT questions, and Marty's tips and tricks really helped me to improve my time spent on each question, especially math. Overall Marty made the whole experience easy and I was confident as I took the GMAT.

Thanks to Marty I got the score I was aiming for and will be attending the Ross school of Business this upcoming fall to pursue my MBA.

Joined: Sep 2012
Purchased Course: Dec 2011
College: Dartmouth College
Major: History
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Not absolutely terrible, but better classes are out there

2 stars
November 28, 2012
Company: The Princeton Review 53 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Classroom Course 24 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - Westport 1 review
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I took the 8 week class in the spring of 2012. My class had 5 students and the instructor was fine, but not good. He read straight out of the manual/Princeton Review GMAT books for 3 hours a week. We skimmed over every topic, without regard to the topics that would be most useful. Additionally, the VERY different skill sets of my classmates made it nearly impossible for the instructor to help the 2 of us who were shooting for a 700+ score (I also think the students at the bottom end of the curve were frustrated as they often fell behind or were confused, and the instructor was unable to help them.)

The online materials were weak at best. In particular, the online practice tests felt VERY different from the official GMAT practice tests and my scores were significantly lower on PR tests. It was disheartening and I almost didn't take the exam as I didn't want a sub-600 (!!) score on my record.

At the suggestion of a co-worker, I purchased the Manhattan GMAT practice tests and used those heavily for the month before the test. The scoring seemed MUCH closer to the GMAT practice tests and the format felt more like the format on the actual test day. I felt like I got more out of the 6 purchased practice tests than 8 weeks in the Princeton review course.

I would suggest not wasting your money on the Princeton Review course, especially if you want a very high score.

Joined: Nov 2012
Purchased Course: Aug 2012
College: louisiana state university
Major: Accounting
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very helpful! teaches all the tricks of the gmat!!

5 stars
November 21, 2012
Company: The Princeton Review 53 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Private Tutoring 8 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - Baton Rouge Office 2 reviews
Teacher: terry stehlik
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 640
The gmat class was so great. i had no idea there were so many tricks. it also helped me a lot with timing and the verbal section. mr. stehlik was a great teacher, making the class fun and making sure it was tailored to my needs. he also would stay late and give me extra time on topics i had trouble with. i would recommend this course to anyone looking to improve their score!

Joined: Sep 2011
Forum Posts: 1
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Great Improvement

4 stars
November 12, 2012
Company: The Princeton Review 53 reviews
Course: The Princeton Review GMAT Private Tutoring 8 reviews
Location: The Princeton Review - New Orleans 1 review
Teacher: Tony Pumilia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
My first practice scores hovered in the 600 range and I ended up with a 690 so I was ecstatic. The great thing about the TPR review materials is the focus on strategy. It isn't just about the skill sets you need, it's about maximizing your time and learning to maneuver around intentionally confusing phrasing.

My private tutor, Tony Pumilia, did a fantastic job. I went the private tutor route because while my verbal was up to snuff, I hadn't touched math since high school. He was a huge help. If I had to do it over with unlimited resources, I would have taken the course and supplemented with tutoring. However, with my time and financial constraints (and the imbalance in my knowledge base), tutoring was the right path for me.

Overall, very encouraging, understanding, and patient.