Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

5 stars
(5/5) - 178 reviews
Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Nothing better for Quant

5 stars
June 19, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 660
I started studying for the GMAT middle of last year when I took a Manhattan GMAT course. Upon completion of the course I felt I knew the material but realized that was not the case when I took the actual exam. Next I utilized Magoosh which improved my quant score a little bit but no where near where I had desired. After Magoosh I tried TTP as a friend swore by it. I completed the chapters and used Jeff for private tutoring once a week. TTP really excels in breaking down each topic thoroughly. After utilizing TTP and Jeff my quant score increased 10 points to a 48. Would definitely recommend this service to anyone struggling with Quant.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: PENN STATE UNIVERSITY
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Verified Real Student Review

Great Learning Tool!

5 stars
June 10, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I tried using some other online learning materials (I learn better on my own), but the video format did not work for me. I looked around for other tools out there, then I found Target Test Prep on of the GMAT websites. At first, I was skeptical, because I hadn't heard of it, and I assumed if it was good, I should've heard of it. I wasn't quite ready to commit despite the great reviews. I gave it a risk-free try (5 or 7 day trial for $1, I'm not sure which it is now). I was immensely impressed especially with the deep analytics they provide on their dashboard. This feature makes it easy to study the whole course or target weak areas. I studied the whole course but got a 46 on my first test. This was because I barely did any practice. They have tons of questions which feed into the data on the dashboard as you attempt questions. I just got a 49Q today after I took all 19 tests on the number properties chapter, whcih I consider the most critical for the test. I couldn't have done it without TTP, as most users call it. If you prefer to self-study, I cannot recommend this enough!!

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Vaulted me to a 770!

5 stars
June 9, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 770
I started my GMAT journey last July, with the expectation of applying to schools in the fall of 2017. As a native English speaker who has always read a lot, I was able to hit the 90th to 95th percentile in Verbal consistently without studying, so I focused my study entirely on Quant. Given the weighting differential between Verbal and Quant, I really only had to get a “decent” Quant score to reach the 720+ range I was targeting, which seemed perfectly achievable at the time given that math has never been a subject which I have struggled on.

My study process was well-thought out, and I was extremely diligent in my preparation. I used the MGMAT strategy guides, GMAT Hacks Total Math, and a variety of GMATclub resources to prepare. Completed all the questions in the OG Guide 2017 and OG Quant Review 2017 twice. Took all 6 MGMAT CATs and all 6 Official CATs multiple times. Detailed error logs of everything. And I studied A LOT. My first official exam was in October, on which I scored a 700 with a 42 Quant (47th percentile). Disappointed, I continued to study and took another crack in November, which resulted in another 700. Improved my Quant score slightly to 44 (54th percentile), but Verbal fell a bit. Thought ok a little more improvement and I’ll be alright, and scheduled another test for December. The third time was a heartbreaker – I choked and halfway through the Quant section I knew I was toast, and thought about just walking out with the test unfinished. Another 700 with a Quant score of 42; my performance had declined after hours and hours of studying. Given my non-elite undergrad and work experience, a 700 wasn’t going to cut it for the schools I would consider (especially with such a terrible Q/V split), and I didn’t end up applying for the 2017 intake.

After doing some series reflecting on my performance and spending a lot of time mapping out an improvement strategy, I knew I needed some kind of prep course. Made quite the spreadsheet with information on all the different prep course options, cut this list down, and demoed the finalists. Ended up choosing Target Test Prep out of all of them, which I thought at the time was somewhat of a leap of faith as it is not one of the major players i.e. MGMAT, Veritas, Magoosh, Kaplan or the like.

The Target Test Prep course had a nice progression, forcing you to really master the fundamentals before moving on to some of the more advanced topics you would only see at higher levels. The lessons were great, and I picked up some stuff I did not learn from my prior studies. Thought the video explanations were surprisingly helpful as well, and the dashboard feature made it easy to identify where your weaknesses are and save questions for additional review. However, I think the real key for me was the massive amount of practice questions you were instructed to complete after each lesson. First, I thought they were very, very similar to actual GMAT questions (definitely more so than MGMAT) which helped to a degree. But most of all, doing a ton of questions focused on one specific topic at a time helped to drill concepts into my head and pickup on dumb mistakes I made too frequently, for example misreading the question or making errors on simple arithmetic. I compare it to math homework in high school; you would learn a lesson and then do an excruciating amount of problems that night to really master it. While the comparison to high school math homework might make you think “yeah umm that Target Test Prep course . . . absolutely not” all I can say is that TARGET TEST PREP FREAKIN DELIVERED! Took the GMAT for a fourth time in May, and stood up and fistpumped (as quietly as possible) when I saw 770 flash over the screen. After spending countless hours studying with little to show for it, the Target Test Prep course propelled me from a Q42 to a Q49 and a 770 overall score. For anyone needing help with Quant, this is your course.

Joined: Apr 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Guaranteed 700

5 stars
April 15, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 700
Thank you to Target Test Prep for helping me get a 700. I recommend Target Test Prep not only for the course content, but also for the instructors. The course is designed to teach all content in a very digestible fashion to easily recognize different types of quant questions. With the timed practice problem sets for each section, I was able to master the content in a timed environment, translating nicely into the actual test. I can't speak highly enough of Scott, who was responsive, flexible on schedules, and fun to work with. Scott identified areas that I struggled with based off my practice sets, and pushed me to improve. Thank you to Target Test Prep!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Duke University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep was exactly what I needed for quant

5 stars
March 12, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 760
5 STARS, HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR QUANT!!

Before beginning TTP, I was at a point in my quant studying where I felt that I knew content well, but didn't really know where to focus or how to move from 60th percentile up to the 80s. TTP works so well because it allows you to drill specific types of problems over and over until you get the concept and then move on to the next. It completely turned around my quant prep. I cannot speak highly enough of the program!

The answer explanations and lessons are fantastic, very clear and easy to navigate. Fantastic interface and an absolute MUST for anybody trying to improve their quant score but feeling stuck.

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Boston College
Major: Economics
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

44Q to 50Q with Target Test Prep

5 stars
March 5, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I started using TTP a few months into my study and found the detailed lessons and tests helped me gain the edge I needed to get my quant score over the hump. After starting TTP I started consistently scoring 47+ on practice tests for quant, and ended up with a 50 on the real thing. I used it for 3 months and did almost every lesson and found so many tricks and tips that helped me complete the section faster. Highly recommend if you need to give your quant score a boost

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Metropolitan STate University of Denver
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher, great online resources

5 stars
February 8, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 690
Jeff had a number of great tips and shortcuts to save valuable time during the test, and the online resources at Target Test Prep are exceptionally well put together.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Great course for increasing Quant score!

5 stars
January 22, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Teacher: Jeff and Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 650
My GMAT journey began last summer, when I decided to enroll in an in-person course with one of the popular test-prep companies. I completed the course and all the practice material, but still felt like I was only getting a rough review of the concepts and not really understanding where my weaknesses were. I ordered a bunch of other test prep books based on reviews, and scrambled to go through some material before my first actual exam. After my first official experience and a disappointing score of 590 with a 35 quant, I knew I was going to need some other strategy. I spent a long time reading countless reviews of people in this scenario, and repeatedly saw Target Test Prep highlighted for their quant-focused curriculum. I gave them a call to ask some questions about the course, and immediately heard back from Jeff, who was extremely helpful in guiding me toward the best plan for my needs. I enrolled in the 3-month plan and also worked with Jeff on a weekly basis to bring my quant skills up to par. I was immediately impressed by the TTP online interface, especially the ability to track progress, understand weak areas, and watch videos for solutions to many of the practice questions. I also cannot emphasize enough how useful I found the TTP explanations to be. The comparison between answer explanations I would see in OG questions to those explained by Jeff and the TTP course was like night and day - thorough, efficient, and clear solutions! I took my final GMAT and scored a 650 with a 45 quant, increasing my quant score by 10 points total, and I owe it all to this program. I believe I could’ve improved this score even more if I had a little more time to work on OG questions and official CATs, but the TTP team did a great job helping me sharpen core skills to tackle any problem with confidence. I really wish I had found them sooner and didn't waste any time with other prep material! I highly recommend the course to anyone that needs to improve quant skills quickly!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: University of Wisconsin - Madison
Major: Real Estate
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep

5 stars
January 22, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller & Scott Woodbury
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: N/A
Jeff and Scott were great during the test prep process. The Target Test Prep platform helps to identify your weak points and focus your study efforts on the areas of the exam where you can make the most improvement. In addition to using the platform I worked closely with Jeff during private tutoring session which had a significant impact on my ability to perform on the exam. Target Test Prep is a great resource to improve your quant score and Jeff and Scott are great to work with.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Business
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep helped me rock the GMAT

5 stars
January 18, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I started prepping for the GMAT far later than I should have. I took many practice tests (through a prominent test prep company and GMAC), but in the beginning my quantitative scores were fairly weak compared to where I wanted to be. Though my overall score was improving, it was primarily due to improvements in my fairly solid verbal scores.

Shortly before the test date, I decided to use TTP for some in-depth quantitative boot camp to improve my score and reach my overall goal for the GMAT. I was incredibly impressed with the smoothness of the experience, the depth of the practice for each of the principles, and the ability to test easy, medium, and hard questions for each principle. I buckled down and hit TTP hard in the areas I needed (which was knowledge conveniently provided by the TTP diagnostic in the beginning). After lots of prep and practice in these areas, I saw my score make a drastic jump, and I felt much readier to tackle the GMAT.

Test day came and went, and I ended up with a 770 overall (Q50 V46). I couldn't have asked for a better experience both from TTP and the GMAT test day. I know test day was a lot less stressful and a lot more rewarding because of the prep from TTP. If you're on the fence regarding GMAT quant prep, try it out! You may end up scoring well above the range you think possible.