Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan

5 stars
(5/5) - 89 reviews
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep resource

5 stars
October 11, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
Having previously tried Manhattan Prep and scored 640, I felt I needed a change in direction. Manhattan course is gimmicky, and that's putting it mildly. Their "multiple books" offering is fragmented and cumbersome to navigate. It may work for some people but for me it did not.

By contrast, Target Test Prep's approach was concise and focussed on math excellence. I used their math course and scored 730 overall in a few months time.

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
Verified Real Student Review

TTP: Responsible for my 50 on Quant

5 stars
October 9, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Scott and Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
Scott, Jeff, and TTP are the reason that I scored a 50 on Quant. I have never been a good test standardized test taker, and I tried Kaplan and Manhattan Prep before switching to TTP. No other class or one-on-one tutoring helped me as much as Scott/Jeff/TTP. There material is unique to anything else on the market. The lessons and study plans on the website are interactive and provide insights into the type of questions that no other company can match. Before I started working with Scott, I just memorized problems and hoped something similar would show up on the test. After working with TTP, I understood the material on a deeper level and was able to solve the problems not just memorize formulas. Scott also helped me with my test day anxiety, which was killing my score. I worked with Jeff on my data sufficiency skills because that was my weakest section on Quant. However, on my final exam I got 95th percentile in data sufficiency questions. Do not waste your time with any other company or study material. The website has so much content and dynamic study plan that adapts as you learn more. You also have the ability to create custom tests that were awesome to supplement the practice exams offered by mba.com. I had been studying for 3 months before working with TTP, and I was shocked how much I learned and how much I did not know from the website, study material, and one-on-one sessions. If you want to achieve your highest potential on quant, use TTP!!

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Boston University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

TTP is the BEST Quant Prep Out There!

5 stars
October 8, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Let me just start by saying: 31Q to 46Q....that happened for me.

As someone that had not taken any quantitative courses since high school (I placed out for undergrad), I knew that the Quant section of the GMAT was going to be a particular struggle for me. I began studying for the GMAT by taking a traditional in-person class for a month and a half. I realized that in-person courses were not for me, as I wasn't really being taught Quant just because someone spoke about the subject an hour or two a week. I was consistently receiving Quant scores in the low 30s, likely because I was missing the deeper, fundamental frameworks that would allow me to tackle math again with the most basic of skillsets. It was a waste of money and time. I needed another way to prepare...and that's when I was recommended to try TTP for a week trial.

Scott, the CEO of TTP called me the very first day of my trial to try and get an understanding of who I was, what my goals were, and to provide general preparation advice. This is just but one testament to the company's commitment to helping you as a person. They are personable, reliable, and put their own time into helping you be the best in achieving your test/business school goals. This personal touch and immediate customer service while working on the platform is really an AMAZING element to note -- it is unparalleled!

I quickly signed up after the week trial to do the monthly payment (it was just $99 per month, already cheaper than traditional prep!).

At first, I wanted to the short-term approach to quickly wrap the test up in a month. He reasoned that real subject matter understanding would likely take at least 3-7 months to increase my Quant understanding from the level I was operating at, to my desired score. I didn't believe it at first, but he couldn't have been more correct.

TTP truly teaches you the foundations of GMAT math, and each subject/chapter builds upon the last. The online platform is completely easy and seamless, the material readable and digestible, and the quizzes (take them all!) are comprehensive for each subject. Excluding experimental questions, there were no questions on GMAT exams that I didn't have a clue how to answer -- I always at least knew the method of attack thanks to TTP. Also, there are amazing tools like bookmarking questions, making notes, on-site target analytics, custom tests, and more! This was truly invaluable to me, as the self-guided method of study is most fruitful for me because I can dive as deep into information as I need.

You begin to realize that difficult GMAT questions are actually a myriad of different math subjects that just have to be broken down into small pieces, step-by-step. TTP helped me to realize this. Eventually, the foundational rules, time-saving problem solving skills, and repetition of question types allowed me to go from seeing low 30s, to mid-high 40s consistently-- something that I barely knew would be possible for me!

There is no better Quant prep tool out here - and I sing TTP's praises every day. It's AFFORDABLE and THE BEST You WILL reach your quantitative goals as long as you follow the plan to the T.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: New York University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep - Responsible for my 700+ score

5 stars
September 14, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I have utilized Target Test Prep, Manhattan GMAT, Veritas Prep, Magoosh and EmpowerGMAT resources over the course of my study for the GMAT. Target Test Prep (TTP) is the single best resource that I used in order to prepare for the Quant section of the GMAT. It is a resource that helped me to crack the 700 barrier that had eluded me for a long time. I selected the flexible study option and in my opinion, this platform provided the highest value-to-price and ease of use of all the resources that I had utilized for my GMAT preparation. I began to see gains in my GMAT score after I used the TTP content and I would like to give it my highest recommendation. I feel very passionate about this recommendation of the TTP material, because preparation for the GMAT can be a very expensive undertaking that disenfranchises many qualified applicants. There are many companies that will try to extract every dollar that they can from committed students. That is not the case with Scott and Jeff (founders of TTP). There were several instances when they helped me to make a decision that was truly in my interest as opposed to their bottom line. They were incredibly responsive throughout the course of my study, and personally answered questions that I had along the way.

I hope this review will:

1. Help you to see the benefits of the TTP platform.
2. Encourage you to keep your eye on your goal
3. Avoid some of the pitfalls that I made.

Now back to TTP:

The content at TTP is comprehensive and is presented in a user friendly format. Even after review of much of the material from other companies, there were many gaps in knowledge that TTP filled for me. TTP helped me to not only understand a formula but also the derivation of that formula. Once I learned the why associated with some high level concepts, I realized that this knowledge was transferable to many different areas that came into play when reasoning through problems and data sufficiency questions.

TTP helped me to identify the efficient method of solving a problem as opposed to the elegant method. Early in my test prep, I was focused on the latter and wasted precious time during execution. As I used the TTP material, not only did I know how to answer questions, but I also knew how much time/effort would be associated with a particular solution method. This becomes very important when students venture into the 49-51 territory. The videos embedded in the lessons are golden and really help to reinforce the content that is delivered within each lesson.

The design of the TTP platform is very user friendly and helps students to allocate their time (a scarce resource) appropriately during study hours. The study plans provided structure and helped me to maintain consistency when life began to get in the way of my study. The built in analytics helped me tremendously. I was able to easily diagnose my strengths and my weaknesses and leverage the extensive TTP question bank to convert weaknesses into the strengths. I previously did not even have an error log, so I approached my study inefficiently. The design of the platform ushered built-in efficiency gains that I needed in order to boost my score.

Simply put, performance on easy, medium and advanced questions matters. Early on in my test prep I was so focused on advanced level questions that I was very prone to make silly mistakes on easy and medium level questions. This was largely because I didn’t spend any time practicing at these levels when I thought that I had mastered concepts. TTP helps you to ensure that you address all of these buckets with an extensive question bank listed by topic. I finally saw breakthroughs in my performance on advanced questions after I had read all of the material and perfected the easy and medium difficulty questions for each topic. Naturally as my quant proficiency improved, I began to see a higher proportion of advanced quant questions in my mock exams. I increased my accuracy at the advanced stage using TTP and felt that I had a chance to answer any and every question thrown my way correctly.

Initially, I believed that TTP would not provide any incremental knowledge to the knowledge base that I had gained from other platforms, so I questioned the value that TTP would provide. I was wrong. It is the single reason that I was able break the 700 barrier. Regardless of where you are in your test prep, Target test prep has content that will benefit you. You can use the material as the backbone of your preparation or as a complement to another resource. Either way, at a minimum you will gain a clear assessment of where you are and path forward to reaching your goals.

As you embark upon your next steps - Stay Focused. Be Bold. The score that you want is yours. Claim it.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: Santa Clara Univ.
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing, modern Quant Prep

5 stars
September 5, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Jeffery Miller; Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 710
If you're anything like me, the Quant section was by far the most challenging from the outset, and continued to pose as a formidable opponent. After taking the test once, and struggling with the Quant, I knew I needed to find a resource. I had been using books from the "big guys," but it wasn't really helping the Quant material click for me. I figured there must be something else out there. I quickly stumbled on Target Test Prep (TTP) - a relatively new player to the GMAT prep game. So I checked them out thoroughly. I was surprised at first to see they were the only company on the market that focused solely on Quant, but that actually gave me confidence - they aren't trying to be everything to everyone. TTP - least for now - is a focused approach for people serious about improving their Quant score.

As a growing company, TTP without a doubt has nothing but your best interest in mind. I found them very communicative, and responsive - never felt alone in the process even though I chose a "self-study" approach with them. Using a combination of written lessons and tons of videos showing exactly how to approach each type of problem, I found TTP to be a robust training course. Two things stood out for me most of all, though. 1: there's no fluff, or clutter. Everything presented, even the basics, are for a reason to refresh and build upon. And 2: the way to approach the Quant questions is what helped me the most. Every service shares their method for approaching it, but I found TTP to be the best for learning really useful tactics that made sense to me, I could retain, and utilize on test day.

In about 6 weeks, after utilizing TTP's entire Quant course, I retook the GMAT and increased my overall score by 30 points. My Verbal remained the same, meaning that my increase was all in Quant: went from a 43 to a 47, thanks to TTP’s help. With their available free trial, I highly recommend giving it a try, and see if the format and teaching approach work for you!

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Tufts University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

44Q to 49Q in a month with TTP!

5 stars
September 1, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 710
I took my GMAT for the first time in July 2017 and got a 44Q. After months of studying, using all the Kaplan materials (including the Live Online Prep course), and taking countless practice tests with better results, I was really disappointed.

After decompressing for a few weeks, I decided I might as well try the GMAT again while the math was fresh in my mind. I didn't want another year to take the test and have to re-learn everything I had spend months trying to remember. So I decided to take the test again at the end of August.

As I geared up to take the test again, I knew that just using the Kaplan materials wasn't going to get me the score I wanted. After extensive internet searching I landed on Target Test Prep. Beyond having good reviews, the Flexible Program was reasonably priced at $99 a month. this was a big plus after spending thousands on the Kaplan program.

The Dashboard is extremely useful. It shows your strongest and weakest chapters, your accuracy percentage, your average time per question (even divided up between problem solving and data sufficiency), among other things. It is a great quick and easy way to keep track of your progress and see what you still need to improve on.

I began with doing the medium-level practice problems in each of the chapters. That gave me a good indication of what me strengths and weaknesses were. After determining the topic areas I needed to review (e.g., combinations and permutations, probability), I reviewed those specific chapters only. The chapters were detailed and contained a lot of useful tricks to work through problems faster. Especially useful were the video AND written explanations for each practice problem within the chapter. I also liked that the practice problems were divided up by difficulty level and practices sets had accuracy goals depending on difficulty level (i.e., you should aim to get 70% of medium questions right vs. 60% of hard questions right).

Target Test Prep really lived up to its reviews. After using it exclusively for a month, I got my quant score up to a 49. I can definitely say that I was more confident about the quant section going into my test. More concretely, I know I would have gotten the first question of the quant section wrong on test day if it weren't for Target Test Prep.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep helped me overcome my fear of math

5 stars
August 31, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 680
In my first attempt at the GMAT, I had tried several resources but never found anything that really worked for me. Enter Target Test Prep. I had a great initial conversation with Jeff who encouraged me to switch up materials to help enliven the process. I took his advice and signed up for the $1 weeklong trial (which is great for us commitment-phobes). I really liked the clean and sleek interface, the dashboard that tracks and analyzes your progress, and, most importantly, the way TTP broke down the material into super specific chapters.

TTP provided the depth and breadth that I needed but didn’t get from the other materials. There were even times when I encountered problem types that I thought were way too specific and that there was no way this would be tested on the actual GMAT. Definitely not the case. As the Boy Scouts motto goes, “always be prepared.” TTP equips you with ALL the tools and knowledge you need so you’re prepared to tackle every quant problem on the GMAT. Also, TTP is awesome in that you can use the nifty dashboard to focus on very specific problem types. It removes any doubt or confusion on which areas need more focus and attention.

If you struggle with math, use TTP – This is hands down the best resource available if you need to improve your quant skills. The thoroughness of the program is unparalleled. DO ALL THE PROBLEMS. For the first few chapters, I was only doing the easy and medium problems then resorting to OG problems. Don’t do that. By doing all the problems, you’re drilling key concepts into your brain to the point where you’ll be able to easily identify patterns and solve problems without hesitation. Again, do all the TTP problems and then do all the OG problems.

I also signed up for individual tutoring sessions with Jeff, which was a major game changer. Jeff challenges you to really understand the concepts being tested while also showing you ways to outsmart the test makers. I am not a great standardized test and often let my anxiety get the best of me, but Jeff showed me that if you really understand and know the material, then there’s no reason to get anxious. Just trust in yourself and what you’ve learned.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep is the ONLY Test Prep

5 stars
August 30, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 710
As far as GMAT Quant is concerned, Target Test Prep is the way to go. IT IS FOOLPROOF. With only 2 months before my test deadline, I did the flex plan and completed EVERY SINGLE medium and hard test, hitting each accuracy goal as instructed. The lessons were very clear and extra detailed. Before TTP, I tried a few other test preps. TTP is by far better because they focus on teaching you the math to its core- ALL OF IT- as opposed to simply giving you the basics and smart strategy/tricks to answer the most common questions. I tried the latter way before TTP, and in the heat and anxiety of the quant section, you're better off KNOWING THE MATH rather than trying to finesse the GMAT by depending on tricks like testing the answers choices or guessing and checking--especially if you want an advanced score. With TTP, I mastered ALL the concepts and knew each one like the back of my hand, and was able to dive into each question, knowing EXACTLY what to do. In the end, the quant felt easy because I was very familiar with every problem that was thrown at me and trained to do it in 2 min or less. I haven't taken a math class in 8 years and TTP made me more than prepared for the GMAT, it gave me the confidence that I can handle the b-school quant. Note: Give yourself more than 2 months to complete this plan if you can. I did it in 2 months because it was crunch time and I had no choice, but I wish I started with TTP from the beginning of my GMAT journey, 6 months prior.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: Christ University
Major: Finance
Industry: Other Services
Country: Saudi Arabia
Verified Real Student Review

THE COURSE FOR QUANT

5 stars
August 26, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 700
My GMAT journey has been a tumultuous one to say the least. I started my first GMAT way back in 2013 and finally achieved a decent enough score in 2017.
I got a 680 last year, was not happy with it mainly due to the Quant score a 47 (65 percentile).
After much deliberation and 2/3 rejected applications I decided to give my last and final GMAT in 2017, the whole game plan then was to score a good score- 700 plus with a definite improvement in QUANT. Problem was I had no idea how to go about it and this was back in June-17, my exam was scheduled for 5-Aug-17. I stumbled upon Target Test Prep purely by chance, was reading one of the success testimonials of a candidate on BEATTHEGMAT (forgot the user name). He had been in the same predicament and TTP had helped him get to his goal and he had mentioned it was only a $ for a 5 day trial and pointed out that if anyone liked a structured chapter by chapter study course TTP was the one. I read more on TTP and found great reviews on BEATTHEGMAT.

Decided that a dollar was worth a shot, and I was hooked right from the start!
They have three options based on the access duration. Per month $ 69, 4 months- $ 199 and 6 months access- $ 279. Being short on time I opted for the monthly access plan.
TTP has a great teaching format. They have a clear study plan outlined for you and with chapters broken up into groups. You do each chapter review with supporting sums and the best part is their explanation! Jeff and Scott shines in this area- they have an audio visual explanation for each practice sum! This is followed by chapter tests that are broken down by levels of difficulty. The number of sums at their disposal is just mind blowing. After each chapter my confidence grew, even if I didn’t score the best. That was mainly cause of the explanation, they clearly highlighted the pit falls and the traps laid out in those sums and I genuinely learnt from my mistakes. I reached a point that in the difficulty level tests I would wish I got some questions wrong purely to figure out if I missed any traps in the questions answered (delusional of me I know).

The D-day arrived, I wrote the test clicked on result and voila I see a 50 in Quant- 87 percentile.
Came out of the exam center wanting to scream out in joy and for me TTP had rocked and I couldn’t thank them enough. The course was so instrumental in beating my Quant Dragon! If you like a structured learning plan that helps you track your progress and with the advantage you can open and do it anywhere – TTP is the course for you. I loved it and would highly recommend it. This course was for me a score changer!

Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: Dartmouth College
Major: History
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Took Target Test Prep and Never Looked Back!

5 stars
August 25, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 750
Target Test Prep’s course structure was exactly what I needed. The dashboard gives you real analytics on your progress, which makes it so much easier to track your strengths and weaknesses. It’s also easy to navigate and simple. As soon as I paid the $1 trial sign up fee, I felt like I was able to get to work immediately. With this plan, I did not take any shortcuts. I did the work. I built myself a calendar around Target Test Prep’s recommended study plan and stuck to it. I tracked my progress on their dashboard, flagging questions I did not understand, and then went back to them to redo later. No other resource I had tried (and I tried many of them) made it so easy to identify and tackle my weaknesses.

I also opted to do individual tutoring sessions with Jeff, Target Test Prep’s head tutor. These sessions were grueling because Jeff purposely showed me the trickiest problems to help me learn how the test is designed to stump you. Through these sessions, I started to learn how to think about problems and how to approach them more strategically.

For me, Target Test Prep was crucial for building the confidence I needed in my quant base, and I truly believe it taught me to think more strategically about the exam overall. My verbal and IR both improved without much additional time spent studying these sections. But I also have to thank Jeff, who encouraged me to go back to the exam and give it one more shot. If it weren't for his motivation, I would not have seen a 50 point increase in my score!