Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

5 stars
(5/5) - 184 reviews
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: United States Military Academy
Major: Political Science
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

FINALLY found quant success thanks to Target Test Prep (Q42 to Q46)

5 stars
August 12, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 710
I identified very early on in my GMAT prep that I needed to focus almost exclusively on prepping for the quant section of the test. I understand that everyone has their own unique path to success on the GMAT, however, if you are like me and mainly struggle with quant as a non-STEM undergrad (or simply lack quant confidence), you will not regret learning concepts, tightening up knowledge gaps, and drilling with Target Test Prep. Their web interface is sleek, easily accessible from your PC or mobile device, and allows you to quickly target and strengthen weak areas.

I have utilized a variety of GMAT prep materials (actually pretty much all of them) but none of them will get you the same bang for your buck as Target Test Prep if you put in the requisite effort. I needed a product that would provide me a structured quant overview, but would also allow me the flexibility to hone in on problem areas and target them with a sufficient breadth of problems. Target Test Prep has every quant concept covered backwards, forwards, and sideways with several 10-18 question “chapter tests” (sometimes even up to 8 or 9 chapter tests) and a robust , proprietary question bank.

The questions are broken down into easy, medium, and hard- I’ve noticed that many of the easy questions target concepts in ways that you won’t find anywhere else. While many test prep companies pay lip service to mastering quant fundamentals, the TTP “easy” problems are designed in such a way as to ensure that you have truly mastered the basics before moving on to more difficult problems. The medium and hard problems tend to be slightly more difficult than official GMAT medium and hard problems which is EXACTLY what you want in a GMAT quant prep platform.

The GMAT quant section seemed like an insurmountable obstacle to me until I started systematically attacking it with the help of Target Test Prep. I was able to boost my quant score from a 42 to a 46 and ultimately achieve my goal of a 700+ with a 710.

Joined: Sep 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: University of Madras
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Course trained to prepare you for a Quant Assasin

5 stars
August 11, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Target Test Prep is the best online software available to study and conquer the GMAT exam. The website is user friendly, the platform excellent, and the material first rate. I would not even consider nor would I recommend anyone use another software or prep. I found Jeff and Scott to be awesome individuals to work with and very accessible. The best features of the course include
(1)Having full access to the course for 5 days for 1 $ which is truly amazing-This is a very useful feature if you would like to understand what the course can actually offer
(2)Wide database of questions in excess of 2000 totally - Covering all areas ranging in various levels of difficulty - From Low to High
(3)Target Test prep notes - it allows you to highlight the features and more importantly download it offline for easy reference
I feel extremely confident now attempting the GMAT Course - My scores in various GMAT Tests have improved dramatically after studying with the Target Test Prep course

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Fordham University
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Clear, comprehensive study materials designed to improve your score.

5 stars
August 7, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I only had 3 weeks to prepare for the GMAT and was looking for a prep program that would provide a flexible, but comprehensive curriculum for the quantitative section. Target Test Prep is exactly that. The program is designed to be both flexible and comprehensive - it divides the material into sections based on skill sets. Each section has a set of slides with curriculum and practice problems, and a set of practice exams ranging from easy to hard with multiple of each. When you first start the program you take a diagnostic exam and determines your weak points. From here, you can tailor your study plan to focus on these areas. The program allowed me to study most effectively, with a focused study plan and the means to practice. The curriculum was more clear and effective than any of the material I found in the test prep books, and the practice exams were manageable, but challenging. I would not have been able to score as high as I did without TTP.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: Florida State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I Beat the Quant Section with TTP

5 stars
August 4, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: none
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 700
I am a male, thirty-five years of age, and a native English speaker in the USA. I am single, no children, and therefore have more free time than many people my age. I graduated cum laude from a large state university in 2004 where I studied finance and economics. Immediately after undergrad I went to law school, practiced law for two years, and then worked in healthcare for eight years.

I took the GMAT in December 2016 and scored a 670 (48Q/34V) after several months of self-study with commonly used print materials. I found out in March 2017 that I was not accepted to the three top 25 programs to which I had applied. I thought my GMAT score was the biggest reason for lack of admission and the most important admission criteria that I could improve for the next application cycle. I was also told by several MBA admission consultants that the top finance programs want 49 or higher on quant. My quant had to improve to meet that threshold. My GMAC CAT verbal scores were at 40/41 (in April 2017) and combined with a 49 in Quant would enable a 720+ score. I spent a couple weeks evaluating the various online test prep services.
I chose Target Test Prep for Quant Prep because I had participated in some of the free Tuesday sessions with Jeff and watched some of the other free content TTP has on YouTube. I signed up for the TTP one month renewable plan and followed the short study plan so that I could sit for the test again and finally break 700. The first month I strictly followed the short study plan and found that the TTP program was easy to follow, had user friendly explanations in text and many also in video, and that these studies guided me to a deeper understanding of why every choice was correct or not. I also found that the answer explanations on TTP were far superior to the print materials I previously used to earn a 48Q. I had hoped that one month would be enough for me, but my GMAC CATs were not meeting my goal and I renewed TTP for a second month. During the second month I took practice quant exams nearly every night, including TTP tests that were composed entirely of previous wrong answers. The self-testing options were incredible and allowed me to focus on whatever section needed attention.

In addition to the amazing structured program, the people behind the program, Scott and Jeff, are TTP’s greatest assets. They were always available and responded to emails within a few hours. Scott even texted me while he was traveling internationally.

I took the official GMAT again in July 2017 and scored 700 with a 50Q and 34V. I am thrilled with my quant score and do not believe that I could have scored 50 without TTP. I highly recommend TTP and that you email TTP so that Scott or Jeff can recommend the right study plan for you.

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: NYU-Stern School of Business
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Quant Materials and Tutoring

5 stars
July 5, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 740
After obtaining a 700 score with self-study and with nothing but waitlists and rejections from elite MBA programs to show for it, I realized I needed to change my approach with respect to GMAT prep. My key improvement area would need to be in the Quantitative section as my 45 score would not be competitive for the programs I was seeking admission to. Based on some reviews of Quantitative materials, I found Target Test Prep fit the bill in terms of the materials (online and mobile friendly) and on cost (Unlimited 6 month access for $399). After about 1-2 months of self study, I engaged Jeff Miller for additional tutoring to help put me over the top. I worked with Jeff for about 3 months meeting 1-2 times a week for 1-2 hours via Skype and WebEx which fit perfectly given heavy travel requirements of my job (consulting). Jeff helped me translate my strong underlying math skills into GMAT success, something which was stymieing me in terms of my ability to secure a high Quant score. My quantitative score improved to a 48 and I was able to get a 740 overall score, which puts me in prime contention for the top programs I am hoping to gain admission to later this year.

I would highly recommend Target Test Prep for GMAT students who are looking to develop GMAT-ready math skills whether math is a strong suit or not. For those who are already strong in math, TTP will help you to better deploy your math skills in the GMAT environment, helping you to see the 'shortcuts' and 'tricks' which can bedevil even seasoned math students especially a few years out of undergraduate. For those who are seeking hands-on instruction, Jeff is an excellent coach, our lessons helped me build the confidence that I could break my streak of two straight 700s and push myself further up the GMAT ladder. Both TTP itself and its tutors are what I would call 'consulting friendly' meaning you can take your GMAT prep on the road.

In sum, would highly recommend Target Test Prep as a tool for success on GMAT Quant!

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Bowdoin College
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Improved my GMAT strategy overall and made me a much more confident test taker. Efficient and easy to follow!

5 stars
July 1, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 720   After: 760
After I didn't do as well as I wanted to on my first test, I signed up for TTP and bought a few hours of tutoring with Jeff. TTP and Jeff are both amazing - my whole score went up 40 points after going through this program. I can't recommend them enough.

The website is SO helpful - the lessons are really easy to follow and efficient. I was able to get through the short study plan and learn so much in 2 months. I had been using Magoosh before but I found myself not retaining a lot from the videos. TTP has questions after each chapter and videos on the most efficient way to solve them, which makes it really easy to practice. If I didn't get something, I never had to wait more than 30 min for Jeff or Scott (the co-owners) to answer a question. They have a chat feature and respond themselves with how best to think about problems.

Tutoring with Jeff was also amazing. Even though TTP only focuses on quant, Jeff's general advice about how to approach the test helped me with my verbal as well. I had a less expensive tutor before, but that wound up being a waste of money. It's really worth it to pay for someone who can help with your GMAT strategy, not just generally how to solve a problem.

Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Nothing better for Quant

5 stars
June 19, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 660
I started studying for the GMAT middle of last year when I took a Manhattan GMAT course. Upon completion of the course I felt I knew the material but realized that was not the case when I took the actual exam. Next I utilized Magoosh which improved my quant score a little bit but no where near where I had desired. After Magoosh I tried TTP as a friend swore by it. I completed the chapters and used Jeff for private tutoring once a week. TTP really excels in breaking down each topic thoroughly. After utilizing TTP and Jeff my quant score increased 10 points to a 48. Would definitely recommend this service to anyone struggling with Quant.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: PENN STATE UNIVERSITY
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Verified Real Student Review

Great Learning Tool!

5 stars
June 10, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I tried using some other online learning materials (I learn better on my own), but the video format did not work for me. I looked around for other tools out there, then I found Target Test Prep on of the GMAT websites. At first, I was skeptical, because I hadn't heard of it, and I assumed if it was good, I should've heard of it. I wasn't quite ready to commit despite the great reviews. I gave it a risk-free try (5 or 7 day trial for $1, I'm not sure which it is now). I was immensely impressed especially with the deep analytics they provide on their dashboard. This feature makes it easy to study the whole course or target weak areas. I studied the whole course but got a 46 on my first test. This was because I barely did any practice. They have tons of questions which feed into the data on the dashboard as you attempt questions. I just got a 49Q today after I took all 19 tests on the number properties chapter, whcih I consider the most critical for the test. I couldn't have done it without TTP, as most users call it. If you prefer to self-study, I cannot recommend this enough!!

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Vaulted me to a 770!

5 stars
June 9, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 770
I started my GMAT journey last July, with the expectation of applying to schools in the fall of 2017. As a native English speaker who has always read a lot, I was able to hit the 90th to 95th percentile in Verbal consistently without studying, so I focused my study entirely on Quant. Given the weighting differential between Verbal and Quant, I really only had to get a “decent” Quant score to reach the 720+ range I was targeting, which seemed perfectly achievable at the time given that math has never been a subject which I have struggled on.

My study process was well-thought out, and I was extremely diligent in my preparation. I used the MGMAT strategy guides, GMAT Hacks Total Math, and a variety of GMATclub resources to prepare. Completed all the questions in the OG Guide 2017 and OG Quant Review 2017 twice. Took all 6 MGMAT CATs and all 6 Official CATs multiple times. Detailed error logs of everything. And I studied A LOT. My first official exam was in October, on which I scored a 700 with a 42 Quant (47th percentile). Disappointed, I continued to study and took another crack in November, which resulted in another 700. Improved my Quant score slightly to 44 (54th percentile), but Verbal fell a bit. Thought ok a little more improvement and I’ll be alright, and scheduled another test for December. The third time was a heartbreaker – I choked and halfway through the Quant section I knew I was toast, and thought about just walking out with the test unfinished. Another 700 with a Quant score of 42; my performance had declined after hours and hours of studying. Given my non-elite undergrad and work experience, a 700 wasn’t going to cut it for the schools I would consider (especially with such a terrible Q/V split), and I didn’t end up applying for the 2017 intake.

After doing some series reflecting on my performance and spending a lot of time mapping out an improvement strategy, I knew I needed some kind of prep course. Made quite the spreadsheet with information on all the different prep course options, cut this list down, and demoed the finalists. Ended up choosing Target Test Prep out of all of them, which I thought at the time was somewhat of a leap of faith as it is not one of the major players i.e. MGMAT, Veritas, Magoosh, Kaplan or the like.

The Target Test Prep course had a nice progression, forcing you to really master the fundamentals before moving on to some of the more advanced topics you would only see at higher levels. The lessons were great, and I picked up some stuff I did not learn from my prior studies. Thought the video explanations were surprisingly helpful as well, and the dashboard feature made it easy to identify where your weaknesses are and save questions for additional review. However, I think the real key for me was the massive amount of practice questions you were instructed to complete after each lesson. First, I thought they were very, very similar to actual GMAT questions (definitely more so than MGMAT) which helped to a degree. But most of all, doing a ton of questions focused on one specific topic at a time helped to drill concepts into my head and pickup on dumb mistakes I made too frequently, for example misreading the question or making errors on simple arithmetic. I compare it to math homework in high school; you would learn a lesson and then do an excruciating amount of problems that night to really master it. While the comparison to high school math homework might make you think “yeah umm that Target Test Prep course . . . absolutely not” all I can say is that TARGET TEST PREP FREAKIN DELIVERED! Took the GMAT for a fourth time in May, and stood up and fistpumped (as quietly as possible) when I saw 770 flash over the screen. After spending countless hours studying with little to show for it, the Target Test Prep course propelled me from a Q42 to a Q49 and a 770 overall score. For anyone needing help with Quant, this is your course.

Joined: Apr 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Guaranteed 700

5 stars
April 15, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 700
Thank you to Target Test Prep for helping me get a 700. I recommend Target Test Prep not only for the course content, but also for the instructors. The course is designed to teach all content in a very digestible fashion to easily recognize different types of quant questions. With the timed practice problem sets for each section, I was able to master the content in a timed environment, translating nicely into the actual test. I can't speak highly enough of Scott, who was responsive, flexible on schedules, and fun to work with. Scott identified areas that I struggled with based off my practice sets, and pushed me to improve. Thank you to Target Test Prep!